HomeSmartphonesComparisonUK & US shopping
YOUR PHONE FACE-OFF

Galaxy S26 Ultra vs Galaxy Z Fold8

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact variants · Checked 4 Sept 2026
Samsung256 GB

Galaxy S26 Ultra

Native 5x zoom. Built-in S Pen.

Galaxy S26 Ultra in Cobalt Violet, front and rear with S Pen
Spec
match
Cobalt Violet
PricesCheck retailers

Search links open retailer results.

Price history · UKNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay UK daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Price history · USNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay US daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Affiliate links

We may earn a commission. Search results can include other models; check the exact variant and final price with the retailer.

THE CHOICE IS PERSONAL

Which one
is your one?

Two great phones.
Different things to love.

94Display
91Camera
93Battery
Make it personal How are scores calculated?
Samsung256 GB

Galaxy Z Fold8

7.6″ · Dynamic AMOLED 2X · 120 Hz

256 GB · Lavender · UK SM-F971BLVBEUB
Samsung Galaxy Z Fold8 in Lavender, official product view
Spec
match
Lavender
PricesCheck retailers

Search links open retailer results.

Price history · UKNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay UK daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Price history · USNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay US daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Affiliate links

We may earn a commission. Search results can include other models; check the exact variant and final price with the retailer.

SPECIFICATIONS-ONLY COMPARISONThe facts are here. A score isn’t—yet.

There isn’t enough shared evidence for a weighted recommendation. Explore the verified differences below.

Change what matters

Published-spec match · for your selected priorities. Scores compare published capabilities, not lab-tested quality. Camera image quality and independent performance tests are not rated. See scoring

Display, Camera, Battery scoring is unavailable for this pair. Known hardware specs still appear below. We do not fill missing inputs with estimates.

OVERVIEW

Compare the facts.

See each difference separately. Select a topic for its sources and conditions.

SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE6 topics

Bar length shows the stated amount. Use your priorities to decide which amount suits you.

SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 06

Pixel density

Pixels per inch describe display density. This is not an overall display-quality or colour-accuracy score.

Galaxy S26 Ultra498.01 ppi

Samsung does not publish PPI. This value is calculated from its published 3120x1440 resolution and 6.9-inch full-rectangle diagonal.

Galaxy Z Fold8Not verified
Explore the full specifications
THE DIFFERENCES THAT MATTER

A quick read on the trade-offs.

Every specification
Galaxy Z Fold8

13g lighter.

Published device weight, without a case.

Galaxy S26 Ultra
214g
Galaxy Z Fold8
201g

Schematic balance · not a physical simulation

Galaxy Z Fold8

0.7″ larger diagonal.

Bigger is a preference, not a quality score.

Galaxy S26 Ultra
6.9
Galaxy Z Fold8
7.6

Relative diagonals · illustrative shape, not actual size

DATA INCOMPLETE

Camera details matter.

Dedicated telephoto reach. No digital or crop zoom.

Galaxy S26 Ultra
5×
Galaxy Z Fold8
Not verified

Lens illustration · not an image-quality test

MANUFACTURER CLAIMS

Playback on paper.

Up-to claims. Different test methods; no endurance winner.

Galaxy S26 Ultra
Up to 31h
Galaxy Z Fold8
Up to 26h

Shared 40-hour scale · not mixed-use battery life

BEYOND THE TOTAL

Why choose each?

Different strengths. Your call.

REASONS TO CONSIDER

Galaxy Z Fold8

  • 13 g lighter

    201 g vs 214 g, before a case.

    Preference, not included in the match score.
  • More screen, if you want it

    7.6″ vs 6.9″ diagonally. Larger is a preference, not an automatic win.

    Preference, not included in the match score.
Sources behind these differences 3

Published facts, not hands-on recommendations. These preferences do not add extra points to the match score; no tested battery gains are inferred.

GO A LITTLE DEEPER

Where each phone shines.

Explore the numbers behind the match.

Galaxy S26 Ultra Galaxy Z Fold8
Display explainedNot enough evidence to score

Galaxy S26 Ultra: Scores Samsung-published 2,600-nit peak brightness and 120Hz, plus 498.01 ppi calculated from its published resolution and full-rectangle diagonal. Brightness is not independently measured.

Galaxy Z Fold8: Required display inputs are incomplete.

Explore the sources
YOUR PHONE, YOUR RULES

What matters to you?

Make the comparison fit your life.

Any must-haves?

Your comparisonMore information needed
vs
Unknown must-haves pause the recommendation.
COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

All specs90 specificationsGalaxy S26 UltraGalaxy Z Fold8
Screen size
6.9″
7.6″
Main / inner screen diagonal · Full-rectangle nominal diagonal; rounded corners reduce viewable area.
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Published peak brightnessManufacturer peak claims use different test conditions.
2600 nits
Not verified
Pixel density
498.01 ppi
Not verified
Native telephoto reach
Not verified
Claimed video playbackUp-to manufacturer claims. Playback protocols differ.
31 hours
26 hours
Video Playback Time (Hours, Wireless); manufacturer up-to claim. Protocols differ across brands.
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Wireless charging
Yes
Not verified
Published support term
7 years
Display specification
Not verified
193.2mm (7.6" full rectangle) / 192.5mm (7.6" rounded corners); Dynamic AMOLED 2X; 1848 x 2448 (QXGA+); up to 120 Hz
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Chipset / published CPU
Not verified
Octa-Core; published CPU clock groups: 4.74GHz, 3.6GHz. Chipset trade name is not stated in this specification.
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
RAM and storage configuration
Not verified
Camera system
Not verified
Rear: 50.0 MP + 50.0 MP; front: 10.0 MP; recording: UHD 8K (7680 x 4320)@30fps
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Battery and charging
Not verified
4800 mAh typical capacity; manufacturer video claim up to 26 h. Capacity and playback claims do not establish independently measured endurance.
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Dimensions
Not verified
123.9 x 161.4 x 4.5 mm (height × width × depth); folded: 123.9 x 81.9 x 9.7 mm
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Regional SIM / network configuration
Not verified
UK SM-F971BLVBEUB; Dual-SIM; Nano-SIM (4FF), Embedded-SIM; SIM 1 + eSIM / Dual eSIM; 2G GSM, 3G WCDMA, 4G LTE FDD, 4G LTE TDD, 5G Sub6 FDD, 5G Sub6 TDD, 5G Sub6 SDL. Carrier services and US availability need separate confirmation.
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Panel technology
Not verified
Main display resolution
Not verified
Typical battery capacity
Not verified
4800 mAhManufacturer capacity; not an endurance test.
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Memory card support
Not verified
Not verifiedNot stated in the checked manufacturer specification; not treated as zero or absent.
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
USB connection
Not verified
Wireless connectivity
Not verified
802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax/be 2.4GHz+5GHz+6GHz, EHT320, MIMO, 4096-QAM; Bluetooth v6.0
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Manufacturer UK reference price
Not verified
£1,699Listed manufacturer price checked on 10 September 2026; not a current eBay offer.
SourceSamsung UK current phone configurations and part numbers
Colour Depth (Main Display)
Not verified
Size (Sub_Display)
Not verified
138.4mm (5.5" full rectangle) / 137.5mm (5.4" rounded corners)
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Resolution (Sub Display)
Not verified
Technology (Sub Display)
Not verified
Colour Depth (Sub Display)
Not verified
Rear Camera - Resolution (Multiple)
Not verified
Rear Camera - F Number (Multiple)
Not verified
Rear Camera - Zoom
Not verified
Optical quality Zoom 2x (Enabled by Adaptive Pixel sensor) , Digital Zoom up to 10x
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Front Camera - Resolution
Not verified
Cover Camera - Resolution
Not verified
Video Recording Resolution
Not verified
Slow Motion
Not verified
SIM size
Not verified
SIM Slot Type
Not verified
Infra
Not verified
2G GSM, 3G WCDMA, 4G LTE FDD, 4G LTE TDD, 5G Sub6 FDD, 5G Sub6 TDD, 5G Sub6 SDL
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
2G GSM
Not verified
3G UMTS
Not verified
B1(2100), B2(1900), B4(AWS), B5(850), B8(900)
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
4G FDD LTE
Not verified
B1(2100), B2(1900), B3(1800), B4(AWS), B5(850), B7(2600), B8(900), B12(700), B13(700), B17(700), B18(800), B19(800), B20(800), B25(1900), B26(850), B28(700), B32(1500), B66(AWS-3)
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
4G TDD LTE
Not verified
B38(2600), B39(1900), B40(2300), B41(2500)
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
5G FDD Sub6
Not verified
N1(2100), N2(1900), N3(1800), N5(850), N7(2600), N8(900), N12(700), N20(800), N25(1900), N26(850), N28(700), N66(AWS-3)
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
5G TDD Sub6
Not verified
N38(2600), N40(2300), N41(2500), N77(3700), N78(3500)
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Location Technology
Not verified
Wi-Fi
Not verified
802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax/be 2.4GHz+5GHz+6GHz, EHT320, MIMO, 4096-QAM
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Bluetooth Version
Not verified
PC Sync.
Not verified
Sensors
Not verified
Accelerometer, Barometer, Fingerprint Sensor, Gyro Sensor, Geomagnetic Sensor, Hall Sensor, Light Sensor, Proximity Sensor
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Minimum Battery Endurance in Cycles
Not verified
Video Playing Resolution
Not verified
Power Required for Charging (Min / Max, W)
Not verified
Bluetooth® Hearing Aid Support
Not verified
Android Audio Streaming for Hearing Aid(ASHA)
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUB
Exact variants · Manufacturer specificationsView sources
GO BEYOND THE SPECS

A little perspective. A better decision.

Make this comparison yours.
THE PRICE THAT CHANGES EVERYTHING

What price changes your mind?

A great phone. An even better deal. Find the point where the value flips.

Let’s check the fit first

Comparable, positive scores are needed in your selected categories before we can calculate a price threshold.

Review your priorities
NO LOGOS. JUST YOU.

Would you choose it blind?

Forget the brand for a moment. Which set of specs feels more like you?

Pick a phone. Then meet your match.

Manufacturer specifications. Your choice doesn’t change the comparison above.

Good comparisons start with good sources.11 cited sources for this pair. Every number has a story.See the evidence

Your selected categories: none. Scores reflect published capabilities, not hands-on testing. Manufacturer battery claims can use different test conditions. Verified specifications remain visible even where a category cannot be scored.

How we calculate scores

Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra

256 GB · checked 4 Sept 2026

Your weighted scoreNot availableSelected categories: None.

Comparable evidence is missing in one or more selected categories.

Display94.3 / 100

Scores Samsung-published 2,600-nit peak brightness and 120Hz, plus 498.01 ppi calculated from its published resolution and full-rectangle diagonal. Brightness is not independently measured.

Selected weight: 1.

medium confidence · 100% model coverage
Published peak brightnessSource value: 2600
86.67 × 40% = 34.67

Manufacturer-published peak figure; not an independent measurement.

Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung UK
Pixel densitySource value: 498.01
99.01 × 35% = 34.65

Samsung does not publish PPI. This value is calculated from its published 3120x1440 resolution and 6.9-inch full-rectangle diagonal.

Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung UK
Maximum adaptive refresh rateSource value: 120
100.00 × 25% = 25.00Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung UK

Category score = 34.67 + 34.65 + 25.00 = 94.32

Camera91.3 / 100

A published-capability score, not an image-quality verdict. It counts native 5x reach, Samsung's 10x optical-quality mode, four rear modules, 8K and three named pro workflows.

Selected weight: 1.

medium confidence · 100% model coverage
Native telephoto reachSource value: 5
100.00 × 25% = 25.00

Samsung identifies 3x and 5x as optical zoom and 2x and 10x as Adaptive Pixel optical-quality zoom.

Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung DeveloperSamsung Support UK
Published optical-quality reachSource value: 10
100.00 × 15% = 15.00

Samsung identifies 3x and 5x as optical zoom and 2x and 10x as Adaptive Pixel optical-quality zoom.

Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung DeveloperSamsung Support UK
Published pro workflowsSource value: 3
75.00 × 35% = 26.25

Counts Samsung Log, Expert RAW and recording to external USB storage. Samsung does not publish genlock support. This measures support, not output quality.

Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung DeveloperSamsung Support UK
8K recording availableSource value: 1
100.00 × 5% = 5.00Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung DeveloperSamsung Support UK
Native rear camera modulesSource value: 4
100.00 × 20% = 20.00Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung DeveloperSamsung Support UK

Category score = 25.00 + 15.00 + 26.25 + 5.00 + 20.00 = 91.25

Battery92.6 / 100

Combines Samsung's up-to 31-hour local-720p-video estimate with its up-to-75%-in-around-30-minutes claim. Different manufacturer test methods make cross-brand confidence low.

Selected weight: 1.

low confidence · 100% model coverage
Manufacturer-claimed local video playbackSource value: 31
88.57 × 65% = 57.57

Samsung's up-to figure is an internal estimate using a locally stored 720p video on pre-release hardware; it is not mixed-use or web-browsing endurance.

Samsung UK
Manufacturer-claimed charging rateSource value: 2.5
100.00 × 35% = 35.00

Derived from Samsung's up-to-75% in around 30 minutes claim with a 60W adapter; it is not a sustained charging rate.

Samsung Newsroom UK

Category score = 57.57 + 35.00 = 92.57

PerformanceNot scored

Samsung publishes chip identity and relative generation-over-generation claims, but no comparable cross-platform benchmark under this methodology.

Selected weight: 1.

Missing: Comparable independently measured CPU benchmark, Comparable independently measured GPU benchmark, Comparable sustained-performance test.

Longevity100.0 / 100

Samsung promises seven OS generations and seven years of security updates from global launch; this scores the published seven-year commitment at the model ceiling.

Selected weight: 1.

high confidence · 100% model coverage
Published software-support durationSource value: 7
100.00 × 100% = 100.00

Samsung promises seven OS generations and seven years of security updates from global launch; its UK business specification lists security support through 28 February 2033.

Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung Business UK

Category score = 100.00 = 100.00

Specifications & verification
Weight214 gmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung UK
Width78.1 mmmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung UK
Thickness7.9 mmmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung UK
Display size6.9 inchesmanufacturer · high confidence

Full-rectangle diagonal; Samsung states 6.7 inches accounting for rounded corners and that actual viewable area is smaller.

Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UK
Peak brightness2600 nitsmanufacturer · medium confidence

Manufacturer-published peak, not an independent measurement.

Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UK
Claimed video playback31 hoursmanufacturer · medium confidence

Manufacturer up-to claim; not mixed-use endurance.

Samsung internal estimate on pre-release hardware with a locally stored 720p video, Bluetooth earphones and default settings over LTE.

Samsung UK
Claimed charging rate2.5% per minutecalculated · low confidence

A normalized rate derived from an approximate manufacturer claim, not a sustained measurement. A 60W adapter is required and sold separately.

75 percent divided by approximately 30 minutes.

Samsung Newsroom UK
Published total support7 yearsmanufacturer · high confidence

Seven OS generations and seven years of security updates from global launch; UK security-support date is listed as 28 February 2033.

Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung Business UK
Wireless chargingYesmanufacturer · high confidence

Samsung lists WPC-compatible Super Fast Wireless Charging; its UK launch table does not state wattage.

Samsung Newsroom UK
Reverse wireless chargingYesmanufacturer · high confidence

Published as Wireless PowerShare, subject to Samsung's compatibility and battery-level limitations.

Samsung Newsroom UK
Headphone jackNomanufacturer · high confidence

Samsung lists the earjack as USB Type-C rather than a 3.5mm socket.

Samsung Business UK
Expandable storageNomanufacturer · high confidence

Samsung's UK comparison table marks Micro SD as N/A.

Samsung UK
eSIM onlyNomanufacturer · high confidence

The UK specification supports nano-SIM and eSIM combinations.

Samsung Business UK
IP ratingIP68manufacturer · high confidence

Samsung's lab claim is up to 1.5m of fresh water for 30 minutes; resistance is not permanent.

Samsung Newsroom UK
RAM12 GBmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung UK
Native telephoto reachmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung UK
Claimed optical-quality reach10×manufacturer · high confidence

Samsung's Adaptive Pixel optical-quality mode is not a separate native 10x lens.

Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UK
Rear camera modules4manufacturer · high confidenceSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung UK
8K recordingYesmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung UK
Reference MSRP£1,279.00Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UK
All sources8
  1. Samsung Unveils Galaxy S26 Series: The Most Intuitive Galaxy AI Phone YetSamsung Newsroom UK · accessed 2026-09-04
  2. Specifications - Samsung Galaxy S26 UltraSamsung UK · accessed 2026-09-04
  3. Buy Samsung Galaxy S26 UltraSamsung UK · accessed 2026-09-04
  4. Introducing the Latest Galaxy S26 SeriesSamsung UK · accessed 2026-09-04
  5. Galaxy S26 Ultra 256GB - Specifications and Software SupportSamsung Business UK · accessed 2026-09-04
  6. Samsung's Pro-Grade APV Codec Supported on Galaxy S26 UltraSamsung Newsroom UK · accessed 2026-09-04
  7. Samsung Log VideoSamsung Developer · accessed 2026-09-04
  8. Professional Photography with Galaxy Expert RAW AppSamsung Support UK · accessed 2026-09-04

Samsung Galaxy Z Fold8

256 GB · checked 10 Sept 2026

Your weighted scoreNot availableSelected categories: None.

Comparable evidence is missing in one or more selected categories.

DisplayNot scored

Required display inputs are incomplete.

Selected weight: 1.

Missing: Comparable display specifications.

CameraNot scored

Camera hardware is listed, but all inputs for the camera-capability model have not been verified.

Selected weight: 1.

Missing: Complete model-defined camera workflow evidence.

BatteryNot scored

Comparable battery claim inputs are missing.

Selected weight: 1.

Missing: Playback and charging conditions.

PerformanceNot scored

Comparable independent CPU, GPU and sustained-performance measurements are not available here.

Selected weight: 1.

Missing: Independent benchmarks.

LongevityNot scored

The published update policy is listed separately; remaining support is not converted into a quality score.

Selected weight: 1.

Missing: Comparable remaining-support scoring methodology.

Specifications & verification
Weight201 gmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
Width81.9 mmmanufacturer · high confidence

Closed width

Samsung
Thickness9.7 mmmanufacturer · high confidence

Closed thickness

Samsung
Display size7.6 inchesmanufacturer · high confidence

Full-rectangle nominal diagonal; rounded corners reduce viewable area.

Samsung
Peak brightnessNot verified

not published

Claimed video playback26 hoursmanufacturer · high confidence

Video Playback Time (Hours, Wireless); manufacturer up-to claim. Protocols differ across brands.

Samsung
Claimed charging rateNot verified

not published

Published total supportNot verified

not published

Wireless chargingNot verified

not published

Reverse wireless chargingNot verified

not published

Headphone jackNomanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
Expandable storageNot verified

not published

Samsung
eSIM onlyNomanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
IP ratingNot verified

not published

RAM12 GBmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
Pixel densityNot verified

not published

Maximum refresh rate120 Hzmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
Native telephoto reachNot verified

not published

Claimed optical-quality reachNot verified

not published

Rear camera modules2manufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
8K recordingYesmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
Reference MSRP£1,699.00Samsung
All sources3
  1. Samsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 technical specifications — SM-F971BLVBEUBSamsung · accessed 2026-09-10
  2. Samsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 product pageSamsung · accessed 2026-09-10
  3. Samsung UK current phone configurations and part numbersSamsung · accessed 2026-09-10
THE BEST PHONE IS PERSONAL.

Make your next choice a clear one.

Your priorities. The real differences. All in one place.