Samsung 970 EVO Plus1 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V7S1T0BW- Rated sequential write
- 3300 MB/sThis one: 3000 MB/s
- DRAM cache present
- YesThis one: No
1 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · Samsung part MZ-V8V1T0BW
A 1 TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSD rated up to 3,500 MB/s read and 3,000 MB/s write, with TLC V-NAND and a 600 TB write rating. It has no onboard DRAM and uses Host Memory Buffer instead.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026Manufacturer specifications, not a hands-on test.
Rated up to 3,500 MB/s sequential read and 3,000 MB/s sequential write, with up to 500,000 random read and 480,000 random write IOPS.
DRAM-less design that borrows system memory through Host Memory Buffer, and it is limited to PCIe 3.0 x4. Peak write speed relies on the TurboWrite cache, and Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed for this model.
Exact configuration: 1 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V8V1T0BW
48 specifications in 7 groups. Values are manufacturer specifications unless a row says “Measured result” or “Calculated from cited specifications”.
Decimal capacity; formatting and system use reduce available space.
Match the physical format and electrical interface to the host.
Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.
Manufacturer feature paragraph says DRAM-less; HMB uses host memory instead.
Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.
Manufacturer wording is 3-bit MLC, meaning three bits per cell (TLC), not two-bit MLC. Samsung does not give the layer count or hardware revision.
Manufacturer feature block describes a DRAM-less design using host memory. No onboard DRAM cache; host memory and TurboWrite remain distinct.
This BW configuration has no factory heatsink; follow the host's cooling requirements.
Named Pablo on Samsung's UK page; the PDF describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller. · UK page names Pablo; PDF is generic in-house. No manufacturing stepping or immutable revision guarantee.
Samsung describes this drive as DRAM-less. Host RAM allocated to HMB is not included.
Manufacturer feature inventory, not a factory heatsink or matched cooling test.
SourceRegional product page maximum drive mass, not packaging.
SourceSamsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-6700K, 16 GB DDR4-2133, ASRock Z170 Extreme7+, Windows 10 Pro. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
SourceSamsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-6700K, 16 GB DDR4-2133, ASRock Z170 Extreme7+, Windows 10 Pro. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
SourceSamsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-6700K, 16 GB DDR4-2133, ASRock Z170 Extreme7+, Windows 10 Pro. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
Up-to 4 KB QD32 / four threads, IOmeter 1.1.0, i7-6700K/Z170/16 GB DDR4-2133/Windows 10 Pro. PDF revision 1.1 corrects thread count from 16 to four. Writes require TurboWrite.
SourceUp-to 4 KB QD32 / four threads, IOmeter 1.1.0, i7-6700K/Z170/16 GB DDR4-2133/Windows 10 Pro. PDF revision 1.1 corrects thread count from 16 to four. Writes require TurboWrite.
SourceManufacturer QD1 / one-thread claim under the stated model test setup; not application latency.
SourceManufacturer QD1 / one-thread claim with TurboWrite under the stated model test setup.
SourceOfficial 980 feature block describes keeping the SSD active through Magician. It is not a power-saving feature or proof of higher measured performance.
SourceManufacturer caching capability; peak and post-buffer figures are separate.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed for the 1 TB model.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Samsung does not list a post-cache random write result for the 1 TB model.
SourceCapacity-specific warranty write threshold, not a guaranteed failure point.
Time limit, not predicted lifespan; coverage also ends at the TBW threshold and is subject to full terms.
Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.
Application class, not universal host or console compatibility.
SourceStatistical rating, not individual lifespan.
Source1 TB column. IOmeter power host Ryzen 7 3700X / Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master / 16 GB DDR4 / Windows 10 Pro differs from Intel speed host. Idle requires autonomous power-state operation; not constant household-use loads.
SourceModel page maximum burst figure, distinct from average active/idle or constant-use load.
SourceElectrical range, not sufficient proof of compatible host.
SourceThe UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.
SourceThe UK page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from datasheet active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.
SourceListed capabilities, not enabled encryption or a blanket host guarantee.
SourceManufacturer requires OS support.
SourceManufacturer monitoring function, not lifespan prediction.
SourceListed internal function, not a measured quality gain.
SourceOfficial feature block describes health monitoring and updates; current OS/version prerequisites require separate checking.
SourceSamsung lists this as unsupported.
SourceMeasured by the drive's S.M.A.R.T. temperature; Samsung recommends adequate airflow.
Non-operating PDF range, distinct from 0–70 °C operation.
SourceManufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.
SourceManufacturer non-operating rating, not an installed device drop test.
SourceManufacturer test envelope; results from different protocols are not directly comparable.
SourceNo installation kit is included.
SourceSamsung does not state this for this model. · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician health monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.
More of the nearest checked drives by key specifications, for a side-by-side comparison.
MSI SPATIUM M3901 TB · PCIe 3.0 NVMe M.2 2280 without heatsinkCompare the two
Kingston NV31000 GB · M.2 2280 · SNV3S/1000GCompare the two
MSI SPATIUM M470 PRO1 TB · PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 2280 without heatsinkCompare the two
Samsung 990 SSD PCIe 4.0x4 NVMe M.2UK MZ-V9V1T0BW · Black · 1 TBCompare the two
Samsung 9100 PRO with Heatsink, PCIe 5.0, NVMe M.2 SSDUK MZ-VAP1T0CW · Black · 1 TBCompare the two
Samsung 9100 PRO, PCIe 5.0, NVMe M.2 SSDUK MZ-VAP1T0BW · Black · 1 TBCompare the two
Samsung 990 EVO Plus, PCIe 4.0/5.0, NVMe M.2 SSDUK MZ-V9S1T0BW · BlackCompare the two
Samsung 990 PRO PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 SSDUK MZ-V9P1T0BW · Black · 1 TBCompare the two