Skip to comparison
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
STORAGE · YOUR NEXT FACE-OFF

Samsung 980 PRO vs SK hynix Platinum P41

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact models · UK & US buying links

Compared products

YOUR FIRST CHOICE

Samsung 980 PRO

2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V8P2T0BW

Samsung 980 PRO 2 TB M.2 SSD; official image associated with MZ-V8P2T0BW
Exact model & source notes

A 2 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD rated up to 7,000 MB/s read and 5,100 MB/s write, with TLC V-NAND, 2 GB LPDDR4 cache and a 1,200 TB write rating. It has no factory heatsink.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications
WHAT DIFFERS
5,100 MB/sRated sequential write6,500 MB/s
1,000,000 IOPSRated random read1,400,000 IOPS
1,000,000 IOPSRated random write1,300,000 IOPS
3 of 11 verified differences, in the order listed below. Not a rating.
See the 11 verified differences
THE CONTENDER

SK hynix Platinum P41

2 TB · M.2 2280 single-sided · no heatsink · SHPP41-2000GM-2

SK hynix Platinum P41 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 2280 SSD without heatsink, top view
Exact model & source notes

SK hynix's 2TB PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe drive in a bare, single-sided M.2 2280 format, rated up to 7,000 MB/s read and 6,500 MB/s write, using SK hynix 176-layer TLC NAND and its in-house Aries controller, with a 1,200 TBW rating and five-year limited warranty.

Specifications checked 26 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications

Samsung 980 PRO UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

SK hynix Platinum P41 UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE

Visual facts

Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.

How to read this comparison
  • Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
  • “Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
  • Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08

Controller

Compare the exact component configuration. A controller or NAND name is not a measured performance or reliability rating.

Samsung 980 PROSamsung Elpis

Named Elpis on Samsung's UK technical page; the current PDF revision describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller. · Manufacturer specification · UK technical page names Elpis. The current PDF revision (2.1) describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller.

SK hynix Platinum P41SK hynix in-house "Aries" controller

Manufacturer specification

Explore the full specifications

Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.

WHAT CHANGES BETWEEN THEM?

Key differences

Full specifications ↓

11 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 7 are also drawn in Visual facts above. Missing information stays separate.

Controller

In Visual facts
Samsung 980 PROSamsung Elpis
SK hynix Platinum P41SK hynix in-house "Aries" controller
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Named Elpis on Samsung's UK technical page; the current PDF revision describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller. · Manufacturer specification · UK technical page names Elpis. The current PDF revision (2.1) describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Compare the exact component configuration. A controller or NAND name is not a measured performance or reliability rating.

Samsung 980 PROSamsung V-NAND TLC
SK hynix Platinum P41SK hynix 176-layer 3D TLC NAND
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer calls this 3-bit MLC: three bits per cell, also called TLC. This is not two-bit MLC.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung NAND terminology: TLC stores three bits per cell

Compare the exact component configuration. A controller or NAND name is not a measured performance or reliability rating.

Hardware encryption support

In Visual facts
Samsung 980 PROAES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
SK hynix Platinum P41AES 256-bit encryption; TCG Pyrite
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capabilities, not encryption enabled by default or every-host support.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix lists "AES 256-bit Encryption, TCG Pyrite Supported".

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)

Listed encryption support does not mean it is enabled. Check the exact host, software and configuration requirements; no security certification is inferred.

Drive management software

In Visual facts
Samsung 980 PROSamsung Magician
SK hynix Platinum P41SK hynix Drive Manager: Easy Kit (Windows 64-bit) and firmware update utility
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer feature block lists monitoring and software/firmware updates. OS/version support and feature prerequisites require separate checking.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications

Check the software, operating-system and licence requirements. An available feature does not establish a measured speed improvement or support on every host.

Rated performance and conditions

In Visual facts
Samsung 980 PROUp to 7000 MB/s sequential read; up to 5100 MB/s cached sequential write
SK hynix Platinum P41Up to 7,000 MB/s sequential read; up to 6,500 MB/s sequential write
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix "up to" figures for the 2TB capacity. SK hynix publishes no test platform, queue depth, block size or drive-state conditions for these figures. Not our measurement.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated sequential write

In Visual facts
Samsung 980 PRO5100 MB/s
SK hynix Platinum P416500 MB/s
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix "up to" figures for the 2TB capacity. SK hynix publishes no test platform, queue depth, block size or drive-state conditions for these figures. Not our measurement.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Show 5 more verified differences

Rated random read

In Visual facts
Samsung 980 PRO1000000 IOPS
SK hynix Platinum P411400000 IOPS
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix up-to random read for 2TB (1,400K IOPS); block size and queue depth are not stated.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random write

Samsung 980 PRO1000000 IOPS
SK hynix Platinum P411300000 IOPS
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix up-to random write for 2TB (1,300K IOPS); block size and queue depth are not stated.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Warranty terms and endurance if applicable

Samsung 980 PRO5 years or 1200 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
SK hynix Platinum P41Five-year limited warranty for the original purchaser; 1,200 TBW endurance rating at 2TB
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · The published warranty terms require proof of purchase and the certificate of authenticity supplied at purchase. The warranty page does not state that coverage ends on reaching the TBW rating; the TBW figure is the product-page endurance rating.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)SK hynix SSD — official five-year limited warranty terms

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Operating temperature

Samsung 980 PRO0–70 °C
SK hynix Platinum P410 °C to 70 °C
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Measured by the drive's S.M.A.R.T. temperature; Samsung recommends adequate airflow.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Drive dimensions

Samsung 980 PRO80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
SK hynix Platinum P41(22.00 ± 0.15) × (80.00 ± 0.15) × (max. 2.38) mm
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · As published by SK hynix (width × length × maximum height), single-sided bare drive.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)

A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.

Missing or non-comparable evidence (25)

Form factor

Samsung 980 PROM.2 2280
SK hynix Platinum P41M.2 2280 (single-sided)
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Match the physical format and electrical interface to the host.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

One source states less detail or a rounded figure. This is not a verified difference; check the exact configuration.

DRAM cache present

Samsung 980 PROYes
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity row lists onboard LPDDR4 DRAM. Having DRAM is not a measured performance result.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

DRAM cache capacity

Samsung 980 PRO2 GB
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity LPDDR4 DRAM size; not the variable TurboWrite write-buffer capacity.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Included cloning software

Samsung 980 PRONot verified
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician health monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Write-buffer technology

Samsung 980 PROIntelligent TurboWrite
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Peak write claims require the buffer. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random read, QD1

Samsung 980 PRO22000 IOPS
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread value for this capacity under the manufacturer performance test setup. Not measured application latency.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random write, QD1

Samsung 980 PRO60000 IOPS
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread 60000 IOPS for this 2 TB capacity with Intelligent TurboWrite under the stated modified Ryzen/ASUS test setup. Not application latency.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Humidity range

Samsung 980 PRO5–95%
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Installation kit included

Samsung 980 PRONo
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · No installation kit is included.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Earlier PCIe support

Samsung 980 PROPCIe Gen 3
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · PCIe 3.0 backward compatibility. The 2 TB four-lane PCIe 3 mode ratings are listed separately; host protocol and lane availability determine operation.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

NVMe interface protocol version

Samsung 980 PRO1.3c
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
SK hynix Platinum P41

The reviewed exact manufacturer sources identify NVMe but do not state its protocol version. An omitted version does not establish a different version or missing NVMe support. · Manufacturer specification

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated performance on PCIe 3.0

Samsung 980 PROUp to 3500/3470 MB/s sequential read/write; 680000/630000 IOPS random read/write
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB backward-compatible mode in PDF footnote 2. Not the PCIe 4.0 peak figures or the 1 TB/250 GB values. Same manufacturer TurboWrite/test qualifications; actual host may differ.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published burst power

Samsung 980 PRO7.2 W
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · UK page maximum burst-mode claim; distinct from average active, idle or constant use.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published power conditions

Samsung 980 PRO6.1 W active read; 5.6 W active write; 35 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleep
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column, IOmeter 1.1.0 on Ryzen 7 3700X, 16 GB DDR4, Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master, Windows 10 Pro. This differs from the performance host. Idle requires autonomous power-state operation; values are not constant household-use loads.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

SK hynix publishes no active, idle or sleep power figures for the Platinum P41; the specification table lists only the supply voltage and Device Sleep Mode support. · Manufacturer specification

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Queue support

Samsung 980 PRONot verified
SK hynix Platinum P41Up to 256 queues; up to 1,024 queue depth for each queue
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

No source recorded for this side.

SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · As listed under Special Features in the SK hynix specification table.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Non-operating shock rating

Samsung 980 PRO1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Storage temperature

Samsung 980 PRO−40–85 °C
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · PDF non-operating range −40–85 °C, distinct from 0–70 °C operation.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published system-level power

Samsung 980 PRO6.1 W average; 7.2 W maximum in burst mode
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · The UK page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from datasheet active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Temperature sensor

Samsung 980 PRONot verified
SK hynix Platinum P41Yes
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

No source recorded for this side.

SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix lists a temperature sensor reported through SMART Attributes Bytes 02:01h, under Special Features / Temperature Range Operation.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Thermal design

Samsung 980 PRONickel-coated controller; heat-spreader label; Dynamic Thermal Guard
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Official thermal features. Not a factory heatsink enclosure or measured temperature advantage.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Non-operating vibration rating

Samsung 980 PRO20 G; 20–2000 Hz
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer frequency/rating; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Manufacturer application scope

Samsung 980 PROClient PCs
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Application class, not universal system/console compatibility.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

World Wide Name support

Samsung 980 PRONo
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN unsupported.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Maximum drive weight

Samsung 980 PRO9 g
SK hynix Platinum P41Not verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · UK capacity-specific maximum drive mass, not packaging.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SK hynix Platinum P41

SK hynix publishes the weight as "7.0±5%" with no unit, so the unit (and therefore the weight) is unknown. Not converted or assumed. · Manufacturer specification

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

13 shared fields have the same recorded value.

WHAT EACH CHOICE ASKS OF YOU

What it brings and what to check

Samsung 980 PRO

What it brings

What to check

SK hynix Platinum P41

What it brings

What to check

  • A PCIe 4.0 NVMe drive using up to 4 lanes, with a rated ceiling of 7,000 MB/s sequential read; SK hynix states no PCIe 5.0 support or backward-compatibility behaviour.
  • SK hynix publishes no test conditions for its speed figures, and no active or idle power, DRAM cache or storage-temperature ratings, so those remain unknown here.
  • SK hynix lists AES 256-bit encryption with TCG Pyrite support; TCG Opal is not listed on its product page.
COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

How we verify
49 of 49 specifications Sources in each row
Source-backed specifications for Samsung 980 PRO and SK hynix Platinum P41
SpecificationSamsung 980 PROSK hynix Platinum P41
Capacity
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatting and system use reduce available space.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix lists a 2TB capacity option and does not state its byte definition; recorded as 2,000 GB assuming decimal terabytes.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
2000 GB2000 GB
SSD / HDD
Sources
SSDSSD
Interface and version
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix lists "PCIe 4.0 NVMe, up to 4 lanes". SK hynix does not state backward compatibility or behaviour in other PCIe generations.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
PCIe 4.0 x4; NVMePCIe 4.0 x4; NVMe
Form factor
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Match the physical format and electrical interface to the host.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
M.2 2280M.2 2280 (single-sided)
Drive dimensionsDifferent
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · As published by SK hynix (width × length × maximum height), single-sided bare drive.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm(22.00 ± 0.15) × (80.00 ± 0.15) × (max. 2.38) mm
Factory heatsink
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · This BW configuration has no factory heatsink; follow the host's cooling requirements.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix publishes a bare single-sided M.2 2280 drive with a maximum thickness of 2.38 mm; no heatsink variant is listed.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
NoNo
Thermal design
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Official thermal features. Not a factory heatsink enclosure or measured temperature advantage.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

Nickel-coated controller; heat-spreader label; Dynamic Thermal GuardNot provided
Maximum drive weight
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · UK capacity-specific maximum drive mass, not packaging.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SK hynix Platinum P41

SK hynix publishes the weight as "7.0±5%" with no unit, so the unit (and therefore the weight) is unknown. Not converted or assumed. · Manufacturer specification

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
9 gNot listed by the manufacturer
Earlier PCIe support
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · PCIe 3.0 backward compatibility. The 2 TB four-lane PCIe 3 mode ratings are listed separately; host protocol and lane availability determine operation.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

PCIe Gen 3Not provided
Rated performance and conditionsDifferent
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix "up to" figures for the 2TB capacity. SK hynix publishes no test platform, queue depth, block size or drive-state conditions for these figures. Not our measurement.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
Up to 7000 MB/s sequential read; up to 5100 MB/s cached sequential writeUp to 7,000 MB/s sequential read; up to 6,500 MB/s sequential write
Rated sequential read
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix "up to" figures for the 2TB capacity. SK hynix publishes no test platform, queue depth, block size or drive-state conditions for these figures. Not our measurement.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
7000 MB/s7000 MB/s
Rated sequential writeDifferent
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix "up to" figures for the 2TB capacity. SK hynix publishes no test platform, queue depth, block size or drive-state conditions for these figures. Not our measurement.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
5100 MB/s6500 MB/s
Rated random readDifferent
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix up-to random read for 2TB (1,400K IOPS); block size and queue depth are not stated.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
1000000 IOPS1400000 IOPS
Rated random writeDifferent
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix up-to random write for 2TB (1,300K IOPS); block size and queue depth are not stated.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
1000000 IOPS1300000 IOPS
Rated random read, QD1
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread value for this capacity under the manufacturer performance test setup. Not measured application latency.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

22000 IOPSNot provided
Rated random write, QD1
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread 60000 IOPS for this 2 TB capacity with Intelligent TurboWrite under the stated modified Ryzen/ASUS test setup. Not application latency.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

60000 IOPSNot provided
Rated performance on PCIe 3.0
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB backward-compatible mode in PDF footnote 2. Not the PCIe 4.0 peak figures or the 1 TB/250 GB values. Same manufacturer TurboWrite/test qualifications; actual host may differ.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

Up to 3500/3470 MB/s sequential read/write; 680000/630000 IOPS random read/writeNot provided
NAND typeDifferent
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer calls this 3-bit MLC: three bits per cell, also called TLC. This is not two-bit MLC.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung NAND terminology: TLC stores three bits per cell
Samsung V-NAND TLCSK hynix 176-layer 3D TLC NAND
Cache arrangement
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer's stated DRAM cache capacity for this storage capacity.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

2 GB LPDDR4 DRAMNot provided
ControllerDifferent
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Named Elpis on Samsung's UK technical page; the current PDF revision describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller. · Manufacturer specification · UK technical page names Elpis. The current PDF revision (2.1) describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung ElpisSK hynix in-house "Aries" controller
DRAM cache present
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity row lists onboard LPDDR4 DRAM. Having DRAM is not a measured performance result.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

YesNot provided
DRAM cache capacity
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity LPDDR4 DRAM size; not the variable TurboWrite write-buffer capacity.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

2 GBNot provided
Write-buffer technology
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Peak write claims require the buffer. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

Intelligent TurboWriteNot provided
Warranty terms and endurance if applicableDifferent
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · The published warranty terms require proof of purchase and the certificate of authenticity supplied at purchase. The warranty page does not state that coverage ends on reaching the TBW rating; the TBW figure is the product-page endurance rating.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)SK hynix SSD — official five-year limited warranty terms
5 years or 1200 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms applyFive-year limited warranty for the original purchaser; 1,200 TBW endurance rating at 2TB
Limited warranty time
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not predicted lifespan; coverage also ends at the TBW threshold and is subject to full terms.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification

SK hynix SSD — official five-year limited warranty terms
5 years5 years
Warranty write threshold
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity-specific warranty write threshold, not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix up-to TBW for the 2TB capacity. Not a guaranteed service life.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
1200 TB1200 TB
Manufacturer application scope
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Application class, not universal system/console compatibility.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

Client PCsNot provided
Manufacturer MTBF rating
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Statistical claim, not an individual lifespan or warranty.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer reliability rating; SK hynix's launch release states the P41 undergoes 1,000 hours of high-temperature operating life (HTOL) testing, where it achieved the 1.5 million hour MTBF. SK hynix also lists a bit error rate of 1 error in 10^15 bits transferred.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)SK hynix Newsroom — "SK hynix Launches PCIe 4.0 Platinum P41 SSD" (official press release)
1,500,000 hours1.5 million hours
Hardware encryption supportDifferent
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capabilities, not encryption enabled by default or every-host support.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix lists "AES 256-bit Encryption, TCG Pyrite Supported".

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
AES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667AES 256-bit encryption; TCG Pyrite
TRIM support
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Requires operating-system support as stated by manufacturer.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · Listed as "Supported" under Special Features in the SK hynix specification table.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
YesYes
S.M.A.R.T. support
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Monitoring capability, not predicted remaining life.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · Listed as "Supported" under Special Features in the SK hynix specification table.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
YesYes
Garbage collection
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Listed internal function.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · "GC (Garbage Collection)" listed as "Supported" under Special Features in the SK hynix specification table.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
YesYes
Drive management softwareDifferent
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer feature block lists monitoring and software/firmware updates. OS/version support and feature prerequisites require separate checking.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
Samsung MagicianSK hynix Drive Manager: Easy Kit (Windows 64-bit) and firmware update utility
Installation kit included
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · No installation kit is included.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

NoNot provided
World Wide Name support
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN unsupported.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

NoNot provided
Device sleep support
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · "Device Sleep Mode" listed as "Supported" under Special Features in the SK hynix specification table. No sleep-power figure is published.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
YesYes
Operating temperatureDifferent
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Measured by the drive's S.M.A.R.T. temperature; Samsung recommends adequate airflow.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
0–70 °C0 °C to 70 °C
Published power conditions
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column, IOmeter 1.1.0 on Ryzen 7 3700X, 16 GB DDR4, Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master, Windows 10 Pro. This differs from the performance host. Idle requires autonomous power-state operation; values are not constant household-use loads.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

SK hynix publishes no active, idle or sleep power figures for the Platinum P41; the specification table lists only the supply voltage and Device Sleep Mode support. · Manufacturer specification

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
6.1 W active read; 5.6 W active write; 35 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleepNot listed by the manufacturer
Published burst power
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · UK page maximum burst-mode claim; distinct from average active, idle or constant use.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

7.2 WNot provided
Storage temperature
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · PDF non-operating range −40–85 °C, distinct from 0–70 °C operation.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

−40–85 °CNot provided
Humidity range
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

5–95%Not provided
Non-operating shock rating
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axesNot provided
Non-operating vibration rating
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer frequency/rating; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

20 G; 20–2000 HzNot provided
Allowable supply voltage
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · UK electrical requirement, not sufficient proof of host compatibility.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · Supply voltage as published in the SK hynix specification table (Voltage 3.3V±5%).

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
3.3 V ±5%3.3 V ±5%
Published system-level power
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · The UK page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from datasheet active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

6.1 W average; 7.2 W maximum in burst modeNot provided
NVMe interface protocol version
Sources
SK hynix Platinum P41

The reviewed exact manufacturer sources identify NVMe but do not state its protocol version. An omitted version does not establish a different version or missing NVMe support. · Manufacturer specification

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
1.3cNot listed by the manufacturer
Queue support
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

No source recorded.

SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · As listed under Special Features in the SK hynix specification table.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
Not providedUp to 256 queues; up to 1,024 queue depth for each queue
Temperature sensor
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

No source recorded.

SK hynix Platinum P41

Manufacturer specification · SK hynix lists a temperature sensor reported through SMART Attributes Bytes 02:01h, under Special Features / Temperature Range Operation.

SK hynix Platinum P41 SSD — official product page and specification table (500GB/1TB/2TB)
Not providedYes
Show unverified (1)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
Included cloning software
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician health monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
SK hynix Platinum P41

No source recorded.

Not providedNot provided
FIND YOUR CONTENDERS

More products

Closest storage to this pair by shared key specifications. Not a popularity ranking.

See all 199 storage
Samsung 990 PRO with Heatsink 2 TB M.2 SSD with its 2 TB retail box and leaflet; official image associated with MZ-V9P2T0CW

Samsung 990 PRO with Heatsink

Storage capacity
2 TB
Warranty term
5 years
Write rating
1,200 TB
Prices & product profile
MSI SPATIUM M480 PRO 2 TB M.2 2280 SSD, upright angled view showing the 2 TB label

MSI SPATIUM M480 PRO

Storage capacity
2 TB
Warranty term
5 years
Write rating
1,400 TB
Prices & product profile

Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.