Skip to specifications
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
STORAGE

Samsung 990 EVO

2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · Samsung part MZ-V9E2T0BW

Capacity
2000 GB
SSD / HDD
SSD
Form factor
M.2 2280

A 2 TB NVMe SSD rated up to 5,000 MB/s read and 4,200 MB/s write over PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2, with TLC V-NAND and a 1,200 TB write rating. It has no factory heatsink.

Prices & buying options

Search links open retailer results.

UK: no verified listing yet · checked daily

US: no verified listing yet · checked daily

As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

Affiliate links

We may earn a commission. Search results can include other models; check the exact variant and final price with the retailer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Price alert

Email me when the Samsung 990 EVO gets cheaper on eBay. We check exact-model listings once a day at 12:00 UTC.

We'll send a link to confirm first.

THE ACTUAL PRODUCT
Samsung 990 EVO 2 TB M.2 SSD; official image associated with MZ-V9E2T0BW
Official product image · Image source detailsProduct imagery does not establish a retailer’s bundle or condition.
Compare with Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026Manufacturer specifications, not a hands-on test.

Options worth comparing

Explore all alternatives

The nearest checked drives by key specifications, with what differs from the Samsung 990 EVO. The first matches the Compare button above.

The checks that matter.

Before you buy

Its PCIe 5.0 mode uses two lanes rather than four, and rated speeds top out at 5,000 MB/s read and 4,200 MB/s write.

Samsung specifies Host Memory Buffer caching and lists no onboard DRAM for this drive. Peak write speed relies on the TurboWrite cache, and Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed for this model.

Every specification. With its source.

Full specifications

Exact configuration: 2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V9E2T0BW

45 specifications in 7 groups. Values are manufacturer specifications unless a row says “Measured result” or “Calculated from cited specifications”.

Capacity & format

15 items
Capacity
2000 GB

Decimal capacity; formatting and system use reduce available space.

2 sources
Form factor
M.2 2280

Match the physical format and electrical interface to the host.

2 sources
Interface and version
PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2; NVMe

Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.

2 sources
DRAM cache present
Not listed by the manufacturer

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.

2 sources
Drive dimensions
80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Datasheet maximum envelope; the product page's 80 × 22 mm figures are not labelled as maximum tolerances.

2 sources
Cache arrangement
Host Memory Buffer (HMB)

HMB uses host memory; it is not a stated onboard DRAM capacity.

2 sources
Factory heatsink
No

This BW configuration has no factory heatsink; follow the host's cooling requirements.

2 sources
Controller
Samsung in-house controller

Samsung does not give a codename, stepping or process node.

Source
DRAM cache capacity
Not listed by the manufacturer

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.

2 sources
Earlier PCIe support
PCIe Gen 3 x4 and Gen 4 x4

PDF backward compatibility. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation.

Source
Thermal design
Heat-spreader label; Dynamic Thermal Guard

Official feature block lists the label and thermal management. Samsung's 70% efficiency example uses 1 TB models, not this 2 TB drive.

Source
Maximum drive weight
9 g

UK 2 TB specification maximum, not package mass or a measured sample.

Source

Performance

8 items
Rated sequential read
5000 MB/s

Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Source
Rated sequential write
4200 MB/s

Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Source
Rated performance and conditions
Up to 5000 MB/s sequential read; up to 4200 MB/s cached sequential write

Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

2 sources
Rated random read
700000 IOPS

Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads. IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

2 sources
Rated random write
800000 IOPS

Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads. IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

2 sources
Rated random read, QD1
20000 IOPS

Manufacturer QD1 / one-thread 20000 IOPS under the same IOmeter/Ryzen/Windows setup, not measured application latency.

2 sources
Rated random write, QD1
90000 IOPS

Manufacturer QD1 / one-thread 90000 IOPS under the same IOmeter/Ryzen/Windows setup with TurboWrite active.

2 sources
Write-buffer technology
Intelligent TurboWrite

Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

2 sources

Endurance & warranty

5 items
Warranty write threshold
1200 TB

Capacity-specific warranty write threshold, not a guaranteed failure point.

2 sources
Limited warranty time
5 years

Time limit, not predicted lifespan; coverage also ends at the TBW threshold and is subject to full terms.

2 sources
Warranty terms and endurance if applicable
5 years or 1200 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply

Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.

2 sources
Manufacturer application scope
Client PCs

Manufacturer application class; no enterprise or console installation guarantee.

Source
Manufacturer MTBF rating
1,500,000 hours

Statistical manufacturer claim, not individual lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

Source

Power

4 items
Published power conditions
5.5 W active read; 4.7 W active write; 60 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW PS4 sleep

2 TB column. IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.

Source
Modern Standby support
Yes

Official EVO feature block lists Modern Standby. Full platform and operating-system support is required.

Source
Allowable supply voltage
3.3 V ±5%

Product voltage range. Check the host slot is compatible.

Source
Device sleep support
Yes

The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.

Source

Features & software

6 items
Hardware encryption support
AES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667

Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.

Source
TRIM support
Yes

Manufacturer requires operating-system support; the enclosure/host path must also support it.

Source
S.M.A.R.T. support
Yes

Manufacturer monitoring capability, not a remaining-lifespan guarantee.

Source
Garbage collection
Yes

Internal function, not a measured performance uplift.

Source
Drive management software
Samsung Magician

Current feature block lists migration, drive health and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.

Source
World Wide Name support
No

Product page states WWN is not supported.

Source

Environment & reliability

5 items
Operating temperature
0–70 °C

Measured by the drive's S.M.A.R.T. temperature; Samsung recommends adequate airflow.

2 sources
Storage temperature
−40–85 °C

Non-operating range, distinct from operation.

Source
Humidity range
5–95%

Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Source
Non-operating shock rating
1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes

Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Source
Non-operating vibration rating
20 G; 20–2000 Hz

Manufacturer test range; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Source

Compatibility & box

2 items
Installation kit included
No

UK page says installation kit not available; no supplied screw or host heatsink is assumed.

Source
Included cloning software
Samsung Magician data migration

The UK feature page advertises data migration through Samsung Magician. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.

Source
Similar products.

Compare with another drive

More of the nearest checked drives by key specifications, for a side-by-side comparison.