Skip to comparison
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
STORAGE · YOUR NEXT FACE-OFF

MSI SPATIUM M461 vs Samsung 980 PRO

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact models · UK & US buying links

Compared products

YOUR FIRST CHOICE

MSI SPATIUM M461

2 TB · PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 2280 without heatsink

MSI SPATIUM M461 2 TB M.2 2280 SSD, front view of the labelled module
Exact model & source notes

MSI's SPATIUM M461 is a PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe 1.4 SSD in a bare 2.15 mm M.2 2280 module with a Phison E21T controller. The 2 TB version is rated up to 5,000 MB/s read and 4,200 MB/s write, lists 4.4 W maximum operating power and has a 5-year or 450 TB limited warranty.

Specifications checked 27 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications
WHAT DIFFERS
Interface and versionPCIe 4.0 x4; NVMe 1.4PCIe 4.0 x4; NVMe
450 TBWarranty write threshold1,200 TB
ControllerPhison E21TSamsung Elpis
The first 3 of 12 verified differences, in the order listed below. Not a rating.
See the 12 verified differences
THE CONTENDER

Samsung 980 PRO

2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V8P2T0BW

Samsung 980 PRO 2 TB M.2 SSD; official image associated with MZ-V8P2T0BW
Exact model & source notes

A 2 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD rated up to 7,000 MB/s read and 5,100 MB/s write, with TLC V-NAND, 2 GB LPDDR4 cache and a 1,200 TB write rating. It has no factory heatsink.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications

MSI SPATIUM M461 UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Samsung 980 PRO UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE

Visual facts

Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.

How to read this comparison
  • Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
  • “Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
  • Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08

Interface and version

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

MSI SPATIUM M461PCIe 4.0 x4; NVMe 1.4

Manufacturer specification · MSI lists compatibility with PCIe Gen4, Gen3, Gen2 and Gen1 hosts; earlier generations limit speed.

Samsung 980 PROPCIe 4.0 x4; NVMe

Manufacturer specification · Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.

Explore the full specifications

Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.

WHAT CHANGES BETWEEN THEM?

Key differences

Full specifications ↓

12 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 7 are also drawn in Visual facts above. Missing information stays separate.

Interface and version

In Visual facts
MSI SPATIUM M461PCIe 4.0 x4; NVMe 1.4
Samsung 980 PROPCIe 4.0 x4; NVMe
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · MSI lists compatibility with PCIe Gen4, Gen3, Gen2 and Gen1 hosts; earlier generations limit speed.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Warranty write threshold

In Visual facts
MSI SPATIUM M461450 TB
Samsung 980 PRO1200 TB
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB value (500 GB: 110; 1 TB: 250; 4 TB: 900); not a guaranteed failure point. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity-specific warranty write threshold, not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Controller

In Visual facts
MSI SPATIUM M461Phison E21T
Samsung 980 PROSamsung Elpis
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Named Elpis on Samsung's UK technical page; the current PDF revision describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller. · Manufacturer specification · UK technical page names Elpis. The current PDF revision (2.1) describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Compare the exact component configuration. A controller or NAND name is not a measured performance or reliability rating.

Hardware encryption support

In Visual facts
MSI SPATIUM M461TCG Pyrite
Samsung 980 PROAES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · Listed as 'Pyrite (Encryption, Data Security)'. Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capabilities, not encryption enabled by default or every-host support.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Listed encryption support does not mean it is enabled. Check the exact host, software and configuration requirements; no security certification is inferred.

Drive management software

In Visual facts
MSI SPATIUM M461MSI Center
Samsung 980 PROSamsung Magician
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · MSI: monitors SSD health status and key performance metrics in real time.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer feature block lists monitoring and software/firmware updates. OS/version support and feature prerequisites require separate checking.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications

Check the software, operating-system and licence requirements. An available feature does not establish a measured speed improvement or support on every host.

Rated performance and conditions

In Visual facts
MSI SPATIUM M461Up to 5000 MB/s sequential read; up to 4200 MB/s sequential write
Samsung 980 PROUp to 7000 MB/s sequential read; up to 5100 MB/s cached sequential write
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on a 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900F / MSI MPG Z790 CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 22H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Show 6 more verified differences

Rated sequential read

In Visual facts
MSI SPATIUM M4615000 MB/s
Samsung 980 PRO7000 MB/s
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on a 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900F / MSI MPG Z790 CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 22H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated sequential write

MSI SPATIUM M4614200 MB/s
Samsung 980 PRO5100 MB/s
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on a 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900F / MSI MPG Z790 CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 22H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random 4K read

MSI SPATIUM M461680000 IOPS
Samsung 980 PRO1000000 IOPS
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to 4 KB claim for 2 TB; queue depth not stated. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random 4K write

MSI SPATIUM M461880000 IOPS
Samsung 980 PRO1000000 IOPS
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to 4 KB claim for 2 TB; queue depth not stated. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Warranty terms and endurance if applicable

MSI SPATIUM M4615 years or 450 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Samsung 980 PRO5 years or 1200 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Published power conditions

MSI SPATIUM M4614.4 W maximum operating; 50 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW L1.2
Samsung 980 PRO6.1 W active read; 5.6 W active write; 35 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleep
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column for maximum power; idle and L1.2 values span all capacities; APST supported. Measured on MSI's stated test system; not a constant everyday load. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column, IOmeter 1.1.0 on Ryzen 7 3700X, 16 GB DDR4, Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master, Windows 10 Pro. This differs from the performance host. Idle requires autonomous power-state operation; values are not constant household-use loads.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Small physical differences (1)

Drive dimensions

MSI SPATIUM M46180 × 22 × 2.15 mm
Samsung 980 PRO80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · Length × width × height of the bare module, all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.

Missing or non-comparable evidence (26)

DRAM cache present

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PROYes
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

MSI does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Unlike MSI's DRAM-equipped models, the M461 data sheet has no DRAM Cache row; absence of a row is not recorded as confirmed absence of DRAM.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity row lists onboard LPDDR4 DRAM. Having DRAM is not a measured performance result.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

DRAM cache capacity

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO2 GB
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity LPDDR4 DRAM size; not the variable TurboWrite write-buffer capacity.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

NAND type

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PROSamsung V-NAND TLC
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

MSI lists 3D NAND without stating the cell type · Manufacturer specification

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer calls this 3-bit MLC: three bits per cell, also called TLC. This is not two-bit MLC.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung NAND terminology: TLC stores three bits per cell

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Included cloning software

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PRONot verified
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician health monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Write-buffer technology

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PROIntelligent TurboWrite
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Peak write claims require the buffer. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random read, QD1

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO22000 IOPS
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread value for this capacity under the manufacturer performance test setup. Not measured application latency.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random write, QD1

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO60000 IOPS
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread 60000 IOPS for this 2 TB capacity with Intelligent TurboWrite under the stated modified Ryzen/ASUS test setup. Not application latency.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Device sleep support

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PROYes
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Error correction support

MSI SPATIUM M461LDPC ECC; end-to-end data path protection
Samsung 980 PRONot verified
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Garbage collection

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PROYes
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Listed internal function.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Humidity range

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO5–95%
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Installation kit included

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PRONo
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · No installation kit is included.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Earlier PCIe support

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PROPCIe Gen 3
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · PCIe 3.0 backward compatibility. The 2 TB four-lane PCIe 3 mode ratings are listed separately; host protocol and lane availability determine operation.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Manufacturer MTBF rating

MSI SPATIUM M461Up to 1,500,000 hours
Samsung 980 PRO1,500,000 hours
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · Statistical manufacturer claim, not individual lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Statistical claim, not an individual lifespan or warranty.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

One source states less detail or a rounded figure. This is not a verified difference; check the exact configuration.

Rated performance on PCIe 3.0

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PROUp to 3500/3470 MB/s sequential read/write; 680000/630000 IOPS random read/write
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB backward-compatible mode in PDF footnote 2. Not the PCIe 4.0 peak figures or the 1 TB/250 GB values. Same manufacturer TurboWrite/test qualifications; actual host may differ.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published burst power

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO7.2 W
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · UK page maximum burst-mode claim; distinct from average active, idle or constant use.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Non-operating shock rating

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Allowable supply voltage

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO3.3 V ±5%
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · UK electrical requirement, not sufficient proof of host compatibility.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published system-level power

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO6.1 W average; 7.2 W maximum in burst mode
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · The UK page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from datasheet active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Thermal design

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PRONickel-coated controller; heat-spreader label; Dynamic Thermal Guard
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Official thermal features. Not a factory heatsink enclosure or measured temperature advantage.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Non-operating vibration rating

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer frequency/rating; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Manufacturer application scope

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PROClient PCs
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Application class, not universal system/console compatibility.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

World Wide Name support

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PRONo
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN unsupported.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Maximum drive weight

MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO9 g
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · UK capacity-specific maximum drive mass, not packaging.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

9 shared fields have the same recorded value.

WHAT EACH CHOICE ASKS OF YOU

What it brings and what to check

MSI SPATIUM M461

What it brings

  • Rated up to 5,000 MB/s sequential read, 4,200 MB/s sequential write, 680,000 random read and 880,000 random write IOPS at 2 TB.
  • MSI lists 4.4 W maximum operating power, 50 mW PS3 idle and 5 mW L1.2, plus LDPC ECC, end-to-end data path protection and TCG Pyrite support.

What to check

Samsung 980 PRO

What it brings

What to check

COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

How we verify
48 of 48 specifications Sources in each row
Source-backed specifications for MSI SPATIUM M461 and Samsung 980 PRO
SpecificationMSI SPATIUM M461Samsung 980 PRO
Capacity
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed 2 TB capacity; formatted usable space is lower.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatting and system use reduce available space.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
2000 GB2000 GB
SSD / HDD
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
SSDSSD
Interface and versionDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · MSI lists compatibility with PCIe Gen4, Gen3, Gen2 and Gen1 hosts; earlier generations limit speed.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
PCIe 4.0 x4; NVMe 1.4PCIe 4.0 x4; NVMe
Form factor
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Match the physical format and electrical interface to the host.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
M.2 2280M.2 2280
Drive dimensionsDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · Length × width × height of the bare module, all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
80 × 22 × 2.15 mm80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
Factory heatsink
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · The data sheet lists a 2.15 mm-high bare module and no heatsink.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · This BW configuration has no factory heatsink; follow the host's cooling requirements.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
NoNo
Thermal design
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Official thermal features. Not a factory heatsink enclosure or measured temperature advantage.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNickel-coated controller; heat-spreader label; Dynamic Thermal Guard
Maximum drive weight
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · UK capacity-specific maximum drive mass, not packaging.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
Not provided9 g
Earlier PCIe support
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · PCIe 3.0 backward compatibility. The 2 TB four-lane PCIe 3 mode ratings are listed separately; host protocol and lane availability determine operation.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedPCIe Gen 3
Rated performance and conditionsDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on a 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900F / MSI MPG Z790 CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 22H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Up to 5000 MB/s sequential read; up to 4200 MB/s sequential writeUp to 7000 MB/s sequential read; up to 5100 MB/s cached sequential write
Rated sequential readDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on a 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900F / MSI MPG Z790 CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 22H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
5000 MB/s7000 MB/s
Rated sequential writeDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on a 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900F / MSI MPG Z790 CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 22H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
4200 MB/s5100 MB/s
Rated random 4K readDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to 4 KB claim for 2 TB; queue depth not stated. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
680000 IOPS1000000 IOPS
Rated random 4K writeDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to 4 KB claim for 2 TB; queue depth not stated. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
880000 IOPS1000000 IOPS
Rated random read, QD1
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread value for this capacity under the manufacturer performance test setup. Not measured application latency.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided22000 IOPS
Rated random write, QD1
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread 60000 IOPS for this 2 TB capacity with Intelligent TurboWrite under the stated modified Ryzen/ASUS test setup. Not application latency.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided60000 IOPS
Rated performance on PCIe 3.0
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB backward-compatible mode in PDF footnote 2. Not the PCIe 4.0 peak figures or the 1 TB/250 GB values. Same manufacturer TurboWrite/test qualifications; actual host may differ.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedUp to 3500/3470 MB/s sequential read/write; 680000/630000 IOPS random read/write
ControllerDifferent
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Named Elpis on Samsung's UK technical page; the current PDF revision describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller. · Manufacturer specification · UK technical page names Elpis. The current PDF revision (2.1) describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Phison E21TSamsung Elpis
NAND type
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

MSI lists 3D NAND without stating the cell type · Manufacturer specification

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer calls this 3-bit MLC: three bits per cell, also called TLC. This is not two-bit MLC.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung NAND terminology: TLC stores three bits per cell
Not listed by the manufacturerSamsung V-NAND TLC
DRAM cache present
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

MSI does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Unlike MSI's DRAM-equipped models, the M461 data sheet has no DRAM Cache row; absence of a row is not recorded as confirmed absence of DRAM.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity row lists onboard LPDDR4 DRAM. Having DRAM is not a measured performance result.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not listed by the manufacturerYes
Cache arrangement
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer's stated DRAM cache capacity for this storage capacity.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided2 GB LPDDR4 DRAM
DRAM cache capacity
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity LPDDR4 DRAM size; not the variable TurboWrite write-buffer capacity.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided2 GB
Write-buffer technology
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Peak write claims require the buffer. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedIntelligent TurboWrite
Warranty terms and endurance if applicableDifferent
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
5 years or 450 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply5 years or 1200 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Limited warranty time
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not a lifespan prediction. Coverage also ends at the TBW threshold; eligibility and full terms apply.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not predicted lifespan; coverage also ends at the TBW threshold and is subject to full terms.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
5 years5 years
Warranty write thresholdDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB value (500 GB: 110; 1 TB: 250; 4 TB: 900); not a guaranteed failure point. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity-specific warranty write threshold, not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
450 TB1200 TB
Manufacturer MTBF rating
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · Statistical manufacturer claim, not individual lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Statistical claim, not an individual lifespan or warranty.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Up to 1,500,000 hours1,500,000 hours
Manufacturer application scope
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Application class, not universal system/console compatibility.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedClient PCs
Hardware encryption supportDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · Listed as 'Pyrite (Encryption, Data Security)'. Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capabilities, not encryption enabled by default or every-host support.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
TCG PyriteAES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
TRIM support
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer requires operating-system support.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Requires operating-system support as stated by manufacturer.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
YesYes
S.M.A.R.T. support
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer monitoring capability, not a remaining-lifespan guarantee.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Monitoring capability, not predicted remaining life.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
YesYes
Error correction support
Sources
Samsung 980 PRO

No source recorded.

LDPC ECC; end-to-end data path protectionNot provided
Drive management softwareDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · MSI: monitors SSD health status and key performance metrics in real time.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer feature block lists monitoring and software/firmware updates. OS/version support and feature prerequisites require separate checking.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI CenterSamsung Magician
Garbage collection
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Listed internal function.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedYes
Installation kit included
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · No installation kit is included.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNo
World Wide Name support
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN unsupported.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNo
Device sleep support
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
Not providedYes
Published power conditionsDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column for maximum power; idle and L1.2 values span all capacities; APST supported. Measured on MSI's stated test system; not a constant everyday load. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column, IOmeter 1.1.0 on Ryzen 7 3700X, 16 GB DDR4, Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master, Windows 10 Pro. This differs from the performance host. Idle requires autonomous power-state operation; values are not constant household-use loads.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
4.4 W maximum operating; 50 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW L1.26.1 W active read; 5.6 W active write; 35 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleep
Operating temperature
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating range; not a measured temperature under a particular workload.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Measured by the drive's S.M.A.R.T. temperature; Samsung recommends adequate airflow.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
0–70 °C0–70 °C
Storage temperature
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating range, distinct from operation.

MSI SPATIUM M461 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 500 GB to 4 TB)
Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · PDF non-operating range −40–85 °C, distinct from 0–70 °C operation.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
−40–85 °C−40–85 °C
Published burst power
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · UK page maximum burst-mode claim; distinct from average active, idle or constant use.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
Not provided7.2 W
Humidity range
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided5–95%
Non-operating shock rating
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
Non-operating vibration rating
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer frequency/rating; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Allowable supply voltage
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · UK electrical requirement, not sufficient proof of host compatibility.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
Not provided3.3 V ±5%
Published system-level power
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Manufacturer specification · The UK page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from datasheet active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specifications
Not provided6.1 W average; 7.2 W maximum in burst mode
NVMe interface protocol version
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Not provided1.3c
Show unverified (1)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
Included cloning software
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461

No source recorded.

Samsung 980 PRO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician health monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.

Samsung 980 PRO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 980 PRO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedNot provided
FIND YOUR CONTENDERS

More products

Closest storage to this pair by shared key specifications. Not a popularity ranking.

See all 199 storage

Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.