A 2 TB NVMe SSD rated up to 7,250 MB/s read and 6,300 MB/s write over PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2, with TLC V-NAND and a 1,200 TB write rating. It has no factory heatsink.
Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.
Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.
A 2 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD rated up to 7,450 MB/s read and 6,900 MB/s write, with TLC V-NAND, 2 GB LPDDR4 cache and a 1,200 TB write rating. This version includes a factory heatsink.
Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.
Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.
Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.
THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE
Visual facts
Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.
How to read this comparison
Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
“Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08
Interface and version
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Samsung 990 EVO PlusPCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2; NVMe
Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.
Compare the exact DRAM capacity and cache configuration. Onboard DRAM is a separate specification from a write buffer; neither is a measured performance or reliability rating.
Manufacturer specification · Factory fitted. Samsung instructs users not to remove it or overtighten the drive; removing it voids the stated product warranty. Check the complete 80.15 × 25 × 8.88 mm clearance.
Check the exact drive envelope and host cooling requirements. A factory heatsink can change clearance and removal restrictions; its presence alone does not prove faster sustained performance.
Samsung 990 PRO with HeatsinkIntelligent TurboWrite
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak write claims and operates only within a specific transfer size. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.
Compare the exact capacity and cache state. After-buffer claims differ from cached peaks; workload, free space, host and test method affect results. A write buffer is not onboard DRAM or a guarantee of sustained application speed.
Samsung 990 EVO PlusUp to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6300 MB/s cached sequential write
Samsung 990 PRO with HeatsinkUp to 7450 MB/s sequential read; up to 6900 MB/s cached sequential write
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Earlier PCIe support
Samsung 990 EVO PlusPCIe Gen 3 x4 and Gen 4 x4
Samsung 990 PRO with HeatsinkPCIe Gen 3
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · PDF backward compatibility. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation.
Manufacturer specification · Backward compatibility. Suitable NVMe host, lane allocation and physical clearance remain required; Gen 4 headline speeds are not promised on Gen 3.
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Published power conditions
Samsung 990 EVO Plus4.6 W active read; 4.2 W active write; 60 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW PS4 sleep
Samsung 990 PRO with Heatsink55 mW idle; 5.8 W active read; 5.1 W active write; 5 mW L1.2
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active IOmeter power test uses Ryzen 5 7600 / ASUS ProArt X670E-CREATOR WIFI STCOM / Windows 10 Pro; PDF states 32 GB DDR5-3200. This differs from the speed test. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB datasheet column; idle requires APST on, active values are average read/write under the disclosed IOmeter/Ryzen/X570 test. These power states are not a constant everyday load.
Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions, including the factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.
A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.
Missing or non-comparable evidence (15)
Factory heatsink removal
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Samsung 990 PRO with HeatsinkDo not remove
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 990 PRO with Heatsink
Manufacturer specification · The revised datasheet says removal may damage the drive and voids the product warranty. It also says not to overtighten when installing. Clearance must be checked before purchase.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
DRAM cache present
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Samsung 990 PRO with HeatsinkYes
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
DRAM cache capacity
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Samsung 990 PRO with Heatsink2 GB
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Included cloning software
Samsung 990 EVO PlusSamsung Magician data migration
Samsung 990 PRO with HeatsinkNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · The UK feature page advertises data migration through Samsung Magician. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled migration tool for this model. Health, firmware and optimization functions alone do not confirm migration support.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Drive management software
Samsung 990 EVO PlusSamsung Magician
Samsung 990 PRO with HeatsinkNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · Current feature block lists migration, drive health and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim at QD1 / one thread on the disclosed IOmeter 1.1.0 Ryzen/X570 secondary-drive setup. Separate from QD32 headline figures.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim at QD1 / one thread, with Intelligent TurboWrite active on the disclosed secondary-drive test setup.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Device sleep support
Samsung 990 EVO PlusYes
Samsung 990 PRO with HeatsinkNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Heatsink LED controls
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Samsung 990 PRO with HeatsinkNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 990 PRO with Heatsink
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · The datasheet mentions LED colour appearance but does not describe selectable modes or software support for this CW model. No control mode is guessed.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Modern Standby support
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Samsung 990 PRO with HeatsinkNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Thermal design
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNickel-coated controller
Samsung 990 PRO with HeatsinkNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes the nickel-coated controller. Samsung's 73% MB/s-per-watt figure is a marketing comparison, not a measured saving for this 2 TB drive.
Samsung specifies Host Memory Buffer caching and lists no onboard DRAM for this drive. Peak write speed relies on the TurboWrite cache, and Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed for this model.
Rated up to 7,450 MB/s sequential read and 6,900 MB/s sequential write over PCIe 4.0 x4, with up to 1.4 million random read and 1.55 million random write IOPS.
The fitted heatsink makes the drive 25 mm wide and 8.88 mm tall, so check clearance, and Samsung says not to remove it. Peak write speed relies on the TurboWrite cache, and Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed for this model.
Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions, including the factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.
Manufacturer specification · Backward compatibility. Suitable NVMe host, lane allocation and physical clearance remain required; Gen 4 headline speeds are not promised on Gen 3.
Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes the nickel-coated controller. Samsung's 73% MB/s-per-watt figure is a marketing comparison, not a measured saving for this 2 TB drive.
Manufacturer specification · Factory fitted. Samsung instructs users not to remove it or overtighten the drive; removing it voids the stated product warranty. Check the complete 80.15 × 25 × 8.88 mm clearance.
Manufacturer specification · The revised datasheet says removal may damage the drive and voids the product warranty. It also says not to overtighten when installing. Clearance must be checked before purchase.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Up to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6300 MB/s cached sequential write
Up to 7450 MB/s sequential read; up to 6900 MB/s cached sequential write
Rated sequential readDifferentSources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim at QD1 / one thread on the disclosed IOmeter 1.1.0 Ryzen/X570 secondary-drive setup. Separate from QD32 headline figures.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim at QD1 / one thread, with Intelligent TurboWrite active on the disclosed secondary-drive test setup.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak write claims and operates only within a specific transfer size. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.
Manufacturer specification · Data-security features. Support does not mean encryption is enabled by default or that a particular host policy, OS or security certification is satisfied.
Manufacturer specification · Current feature block lists migration, drive health and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.
Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.
Manufacturer specification · The UK feature page advertises data migration through Samsung Magician. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled migration tool for this model. Health, firmware and optimization functions alone do not confirm migration support.
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active IOmeter power test uses Ryzen 5 7600 / ASUS ProArt X670E-CREATOR WIFI STCOM / Windows 10 Pro; PDF states 32 GB DDR5-3200. This differs from the speed test. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB datasheet column; idle requires APST on, active values are average read/write under the disclosed IOmeter/Ryzen/X570 test. These power states are not a constant everyday load.
Show unverified (2)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
Modern Standby supportSources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · The datasheet mentions LED colour appearance but does not describe selectable modes or software support for this CW model. No control mode is guessed.
Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.