Samsung 980 PRO2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V8P2T0BW- Form factor
- M.2 2280This one: M.2 2280 (single-sided)
- Rated sequential write
- 5100 MB/sThis one: 6500 MB/s
2 TB · M.2 2280 single-sided · no heatsink · SK hynix part SHPP41-2000GM-2
SK hynix's 2TB PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe drive in a bare, single-sided M.2 2280 format, rated up to 7,000 MB/s read and 6,500 MB/s write, using SK hynix 176-layer TLC NAND and its in-house Aries controller, with a 1,200 TBW rating and five-year limited warranty.

Specifications checked 26 Sept 2026Manufacturer specifications, not a hands-on test.
Rated up to 7,000 MB/s sequential read and 6,500 MB/s sequential write, and up to 1,400K/1,300K random read/write IOPS at 2TB.
Single-sided M.2 2280 layout with a maximum height of 2.38 mm.
1,200 TBW endurance rating at 2TB with a five-year limited warranty, plus a 1.5 million hour MTBF rating.
A PCIe 4.0 NVMe drive using up to 4 lanes, with a rated ceiling of 7,000 MB/s sequential read; SK hynix states no PCIe 5.0 support or backward-compatibility behaviour.
SK hynix publishes no test conditions for its speed figures, and no active or idle power, DRAM cache or storage-temperature ratings, so those remain unknown here.
SK hynix lists AES 256-bit encryption with TCG Pyrite support; TCG Opal is not listed on its product page.
Exact configuration: 2 TB · M.2 2280 single-sided · no heatsink · SHPP41-2000GM-2
29 specifications in 6 groups. Values are manufacturer specifications unless a row says “Measured result” or “Calculated from cited specifications”. 1 row repeats a listed fact in the manufacturer’s own wording, kept under “Manufacturer wording”.
SK hynix lists a 2TB capacity option and does not state its byte definition; recorded as 2,000 GB assuming decimal terabytes.
SourceSK hynix lists "PCIe 4.0 NVMe, up to 4 lanes". SK hynix does not state backward compatibility or behaviour in other PCIe generations.
SourceSK hynix publishes a bare single-sided M.2 2280 drive with a maximum thickness of 2.38 mm; no heatsink variant is listed.
SourceAs published by SK hynix (width × length × maximum height), single-sided bare drive.
SourceSK hynix publishes the weight as "7.0±5%" with no unit, so the unit (and therefore the weight) is unknown. Not converted or assumed.
SourceThe reviewed exact manufacturer sources identify NVMe but do not state its protocol version. An omitted version does not establish a different version or missing NVMe support.
SourceSK hynix "up to" figures for the 2TB capacity. SK hynix publishes no test platform, queue depth, block size or drive-state conditions for these figures. Not our measurement.
SourceSK hynix "up to" figures for the 2TB capacity. SK hynix publishes no test platform, queue depth, block size or drive-state conditions for these figures. Not our measurement.
SourceSK hynix up-to random read for 2TB (1,400K IOPS); block size and queue depth are not stated.
SourceSK hynix up-to random write for 2TB (1,300K IOPS); block size and queue depth are not stated.
SourceThe same facts in the manufacturer’s combined or original wording, each with its source.
SK hynix "up to" figures for the 2TB capacity. SK hynix publishes no test platform, queue depth, block size or drive-state conditions for these figures. Not our measurement.
SourceSK hynix up-to TBW for the 2TB capacity. Not a guaranteed service life.
SourceThe published warranty terms require proof of purchase and the certificate of authenticity supplied at purchase. The warranty page does not state that coverage ends on reaching the TBW rating; the TBW figure is the product-page endurance rating.
Manufacturer reliability rating; SK hynix's launch release states the P41 undergoes 1,000 hours of high-temperature operating life (HTOL) testing, where it achieved the 1.5 million hour MTBF. SK hynix also lists a bit error rate of 1 error in 10^15 bits transferred.
"Device Sleep Mode" listed as "Supported" under Special Features in the SK hynix specification table. No sleep-power figure is published.
SourceSK hynix publishes no active, idle or sleep power figures for the Platinum P41; the specification table lists only the supply voltage and Device Sleep Mode support.
SourceSupply voltage as published in the SK hynix specification table (Voltage 3.3V±5%).
SourceSK hynix lists "AES 256-bit Encryption, TCG Pyrite Supported".
SourceListed as "Supported" under Special Features in the SK hynix specification table.
SourceListed as "Supported" under Special Features in the SK hynix specification table.
Source"GC (Garbage Collection)" listed as "Supported" under Special Features in the SK hynix specification table.
SourceAs listed under Special Features in the SK hynix specification table.
SourceMore of the nearest checked drives by key specifications, for a side-by-side comparison.
Samsung 9902 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V9V2T0BWCompare the two
Gigabyte AORUS Gen4 73002 TB · M.2 2280 double-sided without heat spreader · AG4732TB NCompare the two
MSI SPATIUM M4822 TB · PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 2280 without heatsinkCompare the two
MSI SPATIUM M480 PRO2 TB · PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 2280 without heatsinkCompare the two
Samsung 990 PRO2 TB · without factory heatsink · MZ-V9P2T0BWCompare the two
Samsung 990 PRO with Heatsink2 TB · M.2 2280 with factory heatsink · MZ-V9P2T0CWCompare the two
Kingston NV31000 GB · M.2 2280 · SNV3S/1000GCompare the two
MSI SPATIUM M4802 TB · PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 2280 without heatsinkCompare the two