Samsung Portable SSD T72 TB · Titan Grey · MU-PC2T0T/WW- Capacity
- 2000 GBThis one: 1920 GB
- Interface and version
- USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10 Gbps); USB Type-CThis one: USB 3.2 Gen 1; USB Type-C
1,920 GB · USB Type-C · Kingston part IKVP80ES/1920G
The IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD is Kingston's hardware-encrypted USB 3.2 Gen 1 portable SSD with a colour touch screen. The 1,920 GB version is rated up to 250 MB/s read and write, uses FIPS 197 certified XTS-AES 256-bit encryption with a Common Criteria EAL5+ secure microprocessor, and has a 3-year limited warranty.

Specifications checked 27 Sept 2026Manufacturer specifications, not a hands-on test.
Encryption and unlocking happen on the drive itself: FIPS 197 certified XTS-AES 256-bit encryption, a colour touch screen for PIN or passphrase entry, and OS-independent operation on any host that supports USB mass storage.
Kingston lists Admin and User passwords, configurable password rules, brute-force crypto-erase (15 failed attempts by default, adjustable 10–30), two read-only modes, an auto-timeout lock and BadUSB protection through signed firmware.
The box includes both USB-C to USB-C and USB-C to USB-A cables and a neoprene travel case.
It connects over USB 3.2 Gen 1 and is rated at 250 MB/s for both reads and writes.
It measures 122.5 × 84.2 × 18.5 mm, and Kingston publishes no weight, TBW or NAND type.
The limited warranty is 3 years, and the storage temperature range tops out at 60 °C.
Exact configuration: 1,920 GB · USB Type-C · IKVP80ES/1920G
20 specifications in 6 groups. Values are manufacturer specifications unless a row says “Measured result” or “Calculated from cited specifications”. 1 row repeats a listed fact in the manufacturer’s own wording, kept under “Manufacturer wording”.
Listed capacity; Kingston notes some of it is used for formatting and other functions and is not available for data storage.
External hardware-encrypted USB SSD with a touch screen.
SourceKingston lists USB 3.2 Gen 1 with a Type-C connector and compatibility with USB 3.0, USB 3.1 and USB 3.2 Gen 1 hosts. Both bundled cables are USB 3.2 Gen 1.
Data sheet order; Kingston does not label the axes.
Kingston does not state this for this model. · Neither data sheet lists a weight.
SourceKingston does not state this for this model. · The data sheet does not name the NAND type.
SourceKingston data sheet figure for the 960 GB and 1,920 GB capacities (3,840 GB and 7,680 GB are rated 230 MB/s read). No test system or sustained-write figure is published; host hardware affects results.
SourceKingston data sheet figure for the 960 GB and 1,920 GB capacities (3,840 GB and 7,680 GB are rated 230 MB/s read). No test system or sustained-write figure is published; host hardware affects results.
SourceThe same facts in the manufacturer’s combined or original wording, each with its source.
Kingston data sheet figure for the 960 GB and 1,920 GB capacities (3,840 GB and 7,680 GB are rated 230 MB/s read). No test system or sustained-write figure is published; host hardware affects results.
Kingston does not state this for this model. · The data sheet publishes no TBW figure.
SourceEligibility and full terms apply.
SourceFull terms at kingston.com/wa.
Kingston: OS-independent hardware encryption using a Common Criteria EAL5+ certified secure microprocessor, with digitally signed firmware against BadUSB.
Manufacturer-listed functions; the Admin password can restore access when a User password is forgotten. Not an independent security evaluation.
SourceAs listed by Kingston; the EAL5+ certification applies to the secure microprocessor.
SourceManufacturer operating range; not a measured temperature under a particular workload.
Non-operating range, distinct from operation.
SourceKingston's 'Package Includes' list.
SourceKingston's compatibility statement; the host must provide sufficient power for the external SSD.
SourceMore of the nearest checked drives by key specifications, for a side-by-side comparison.
Kingston Dual Portable SSD2 TB · USB Type-A and Type-C · SPSD/2TBCompare the two
Samsung Portable SSD T5 EVO8 TB · Black · MU-PH8T0S/EUCompare the two
ASUS TUF Gaming AS1000 PLUS1 TB · Black · USB-C 3.2 Gen 2x2 · US part 90DD02W0-M08000Compare the two
Kingston DC600M1.92 TB · 2.5-inch SATA · without self-encryption · SEDC600M/1920GCompare the two
Samsung 990 PRO2 TB · without factory heatsink · MZ-V9P2T0BWCompare the two
Samsung 990 EVO Plus2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V9S2T0BWCompare the two
Samsung 980 PRO2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V8P2T0BWCompare the two
Samsung 990 PRO with Heatsink2 TB · M.2 2280 with factory heatsink · MZ-V9P2T0CWCompare the two