A 2 TB NVMe SSD rated up to 7,250 MB/s read and 6,300 MB/s write over PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2, with TLC V-NAND and a 1,200 TB write rating. It has no factory heatsink.
Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.
Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.
A 2 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD rated up to 7,000 MB/s read and 5,100 MB/s write, with TLC V-NAND, 2 GB LPDDR4 cache and a 1,200 TB write rating. It has no factory heatsink.
Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.
Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.
Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.
THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE
Visual facts
Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.
How to read this comparison
Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
“Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08
Interface and version
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Samsung 990 EVO PlusPCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2; NVMe
Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.
Compare the exact DRAM capacity and cache configuration. Onboard DRAM is a separate specification from a write buffer; neither is a measured performance or reliability rating.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.
Compare the exact capacity and cache state. After-buffer claims differ from cached peaks; workload, free space, host and test method affect results. A write buffer is not onboard DRAM or a guarantee of sustained application speed.
Samsung 990 EVO PlusUp to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6300 MB/s cached sequential write
Samsung 980 PROUp to 7000 MB/s sequential read; up to 5100 MB/s cached sequential write
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Earlier PCIe support
Samsung 990 EVO PlusPCIe Gen 3 x4 and Gen 4 x4
Samsung 980 PROPCIe Gen 3
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · PDF backward compatibility. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation.
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Published power conditions
Samsung 990 EVO Plus4.6 W active read; 4.2 W active write; 60 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW PS4 sleep
Samsung 980 PRO6.1 W active read; 5.6 W active write; 35 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleep
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active IOmeter power test uses Ryzen 5 7600 / ASUS ProArt X670E-CREATOR WIFI STCOM / Windows 10 Pro; PDF states 32 GB DDR5-3200. This differs from the speed test. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.
Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes the nickel-coated controller. Samsung's 73% MB/s-per-watt figure is a marketing comparison, not a measured saving for this 2 TB drive.
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Missing or non-comparable evidence (10)
DRAM cache present
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Samsung 980 PROYes
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
DRAM cache capacity
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Samsung 980 PRO2 GB
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.
Named Elpis on Samsung's UK technical page; the current PDF revision describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller. · Manufacturer specification · UK technical page names Elpis. The current PDF revision (2.1) describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller.
One source states less detail or a rounded figure. This is not a verified difference; check the exact configuration.
Included cloning software
Samsung 990 EVO PlusSamsung Magician data migration
Samsung 980 PRONot verified
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · The UK feature page advertises data migration through Samsung Magician. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician health monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.
Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread value for this capacity under the manufacturer performance test setup. Not measured application latency.
Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread 60000 IOPS for this 2 TB capacity with Intelligent TurboWrite under the stated modified Ryzen/ASUS test setup. Not application latency.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Modern Standby support
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Samsung 980 PRONot verified
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Rated performance on PCIe 3.0
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Samsung 980 PROUp to 3500/3470 MB/s sequential read/write; 680000/630000 IOPS random read/write
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 980 PRO
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB backward-compatible mode in PDF footnote 2. Not the PCIe 4.0 peak figures or the 1 TB/250 GB values. Same manufacturer TurboWrite/test qualifications; actual host may differ.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Published system-level power
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Samsung 980 PRO6.1 W average; 7.2 W maximum in burst mode
Sources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 980 PRO
Manufacturer specification · The UK page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from datasheet active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.
Samsung specifies Host Memory Buffer caching and lists no onboard DRAM for this drive. Peak write speed relies on the TurboWrite cache, and Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed for this model.
Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.
Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes the nickel-coated controller. Samsung's 73% MB/s-per-watt figure is a marketing comparison, not a measured saving for this 2 TB drive.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
Up to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6300 MB/s cached sequential write
Up to 7000 MB/s sequential read; up to 5100 MB/s cached sequential write
Rated sequential readDifferentSources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.
Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.
Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread value for this capacity under the manufacturer performance test setup. Not measured application latency.
Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread 60000 IOPS for this 2 TB capacity with Intelligent TurboWrite under the stated modified Ryzen/ASUS test setup. Not application latency.
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB backward-compatible mode in PDF footnote 2. Not the PCIe 4.0 peak figures or the 1 TB/250 GB values. Same manufacturer TurboWrite/test qualifications; actual host may differ.
Named Elpis on Samsung's UK technical page; the current PDF revision describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller. · Manufacturer specification · UK technical page names Elpis. The current PDF revision (2.1) describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.
Manufacturer specification · Current feature block lists migration, drive health and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer feature block lists monitoring and software/firmware updates. OS/version support and feature prerequisites require separate checking.
Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.
Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.
Manufacturer specification · The UK feature page advertises data migration through Samsung Magician. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician health monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active IOmeter power test uses Ryzen 5 7600 / ASUS ProArt X670E-CREATOR WIFI STCOM / Windows 10 Pro; PDF states 32 GB DDR5-3200. This differs from the speed test. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.
Manufacturer specification · The UK page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from datasheet active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.
Show unverified (1)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
Modern Standby supportSources
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.
Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.