Gigabyte AORUS Gen4 73002 TB · M.2 2280 double-sided without heat spreader · AG4732TB N- Rated sequential read
- 7300 MB/sThis one: 7250 MB/s
- Rated sequential write
- 6850 MB/sThis one: 6450 MB/s
2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · Samsung part MZ-V9V2T0BW
Samsung's 990 is a 2 TB PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe SSD in a bare M.2 2280 module, rated up to 7,250 MB/s read and 6,450 MB/s write. It uses Host Memory Buffer caching rather than a listed onboard DRAM cache, and its limited warranty runs 3 years or 800 TB written.

Specifications checked 27 Sept 2026Manufacturer specifications, not a hands-on test.
Rated up to 7,250 MB/s sequential read and 6,450 MB/s sequential write, with up to 850K random read and 1.2 million random write IOPS at 2 TB.
Samsung lists AES 256-bit encryption with TCG Opal 2.0 and IEEE 1667, a 3 mW PS4 sleep state, and Samsung Magician support for data transfer, drive health and firmware updates.
Samsung claims up to 38% better sequential performance per watt than the 990 PRO in its own 2 TB test, and the drive is backward compatible with PCIe 3.0.
The limited warranty is 3 years or 800 TB written, whichever comes first.
Samsung specifies Host Memory Buffer caching and lists no onboard DRAM. Peak write figures use Intelligent TurboWrite, and no post-cache write speed is published.
Capacities stop at 2 TB, and Samsung does not state the NAND cell type.
Exact configuration: 2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V9V2T0BW
46 specifications in 7 groups. Values are manufacturer specifications unless a row says “Measured result” or “Calculated from cited specifications”.
Decimal capacity (1 GB = 1 billion bytes, IDEMA); formatted usable space is lower.
Samsung states the 990 is backward compatible with PCIe 3.0. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.
SourceSamsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Samsung lists maximum width × height × depth for the bare module.
Both reviewed exact technical sources say Samsung V-NAND without specifying the NAND cell type. TLC, QLC or another cell type is not established. Preserve the positive V-NAND technology separately.
Samsung does not give a codename, stepping or process node.
Data sheet footnote: backward compatible with PCIe 3.0. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation and speed.
SourceThe UK specification lists a bare module with a maximum depth of 2.38 mm and no heatsink; the official gallery shows a bare module. A thermal label is not an enclosure.
SourceUK 2 TB specification maximum, not package mass or a measured sample.
SourceManufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within a specific transfer size. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within a specific transfer size. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within a specific transfer size. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer up-to claim for the 2 TB column (queue depth and block size not stated in the datasheet). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results use Intelligent TurboWrite.
Manufacturer up-to claim for the 2 TB column (queue depth and block size not stated in the datasheet). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results use Intelligent TurboWrite.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Samsung's 2 TB page and data sheet do not list QD1 results.
SourceSamsung does not state this for this model. · Samsung's 2 TB page and data sheet do not list QD1 results.
SourceManufacturer write caching is active for peak write claims and operates only within a specific data transfer size. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.
Warranty write threshold for the 2 TB capacity (1 TB model: 400 TB), in compliance with JESD218; not a guaranteed failure point.
Time limit, not a lifespan prediction. Coverage also ends at the TBW threshold; eligibility and full terms apply.
Manufacturer application class; no enterprise or console installation guarantee.
Statistical manufacturer claim, not individual lifespan or guaranteed operating time.
2 TB column. Active power measured with fio 3.28 on an Intel Core Ultra 7 265K / ASUS Maximus Z890 HERO / Ubuntu 22.04 system with 32 GB DDR5-4800, which differs from the speed test. These are not a constant everyday load.
SourceUK page 'Average Power Consumption (system level)'; actual power consumption may vary depending on system hardware and configuration.
SourceProduct voltage range. Check the host slot is compatible.
SourceThe UK page lists device sleep mode support. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.
SourceSamsung does not state this for this model. · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.
SourceSamsung internal test: 990 at 1,686/1,697 MB/s per watt read/write versus 990 PRO at 1,221/1,254 MB/s per watt, 2 TB capacity, fio 3.28 on a Core Ultra 7 265K system. A manufacturer comparison, not a measured saving in any particular PC.
SourceListed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.
Manufacturer requires operating-system support; the host path must also support it.
Manufacturer monitoring capability, not a remaining-lifespan guarantee.
SourceInternal function, not a measured performance uplift.
SourceUK feature block: data transfer, drive-health tracking and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.
SourceProduct page states WWN is not supported.
Source0–70 °C is the S.M.A.R.T. operating temperature with airflow recommended, not an independent cooling measurement.
Non-operating range, distinct from operation.
SourceManufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.
SourceManufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.
Manufacturer test range; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.
SourceUK page says installation kit not available; no supplied screw or host heatsink is assumed.
SourceThe UK feature block says Magician can transfer data. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.
SourceMore of the nearest checked drives by key specifications, for a side-by-side comparison.
Gigabyte AORUS Gen4 7000E2 TB · M.2 2280 single-sided without heatsink · AG470E2TBCompare the two
Samsung 990 PRO2 TB · without factory heatsink · MZ-V9P2T0BWCompare the two
Samsung 990 PRO with Heatsink2 TB · M.2 2280 with factory heatsink · MZ-V9P2T0CWCompare the two
Samsung 980 PRO2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V8P2T0BWCompare the two
Kingston KC30002048 GB · M.2 2280 with thin heat spreader · SKC3000D/2048GCompare the two
Kingston NV31000 GB · M.2 2280 · SNV3S/1000GCompare the two
Samsung 990 EVO Plus2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V9S2T0BWCompare the two
SK hynix Platinum P412 TB · M.2 2280 single-sided · no heatsink · SHPP41-2000GM-2Compare the two