Skip to comparison
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
STORAGE · YOUR NEXT FACE-OFF

Samsung 990 EVO vs Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact models · UK & US buying links

Compared products

YOUR FIRST CHOICE

Samsung 990 EVO

2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V9E2T0BW

Samsung 990 EVO 2 TB M.2 SSD; official image associated with MZ-V9E2T0BW
Exact model & source notes

A 2 TB NVMe SSD rated up to 5,000 MB/s read and 4,200 MB/s write over PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2, with TLC V-NAND and a 1,200 TB write rating. It has no factory heatsink.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications
WHAT DIFFERS
Write-buffer technologyIntelligent TurboWriteIntelligent TurboWrite 2.0
5,000 MB/sRated sequential read7,250 MB/s
4,200 MB/sRated sequential write6,300 MB/s
3 of 8 verified differences, in the order listed below. Not a rating.
See the 8 verified differences
THE CONTENDER

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V9S2T0BW

Samsung 990 EVO Plus 2 TB bare M.2 SSD; exact UK MZ-V9S2T0BW product gallery
Exact model & source notes

A 2 TB NVMe SSD rated up to 7,250 MB/s read and 6,300 MB/s write over PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2, with TLC V-NAND and a 1,200 TB write rating. It has no factory heatsink.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications

990 EVO UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

990 EVO Plus UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE

Visual facts

Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.

How to read this comparison
  • Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
  • “Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
  • Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08

Write-buffer technology

Compare the exact capacity and cache state. After-buffer claims differ from cached peaks; workload, free space, host and test method affect results. A write buffer is not onboard DRAM or a guarantee of sustained application speed.

Samsung 990 EVOIntelligent TurboWrite

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

Samsung 990 EVO PlusIntelligent TurboWrite 2.0

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

Explore the full specifications

Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.

WHAT CHANGES BETWEEN THEM?

Key differences

Full specifications ↓

8 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 7 are also drawn in Visual facts above. Missing information stays separate.

Write-buffer technology

In Visual facts
Samsung 990 EVOIntelligent TurboWrite
Samsung 990 EVO PlusIntelligent TurboWrite 2.0
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Compare the exact capacity and cache state. After-buffer claims differ from cached peaks; workload, free space, host and test method affect results. A write buffer is not onboard DRAM or a guarantee of sustained application speed.

Rated performance and conditions

In Visual facts
Samsung 990 EVOUp to 5000 MB/s sequential read; up to 4200 MB/s cached sequential write
Samsung 990 EVO PlusUp to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6300 MB/s cached sequential write
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated sequential read

In Visual facts
Samsung 990 EVO5000 MB/s
Samsung 990 EVO Plus7250 MB/s
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated sequential write

In Visual facts
Samsung 990 EVO4200 MB/s
Samsung 990 EVO Plus6300 MB/s
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random read

In Visual facts
Samsung 990 EVO700000 IOPS
Samsung 990 EVO Plus1000000 IOPS
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads. IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 (thread count not stated). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random write

In Visual facts
Samsung 990 EVO800000 IOPS
Samsung 990 EVO Plus1350000 IOPS
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads. IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 (thread count not stated). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Show 2 more verified differences

Published power conditions

In Visual facts
Samsung 990 EVO5.5 W active read; 4.7 W active write; 60 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW PS4 sleep
Samsung 990 EVO Plus4.6 W active read; 4.2 W active write; 60 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW PS4 sleep
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active IOmeter power test uses Ryzen 5 7600 / ASUS ProArt X670E-CREATOR WIFI STCOM / Windows 10 Pro; PDF states 32 GB DDR5-3200. This differs from the speed test. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Thermal design

Samsung 990 EVOHeat-spreader label; Dynamic Thermal Guard
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNickel-coated controller
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Official feature block lists the label and thermal management. Samsung's 70% efficiency example uses 1 TB models, not this 2 TB drive.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes the nickel-coated controller. Samsung's 73% MB/s-per-watt figure is a marketing comparison, not a measured saving for this 2 TB drive.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Missing or non-comparable evidence (5)

DRAM cache present

Samsung 990 EVONot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

DRAM cache capacity

Samsung 990 EVONot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random read, QD1

Samsung 990 EVO20000 IOPS
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer QD1 / one-thread 20000 IOPS under the same IOmeter/Ryzen/Windows setup, not measured application latency.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and PDF do not list QD1 results.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random write, QD1

Samsung 990 EVO90000 IOPS
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer QD1 / one-thread 90000 IOPS under the same IOmeter/Ryzen/Windows setup with TurboWrite active.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and PDF do not list QD1 results.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Modern Standby support

Samsung 990 EVOYes
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Official EVO feature block lists Modern Standby. Full platform and operating-system support is required.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

32 shared fields have the same recorded value.

WHAT EACH CHOICE ASKS OF YOU

What it brings and what to check

Samsung 990 EVO

What it brings

What to check

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

What it brings

What to check

COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

How we verify
45 of 45 specifications Sources in each row
Source-backed specifications for Samsung 990 EVO and Samsung 990 EVO Plus
SpecificationSamsung 990 EVOSamsung 990 EVO Plus
Capacity
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatting and system use reduce available space.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatted usable space is lower.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
2000 GB2000 GB
SSDSSD
Interface and version
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2; NVMePCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2; NVMe
Form factor
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Match the physical format and electrical interface to the host.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
M.2 2280M.2 2280
Drive dimensions
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Datasheet maximum envelope; the product page's 80 × 22 mm figures are not labelled as maximum tolerances.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
Factory heatsink
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · This BW configuration has no factory heatsink; follow the host's cooling requirements.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · This bare module has no factory heatsink. A thermal label is not an enclosure.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
NoNo
Earlier PCIe support
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · PDF backward compatibility. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · PDF backward compatibility. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
PCIe Gen 3 x4 and Gen 4 x4PCIe Gen 3 x4 and Gen 4 x4
Thermal designDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Official feature block lists the label and thermal management. Samsung's 70% efficiency example uses 1 TB models, not this 2 TB drive.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes the nickel-coated controller. Samsung's 73% MB/s-per-watt figure is a marketing comparison, not a measured saving for this 2 TB drive.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Heat-spreader label; Dynamic Thermal GuardNickel-coated controller
Maximum drive weight
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · UK 2 TB specification maximum, not package mass or a measured sample.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK 2 TB specification maximum, not package mass or a measured sample.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
9 g9 g
Rated performance and conditionsDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Up to 5000 MB/s sequential read; up to 4200 MB/s cached sequential writeUp to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6300 MB/s cached sequential write
Rated sequential readDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
5000 MB/s7250 MB/s
Rated sequential writeDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
4200 MB/s6300 MB/s
Rated random readDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads. IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 (thread count not stated). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
700000 IOPS1000000 IOPS
Rated random writeDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads. IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 (thread count not stated). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
800000 IOPS1350000 IOPS
Rated random read, QD1
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer QD1 / one-thread 20000 IOPS under the same IOmeter/Ryzen/Windows setup, not measured application latency.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and PDF do not list QD1 results.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
20000 IOPSNot listed by the manufacturer
Rated random write, QD1
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer QD1 / one-thread 90000 IOPS under the same IOmeter/Ryzen/Windows setup with TurboWrite active.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and PDF do not list QD1 results.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
90000 IOPSNot listed by the manufacturer
Samsung V-NAND TLCSamsung V-NAND TLC
Cache arrangement
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · HMB uses host memory; it is not a stated onboard DRAM capacity.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Host Memory Buffer (HMB)Host Memory Buffer (HMB)
Controller
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not give a codename, stepping or process node.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not give a codename, stepping or process node.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Samsung in-house controllerSamsung in-house controller
Write-buffer technologyDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Intelligent TurboWriteIntelligent TurboWrite 2.0
Warranty terms and endurance if applicable
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
5 years or 1200 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply5 years or 1200 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Limited warranty time
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not predicted lifespan; coverage also ends at the TBW threshold and is subject to full terms.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not a lifespan prediction. Coverage also ends at the TBW threshold; eligibility and full terms apply.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung internal SSD limited warranty
5 years5 years
Warranty write threshold
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity-specific warranty write threshold, not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Warranty write threshold for this capacity; not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung internal SSD limited warranty
1200 TB1200 TB
Manufacturer application scope
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer application class; no enterprise or console installation guarantee.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer application class; no enterprise or console installation guarantee.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Client PCsClient PCs
Manufacturer MTBF rating
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Statistical manufacturer claim, not individual lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Statistical manufacturer claim, not individual lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
1,500,000 hours1,500,000 hours
Hardware encryption support
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
AES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667AES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
TRIM support
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer requires operating-system support; the enclosure/host path must also support it.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer requires operating-system support; the enclosure/host path must also support it.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
YesYes
S.M.A.R.T. support
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer monitoring capability, not a remaining-lifespan guarantee.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer monitoring capability, not a remaining-lifespan guarantee.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
YesYes
Garbage collection
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Internal function, not a measured performance uplift.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Internal function, not a measured performance uplift.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
YesYes
Drive management software
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Current feature block lists migration, drive health and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Current feature block lists migration, drive health and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Samsung MagicianSamsung Magician
Modern Standby support
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Official EVO feature block lists Modern Standby. Full platform and operating-system support is required.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
YesNot listed by the manufacturer
Installation kit included
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · UK page says installation kit not available; no supplied screw or host heatsink is assumed.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK page says installation kit not available; no supplied screw or host heatsink is assumed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
NoNo
World Wide Name support
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN is not supported.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN is not supported.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
NoNo
Device sleep support
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
YesYes
Included cloning software
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · The UK feature page advertises data migration through Samsung Magician. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The UK feature page advertises data migration through Samsung Magician. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Samsung Magician data migrationSamsung Magician data migration
Operating temperature
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Measured by the drive's S.M.A.R.T. temperature; Samsung recommends adequate airflow.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 0–70 °C is the S.M.A.R.T. operating temperature with airflow recommended, not an independent cooling measurement.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
0–70 °C0–70 °C
Published power conditionsDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active IOmeter power test uses Ryzen 5 7600 / ASUS ProArt X670E-CREATOR WIFI STCOM / Windows 10 Pro; PDF states 32 GB DDR5-3200. This differs from the speed test. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
5.5 W active read; 4.7 W active write; 60 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW PS4 sleep4.6 W active read; 4.2 W active write; 60 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW PS4 sleep
Storage temperature
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating range, distinct from operation.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating range, distinct from operation.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
−40–85 °C−40–85 °C
Humidity range
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
5–95%5–95%
Non-operating shock rating
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
Non-operating vibration rating
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer test range; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer test range; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
20 G; 20–2000 Hz20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Allowable supply voltage
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Product voltage range. Check the host slot is compatible.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Product voltage range. Check the host slot is compatible.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
3.3 V ±5%3.3 V ±5%
2.02.0
Show unverified (2)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
DRAM cache present
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not listed by the manufacturerNot listed by the manufacturer
DRAM cache capacity
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.

Samsung 990 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not listed by the manufacturerNot listed by the manufacturer
FIND YOUR CONTENDERS

More products

Closest storage to this pair by shared key specifications. Not a popularity ranking.

See all 199 storage
Samsung 990 PRO with Heatsink 2 TB M.2 SSD with its 2 TB retail box and leaflet; official image associated with MZ-V9P2T0CW

Samsung 990 PRO with Heatsink

Storage capacity
2 TB
Warranty term
5 years
Write rating
1,200 TB
Prices & product profile

Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.