Skip to comparison
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
STORAGE · YOUR NEXT FACE-OFF

Samsung 990 vs Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact models · UK & US buying links

Compared products

YOUR FIRST CHOICE

Samsung 990

2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V9V2T0BW

Samsung 990 2 TB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD, angled front view showing the 990 label
Exact model & source notes

Samsung's 990 is a 2 TB PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe SSD in a bare M.2 2280 module, rated up to 7,250 MB/s read and 6,450 MB/s write. It uses Host Memory Buffer caching rather than a listed onboard DRAM cache, and its limited warranty runs 3 years or 800 TB written.

Specifications checked 27 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications
WHICH SUITS YOU?

Choose the 990 for

  • Higher stated rated sequential write: 6,450 MB/s vs 6,300 MB/s

Choose the 990 EVO Plus for

  • Higher stated rated random read: 1,000,000 IOPS vs 850,000 IOPS
  • Higher stated rated random write: 1,350,000 IOPS vs 1,200,000 IOPS
  • Higher stated warranty write threshold: 1,200 TB vs 800 TB
Built from verified specifications that differ. Not a rating or a recommendation.
See the 12 verified differences
THE CONTENDER

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V9S2T0BW

Samsung 990 EVO Plus 2 TB bare M.2 SSD; exact UK MZ-V9S2T0BW product gallery
Exact model & source notes

A 2 TB NVMe SSD rated up to 7,250 MB/s read and 6,300 MB/s write over PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2, with TLC V-NAND and a 1,200 TB write rating. It has no factory heatsink.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications

990 UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

990 EVO Plus UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE

Visual facts

Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.

How to read this comparison
  • Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
  • “Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
  • Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08

Interface and version

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Samsung 990PCIe 4.0 x4; NVMe

Manufacturer specification · Samsung states the 990 is backward compatible with PCIe 3.0. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation.

Samsung 990 EVO PlusPCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2; NVMe

Manufacturer specification

Explore the full specifications

Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.

WHAT CHANGES BETWEEN THEM?

Key differences

Full specifications ↓

12 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 7 are also drawn in Visual facts above. Missing information stays separate.

Interface and version

In Visual facts
Samsung 990PCIe 4.0 x4; NVMe
Samsung 990 EVO PlusPCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2; NVMe
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Samsung states the 990 is backward compatible with PCIe 3.0. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Warranty write threshold

In Visual facts
Samsung 990800 TB
Samsung 990 EVO Plus1200 TB
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Warranty write threshold for the 2 TB capacity (1 TB model: 400 TB), in compliance with JESD218; not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Warranty write threshold for this capacity; not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung internal SSD limited warranty

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Limited warranty time

In Visual facts
Samsung 9903 years
Samsung 990 EVO Plus5 years
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not a lifespan prediction. Coverage also ends at the TBW threshold; eligibility and full terms apply.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not a lifespan prediction. Coverage also ends at the TBW threshold; eligibility and full terms apply.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung internal SSD limited warranty

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Included cloning software

In Visual facts
Samsung 990Samsung Magician data transfer
Samsung 990 EVO PlusSamsung Magician data migration
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · The UK feature block says Magician can transfer data. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The UK feature page advertises data migration through Samsung Magician. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Check the software, operating-system and licence requirements. An available feature does not establish a measured speed improvement or support on every host.

Write-buffer technology

In Visual facts
Samsung 990Intelligent TurboWrite
Samsung 990 EVO PlusIntelligent TurboWrite 2.0
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak write claims and operates only within a specific data transfer size. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Compare the exact capacity and cache state. After-buffer claims differ from cached peaks; workload, free space, host and test method affect results. A write buffer is not onboard DRAM or a guarantee of sustained application speed.

Rated performance and conditions

In Visual facts
Samsung 990Up to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6450 MB/s cached sequential write
Samsung 990 EVO PlusUp to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6300 MB/s cached sequential write
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within a specific transfer size. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Show 6 more verified differences

Rated sequential write

In Visual facts
Samsung 9906450 MB/s
Samsung 990 EVO Plus6300 MB/s
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within a specific transfer size. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random read

Samsung 990850000 IOPS
Samsung 990 EVO Plus1000000 IOPS
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim for the 2 TB column (queue depth and block size not stated in the datasheet). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results use Intelligent TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 (thread count not stated). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random write

Samsung 9901200000 IOPS
Samsung 990 EVO Plus1350000 IOPS
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim for the 2 TB column (queue depth and block size not stated in the datasheet). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results use Intelligent TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 (thread count not stated). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Warranty terms and endurance if applicable

Samsung 9903 years or 800 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Samsung 990 EVO Plus5 years or 1200 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Sources

Earlier PCIe support

Samsung 990PCIe 3.0
Samsung 990 EVO PlusPCIe Gen 3 x4 and Gen 4 x4
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Data sheet footnote: backward compatible with PCIe 3.0. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation and speed.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · PDF backward compatibility. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Published power conditions

Samsung 9904.3 W average active read; 3.8 W average active write; 55 mW PS3 idle (APST on); 3 mW PS4 (L1.2)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus4.6 W active read; 4.2 W active write; 60 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW PS4 sleep
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active power measured with fio 3.28 on an Intel Core Ultra 7 265K / ASUS Maximus Z890 HERO / Ubuntu 22.04 system with 32 GB DDR5-4800, which differs from the speed test. These are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active IOmeter power test uses Ryzen 5 7600 / ASUS ProArt X670E-CREATOR WIFI STCOM / Windows 10 Pro; PDF states 32 GB DDR5-3200. This differs from the speed test. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Missing or non-comparable evidence (10)

DRAM cache present

Samsung 990Not verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

DRAM cache capacity

Samsung 990Not verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

NAND type

Samsung 990Not verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusSamsung V-NAND TLC
Sources
Samsung 990

Both reviewed exact technical sources say Samsung V-NAND without specifying the NAND cell type. TLC, QLC or another cell type is not established. Preserve the positive V-NAND technology separately. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random read, QD1

Samsung 990Not verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and data sheet do not list QD1 results.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and PDF do not list QD1 results.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random write, QD1

Samsung 990Not verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and data sheet do not list QD1 results.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and PDF do not list QD1 results.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Modern Standby support

Samsung 990Not verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Advertised efficiency comparison

Samsung 990Up to 38% better sequential performance per watt than the 990 PRO (Samsung internal 2 TB test)
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Samsung internal test: 990 at 1,686/1,697 MB/s per watt read/write versus 990 PRO at 1,221/1,254 MB/s per watt, 2 TB capacity, fio 3.28 on a Core Ultra 7 265K system. A manufacturer comparison, not a measured saving in any particular PC.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published system-level power

Samsung 990Average read 4.3 W; average write 3.8 W
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · UK page 'Average Power Consumption (system level)'; actual power consumption may vary depending on system hardware and configuration.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Thermal design

Samsung 990Not verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNickel-coated controller
Sources
Samsung 990

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes the nickel-coated controller. Samsung's 73% MB/s-per-watt figure is a marketing comparison, not a measured saving for this 2 TB drive.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

26 shared fields have the same recorded value.

WHAT EACH CHOICE ASKS OF YOU

What it brings and what to check

Samsung 990

What it brings

What to check

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

What it brings

What to check

COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

How we verify
48 of 48 specifications Sources in each row
Source-backed specifications for Samsung 990 and Samsung 990 EVO Plus
SpecificationSamsung 990Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Capacity
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity (1 GB = 1 billion bytes, IDEMA); formatted usable space is lower.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatted usable space is lower.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
2000 GB2000 GB
SSDSSD
Interface and versionDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Samsung states the 990 is backward compatible with PCIe 3.0. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
PCIe 4.0 x4; NVMePCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2; NVMe
M.2 2280M.2 2280
Drive dimensions
Sources
Samsung 990

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung lists maximum width × height × depth for the bare module.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
Earlier PCIe supportDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Data sheet footnote: backward compatible with PCIe 3.0. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation and speed.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · PDF backward compatibility. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
PCIe 3.0PCIe Gen 3 x4 and Gen 4 x4
Factory heatsink
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · The UK specification lists a bare module with a maximum depth of 2.38 mm and no heatsink; the official gallery shows a bare module. A thermal label is not an enclosure.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · This bare module has no factory heatsink. A thermal label is not an enclosure.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
NoNo
Maximum drive weight
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · UK 2 TB specification maximum, not package mass or a measured sample.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK 2 TB specification maximum, not package mass or a measured sample.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
9 g9 g
Thermal design
Sources
Samsung 990

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes the nickel-coated controller. Samsung's 73% MB/s-per-watt figure is a marketing comparison, not a measured saving for this 2 TB drive.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedNickel-coated controller
Rated performance and conditionsDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within a specific transfer size. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Up to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6450 MB/s cached sequential writeUp to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6300 MB/s cached sequential write
Rated sequential read
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within a specific transfer size. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
7250 MB/s7250 MB/s
Rated sequential writeDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within a specific transfer size. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
6450 MB/s6300 MB/s
Rated random readDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim for the 2 TB column (queue depth and block size not stated in the datasheet). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results use Intelligent TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 (thread count not stated). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
850000 IOPS1000000 IOPS
Rated random writeDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim for the 2 TB column (queue depth and block size not stated in the datasheet). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results use Intelligent TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 (thread count not stated). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
1200000 IOPS1350000 IOPS
NAND type
Sources
Samsung 990

Both reviewed exact technical sources say Samsung V-NAND without specifying the NAND cell type. TLC, QLC or another cell type is not established. Preserve the positive V-NAND technology separately. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Not listed by the manufacturerSamsung V-NAND TLC
Host Memory Buffer (HMB)Host Memory Buffer (HMB)
Controller
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not give a codename, stepping or process node.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not give a codename, stepping or process node.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Samsung in-house controllerSamsung in-house controller
Write-buffer technologyDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak write claims and operates only within a specific data transfer size. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Intelligent TurboWriteIntelligent TurboWrite 2.0
NAND technology
Sources
Samsung V-NANDNot provided
3 years or 800 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply5 years or 1200 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Limited warranty timeDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not a lifespan prediction. Coverage also ends at the TBW threshold; eligibility and full terms apply.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not a lifespan prediction. Coverage also ends at the TBW threshold; eligibility and full terms apply.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung internal SSD limited warranty
3 years5 years
Warranty write thresholdDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Warranty write threshold for the 2 TB capacity (1 TB model: 400 TB), in compliance with JESD218; not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Warranty write threshold for this capacity; not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung internal SSD limited warranty
800 TB1200 TB
Manufacturer application scope
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer application class; no enterprise or console installation guarantee.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer application class; no enterprise or console installation guarantee.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Client PCsClient PCs
Manufacturer MTBF rating
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Statistical manufacturer claim, not individual lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Statistical manufacturer claim, not individual lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
1,500,000 hours1,500,000 hours
Hardware encryption support
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
AES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667AES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
TRIM support
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer requires operating-system support; the host path must also support it.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer requires operating-system support; the enclosure/host path must also support it.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
YesYes
S.M.A.R.T. support
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer monitoring capability, not a remaining-lifespan guarantee.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer monitoring capability, not a remaining-lifespan guarantee.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
YesYes
Garbage collection
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Internal function, not a measured performance uplift.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Internal function, not a measured performance uplift.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
YesYes
Drive management software
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · UK feature block: data transfer, drive-health tracking and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Current feature block lists migration, drive health and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Samsung MagicianSamsung Magician
Installation kit included
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · UK page says installation kit not available; no supplied screw or host heatsink is assumed.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK page says installation kit not available; no supplied screw or host heatsink is assumed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
NoNo
World Wide Name support
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN is not supported.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN is not supported.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
NoNo
Device sleep support
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · The UK page lists device sleep mode support. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
YesYes
Included cloning softwareDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · The UK feature block says Magician can transfer data. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The UK feature page advertises data migration through Samsung Magician. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Samsung Magician data transferSamsung Magician data migration
Published power conditionsDifferent
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active power measured with fio 3.28 on an Intel Core Ultra 7 265K / ASUS Maximus Z890 HERO / Ubuntu 22.04 system with 32 GB DDR5-4800, which differs from the speed test. These are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active IOmeter power test uses Ryzen 5 7600 / ASUS ProArt X670E-CREATOR WIFI STCOM / Windows 10 Pro; PDF states 32 GB DDR5-3200. This differs from the speed test. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
4.3 W average active read; 3.8 W average active write; 55 mW PS3 idle (APST on); 3 mW PS4 (L1.2)4.6 W active read; 4.2 W active write; 60 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW PS4 sleep
Published system-level power
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · UK page 'Average Power Consumption (system level)'; actual power consumption may vary depending on system hardware and configuration.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

No source recorded.

Average read 4.3 W; average write 3.8 WNot provided
Operating temperature
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · 0–70 °C is the S.M.A.R.T. operating temperature with airflow recommended, not an independent cooling measurement.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 0–70 °C is the S.M.A.R.T. operating temperature with airflow recommended, not an independent cooling measurement.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
0–70 °C0–70 °C
Storage temperature
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating range, distinct from operation.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating range, distinct from operation.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
−40–85 °C−40–85 °C
Humidity range
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
5–95%5–95%
Non-operating shock rating
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
Non-operating vibration rating
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer test range; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer test range; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
20 G; 20–2000 Hz20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Allowable supply voltage
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Product voltage range. Check the host slot is compatible.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Product voltage range. Check the host slot is compatible.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
3.3 V ±5%3.3 V ±5%
Advertised efficiency comparison
Sources
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Samsung internal test: 990 at 1,686/1,697 MB/s per watt read/write versus 990 PRO at 1,221/1,254 MB/s per watt, 2 TB capacity, fio 3.28 on a Core Ultra 7 265K system. A manufacturer comparison, not a measured saving in any particular PC.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

No source recorded.

Up to 38% better sequential performance per watt than the 990 PRO (Samsung internal 2 TB test)Not provided
2.02.0
Show unverified (5)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
Rated random read, QD1
Sources
Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and data sheet do not list QD1 results.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and PDF do not list QD1 results.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not listed by the manufacturerNot listed by the manufacturer
Rated random write, QD1
Sources
Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and data sheet do not list QD1 results.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and PDF do not list QD1 results.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not listed by the manufacturerNot listed by the manufacturer
DRAM cache present
Sources
Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not listed by the manufacturerNot listed by the manufacturer
Modern Standby support
Sources
Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not listed by the manufacturerNot listed by the manufacturer
DRAM cache capacity
Sources
Samsung 990

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedNot listed by the manufacturer
FIND YOUR CONTENDERS

More products

Closest storage to this pair by shared key specifications. Not a popularity ranking.

See all 199 storage
GIGABYTE AORUS Gen4 7000E 2 TB M.2 2280 SSD, angled view of the labelled single-sided module

Gigabyte AORUS Gen4 7000E

Storage capacity
2 TB
Warranty term
5 years
Write rating
1,400 TB
Prices & product profile

Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.