Skip to comparison
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
STORAGE · YOUR NEXT FACE-OFF

Kingston KC3000 vs Samsung 990

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact models · UK & US buying links

Compared products

YOUR FIRST CHOICE

Kingston KC3000

2048 GB · M.2 2280 with thin heat spreader · SKC3000D/2048G

Kingston KC3000 2048 GB M.2 2280 SSD; official appearance associated with SKC3000D/2048G
Exact model & source notes

A 2048 GB PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe SSD rated up to 7,000 MB/s read and write, with 3D TLC NAND, a Phison E18 controller, DRAM cache and a 1,600 TB endurance rating.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications
WHICH SUITS YOU?

Choose the Kingston KC3000 for

  • Higher stated capacity: 2,048 GB vs 2,000 GB
  • Higher stated rated sequential write: 7,000 MB/s vs 6,450 MB/s
  • Higher stated rated random 4K read: 1,000,000 IOPS vs 850,000 IOPS

Choose the Samsung 990 for

  • Higher stated rated sequential read: 7,250 MB/s vs 7,000 MB/s
  • Higher stated rated random 4K write: 1,200,000 IOPS vs 1,000,000 IOPS
Built from verified specifications that differ. Not a rating or a recommendation.
See the 16 verified differences
THE CONTENDER

Samsung 990

2 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V9V2T0BW

Samsung 990 2 TB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD, angled front view showing the 990 label
Exact model & source notes

Samsung's 990 is a 2 TB PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe SSD in a bare M.2 2280 module, rated up to 7,250 MB/s read and 6,450 MB/s write. It uses Host Memory Buffer caching rather than a listed onboard DRAM cache, and its limited warranty runs 3 years or 800 TB written.

Specifications checked 27 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications

Kingston KC3000 UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Samsung 990 UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE

Visual facts

Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.

How to read this comparison
  • Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
  • “Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
  • Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE7 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 07

Storage capacity

Decimal storage capacity: 1 TB = 1,000 GB. Formatting and system use reduce available space.

Kingston KC30002.05 TB

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed capacity; formatting and reserved functions reduce usable storage.

Samsung 9902 TB

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity (1 GB = 1 billion bytes, IDEMA); formatted usable space is lower.

Explore the full specifications

Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.

WHAT CHANGES BETWEEN THEM?

Key differences

Full specifications ↓

16 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 7 are also drawn in Visual facts above. Missing information stays separate.

Kingston KC30002048 GB
Samsung 9902000 GB
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed capacity; formatting and reserved functions reduce usable storage.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity (1 GB = 1 billion bytes, IDEMA); formatted usable space is lower.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Published endurance rating (TBW)

In Visual facts
Kingston KC30001600 TB
Samsung 990800 TB
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Published endurance rating derived from the JEDEC Client Workload (JESD219A). Warranty ends on the stated time or wear conditions. This is not a guaranteed service life.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheetKingston limited warranty — SSD family and wear-indicator conditions
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Warranty write threshold for the 2 TB capacity (1 TB model: 400 TB), in compliance with JESD218; not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Limited warranty time

In Visual facts
Kingston KC30005 years
Samsung 9903 years
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Maximum time term; coverage can end earlier at NVMe Percentage Used reaching or exceeding 100 in Kingston SSD Manager. Eligibility and full terms apply.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston limited warranty — SSD family and wear-indicator conditions
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not a lifespan prediction. Coverage also ends at the TBW threshold; eligibility and full terms apply.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Controller

In Visual facts
Kingston KC3000Phison E18
Samsung 990Samsung in-house controller
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed controller.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not give a codename, stepping or process node.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Compare the exact component configuration. A controller or NAND name is not a measured performance or reliability rating.

Included cloning software

In Visual facts
Kingston KC3000Acronis True Image for Kingston
Samsung 990Samsung Magician data transfer
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · The part page includes cloning software. Current Kingston instructions require an installed Kingston internal SSD, Windows 11/10/8.1, administrator rights, internet download through Kingston SSD Manager and licence acceptance. This software does not support macOS or Linux; that does not declare the drive itself incompatible.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston Acronis True Image — inclusion requirements and host limits
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · The UK feature block says Magician can transfer data. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features

Check the software, operating-system and licence requirements. An available feature does not establish a measured speed improvement or support on every host.

Rated performance and conditions

In Visual facts
Kingston KC3000Up to 7000 MB/s sequential read; up to 7000 MB/s sequential write
Samsung 990Up to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6450 MB/s cached sequential write
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston fresh/out-of-box manufacturer claim on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within a specific transfer size. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Show 10 more verified differences

Rated sequential read

In Visual facts
Kingston KC30007000 MB/s
Samsung 9907250 MB/s
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston fresh/out-of-box manufacturer claim on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within a specific transfer size. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated sequential write

Kingston KC30007000 MB/s
Samsung 9906450 MB/s
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston fresh/out-of-box manufacturer claim on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within a specific transfer size. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random 4K read

Kingston KC30001000000 IOPS
Samsung 990850000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to random 4K claim for 2048 GB, out of box on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Queue depth, test software/firmware and sustained results are not supplied.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim for the 2 TB column (queue depth and block size not stated in the datasheet). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results use Intelligent TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random 4K write

Kingston KC30001000000 IOPS
Samsung 9901200000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to random 4K claim for 2048 GB, out of box on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Queue depth, test software/firmware and sustained results are not supplied.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim for the 2 TB column (queue depth and block size not stated in the datasheet). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results use Intelligent TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Warranty terms and endurance if applicable

Kingston KC30005-year conditional limited warranty, or NVMe Percentage Used reaching or exceeding 100 in Kingston SSD Manager, whichever occurs first
Samsung 9903 years or 800 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Subject to original-purchase eligibility and full manufacturer terms. Published TBW is a separate endurance rating from the wear-indicator warranty limit.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston limited warranty — SSD family and wear-indicator conditions

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Manufacturer MTBF rating

Kingston KC30002,000,000 hours
Samsung 9901,500,000 hours
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer statistical MTBF claim, not an individual drive lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Statistical manufacturer claim, not individual lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Published power conditions

Kingston KC300050 mW idle; 0.36 W average; 2.8 W maximum read; 9.9 W maximum write
Samsung 9904.3 W average active read; 3.8 W average active write; 55 mW PS3 idle (APST on); 3 mW PS4 (L1.2)
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · 2048 GB column. The average workload is not specified. Read and write maxima are separate operating states.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active power measured with fio 3.28 on an Intel Core Ultra 7 265K / ASUS Maximus Z890 HERO / Ubuntu 22.04 system with 32 GB DDR5-4800, which differs from the speed test. These are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Non-operating vibration rating

Kingston KC300020 G peak, 20–1000 Hz
Samsung 99020 G; 20–2000 Hz
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer vibration rating with its stated frequency range. Not a drop test; ratings from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer test range; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Manufacturer workload scope

Kingston KC3000Desktop and notebook workloads; not intended for servers
Samsung 990Client PCs
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Workload limitation in the datasheet. Not intended for enterprise or server use.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer application class; no enterprise or console installation guarantee.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Drive dimensions

Kingston KC300080 × 22 × 3.5 mm
Samsung 99080.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Double-sided module. Dimensions apply to this capacity/configuration; allow installation clearance.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung lists maximum width × height × depth for the bare module.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.

Small physical differences (1)

Drive weight

Kingston KC30009.7 g
Samsung 9909 g
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer drive weight for this capacity, excluding packaging.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · UK 2 TB specification maximum, not package mass or a measured sample.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features

A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.

Missing or non-comparable evidence (28)

Factory heatsink

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990No
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · The UK specification lists a bare module with a maximum depth of 2.38 mm and no heatsink; the official gallery shows a bare module. A thermal label is not an enclosure.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

DRAM cache present

Kingston KC3000Yes
Samsung 990Not verified
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · The manufacturer confirms DRAM caching but does not state its capacity in this specification; no size is guessed.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

NAND type

Kingston KC30003D TLC
Samsung 990Not verified
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer terminology.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Both reviewed exact technical sources say Samsung V-NAND without specifying the NAND cell type. TLC, QLC or another cell type is not established. Preserve the positive V-NAND technology separately. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Hardware encryption support

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990AES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Manufacturer-listed DirectStorage support

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990Not verified
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Kingston does not list DirectStorage support for this model.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Drive management software

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990Samsung Magician
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · UK feature block: data transfer, drive-health tracking and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Write-buffer technology

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990Intelligent TurboWrite
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak write claims and operates only within a specific data transfer size. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random read, QD1

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990Not verified
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and data sheet do not list QD1 results.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random write, QD1

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990Not verified
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and data sheet do not list QD1 results.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Device sleep support

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990Yes
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · The UK page lists device sleep mode support. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Garbage collection

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990Yes
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Internal function, not a measured performance uplift.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Humidity range

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 9905–95%
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Installation kit included

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990No
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · UK page says installation kit not available; no supplied screw or host heatsink is assumed.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Earlier PCIe support

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990PCIe 3.0
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Data sheet footnote: backward compatible with PCIe 3.0. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation and speed.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Modern Standby support

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990Not verified
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

NVMe interface protocol version

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 9902.0
Sources
Kingston KC3000

The reviewed exact manufacturer sources identify NVMe but do not state its protocol version. An omitted version does not establish a different version or missing NVMe support. · Manufacturer specification

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Advertised efficiency comparison

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990Up to 38% better sequential performance per watt than the 990 PRO (Samsung internal 2 TB test)
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Samsung internal test: 990 at 1,686/1,697 MB/s per watt read/write versus 990 PRO at 1,221/1,254 MB/s per watt, 2 TB capacity, fio 3.28 on a Core Ultra 7 265K system. A manufacturer comparison, not a measured saving in any particular PC.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

S.M.A.R.T. support

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990Yes
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer monitoring capability, not a remaining-lifespan guarantee.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Allowable supply voltage

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 9903.3 V ±5%
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Product voltage range. Check the host slot is compatible.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published system-level power

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990Average read 4.3 W; average write 3.8 W
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · UK page 'Average Power Consumption (system level)'; actual power consumption may vary depending on system hardware and configuration.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Operating vibration rating

Kingston KC30002.17 G peak, 7–800 Hz
Samsung 990Not verified
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating vibration rating. No independent drop, shock or reliability test is implied.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

World Wide Name support

Kingston KC3000Not verified
Samsung 990No
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN is not supported.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

5 shared fields have the same recorded value.

WHAT EACH CHOICE ASKS OF YOU

What it brings and what to check

Kingston KC3000

What it brings

  • Rated up to 7,000 MB/s sequential read and 7,000 MB/s sequential write over PCIe 4.0 x4, with up to 1 million random read and write IOPS.

What to check

Samsung 990

What it brings

What to check

COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

How we verify
50 of 50 specifications Sources in each row
Source-backed specifications for Kingston KC3000 and Samsung 990
SpecificationKingston KC3000Samsung 990
CapacityDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed capacity; formatting and reserved functions reduce usable storage.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity (1 GB = 1 billion bytes, IDEMA); formatted usable space is lower.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
2048 GB2000 GB
SSD / HDD
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specifications
SSDSSD
Interface and version
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Match the host interface and available lanes; interface generation is not measured application performance.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Samsung states the 990 is backward compatible with PCIe 3.0. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
PCIe 4.0 x4; NVMePCIe 4.0 x4; NVMe
Form factor
Sources
M.2 2280M.2 2280
Drive dimensionsDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Double-sided module. Dimensions apply to this capacity/configuration; allow installation clearance.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung lists maximum width × height × depth for the bare module.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
80 × 22 × 3.5 mm80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
Drive weightDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer drive weight for this capacity, excluding packaging.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · UK 2 TB specification maximum, not package mass or a measured sample.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
9.7 g9 g
Module sides
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Check the host's clearance for this module configuration.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

No source recorded.

Double-sidedNot provided
Heat spreader
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed thin graphene aluminium heat spreader.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

No source recorded.

Low-profile graphene aluminium heat spreaderNot provided
Earlier PCIe support
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Data sheet footnote: backward compatible with PCIe 3.0. Host protocol and lane availability still determine actual operation and speed.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Not providedPCIe 3.0
Factory heatsink
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · The UK specification lists a bare module with a maximum depth of 2.38 mm and no heatsink; the official gallery shows a bare module. A thermal label is not an enclosure.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Not providedNo
Rated performance and conditionsDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston fresh/out-of-box manufacturer claim on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within a specific transfer size. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Up to 7000 MB/s sequential read; up to 7000 MB/s sequential writeUp to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6450 MB/s cached sequential write
Rated sequential readDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston fresh/out-of-box manufacturer claim on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within a specific transfer size. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
7000 MB/s7250 MB/s
Rated sequential writeDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston fresh/out-of-box manufacturer claim on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within a specific transfer size. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
7000 MB/s6450 MB/s
Rated random 4K readDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to random 4K claim for 2048 GB, out of box on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Queue depth, test software/firmware and sustained results are not supplied.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim for the 2 TB column (queue depth and block size not stated in the datasheet). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results use Intelligent TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
1000000 IOPS850000 IOPS
Rated random 4K writeDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to random 4K claim for 2048 GB, out of box on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Queue depth, test software/firmware and sustained results are not supplied.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claim for the 2 TB column (queue depth and block size not stated in the datasheet). IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X / X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800, Windows 11 Pro, fan-cooled secondary drive; write results use Intelligent TurboWrite.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
1000000 IOPS1200000 IOPS
NAND type
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer terminology.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Both reviewed exact technical sources say Samsung V-NAND without specifying the NAND cell type. TLC, QLC or another cell type is not established. Preserve the positive V-NAND technology separately. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
3D TLCNot listed by the manufacturer
ControllerDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed controller.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not give a codename, stepping or process node.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Phison E18Samsung in-house controller
DRAM cache present
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · The manufacturer confirms DRAM caching but does not state its capacity in this specification; no size is guessed.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
YesNot listed by the manufacturer
Not providedHost Memory Buffer (HMB)
Write-buffer technology
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak write claims and operates only within a specific data transfer size. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Not providedIntelligent TurboWrite
Not providedSamsung V-NAND
Warranty terms and endurance if applicableDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Subject to original-purchase eligibility and full manufacturer terms. Published TBW is a separate endurance rating from the wear-indicator warranty limit.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston limited warranty — SSD family and wear-indicator conditions
5-year conditional limited warranty, or NVMe Percentage Used reaching or exceeding 100 in Kingston SSD Manager, whichever occurs first3 years or 800 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Limited warranty timeDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Maximum time term; coverage can end earlier at NVMe Percentage Used reaching or exceeding 100 in Kingston SSD Manager. Eligibility and full terms apply.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston limited warranty — SSD family and wear-indicator conditions
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not a lifespan prediction. Coverage also ends at the TBW threshold; eligibility and full terms apply.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
5 years3 years
Published endurance rating (TBW)Different
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Published endurance rating derived from the JEDEC Client Workload (JESD219A). Warranty ends on the stated time or wear conditions. This is not a guaranteed service life.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheetKingston limited warranty — SSD family and wear-indicator conditions
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Warranty write threshold for the 2 TB capacity (1 TB model: 400 TB), in compliance with JESD218; not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
1600 TB800 TB
Manufacturer workload scopeDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Workload limitation in the datasheet. Not intended for enterprise or server use.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer application class; no enterprise or console installation guarantee.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Desktop and notebook workloads; not intended for serversClient PCs
Manufacturer MTBF ratingDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer statistical MTBF claim, not an individual drive lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Statistical manufacturer claim, not individual lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
2,000,000 hours1,500,000 hours
Included cloning softwareDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · The part page includes cloning software. Current Kingston instructions require an installed Kingston internal SSD, Windows 11/10/8.1, administrator rights, internet download through Kingston SSD Manager and licence acceptance. This software does not support macOS or Linux; that does not declare the drive itself incompatible.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston Acronis True Image — inclusion requirements and host limits
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · The UK feature block says Magician can transfer data. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Acronis True Image for KingstonSamsung Magician data transfer
Hardware encryption support
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Not providedAES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
TRIM support
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer requires operating-system support; the host path must also support it.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Not providedYes
S.M.A.R.T. support
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer monitoring capability, not a remaining-lifespan guarantee.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Not providedYes
Garbage collection
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Internal function, not a measured performance uplift.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Not providedYes
Drive management software
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · UK feature block: data transfer, drive-health tracking and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Not providedSamsung Magician
Installation kit included
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · UK page says installation kit not available; no supplied screw or host heatsink is assumed.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Not providedNo
World Wide Name support
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN is not supported.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Not providedNo
Device sleep support
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · The UK page lists device sleep mode support. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Not providedYes
Operating temperature
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating range; not a measured temperature under a particular workload.

Kingston KC3000 — manufacturer specificationsKingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · 0–70 °C is the S.M.A.R.T. operating temperature with airflow recommended, not an independent cooling measurement.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
0–70 °C0–70 °C
Storage temperature
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Published non-operating storage range, kept separate from the 0–70 °C operating range.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating range, distinct from operation.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
−40–85 °C−40–85 °C
Published power conditionsDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · 2048 GB column. The average workload is not specified. Read and write maxima are separate operating states.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active power measured with fio 3.28 on an Intel Core Ultra 7 265K / ASUS Maximus Z890 HERO / Ubuntu 22.04 system with 32 GB DDR5-4800, which differs from the speed test. These are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
50 mW idle; 0.36 W average; 2.8 W maximum read; 9.9 W maximum write4.3 W average active read; 3.8 W average active write; 55 mW PS3 idle (APST on); 3 mW PS4 (L1.2)
Non-operating vibration ratingDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer vibration rating with its stated frequency range. Not a drop test; ratings from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer test range; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
20 G peak, 20–1000 Hz20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Operating vibration rating
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating vibration rating. No independent drop, shock or reliability test is implied.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

No source recorded.

2.17 G peak, 7–800 HzNot provided
Published system-level power
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · UK page 'Average Power Consumption (system level)'; actual power consumption may vary depending on system hardware and configuration.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Not providedAverage read 4.3 W; average write 3.8 W
Humidity range
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Not provided5–95%
Non-operating shock rating
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and featuresSamsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Not provided1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
Allowable supply voltage
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Product voltage range. Check the host slot is compatible.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Not provided3.3 V ±5%
Advertised efficiency comparison
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Manufacturer specification · Samsung internal test: 990 at 1,686/1,697 MB/s per watt read/write versus 990 PRO at 1,221/1,254 MB/s per watt, 2 TB capacity, fio 3.28 on a Core Ultra 7 265K system. A manufacturer comparison, not a measured saving in any particular PC.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Not providedUp to 38% better sequential performance per watt than the 990 PRO (Samsung internal 2 TB test)
NVMe interface protocol version
Sources
Kingston KC3000

The reviewed exact manufacturer sources identify NVMe but do not state its protocol version. An omitted version does not establish a different version or missing NVMe support. · Manufacturer specification

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Not listed by the manufacturer2.0
Show unverified (4)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
Manufacturer-listed DirectStorage support
Sources
Kingston KC3000

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Kingston does not list DirectStorage support for this model.

Kingston KC3000 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 990

No source recorded.

Not listed by the manufacturerNot provided
Rated random read, QD1
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and data sheet do not list QD1 results.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Not providedNot listed by the manufacturer
Rated random write, QD1
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 2 TB page and data sheet do not list QD1 results.

Samsung SSD 990 data sheet, revision 1.0 (linked from the UK MZ-V9V2T0BW page)
Not providedNot listed by the manufacturer
Modern Standby support
Sources
Kingston KC3000

No source recorded.

Samsung 990

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.

Samsung 990 — exact UK 2 TB MZ-V9V2T0BW specifications and features
Not providedNot listed by the manufacturer
FIND YOUR CONTENDERS

More products

Closest storage to this pair by shared key specifications. Not a popularity ranking.

See all 199 storage
MSI SPATIUM M480 PRO 2 TB M.2 2280 SSD, upright angled view showing the 2 TB label

MSI SPATIUM M480 PRO

Storage capacity
2 TB
Warranty term
5 years
Write rating
1,400 TB
Prices & product profile
GIGABYTE AORUS Gen4 7300 2 TB M.2 SSD without heat spreader, shown with its 2TB retail box

Gigabyte AORUS Gen4 7300

Storage capacity
2 TB
Warranty term
5 years
Write rating
1,400 TB
Prices & product profile

Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.