A 1 TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSD rated up to 3,500 MB/s read and 3,000 MB/s write, with TLC V-NAND and a 600 TB write rating. It has no onboard DRAM and uses Host Memory Buffer instead.
Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.
Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.
Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.
THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE
Visual facts
Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.
How to read this comparison
Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
“Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08
Interface and version
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Samsung 860 EVOSATA 6 Gb/s
Backward compatible with SATA 3 Gb/s and 1.5 Gb/s. · Manufacturer specification · Requires compatible SATA data and power connections; link rate is not an application-performance result.
Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.
Backward compatible with SATA 3 Gb/s and 1.5 Gb/s. · Manufacturer specification · Requires compatible SATA data and power connections; link rate is not an application-performance result.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer feature block describes a DRAM-less design using host memory. No onboard DRAM cache; host memory and TurboWrite remain distinct.
Compare the exact DRAM capacity and cache configuration. Onboard DRAM is a separate specification from a write buffer; neither is a measured performance or reliability rating.
Named Pablo on Samsung's UK page; the PDF describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller. · Manufacturer specification · UK page names Pablo; PDF is generic in-house. No manufacturing stepping or immutable revision guarantee.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Rated random read
Samsung 860 EVO98000 IOPS
Samsung 980500000 IOPS
Sources
Samsung 860 EVO
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer IOmeter 1.1.0, 4 KB QD32, i5-3550 / 4 GB DDR3-1333 / ASUS P8H77-V / Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. TurboWrite and firmware/host limitations apply.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Rated random write
Samsung 860 EVO90000 IOPS
Samsung 980480000 IOPS
Sources
Samsung 860 EVO
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer IOmeter 1.1.0, 4 KB QD32, i5-3550 / 4 GB DDR3-1333 / ASUS P8H77-V / Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. TurboWrite and firmware/host limitations apply.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Rated random read, QD1
Samsung 860 EVO10000 IOPS
Samsung 98017000 IOPS
Sources
Samsung 860 EVO
Manufacturer specification · 4 KB QD1 manufacturer claim under the stated IOmeter host conditions; not observed application latency.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Rated random write, QD1
Samsung 860 EVO42000 IOPS
Samsung 98054000 IOPS
Sources
Samsung 860 EVO
Manufacturer specification · Capacity 4 KB QD1 manufacturer claim under the stated IOmeter/TurboWrite conditions.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Published burst power
Samsung 860 EVO4 W
Samsung 9805.3 W
Sources
Samsung 860 EVO
Manufacturer specification · Regional product page maximum burst claim; not average or a constant operating load.
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Published power conditions
Samsung 860 EVO3.0 W average read/write; 50 mW DIPM idle; 2.6 mW device sleep
Samsung 9804.5 W active read; 4.6 W active write; 45 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleep
Sources
Samsung 860 EVO
Manufacturer specification · 1 TB PDF figures measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, i7-7700K / 16 GB DDR4 / Gigabyte GA-Z270X / Windows 10 PRO K 64. Different host from speed testing. Idle requires DIPM; not a constant load.
Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Included cloning software
Samsung 860 EVONot verified
Samsung 980Not verified
Sources
Samsung 860 EVO
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 980
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician health monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Published write-buffer capacity
Samsung 860 EVO42 GB
Samsung 980Not verified
Sources
Samsung 860 EVO
Manufacturer specification · AU capacity footnote gives 42 GB for 1 TB; dynamically allocated availability depends on workload and free space, not a permanent DRAM allocation.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Full Power Mode
Samsung 860 EVONot verified
Samsung 980Yes
Sources
Samsung 860 EVO
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 980
Manufacturer specification · Official 980 feature block describes keeping the SSD active through Magician. It is not a power-saving feature or proof of higher measured performance.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Queued TRIM capability
Samsung 860 EVOYes
Samsung 980Not verified
Sources
Samsung 860 EVO
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifically advertises improved queued TRIM and Linux compatibility. This is not certification for every Linux kernel, controller or firmware.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
RAPID host-memory caching
Samsung 860 EVONot verified
Samsung 980Not verified
Sources
Samsung 860 EVO
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 860 EVO page and PDF do not state RAPID mode support in current software.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Published system-level power
Samsung 860 EVONot verified
Samsung 9804.6 W average; 5.3 W maximum in burst mode
Sources
Samsung 860 EVO
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 980
Manufacturer specification · The UK page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from datasheet active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.
Its SATA 6 Gb/s interface keeps rated speeds to 550 MB/s read. It needs a 2.5-inch bay with SATA data and power connections, and no cables or mounting kit are included.
DRAM-less design that borrows system memory through Host Memory Buffer, and it is limited to PCIe 3.0 x4. Peak write speed relies on the TurboWrite cache, and Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed for this model.
Backward compatible with SATA 3 Gb/s and 1.5 Gb/s. · Manufacturer specification · Requires compatible SATA data and power connections; link rate is not an application-performance result.
Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.
Manufacturer specification · Official 980 feature block describes keeping the SSD active through Magician. It is not a power-saving feature or proof of higher measured performance.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer calls this three-bit MLC; Samsung glossary identifies three bits per cell as TLC. Samsung does not give the layer count.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer wording is 3-bit MLC, meaning three bits per cell (TLC), not two-bit MLC. Samsung does not give the layer count or hardware revision.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer feature block describes a DRAM-less design using host memory. No onboard DRAM cache; host memory and TurboWrite remain distinct.
Named Pablo on Samsung's UK page; the PDF describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller. · Manufacturer specification · UK page names Pablo; PDF is generic in-house. No manufacturing stepping or immutable revision guarantee.
Manufacturer specification · AU capacity footnote gives 42 GB for 1 TB; dynamically allocated availability depends on workload and free space, not a permanent DRAM allocation.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifically advertises improved queued TRIM and Linux compatibility. This is not certification for every Linux kernel, controller or firmware.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer lists Magician and Data Migration. Check the current software version and its requirements. No latest-version claim.
Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes health monitoring and updates; current OS/version prerequisites require separate checking.
Manufacturer specification · The regional product page supports device sleep. Host and operating-system support are required; the separately specified sleep-power claim is not measured laptop battery life.
Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.
Manufacturer specification · 1 TB PDF figures measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, i7-7700K / 16 GB DDR4 / Gigabyte GA-Z270X / Windows 10 PRO K 64. Different host from speed testing. Idle requires DIPM; not a constant load.
Manufacturer specification · The UK page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from datasheet active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.
Show unverified (4)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
RAPID host-memory cachingSources
Samsung 860 EVO
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 860 EVO page and PDF do not state RAPID mode support in current software.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician health monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.
Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.