Skip to comparison
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
STORAGE · YOUR NEXT FACE-OFF

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD vs Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact models · UK & US buying links

Compared products

YOUR FIRST CHOICE

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

1,920 GB · USB Type-C · IKVP80ES/1920G

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD, front view showing the touch-screen PIN pad
Exact model & source notes

The IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD is Kingston's hardware-encrypted USB 3.2 Gen 1 portable SSD with a colour touch screen. The 1,920 GB version is rated up to 250 MB/s read and write, uses FIPS 197 certified XTS-AES 256-bit encryption with a Common Criteria EAL5+ secure microprocessor, and has a 3-year limited warranty.

Specifications checked 27 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications
WHAT DIFFERS
1,920 GBCapacity2,000 GB
Form factorPortableM.2 2280
3 yearsLimited warranty time5 years
3 of 12 verified differences, in the order listed below. Not a rating.
See the 12 verified differences
THE CONTENDER

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V9S2T0BW

Samsung 990 EVO Plus 2 TB bare M.2 SSD; exact UK MZ-V9S2T0BW product gallery
Exact model & source notes

A 2 TB NVMe SSD rated up to 7,250 MB/s read and 6,300 MB/s write over PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2, with TLC V-NAND and a 1,200 TB write rating. It has no factory heatsink.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Samsung 990 EVO Plus UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE

Visual facts

Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.

How to read this comparison
  • Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
  • “Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
  • Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE7 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 07

Storage capacity

Decimal storage capacity: 1 TB = 1,000 GB. Formatting and system use reduce available space.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD1.92 TB

Manufacturer specification · Listed capacity; Kingston notes some of it is used for formatting and other functions and is not available for data storage.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus2 TB

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatted usable space is lower.

Explore the full specifications

Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.

WHAT CHANGES BETWEEN THEM?

Key differences

Full specifications ↓

12 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 7 are also drawn in Visual facts above. Missing information stays separate.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD1920 GB
Samsung 990 EVO Plus2000 GB
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Listed capacity; Kingston notes some of it is used for formatting and other functions and is not available for data storage.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (US)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatted usable space is lower.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Interface and version

In Visual facts
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDUSB 3.2 Gen 1; USB Type-C
Samsung 990 EVO PlusPCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2; NVMe
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Kingston lists USB 3.2 Gen 1 with a Type-C connector and compatibility with USB 3.0, USB 3.1 and USB 3.2 Gen 1 hosts. Both bundled cables are USB 3.2 Gen 1.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (US)

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Form factor

In Visual facts
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDPortable
Samsung 990 EVO PlusM.2 2280
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · External hardware-encrypted USB SSD with a touch screen.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Limited warranty time

In Visual facts
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD3 years
Samsung 990 EVO Plus5 years
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Eligibility and full terms apply.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not a lifespan prediction. Coverage also ends at the TBW threshold; eligibility and full terms apply.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung internal SSD limited warranty

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Encryption

In Visual facts
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDFIPS 197 certified XTS-AES 256-bit hardware encryption
Samsung 990 EVO PlusAES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Kingston: OS-independent hardware encryption using a Common Criteria EAL5+ certified secure microprocessor, with digitally signed firmware against BadUSB.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (US)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Listed encryption support does not mean it is enabled. Check the exact host, software and configuration requirements; no security certification is inferred.

Rated performance and conditions

In Visual facts
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDUp to 250 MB/s read; up to 250 MB/s write
Samsung 990 EVO PlusUp to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6300 MB/s cached sequential write
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Kingston data sheet figure for the 960 GB and 1,920 GB capacities (3,840 GB and 7,680 GB are rated 230 MB/s read). No test system or sustained-write figure is published; host hardware affects results.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (US)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Show 6 more verified differences

Rated sequential read

In Visual facts
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD250 MB/s
Samsung 990 EVO Plus7250 MB/s
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Kingston data sheet figure for the 960 GB and 1,920 GB capacities (3,840 GB and 7,680 GB are rated 230 MB/s read). No test system or sustained-write figure is published; host hardware affects results.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated sequential write

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD250 MB/s
Samsung 990 EVO Plus6300 MB/s
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Kingston data sheet figure for the 960 GB and 1,920 GB capacities (3,840 GB and 7,680 GB are rated 230 MB/s read). No test system or sustained-write figure is published; host hardware affects results.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Warranty terms and endurance if applicable

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD3-year limited warranty; no TBW figure stated
Samsung 990 EVO Plus5 years or 1200 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Full terms at kingston.com/wa.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (US)

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Operating temperature

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD0–60 °C
Samsung 990 EVO Plus0–70 °C
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating range; not a measured temperature under a particular workload.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (US)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 0–70 °C is the S.M.A.R.T. operating temperature with airflow recommended, not an independent cooling measurement.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Storage temperature

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD−20–60 °C
Samsung 990 EVO Plus−40–85 °C
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating range, distinct from operation.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating range, distinct from operation.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Enclosure dimensions

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD122.5 × 84.2 × 18.5 mm
Samsung 990 EVO Plus80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Data sheet order; Kingston does not label the axes.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (US)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.

Missing or non-comparable evidence (37)

Factory heatsink

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNo
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · This bare module has no factory heatsink. A thermal label is not an enclosure.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

DRAM cache present

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

DRAM cache capacity

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Controller

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusSamsung in-house controller
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not give a codename, stepping or process node.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

NAND type

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusSamsung V-NAND TLC
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · The data sheet does not name the NAND type.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Included cloning software

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusSamsung Magician data migration
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The UK feature page advertises data migration through Samsung Magician. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Drive management software

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusSamsung Magician
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Current feature block lists migration, drive health and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Write-buffer technology

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusIntelligent TurboWrite 2.0
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random read

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO Plus1000000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 (thread count not stated). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random write

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO Plus1350000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 (thread count not stated). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random read, QD1

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and PDF do not list QD1 results.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random write, QD1

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and PDF do not list QD1 results.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published endurance rating (TBW)

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO Plus1200 TB
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · The data sheet publishes no TBW figure.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Warranty write threshold for this capacity; not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung internal SSD limited warranty

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Security certifications and compliance

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDFIPS 197; Common Criteria EAL5+ certified secure microprocessor; TAA compliant
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · As listed by Kingston; the EAL5+ certification applies to the secure microprocessor.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Compatibility

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDOS-independent: Windows, macOS, Linux, ChromeOS or any system that supports a USB mass storage device and supplies enough power
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Kingston's compatibility statement; the host must provide sufficient power for the external SSD.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Device sleep support

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusYes
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Garbage collection

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusYes
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Internal function, not a measured performance uplift.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Humidity range

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO Plus5–95%
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Included cables

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDUSB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-C to Type-C cable; USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-C to Type-A cable; neoprene travel case
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Kingston's 'Package Includes' list.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Installation kit included

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNo
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK page says installation kit not available; no supplied screw or host heatsink is assumed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Earlier PCIe support

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusPCIe Gen 3 x4 and Gen 4 x4
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · PDF backward compatibility. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Modern Standby support

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Manufacturer MTBF rating

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO Plus1,500,000 hours
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Statistical manufacturer claim, not individual lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published power conditions

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO Plus4.6 W active read; 4.2 W active write; 60 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW PS4 sleep
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active IOmeter power test uses Ryzen 5 7600 / ASUS ProArt X670E-CREATOR WIFI STCOM / Windows 10 Pro; PDF states 32 GB DDR5-3200. This differs from the speed test. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Access and security controls

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDColour touch screen; Admin and User passwords with numeric PIN or passphrase modes; configurable password rules (6–64 characters); brute-force crypto-erase after 15 failed attempts by default (adjustable 10–30); two read-only (write-protect) modes; adjustable auto-timeout lock; randomised touch-screen layout; secure erase
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed functions; the Admin password can restore access when a User password is forgotten. Not an independent security evaluation.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Non-operating shock rating

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO Plus1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

S.M.A.R.T. support

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusYes
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer monitoring capability, not a remaining-lifespan guarantee.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Allowable supply voltage

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO Plus3.3 V ±5%
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Product voltage range. Check the host slot is compatible.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Thermal design

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNickel-coated controller
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes the nickel-coated controller. Samsung's 73% MB/s-per-watt figure is a marketing comparison, not a measured saving for this 2 TB drive.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

TRIM support

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusYes
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer requires operating-system support; the enclosure/host path must also support it.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Non-operating vibration rating

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO Plus20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer test range; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Manufacturer application scope

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusClient PCs
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer application class; no enterprise or console installation guarantee.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

World Wide Name support

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNo
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN is not supported.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Weight

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDNot verified
Samsung 990 EVO Plus9 g
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Neither data sheet lists a weight.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK 2 TB specification maximum, not package mass or a measured sample.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

1 shared field has the same recorded value.

WHAT EACH CHOICE ASKS OF YOU

What it brings and what to check

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

What it brings

  • Encryption and unlocking happen on the drive itself: FIPS 197 certified XTS-AES 256-bit encryption, a colour touch screen for PIN or passphrase entry, and OS-independent operation on any host that supports USB mass storage.
  • Kingston lists Admin and User passwords, configurable password rules, brute-force crypto-erase (15 failed attempts by default, adjustable 10–30), two read-only modes, an auto-timeout lock and BadUSB protection through signed firmware.
  • The box includes both USB-C to USB-C and USB-C to USB-A cables and a neoprene travel case.

What to check

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

What it brings

What to check

COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

How we verify
50 of 50 specifications Sources in each row
Source-backed specifications for Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD and Samsung 990 EVO Plus
SpecificationKingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSDSamsung 990 EVO Plus
CapacityDifferent
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Listed capacity; Kingston notes some of it is used for formatting and other functions and is not available for data storage.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (US)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatted usable space is lower.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
1920 GB2000 GB
SSDSSD
Interface and versionDifferent
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Kingston lists USB 3.2 Gen 1 with a Type-C connector and compatibility with USB 3.0, USB 3.1 and USB 3.2 Gen 1 hosts. Both bundled cables are USB 3.2 Gen 1.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (US)
USB 3.2 Gen 1; USB Type-CPCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2; NVMe
Form factorDifferent
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · External hardware-encrypted USB SSD with a touch screen.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
PortableM.2 2280
Enclosure dimensionsDifferent
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Data sheet order; Kingston does not label the axes.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (US)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
122.5 × 84.2 × 18.5 mm80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
Weight
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Neither data sheet lists a weight.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK 2 TB specification maximum, not package mass or a measured sample.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not listed by the manufacturer9 g
Earlier PCIe support
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · PDF backward compatibility. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedPCIe Gen 3 x4 and Gen 4 x4
Thermal design
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes the nickel-coated controller. Samsung's 73% MB/s-per-watt figure is a marketing comparison, not a measured saving for this 2 TB drive.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedNickel-coated controller
Factory heatsink
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · This bare module has no factory heatsink. A thermal label is not an enclosure.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedNo
Rated performance and conditionsDifferent
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Kingston data sheet figure for the 960 GB and 1,920 GB capacities (3,840 GB and 7,680 GB are rated 230 MB/s read). No test system or sustained-write figure is published; host hardware affects results.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (US)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Up to 250 MB/s read; up to 250 MB/s writeUp to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6300 MB/s cached sequential write
Rated sequential readDifferent
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Kingston data sheet figure for the 960 GB and 1,920 GB capacities (3,840 GB and 7,680 GB are rated 230 MB/s read). No test system or sustained-write figure is published; host hardware affects results.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
250 MB/s7250 MB/s
Rated sequential writeDifferent
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Kingston data sheet figure for the 960 GB and 1,920 GB capacities (3,840 GB and 7,680 GB are rated 230 MB/s read). No test system or sustained-write figure is published; host hardware affects results.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
250 MB/s6300 MB/s
Rated random read
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 (thread count not stated). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not provided1000000 IOPS
Rated random write
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim, 4 KB QD32 (thread count not stated). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results require TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not provided1350000 IOPS
NAND type
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · The data sheet does not name the NAND type.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Not listed by the manufacturerSamsung V-NAND TLC
Cache arrangement
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Not providedHost Memory Buffer (HMB)
Controller
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not give a codename, stepping or process node.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedSamsung in-house controller
Write-buffer technology
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedIntelligent TurboWrite 2.0
Warranty terms and endurance if applicableDifferent
Sources
3-year limited warranty; no TBW figure stated5 years or 1200 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Limited warranty timeDifferent
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Eligibility and full terms apply.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not a lifespan prediction. Coverage also ends at the TBW threshold; eligibility and full terms apply.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung internal SSD limited warranty
3 years5 years
Published endurance rating (TBW)
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · The data sheet publishes no TBW figure.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Warranty write threshold for this capacity; not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung internal SSD limited warranty
Not listed by the manufacturer1200 TB
Manufacturer application scope
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer application class; no enterprise or console installation guarantee.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedClient PCs
Manufacturer MTBF rating
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Statistical manufacturer claim, not individual lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not provided1,500,000 hours
EncryptionDifferent
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Kingston: OS-independent hardware encryption using a Common Criteria EAL5+ certified secure microprocessor, with digitally signed firmware against BadUSB.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (US)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
FIPS 197 certified XTS-AES 256-bit hardware encryptionAES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
TRIM support
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer requires operating-system support; the enclosure/host path must also support it.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedYes
S.M.A.R.T. support
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer monitoring capability, not a remaining-lifespan guarantee.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedYes
Garbage collection
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Internal function, not a measured performance uplift.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedYes
Drive management software
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Current feature block lists migration, drive health and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedSamsung Magician
Installation kit included
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK page says installation kit not available; no supplied screw or host heatsink is assumed.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedNo
World Wide Name support
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN is not supported.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedNo
Device sleep support
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedYes
Included cloning software
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The UK feature page advertises data migration through Samsung Magician. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedSamsung Magician data migration
Operating temperatureDifferent
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating range; not a measured temperature under a particular workload.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (US)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 0–70 °C is the S.M.A.R.T. operating temperature with airflow recommended, not an independent cooling measurement.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
0–60 °C0–70 °C
Storage temperatureDifferent
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating range, distinct from operation.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating range, distinct from operation.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
−20–60 °C−40–85 °C
Published power conditions
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active IOmeter power test uses Ryzen 5 7600 / ASUS ProArt X670E-CREATOR WIFI STCOM / Windows 10 Pro; PDF states 32 GB DDR5-3200. This differs from the speed test. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not provided4.6 W active read; 4.2 W active write; 60 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW PS4 sleep
Humidity range
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not provided5–95%
Non-operating shock rating
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not provided1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
Non-operating vibration rating
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer test range; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not provided20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Allowable supply voltage
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Product voltage range. Check the host slot is compatible.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not provided3.3 V ±5%
Access and security controls
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed functions; the Admin password can restore access when a User password is forgotten. Not an independent security evaluation.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

No source recorded.

Colour touch screen; Admin and User passwords with numeric PIN or passphrase modes; configurable password rules (6–64 characters); brute-force crypto-erase after 15 failed attempts by default (adjustable 10–30); two read-only (write-protect) modes; adjustable auto-timeout lock; randomised touch-screen layout; secure eraseNot provided
Security certifications and compliance
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · As listed by Kingston; the EAL5+ certification applies to the secure microprocessor.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

No source recorded.

FIPS 197; Common Criteria EAL5+ certified secure microprocessor; TAA compliantNot provided
Casing material
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

No source recorded.

Zinc and plasticNot provided
Included cables
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Kingston's 'Package Includes' list.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

No source recorded.

USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-C to Type-C cable; USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-C to Type-A cable; neoprene travel caseNot provided
Compatibility
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Manufacturer specification · Kingston's compatibility statement; the host must provide sufficient power for the external SSD.

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 990 EVO Plus

No source recorded.

OS-independent: Windows, macOS, Linux, ChromeOS or any system that supports a USB mass storage device and supplies enough powerNot provided
NVMe interface protocol version
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Not provided2.0
Show unverified (5)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
Rated random read, QD1
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and PDF do not list QD1 results.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedNot listed by the manufacturer
Rated random write, QD1
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and PDF do not list QD1 results.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedNot listed by the manufacturer
DRAM cache present
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedNot listed by the manufacturer
DRAM cache capacity
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedNot listed by the manufacturer
Modern Standby support
Sources
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

No source recorded.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.

Samsung 990 EVO Plus exact UK 2 TB specifications and features
Not providedNot listed by the manufacturer
FIND YOUR CONTENDERS

More products

Closest storage to this pair by shared key specifications. Not a popularity ranking.

See all 199 storage

Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.