Skip to comparison
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
STORAGE · YOUR NEXT FACE-OFF

Samsung 870 EVO vs Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact models · UK & US buying links

Compared products

YOUR FIRST CHOICE

Samsung 870 EVO

1 TB · 2.5-inch SATA · MZ-77E1T0B/EU

Black Samsung 870 EVO SATA enclosure from Samsung's exact 1 TB MZ-77E1T0B/EU product gallery; capacity is not printed on this face.
Exact model & source notes

A 1 TB 2.5-inch SATA SSD rated up to 560 MB/s read and 530 MB/s write, with TLC V-NAND, 1 GB LPDDR4 cache and a 600 TB write rating.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications
WHICH SUITS YOU?

Choose the 870 EVO for

  • A 2.5-inch drive

Choose the 970 EVO Plus for

  • An M.2 2280 drive
  • Higher stated rated sequential read: 3,500 MB/s vs 560 MB/s
  • Higher stated rated sequential write: 3,300 MB/s vs 530 MB/s
Built from verified specifications that differ. Not a rating or a recommendation.
See the 17 verified differences
THE CONTENDER

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

1 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V7S1T0BW

Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1 TB M.2 SSD; official image associated with MZ-V7S1T0BW
Exact model & source notes

A 1 TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSD rated up to 3,500 MB/s read and 3,300 MB/s write, with TLC V-NAND, 1 GB LPDDR4 cache and a 600 TB write rating.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications

870 EVO UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

970 EVO Plus UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE

Visual facts

Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.

How to read this comparison
  • Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
  • “Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
  • Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08

Interface and version

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Samsung 870 EVOSATA 6 Gb/s

Backward compatible with SATA 3 Gb/s and 1.5 Gb/s. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung 970 EVO PlusPCIe 3.0 x4; NVMe

Manufacturer specification · Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.

Explore the full specifications

Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.

WHAT CHANGES BETWEEN THEM?

Key differences

Full specifications ↓

17 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 7 are also drawn in Visual facts above. Missing information stays separate.

Interface and version

In Visual facts
Samsung 870 EVOSATA 6 Gb/s
Samsung 970 EVO PlusPCIe 3.0 x4; NVMe
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Backward compatible with SATA 3 Gb/s and 1.5 Gb/s. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Form factor

In Visual facts
Samsung 870 EVO2.5-inch
Samsung 970 EVO PlusM.2 2280
Sources
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Match the physical format and electrical interface to the host.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Rated performance and conditions

In Visual facts
Samsung 870 EVOUp to 560 MB/s sequential read; up to 530 MB/s cached sequential write; 530 MB/s after TurboWrite
Samsung 970 EVO PlusUp to 3500 MB/s sequential read; up to 3300 MB/s cached sequential write
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung Rev2.0 sequential claims use CrystalDiskMark 8.0.4 on an Intel Core i7-4790K, 16 GB DDR3, ASUS Z97 PRO and Windows 10 Pro system. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; the 1 TB after-cache claim is also 530 MB/s. Results vary with workload, firmware and system.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated sequential read

In Visual facts
Samsung 870 EVO560 MB/s
Samsung 970 EVO Plus3500 MB/s
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung Rev2.0 sequential claims use CrystalDiskMark 8.0.4 on an Intel Core i7-4790K, 16 GB DDR3, ASUS Z97 PRO and Windows 10 Pro system. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; the 1 TB after-cache claim is also 530 MB/s. Results vary with workload, firmware and system.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated sequential write

In Visual facts
Samsung 870 EVO530 MB/s
Samsung 970 EVO Plus3300 MB/s
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung Rev2.0 sequential claims use CrystalDiskMark 8.0.4 on an Intel Core i7-4790K, 16 GB DDR3, ASUS Z97 PRO and Windows 10 Pro system. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; the 1 TB after-cache claim is also 530 MB/s. Results vary with workload, firmware and system.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random read

In Visual facts
Samsung 870 EVO98000 IOPS
Samsung 970 EVO Plus600000 IOPS
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer 4 KB QD32 claim using IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-4790K / ASUS Z97 PRO / 16 GB DDR3 / Windows 10 Pro. Distinct from sequential CrystalDiskMark; not an independent test.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / four threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-7700K / ASUS Prime Z270-A, 32 GB DDR4, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes require TurboWrite.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Show 11 more verified differences

Rated random write

In Visual facts
Samsung 870 EVO88000 IOPS
Samsung 970 EVO Plus550000 IOPS
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer 4 KB QD32 claim using IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-4790K / ASUS Z97 PRO / 16 GB DDR3 / Windows 10 Pro. Distinct from sequential CrystalDiskMark; not an independent test.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / four threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-7700K / ASUS Prime Z270-A, 32 GB DDR4, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes require TurboWrite.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random read, QD1

Samsung 870 EVO13000 IOPS
Samsung 970 EVO Plus19000 IOPS
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 4 KB QD1 manufacturer claim using the stated IOmeter host, not observed application latency; TurboWrite conditions apply.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread value for this capacity under the manufacturer performance test setup. Not measured application latency.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random write, QD1

Samsung 870 EVO36000 IOPS
Samsung 970 EVO Plus60000 IOPS
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 4 KB QD1 manufacturer claim using the stated IOmeter host with TurboWrite active.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread result with Intelligent TurboWrite under the stated manufacturer setup. The 2 TB model's 62,000 IOPS figure does not apply to this 1 TB model.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Published burst power

Samsung 870 EVO4 W
Samsung 970 EVO Plus9 W
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · UK page maximum burst claim, distinct from average, idle or constant load.

Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK page maximum burst-mode claim; distinct from average active, idle or constant use.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Published power conditions

Samsung 870 EVO2.0 W active read; 2.5 W active write; 30 mW idle; 3 mW device sleep
Samsung 970 EVO Plus5.5 W active read; 6.0 W active write; 30 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleep
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB Rev2.0 column, IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7000-series / ASUS ProArt X670E / 32 GB DDR5 / Windows 11 Pro. CPU model is not further specified. Different from sequential/random host; idle requires DIPM; not a constant load.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB column, IOmeter 1.1.0 on i7-7700K, 16 GB DDR4-2133, Gigabyte GA-Z270X, Windows 10 Pro K x64. This differs from the 32 GB performance host. Idle requires autonomous power-state operation; not constant household-use loads.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Storage temperature

Samsung 870 EVO−40–85 °C
Samsung 970 EVO Plus−45–85 °C
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating PDF range.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · PDF non-operating range; distinct from operation. Samsung lists −45 °C for this model, lower than the −40 °C of most Samsung drives.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Allowable supply voltage

Samsung 870 EVO5 V ±5%
Samsung 970 EVO Plus3.3 V ±5%
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · SATA power requirement, not the 3.3 V NVMe requirement.

Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK electrical requirement, not sufficient proof of host compatibility.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Published system-level power

Samsung 870 EVO2.5 W average; 4.0 W maximum in burst mode
Samsung 970 EVO Plus6 W average; 9 W maximum in burst mode
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · The UK page labels these as system-level average and burst figures and says hardware/configuration affect them. These differ in scope from the datasheet active-read/write states and are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The regional page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Enclosure dimensions

Samsung 870 EVO100 × 69.85 × 6.8 mm
Samsung 970 EVO Plus80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
Sources
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.

Missing or non-comparable evidence (8)

Controller

Samsung 870 EVOSamsung MKX
Samsung 970 EVO PlusSamsung in-house controller
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Named MKX on Samsung's UK 1 TB page; the current Rev2.0 PDF describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller. · Manufacturer specification · UK 1 TB page names MKX; current Rev2.0 PDF says in-house controller. Samsung does not guarantee the same revision across all production.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Current page and revision 3 PDF identify only an in-house controller. Revision history says the controller name was removed; no fixed commercial codename is assigned.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

One source states less detail or a rounded figure. This is not a verified difference; check the exact configuration.

Included cloning software

Samsung 870 EVONot verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated write after TurboWrite

Samsung 870 EVO530 MB/s
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Current Rev2.0 gives 530 MB/s after TurboWrite for 1 TB; 250/500 GB are 300. Revision history changed the older 500 claim to 530. Not a guarantee for every system.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated steady-state random 4K read

Samsung 870 EVONot verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

The reviewed complete Rev2.0 specification and exact UK product table give up-to 4 KB QD32 IOmeter figures but do not establish a steady-state read rating. The supported generic 98000 IOPS claim is retained separately. Missing steady-state scope does not mean poorer or absent performance. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated steady-state random 4K write

Samsung 870 EVONot verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

The reviewed complete Rev2.0 specification and exact UK product table give up-to 4 KB QD32 IOmeter figures but do not establish a steady-state write rating. The supported generic 88000 IOPS claim is retained separately. Missing steady-state scope does not mean poorer or absent performance. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Thermal design

Samsung 870 EVONot verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNickel-coated controller; heat-spreader label; Dynamic Thermal Guard
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Official thermal features. Not a factory heatsink enclosure or measured temperature advantage.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

23 shared fields have the same recorded value.

WHAT EACH CHOICE ASKS OF YOU

What it brings and what to check

Samsung 870 EVO

What it brings

  • Rated up to 560 MB/s sequential read and 530 MB/s sequential write, and Samsung rates writes at 530 MB/s even after the TurboWrite cache fills.

What to check

  • Its SATA 6 Gb/s interface keeps rated speeds to 560 MB/s read. It needs a 2.5-inch bay with SATA data and power connections, and no cables or mounting kit are included.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

What it brings

  • Rated up to 3,500 MB/s sequential read and 3,300 MB/s sequential write, with up to 600,000 random read and 550,000 random write IOPS.

What to check

  • Limited to PCIe 3.0 x4, so it cannot use the extra bandwidth of newer PCIe 4.0 or 5.0 slots. Peak write speed relies on the TurboWrite cache, and there is no factory heatsink.
COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

How we verify
48 of 48 specifications Sources in each row
Source-backed specifications for Samsung 870 EVO and Samsung 970 EVO Plus
SpecificationSamsung 870 EVOSamsung 970 EVO Plus
Capacity
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; usable formatted space is lower.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatting and system use reduce available space.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
1000 GB1000 GB
SSD / HDD
Sources
SSDSSD
Interface and versionDifferent
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Backward compatible with SATA 3 Gb/s and 1.5 Gb/s. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
SATA 6 Gb/sPCIe 3.0 x4; NVMe
Form factorDifferent
Sources
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Match the physical format and electrical interface to the host.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
2.5-inchM.2 2280
Enclosure dimensionsDifferent
Sources
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
100 × 69.85 × 6.8 mm80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
Approximate drive weightDifferent
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · UK model approximate weight, not a maximum or package weight.

Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK capacity-specific maximum drive mass, not packaging.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
45 g8 g
Factory heatsink
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · This BW configuration has no factory heatsink; follow the host's cooling requirements.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedNo
Thermal design
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Official thermal features. Not a factory heatsink enclosure or measured temperature advantage.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNickel-coated controller; heat-spreader label; Dynamic Thermal Guard
Rated performance and conditionsDifferent
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung Rev2.0 sequential claims use CrystalDiskMark 8.0.4 on an Intel Core i7-4790K, 16 GB DDR3, ASUS Z97 PRO and Windows 10 Pro system. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; the 1 TB after-cache claim is also 530 MB/s. Results vary with workload, firmware and system.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Up to 560 MB/s sequential read; up to 530 MB/s cached sequential write; 530 MB/s after TurboWriteUp to 3500 MB/s sequential read; up to 3300 MB/s cached sequential write
Rated sequential readDifferent
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung Rev2.0 sequential claims use CrystalDiskMark 8.0.4 on an Intel Core i7-4790K, 16 GB DDR3, ASUS Z97 PRO and Windows 10 Pro system. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; the 1 TB after-cache claim is also 530 MB/s. Results vary with workload, firmware and system.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
560 MB/s3500 MB/s
Rated sequential writeDifferent
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung Rev2.0 sequential claims use CrystalDiskMark 8.0.4 on an Intel Core i7-4790K, 16 GB DDR3, ASUS Z97 PRO and Windows 10 Pro system. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; the 1 TB after-cache claim is also 530 MB/s. Results vary with workload, firmware and system.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
530 MB/s3300 MB/s
Rated write after TurboWrite
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Current Rev2.0 gives 530 MB/s after TurboWrite for 1 TB; 250/500 GB are 300. Revision history changed the older 500 claim to 530. Not a guarantee for every system.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

No source recorded.

530 MB/sNot provided
Rated random readDifferent
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer 4 KB QD32 claim using IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-4790K / ASUS Z97 PRO / 16 GB DDR3 / Windows 10 Pro. Distinct from sequential CrystalDiskMark; not an independent test.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / four threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-7700K / ASUS Prime Z270-A, 32 GB DDR4, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes require TurboWrite.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
98000 IOPS600000 IOPS
Rated random writeDifferent
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer 4 KB QD32 claim using IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-4790K / ASUS Z97 PRO / 16 GB DDR3 / Windows 10 Pro. Distinct from sequential CrystalDiskMark; not an independent test.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / four threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-7700K / ASUS Prime Z270-A, 32 GB DDR4, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes require TurboWrite.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
88000 IOPS550000 IOPS
Rated random read, QD1Different
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 4 KB QD1 manufacturer claim using the stated IOmeter host, not observed application latency; TurboWrite conditions apply.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread value for this capacity under the manufacturer performance test setup. Not measured application latency.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
13000 IOPS19000 IOPS
Rated random write, QD1Different
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 4 KB QD1 manufacturer claim using the stated IOmeter host with TurboWrite active.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread result with Intelligent TurboWrite under the stated manufacturer setup. The 2 TB model's 62,000 IOPS figure does not apply to this 1 TB model.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
36000 IOPS60000 IOPS
NAND type
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Current Rev2.0 gives TLC. The product page calls it three-bit MLC, which is TLC.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer calls this 3-bit MLC: three bits per cell, also called TLC. This is not two-bit MLC.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung NAND terminology: TLC stores three bits per cell
Samsung V-NAND TLCSamsung V-NAND TLC
Cache arrangement
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB cache column, not the variable TurboWrite buffer.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer's stated DRAM cache capacity for this storage capacity.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
1 GB LPDDR4 DRAM1 GB LPDDR4 DRAM
Controller
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Named MKX on Samsung's UK 1 TB page; the current Rev2.0 PDF describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller. · Manufacturer specification · UK 1 TB page names MKX; current Rev2.0 PDF says in-house controller. Samsung does not guarantee the same revision across all production.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Current page and revision 3 PDF identify only an in-house controller. Revision history says the controller name was removed; no fixed commercial codename is assigned.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Samsung MKXSamsung in-house controller
DRAM cache present
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity column lists onboard LPDDR4.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Capacity row lists onboard LPDDR4 DRAM. Having DRAM is not a measured performance result.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
YesYes
DRAM cache capacity
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity LPDDR4 DRAM, separate from TurboWrite.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Capacity LPDDR4 DRAM size; not the variable TurboWrite write-buffer capacity.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
1 GB1 GB
Write-buffer technology
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Variable caching feature. Samsung does not give the buffer size or a sustained write speed.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Peak write claims require the buffer. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Intelligent TurboWriteIntelligent TurboWrite
Warranty terms and endurance if applicable
Sources
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
5 years or 600 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply5 years or 600 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Limited warranty time
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Coverage ends at the time limit or write threshold, whichever occurs first; full Samsung terms and eligibility apply.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4Samsung internal SSD warranty eligibility and capacity limits
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not predicted lifespan; coverage also ends at the TBW threshold and is subject to full terms.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
5 years5 years
Warranty write threshold
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Terabytes written within the limited-warranty conditions. This is not predicted drive lifespan.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4Samsung internal SSD warranty eligibility and capacity limits
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Capacity-specific warranty write threshold, not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
600 TB600 TB
Manufacturer application scope
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Check the host's drive bay, SATA data/power connections and clearance.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Application class, not universal system/console compatibility.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Client PCsClient PCs
Manufacturer MTBF rating
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Statistical claim, not individual life or warranty.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Statistical claim, not an individual lifespan or warranty.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
1,500,000 hours1,500,000 hours
Hardware encryption support
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Capabilities, not encryption enabled by default or all-host compatibility.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capabilities, not encryption enabled by default or every-host support.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
AES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667AES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
TRIM support
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · OS-support prerequisite.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Requires operating-system support as stated by manufacturer.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
YesYes
S.M.A.R.T. support
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Monitoring capability, not remaining-life guarantee.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Monitoring capability, not predicted remaining life.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
YesYes
Garbage collection
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Internal feature, not measured application improvement.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Listed internal function.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
YesYes
Drive management software
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer lists migration, health and updates. Check the current Magician version and its requirements.

Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer feature block lists monitoring and software/firmware updates. OS/version support and feature prerequisites require separate checking.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Samsung MagicianSamsung Magician
Installation kit included
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Page says unavailable; data/power cables and mounting accessories cannot be assumed.

Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · No installation kit is included.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
NoNo
World Wide Name supportDifferent
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung's UK page lists WWN as supported.

Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN unsupported.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
YesNo
Device sleep support
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · The UK page lists device sleep as supported. Host and operating-system support are required; Samsung gives no battery-life figure.

Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The regional page supports device sleep. Host support is required; the separately published L1.2 power state is not measured laptop battery life.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
YesYes
Published power conditionsDifferent
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB Rev2.0 column, IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7000-series / ASUS ProArt X670E / 32 GB DDR5 / Windows 11 Pro. CPU model is not further specified. Different from sequential/random host; idle requires DIPM; not a constant load.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB column, IOmeter 1.1.0 on i7-7700K, 16 GB DDR4-2133, Gigabyte GA-Z270X, Windows 10 Pro K x64. This differs from the 32 GB performance host. Idle requires autonomous power-state operation; not constant household-use loads.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
2.0 W active read; 2.5 W active write; 30 mW idle; 3 mW device sleep5.5 W active read; 6.0 W active write; 30 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleep
Published burst powerDifferent
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · UK page maximum burst claim, distinct from average, idle or constant load.

Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK page maximum burst-mode claim; distinct from average active, idle or constant use.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
4 W9 W
Operating temperature
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating range, not a cooling benchmark.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Measured by the drive's S.M.A.R.T. temperature; Samsung recommends adequate airflow.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
0–70 °C0–70 °C
Storage temperatureDifferent
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating PDF range.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · PDF non-operating range; distinct from operation. Samsung lists −45 °C for this model, lower than the −40 °C of most Samsung drives.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
−40–85 °C−45–85 °C
Non-condensing humidity range
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
5–95%5–95%
Non-operating shock rating
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Not a system drop test.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
Non-operating vibration rating
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Published test envelope.

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer frequency/rating; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
20 G; 20–2000 Hz20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Allowable supply voltageDifferent
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · SATA power requirement, not the 3.3 V NVMe requirement.

Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK electrical requirement, not sufficient proof of host compatibility.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
5 V ±5%3.3 V ±5%
Published system-level powerDifferent
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

Manufacturer specification · The UK page labels these as system-level average and burst figures and says hardware/configuration affect them. These differ in scope from the datasheet active-read/write states and are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 870 EVO exact UK product page
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The regional page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
2.5 W average; 4.0 W maximum in burst mode6 W average; 9 W maximum in burst mode
NVMe interface protocol version
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

No source recorded.

Not provided1.3
Show unverified (3)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
Rated steady-state random 4K read
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

The reviewed complete Rev2.0 specification and exact UK product table give up-to 4 KB QD32 IOmeter figures but do not establish a steady-state read rating. The supported generic 98000 IOPS claim is retained separately. Missing steady-state scope does not mean poorer or absent performance. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

No source recorded.

Not listed by the manufacturerNot provided
Rated steady-state random 4K write
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

The reviewed complete Rev2.0 specification and exact UK product table give up-to 4 KB QD32 IOmeter figures but do not establish a steady-state write rating. The supported generic 88000 IOPS claim is retained separately. Missing steady-state scope does not mean poorer or absent performance. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung SSD 870 EVO — data sheet revision 2.0, pages 3–4
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

No source recorded.

Not listed by the manufacturerNot provided
Included cloning software
Sources
Samsung 870 EVO

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNot provided
FIND YOUR CONTENDERS

More products

Closest storage to this pair by shared key specifications. Not a popularity ranking.

See all 199 storage

Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.