Kingston FURY Renegade G54096 GB · M.2 2280 · SFYR2S/4T0- Capacity
- 4096 GBThis one: 4000 GB
- Rated sequential write
- 14000 MB/sThis one: 13400 MB/s
4 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · Samsung part MZ-VAP4T0BW
A 4 TB PCIe 5.0 NVMe SSD rated up to 14,800 MB/s read and 13,400 MB/s write, with TLC V-NAND, 4 GB LPDDR4X cache and a 2,400 TB write rating. This version has no factory heatsink.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026Manufacturer specifications, not a hands-on test.
Rated up to 14,800 MB/s sequential read and 13,400 MB/s sequential write over PCIe 5.0 x4, with up to 2.2 million random read and 2.6 million random write IOPS.
TLC V-NAND with a 4 GB LPDDR4X DRAM cache and a 5 nm controller, plus a five-year warranty covering up to 2,400 TB written.
No factory heatsink, so plan for motherboard or case cooling. Peak write speed relies on the TurboWrite cache, and Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed for this model.
It also works in PCIe 4.0 and 3.0 x4 slots, but its rated speeds need a PCIe 5.0 x4 slot.
Exact configuration: 4 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-VAP4T0BW
44 specifications in 7 groups. Values are manufacturer specifications unless a row says “Measured result” or “Calculated from cited specifications”.
Decimal capacity; formatting and system use reduce available space.
Match the physical format and electrical interface to the host.
Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.
4 TB column includes 4 GB LPDDR4X. Having DRAM is not a measured speed or reliability result.
SourceSamsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.
Manufacturer terminology.
Manufacturer's stated DRAM cache capacity for this storage capacity.
This BW configuration has no factory heatsink; follow the host's cooling requirements.
Manufacturer identifies its own controller; a commercial codename or stepping is not supplied.
SourceCurrent feature block describes a 5 nm controller architecture. Samsung's up-to-49% efficiency claim was tested on 2 TB models, not this 4 TB drive.
Source4 TB column gives 4 GB LPDDR4X; separate from the variable TurboWrite buffer.
SourceBackward compatibility. Host protocol, lane availability and cooling remain required; Gen 5 headline speeds are not available on every older host.
SourceUK 4 TB page gives this maximum, not a measured sample or package mass. Do not use the bare-board value for the heatsink version.
SourceSamsung FIO 3.33 claims: Ryzen 9 7950X, 32 GB DDR5-4800, ASRock X670E Taichi, Ubuntu 22.04.2; secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
SourceSamsung FIO 3.33 claims: Ryzen 9 7950X, 32 GB DDR5-4800, ASRock X670E Taichi, Ubuntu 22.04.2; secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
SourceSamsung FIO 3.33 claims: Ryzen 9 7950X, 32 GB DDR5-4800, ASRock X670E Taichi, Ubuntu 22.04.2; secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
Manufacturer up-to claim at QD256 / 32 threads using FIO 3.33, Ryzen 9 7950X / ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Ubuntu 22.04.2. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; write tests use Intelligent TurboWrite. Measured at high queue depth and thread count, not single-thread desktop performance.
SourceManufacturer up-to claim at QD256 / 32 threads using FIO 3.33, Ryzen 9 7950X / ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Ubuntu 22.04.2. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; write tests use Intelligent TurboWrite. Measured at high queue depth and thread count, not single-thread desktop performance.
SourceSamsung does not state this for this model. · Samsung does not list a QD1 result for the 4 TB model. Its QD256 figures are a different measure.
SourceSamsung does not state this for this model. · Samsung does not list a QD1 result for the 4 TB model. Its QD256 figures are a different measure.
SourceManufacturer write caching is active for peak write claims and only operates within a specific transfer size. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 4 TB model.
SourceCapacity-specific warranty write threshold, not a guaranteed failure point.
Time limit, not predicted lifespan; coverage also ends at the TBW threshold and is subject to full terms.
Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.
Manufacturer-listed application classes, not a blanket installation guarantee. Check host NVMe support, power, cooling and clearance.
SourceStatistical MTBF claim, not an individual lifespan, remaining life or guaranteed operating time.
Source4 TB column. Active power uses FIO 3.33 on Ryzen 5 7600, ASUS ProArt X670E-CREATOR WIFI STCOM, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Ubuntu 22.04.3 LTS, distinct from the performance host. Idle requires APST; sleep is L1.2. These are not constant household-use loads.
SourceThe UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.
SourceUK electrical requirement. Also check slot, power delivery and cooling.
SourceSecurity capabilities, not confirmation that encryption is enabled, supported by every host, or independently certified.
SourceManufacturer requires operating-system TRIM support. Check enclosure and host support.
SourceMonitoring capability; it is not a prediction of remaining individual drive life.
SourceManufacturer-listed internal function.
SourceCurrent manufacturer feature block lists data migration, drive-health monitoring and firmware updates. Check the software version, operating-system support and feature requirements.
SourceThe UK page states WWN is not supported. This does not imply absence of NVMe identification or other management features.
SourceMeasured by the drive's S.M.A.R.T. temperature; Samsung recommends adequate airflow.
Published non-operating range, distinct from 0–70 °C operation.
SourceManufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.
SourceManufacturer non-operating rating, not an installed-system drop test.
SourceManufacturer rating with its stated frequency range. Results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.
SourceUK technical block says installation kit not available. No installation kit is included.
SourceThe UK feature page advertises data migration through Samsung Magician. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.
SourceMore of the nearest checked drives by key specifications, for a side-by-side comparison.
Samsung 9100 PRO with Heatsink4 TB · M.2 2280 with factory heatsink · MZ-VAP4T0CWCompare the two
MSI SPATIUM M580 FROZR2 TB · PCIe 5.0 NVMe M.2 2280 with FROZR tower heatsinkCompare the two
Gigabyte AORUS Gen5 140002 TB · M.2 2280 without heatsink · AG514K2TBCompare the two
MSI SPATIUM M5602 TB · PCIe 5.0 NVMe M.2 2280 without heatsinkCompare the two
Kingston DC3000ME3.84 TB · U.2 2.5-inch 15 mm · PCIe 5.0 NVMe · SEDC3000ME/3T8Compare the two
Samsung 990 EVO Plus, PCIe 4.0/5.0, NVMe M.2 SSDUK MZ-V9S4T0BW · BlackCompare the two
Samsung 990 PRO PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 SSDUK MZ-V9P4T0BW · Black · 4 TBCompare the two
MSI SPATIUM M571 DLP2 TB · PCIe 5.0 NVMe M.2 2280 without heatsinkCompare the two