Skip to comparison
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
YOUR PHONE FACE-OFF

Nothing Phone (4a) vs Samsung Galaxy A55 5G

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact variants · Checked 28 Sept 2026
Nothing128 GB

Phone (4a)

6.78″ · Flexible AMOLED · 120 Hz · Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4

128 GB · 8 GB RAM · White · UK 6974434227620Full product profile
Nothing Phone (4a) in White, official product viewWhite
PricesCheck retailers

Search links open retailer results.

UK list price from Nothing, checked 10 Sept 2026 · not a live offer: £379.00Nothing source — manufacturer reference price, opens in a new tab

UK: no verified listing yet · checked daily

US: no verified listing yet · checked daily

As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

Affiliate links

We may earn a commission. Search results can include other models; check the exact variant and final price with the retailer.

DIFFERENCES AT A GLANCE

Chipset
Phone (4a): Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4 vs Galaxy A55 5G: Octa-core CPU (2.75 GHz and 2 GHz)
Display resolution
Phone (4a): 1224 x 2720 (440 PPI) vs Galaxy A55 5G: 1080 x 2340 (FHD+)
Ingress protection rating
Phone (4a): IP64 vs Galaxy A55 5G: IP67
Panel technology
Phone (4a): Flexible AMOLED vs Galaxy A55 5G: Super AMOLED
Phone (4a) first, Galaxy A55 5G second. Different is not better: see every verified difference below.
See the 10 verified differences
Samsung128 GB

Galaxy A55 5G

6.6″ · Super AMOLED · 120 Hz · Octa-core CPU (2.75 GHz and 2 GHz)

128 GB · Awesome Iceblue · UK SM-A556BLBAEUBFull product profile
Samsung Galaxy A55 5G in Awesome Iceblue, official product viewAwesome Iceblue
PricesCheck retailers

Search links open retailer results.

UK: no verified listing yet · checked daily

US: no verified listing yet · checked daily

As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

Affiliate links

We may earn a commission. Search results can include other models; check the exact variant and final price with the retailer.

THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE

Visual facts

Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.

How to read this comparison
How to read this comparison
  • Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
  • “Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
  • Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE6 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 06

Chipset

A different chip or core configuration is a hardware change, not a measured performance uplift.

Phone (4a)Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4
Galaxy A55 5GOcta-core CPU (2.75 GHz and 2 GHz)

Samsung's specification does not name the chipset.

Explore the full specifications
Phone (4a)

0.18″ larger diagonal.

Bigger is a preference, not a quality score.

Phone (4a)
6.78″
Galaxy A55 5G
6.6″

Relative diagonals · illustrative shape, not actual size

DATA INCOMPLETE

Camera details matter.

Dedicated telephoto reach. No digital or crop zoom.

Phone (4a)
3.5×
Galaxy A55 5G
Not verified

Lens illustration · not an image-quality test

DATA INCOMPLETE

Playback on paper.

Up-to claims. Different test methods; no endurance winner.

Phone (4a)
Not verified
Galaxy A55 5G
Up to 28h

Arcs on a shared 0–40 h scale · not mixed-use battery life

WHAT CHANGES BETWEEN THEM?

Key differences

Full specifications ↓

10 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 3 are also drawn in Visual facts above. 1 manufacturer description restating separately listed fields is grouped below. Missing information stays separate.

UK battery capacity

In Visual facts
Phone (4a)5080 mAh
Galaxy A55 5G5000 mAh
Sources
Phone (4a)

UK capacity; separately listed India-only variants are excluded.

Nothing UK Phone (4a): selected configuration and complete specifications
Galaxy A55 5G

Manufacturer capacity; not an endurance test.

Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G technical specifications — SM-A556BLBAEUB

Capacity, charger power and bypass operation describe different capabilities. They do not establish measured runtime or a comparable charging time; check the exact test conditions and accessories.

Camera system

Phone (4a)Main: 50 MP (f/1.88, OIS); Periscope: 50 MP, 3.5x optical zoom (f/2.88, OIS); Ultra-wide: f/2.2; Front: 32 MP (f/2.2); Video: up to 4K at 30 fps
Galaxy A55 5GRear: 50 MP + 12 MP + 5 MP; Front: 32 MP; Video: up to 4K 30 fps
Sources
Phone (4a)

Nothing does not publish the ultra-wide camera's resolution. Details: main 1/1.57" sensor, OIS and EIS, PDAF autofocus, Image Super Resolution (ISR); periscope 1/2.75" sensor, OIS and EIS, PDAF autofocus, 7x in-sensor and 70x ultra zoom; ultra-wide 1/4" sensor, 120° field of view; front 1/3.44" sensor, 89° field of view. Video: 4K at 30 fps, 1080p at 30 or 60 fps, 1080p Ultra XDR at 30 fps, 1080p slow motion at 120 fps, 4K/1080p time-lapse. TrueLens Engine 4 modes: Ultra XDR, Ultra XDR motion photo, AI Semantic Segmentation (12 layers), Portrait Optimiser, macro in the default mode, Night.

Nothing UK Phone (4a): selected configuration and complete specifications
Galaxy A55 5G

Video recording resolution: UHD 4K (3840 x 2160) at 30 fps.

Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G technical specifications — SM-A556BLBAEUB

Compare the camera hardware and recording modes. Matching megapixels or zoom do not mean identical cameras.

Display specification

Phone (4a)6.78-inch flexible AMOLED; 2720 × 1224; up to 120 Hz; 4500 nits peak
Galaxy A55 5G6.6-inch Super AMOLED; 2340 × 1080; up to 120 Hz
Sources
Phone (4a)

Full published display specification: 6.78-inch flexible AMOLED; 1224 x 2720 (440 PPI); Corning Gorilla Glass 7i; 10-bit colour (1.07 billion colours); 1,000,000:1 contrast ratio; Brightness: 4500 nits peak, 1600 nits outdoor, 800 nits typical; 120 Hz adaptive refresh rate; up to 2500 Hz touch sampling rate; 2160 Hz PWM frequency.

Nothing UK Phone (4a): selected configuration and complete specifications
Galaxy A55 5G

Measured as a full rectangle: 168.3 mm (6.6-inch); 163.7 mm (6.4-inch) with rounded corners. Resolution class: FHD+.

Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G technical specifications — SM-A556BLBAEUB

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Update policy

Phone (4a)3 years of Android updates and 6 years of security patches, counted from first availability (not from purchase)
Galaxy A55 5GSecurity updates until 31 March 2028
Sources
Galaxy A55 5G

Taken from the Security Update Period (Valid until) row of Samsung's UK specification. This is an end date for security updates, not a number of years remaining from purchase.

Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G product page

Distinguish Android upgrades from security coverage. A total term from launch is not the support remaining from today or from purchase.

Battery and charging

Phone (4a)5080 mAh; 50 W wired, 7.5 W reverse wired
Galaxy A55 5G5000 mAh
Sources
Phone (4a)

Full published battery specification: 5080 mAh (UK; 5400 mAh in India only); 50 W wired charging; 7.5 W reverse wired charging; Charging protocols: PPS, PD3.0, PD2.0, QC3.0, QC2.0, DCP, SDP, CDP, UFCS.

Nothing UK Phone (4a): selected configuration and complete specifications
Galaxy A55 5G

Typical capacity. Samsung claims up to 28 hours of video playback. Real battery life depends on use.

Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G technical specifications — SM-A556BLBAEUB

Manufacturer claims for the stated mode and equipment. Read each test condition; this is not measured everyday battery life.

Show 4 more verified differences
Manufacturer wording of separate fields (1)

Combined manufacturer descriptions whose values are listed as separate differences. Kept here so every verified difference stays in one list.

Small physical differences (4)
Configuration & compatibility details (1)

Regional SIM / network configuration

Phone (4a)Dual nano-SIM; no eSIM; 5G; Wi-Fi 6; Bluetooth 5.4; NFC
Galaxy A55 5GUK SM-A556BLBAEUB; 5G; dual SIM (2 nano-SIMs or nano-SIM + eSIM; the second nano-SIM slot is shared with microSD)
Sources
Phone (4a)

UK model connectivity: SIM: Nano-SIM (4FF), dual SIM; eSIM: no; 2G GSM: 850/900/1800/1900; 3G UMTS (WCDMA): B1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 19; 4G LTE bands: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 17, 18, 19, 20, 26, 28, 38, 40, 41, 42, 48, 66, 71; 5G NR bands: n1, n2, n3, n5, n7, n8, n12, n20, n28, n38, n40, n41, n48, n66, n71, n77, n78; Wi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax), 2.4/5 GHz, 2x2 MIMO, TWT, MU-MIMO, OFDMA; Bluetooth 5.4; Location: GPS (L1), GLONASS (G1), BDS (B1I), Galileo (E1), QZSS (L1); NFC: yes (excluding India). Check carrier support if you plan to use it outside the UK.

Nothing UK Phone (4a): selected configuration and complete specifications
Galaxy A55 5G

Samsung lists: Dual-SIM; Nano-SIM (4FF), Embedded-SIM; SIM 1 + Hybrid (SIM or MicroSD) or Embedded SIM; 2G GSM, 3G WCDMA, 4G LTE FDD, 4G LTE TDD, 5G Sub6 FDD, 5G Sub6 TDD. Check carrier support if you plan to use it outside the UK.

Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G technical specifications — SM-A556BLBAEUB

These descriptions or measurements differ. Wording alone does not establish a different capability; check the exact configuration.

Missing or non-comparable evidence (131)

Claimed video playback

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5G28 hours
Sources
Phone (4a)

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Galaxy A55 5G

Video Playback Time (Hours, Wireless); manufacturer up-to claim. Protocols differ across brands.

Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G technical specifications — SM-A556BLBAEUB

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Claimed charge time to 50%

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5GNot verified
Sources
Phone (4a)

No 0–50% time is published. The page claims only "a day's power in under 30 mins" with 50 W charging, which is not converted into a percentage time.

Nothing UK Phone (4a): selected configuration and complete specifications
Galaxy A55 5G

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

High Brightness Mode

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5G1000 nits
Sources
Phone (4a)

No source recorded for this side.

Galaxy A55 5G

Samsung footnote: 1,000 nits at HBM (High Brightness Mode). Manufacturer figure, not a measured peak brightness.

Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G product page

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Wireless connectivity

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5GWi-Fi 6 (2.4 and 5 GHz); Bluetooth 5.3
Sources
Phone (4a)

No source recorded for this side.

Galaxy A55 5G

Samsung lists Wi-Fi 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax 2.4GHz+5GHz, HE80, MIMO, 1024-QAM and Bluetooth v5.3.

Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G technical specifications — SM-A556BLBAEUB

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published security support term

Phone (4a)6 years
Galaxy A55 5GNot verified
Sources
Phone (4a)

Security-patch term from first availability. Android version-upgrade duration is stated separately.

Nothing UK Phone (4a): selected configuration and complete specifications
Galaxy A55 5G

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Android OS upgrade commitment

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5GNot verified
Sources
Phone (4a)

No source recorded for this side.

Galaxy A55 5G

Samsung's UK A55 page shows 'Built to last with 4x OS upgrades', but the sentence beside it names the Galaxy A35 5G, so the A55's own upgrade commitment is not clearly stated.

Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G product page

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Manufacturer charging claim

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5GSuper Fast Charging; Samsung's matching wall charger is 25W (sold separately)
Sources
Phone (4a)

No source recorded for this side.

Galaxy A55 5G

Samsung names the 25W Super Fast Charging wall charger but gives no charge-time claim. Not a measured charging rate.

Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G product page

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Cover glass

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5GCorning Gorilla Glass Victus+
Sources
Phone (4a)

No source recorded for this side.

Galaxy A55 5G

Samsung says the A55 is built with Gorilla Glass Victus+ but does not say which sides. No drop-proof guarantee is claimed.

Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G product page

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Glyph interface

Phone (4a)Glyph Bar
Galaxy A55 5GNot verified
Sources
Phone (4a)

Rear light bar of 63 mini-LEDs for notifications and progress tracking. Brightness claim is relative to earlier models.

Nothing UK Phone (4a): selected configuration and complete specifications
Galaxy A55 5G

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Headphone jack

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5GNot verified
Sources
Phone (4a)

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Galaxy A55 5G

Samsung lists USB Type-C under Earjack and does not say whether there is also a separate 3.5 mm jack.

Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G technical specifications — SM-A556BLBAEUB

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Native telephoto reach

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5GNot verified
Sources
Phone (4a)

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Galaxy A55 5G

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published operating system

Phone (4a)Nothing OS 4.1 powered by Android 16
Galaxy A55 5GNot verified
Sources
Phone (4a)

Operating system at launch as listed. The update term is in the Update policy field.

Nothing UK Phone (4a): selected configuration and complete specifications
Galaxy A55 5G

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Optical-quality zoom

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5GNot verified
Sources
Phone (4a)

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Galaxy A55 5G

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Claimed peak brightness

Phone (4a)4500 nits
Galaxy A55 5GNot verified
Sources
Phone (4a)

Manufacturer peak brightness; not sustained full-screen brightness or an independent measurement.

Nothing UK Phone (4a): selected configuration and complete specifications
Galaxy A55 5G

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

4G FDD LTE

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5GB1(2100), B2(1900), B3(1800), B4(AWS), B5(850), B7(2600), B8(900), B12(700), B17(700), B20(800), B25(1900), B26(850), B28(700), B32(1500), B66(AWS-3)
Sources
Phone (4a)

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

5G FDD Sub6

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5GN1(2100), N3(1800), N5(850), N7(2600), N8(900), N20(800), N28(700), N66(AWS-3)
Sources
Phone (4a)

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Sensors

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5GAccelerometer, Fingerprint Sensor, Gyro Sensor, Geomagnetic Sensor, Hall Sensor, Light Sensor, Virtual Proximity Sensing
Sources
Phone (4a)

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Reverse wireless charging

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5GNot verified
Sources
Phone (4a)

Reverse wired charging is a separate feature from reverse wireless charging.

Nothing UK Phone (4a): selected configuration and complete specifications
Galaxy A55 5G

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

8K video recording

Phone (4a)Not verified
Galaxy A55 5GNot verified
Sources
Phone (4a)

Video is listed up to 4K 30 fps; 8K recording is not mentioned.

Nothing UK Phone (4a): selected configuration and complete specifications
Galaxy A55 5G

Samsung lists UHD 4K (3840 x 2160)@30fps under Video Recording Resolution. It does not explicitly state an 8K capability exclusion; absence remains unknown. Video Playing Resolution describes playback, not camera capture.

Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G technical specifications — SM-A556BLBAEUB

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

10 shared fields have the same recorded value.

COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

All specs159 specificationsPhone (4a)Galaxy A55 5G
163.9 × 77.5 × 8.5 mm (height × width × depth)
161.1 x 77.4 x 8.2 mm (height × width × depth)
Colour depth
Sources
10-bit
Not verified
Form Factor
Sources
Not verified
Touchscreen Bar
6.78″
6.6″
Full-rectangle nominal diagonal; rounded corners reduce viewable area.
Published peak brightnessManufacturer peak claims use different test conditions.
Sources
4500 nitsClaimed peak brightness · Manufacturer peak brightness; not sustained full-screen brightness or an independent measurement.
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Pixel density
Sources
440 ppi
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
6.78-inch flexible AMOLED; 2720 × 1224; up to 120 Hz; 4500 nits peakFull published display specification: 6.78-inch flexible AMOLED; 1224 x 2720 (440 PPI); Corning Gorilla Glass 7i; 10-bit colour (1.07 billion colours); 1,000,000:1 contrast ratio; Brightness: 4500 nits peak, 1600 nits outdoor, 800 nits typical; 120 Hz adaptive refresh rate; up to 2500 Hz touch sampling rate; 2160 Hz PWM frequency.
6.6-inch Super AMOLED; 2340 × 1080; up to 120 HzMeasured as a full rectangle: 168.3 mm (6.6-inch); 163.7 mm (6.4-inch) with rounded corners. Resolution class: FHD+.
1224 x 2720 (440 PPI)
1080 x 2340 (FHD+)
Pixel density
Sources
440 ppi
Not verified
Brightness — Peak brightness
Sources
4500 nits
Not verified
Brightness — Outdoor brightness
Sources
1600 nits
Not verified
Brightness — Typical brightness
Sources
800 nits
Not verified
Colour Depth (Main Display)
Sources
Not verified
16M
High Brightness Mode
Sources
Phone (4a)No source recorded
Not verified
1000 nitsSamsung footnote: 1,000 nits at HBM (High Brightness Mode). Manufacturer figure, not a measured peak brightness.
Main: 50 MP (f/1.88, OIS); Periscope: 50 MP, 3.5x optical zoom (f/2.88, OIS); Ultra-wide: f/2.2; Front: 32 MP (f/2.2); Video: up to 4K at 30 fpsNothing does not publish the ultra-wide camera's resolution. Details: main 1/1.57" sensor, OIS and EIS, PDAF autofocus, Image Super Resolution (ISR); periscope 1/2.75" sensor, OIS and EIS, PDAF autofocus, 7x in-sensor and 70x ultra zoom; ultra-wide 1/4" sensor, 120° field of view; front 1/3.44" sensor, 89° field of view. Video: 4K at 30 fps, 1080p at 30 or 60 fps, 1080p Ultra XDR at 30 fps, 1080p slow motion at 120 fps, 4K/1080p time-lapse. TrueLens Engine 4 modes: Ultra XDR, Ultra XDR motion photo, AI Semantic Segmentation (12 layers), Portrait Optimiser, macro in the default mode, Night.
Rear: 50 MP + 12 MP + 5 MP; Front: 32 MP; Video: up to 4K 30 fpsVideo recording resolution: UHD 4K (3840 x 2160) at 30 fps.
Dedicated optical telephoto reach
Sources
3.5×
Not verified
Main camera — Resolution
Sources
50 MP
Not verified
Main camera — Aperture
Sources
f/1.88
Not verified
Main camera — Sensor
Sources
1/1.57"
Not verified
Main camera — Features
Sources
OIS & EIS
Not verified
Main camera — Features
Sources
Auto focus, PDAF
Not verified
Main camera — Features
Sources
Image Super Resolution (ISR) algorithm
Not verified
Periscope camera — Resolution
Sources
50 MP
Not verified
Periscope camera — Aperture
Sources
f/2.88
Not verified
Periscope camera — Sensor
Sources
1/2.75"
Not verified
Periscope camera — Features
Sources
OIS & EIS
Not verified
Periscope camera — Features
Sources
Auto focus, PDAF
Not verified
Periscope camera — Features
Sources
3.5x optical zoom
Not verified
Periscope camera — Features
Sources
7x in-sensor zoom
Not verified
Periscope camera — Features
Sources
70x ultra zoom
Not verified
Ultra-wide camera — Aperture
Sources
F/2.2
Not verified
Ultra-wide camera — Sensor
Sources
1/4"
Not verified
Ultra-wide camera — Field of view
Sources
120°
Not verified
Front camera — Resolution
Sources
32 MP
Not verified
Front camera — Aperture
Sources
F/2.2
Not verified
Front camera — Sensor
Sources
1/3.44"
Not verified
Front camera — Field of view
Sources
89°
Not verified
YesStated for the main and periscope cameras; not stated for the ultra-wide.
Yes
YesOIS listed for the main and periscope cameras; the ultra-wide lists none.
Yes
Main camera optical stabilisation
Sources
Yes
Not verified
Not verifiedThe manufacturer does not say whether the front camera has autofocus.
No
Not verifiedThe manufacturer does not say whether the front camera has optical stabilisation.
No
Rear Camera - Resolution (Multiple)
Sources
Not verified
50.0 MP + 12.0 MP + 5.0 MP
Rear Camera - F Number (Multiple)
Sources
Not verified
F1.8, F2.2, F2.4
Rear Camera Zoom
Sources
Not verified
Digital Zoom up to 10x
Front Camera - Resolution
Sources
Not verified
32.0 MP
Front Camera - F Number
Sources
Not verified
F2.2
Rear Camera - Flash
Sources
Not verified
Yes
Front Camera - Flash
Sources
Not verified
No
Claimed video playbackUp-to manufacturer claims. Playback protocols differ.
Sources
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
28 hoursVideo Playback Time (Hours, Wireless); manufacturer up-to claim. Protocols differ across brands.
5080 mAh; 50 W wired, 7.5 W reverse wiredFull published battery specification: 5080 mAh (UK; 5400 mAh in India only); 50 W wired charging; 7.5 W reverse wired charging; Charging protocols: PPS, PD3.0, PD2.0, QC3.0, QC2.0, DCP, SDP, CDP, UFCS.
5000 mAhTypical capacity. Samsung claims up to 28 hours of video playback. Real battery life depends on use.
5080 mAhUK capacity; separately listed India-only variants are excluded.
5000 mAhManufacturer capacity; not an endurance test.
Wired charging power
Sources
50 W
Not verified
Battery — Capacity
Sources
5,080 mAh
Not verified
Battery — Capacity
Sources
5,400 mAh (India only)
Not verified
Charging — Charging speed
Sources
50 W
Not verified
Charging — Reverse wired charging
Sources
7.5 W
Not verified
Charging — Protocol
Sources
PPS / PD3.0 / PD2.0 / QC3.0 / QC2.0 / DCP / SDP / CDP / UFCS
Not verified
Audio Playback Time (Hours, Wireless)
Sources
Not verified
Up to 79
Manufacturer charging claim
Sources
Phone (4a)No source recorded
Not verified
Super Fast Charging; Samsung's matching wall charger is 25W (sold separately)Samsung names the 25W Super Fast Charging wall charger but gives no charge-time claim. Not a measured charging rate.
Published support term
Sources
6 yearsPublished security support term · Security-patch term from first availability. Android version-upgrade duration is stated separately.
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
3 years of Android updates and 6 years of security patches, counted from first availability (not from purchase)
Security updates until 31 March 2028Taken from the Security Update Period (Valid until) row of Samsung's UK specification. This is an end date for security updates, not a number of years remaining from purchase.
External Storage Support
Sources
Not verified
MicroSD (Up to 1TB)
Stereo Support
Sources
Not verified
Yes
Samsung DeX Support
Sources
Not verified
No
SmartThings Support
Sources
Not verified
Yes
Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4
Octa-core CPU (2.75 GHz and 2 GHz)Samsung's specification does not name the chipset.
8 GB RAM; 128 GB storage
8 GB RAM; 128 GB storage
Dual nano-SIM; no eSIM; 5G; Wi-Fi 6; Bluetooth 5.4; NFCUK model connectivity: SIM: Nano-SIM (4FF), dual SIM; eSIM: no; 2G GSM: 850/900/1800/1900; 3G UMTS (WCDMA): B1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 19; 4G LTE bands: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 17, 18, 19, 20, 26, 28, 38, 40, 41, 42, 48, 66, 71; 5G NR bands: n1, n2, n3, n5, n7, n8, n12, n20, n28, n38, n40, n41, n48, n66, n71, n77, n78; Wi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax), 2.4/5 GHz, 2x2 MIMO, TWT, MU-MIMO, OFDMA; Bluetooth 5.4; Location: GPS (L1), GLONASS (G1), BDS (B1I), Galileo (E1), QZSS (L1); NFC: yes (excluding India). Check carrier support if you plan to use it outside the UK.
UK SM-A556BLBAEUB; 5G; dual SIM (2 nano-SIMs or nano-SIM + eSIM; the second nano-SIM slot is shared with microSD)Samsung lists: Dual-SIM; Nano-SIM (4FF), Embedded-SIM; SIM 1 + Hybrid (SIM or MicroSD) or Embedded SIM; 2G GSM, 3G WCDMA, 4G LTE FDD, 4G LTE TDD, 5G Sub6 FDD, 5G Sub6 TDD. Check carrier support if you plan to use it outside the UK.
IP64
IP67Samsung states IPX4/IP67 under IEC 60529: spray test (IPX4) and submersion in up to 1 metre of fresh water for up to 30 minutes (IP67). Not advised for beach or pool use; resistance may diminish over time.
Published operating system
Sources
Nothing OS 4.1 powered by Android 16Operating system at launch as listed. The update term is in the Update policy field.
Not verified
£379Nothing UK store price for White 8+128GB in September 2026 (earlier that month it was on offer at £339). Retailer prices may differ.
Not verifiedThe manufacturer's UK store did not list a price for this configuration.
Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4 — CPU
Sources
4 nm TSMC process
Not verified
Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4 — CPU
Sources
Qualcomm Kryo, 8-core, up to 2.7 GHz
Not verified
Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4 — CPU
Sources
1 Prime core, up to 2.7 GHz
Not verified
Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4 — CPU
Sources
3 Performance cores, up to 2.4 GHz
Not verified
Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4 — CPU
Sources
4 Efficiency cores, up to 1.8 GHz
Not verified
Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4 — GPU
Sources
Qualcomm Adreno 810
Not verified
Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4 — NPU
Sources
Qualcomm Hexagon NPU
Not verified
Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4 — NPU
Sources
Qualcomm AI Engine
Not verified
Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4 — ISP
Sources
Qualcomm Spectra Image Signal Processor
Not verified
Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4 — Memory type
Sources
LPDDR4x
Not verified
Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 4 — Storage type
Sources
UFS 3.1
Not verified
Size
Sources
6.78" flexible AMOLED
Not verified
Screen material
Sources
Corning Gorilla Glass 7i
Not verified
Resolution
Sources
1224 x 2720 (440 PPI)
Not verified
Colors
Sources
1.07 billion
Not verified
Contrast ratio
Sources
1,000,000:1
Not verified
Refresh — Adaptive refresh rate
Sources
120 Hz
Not verified
Refresh — Touch sampling rate
Sources
Up to 2500 Hz
Not verified
Refresh — PWM frequency
Sources
2160 Hz
Not verified
Audio
Sources
2 high-definition mics
Not verified
Audio
Sources
Dual stereo speakers
Not verified
SIM card type
Sources
Nano-SIM (4FF), Dual SIM
Not verified
e-SIM
Sources
No
Not verified
2G GSM
Sources
850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
Not verified
3G UMTS (WCDMA) bands
Sources
B1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 19
Not verified
4G LTE bands
Sources
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 17, 18, 19, 20, 26, 28, 38, 40, 41, 42, 48, 66, 71
Not verified
5G NR bands
Sources
n1, n2, n3, n5, n7, n8, n12, n20, n28, n38, n40, n41, n48, n66, n71, n77, n78
Not verified
Wi-Fi
Sources
WiFi 6, 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax, 2.4G/5G, 2x2 MIMO, TWT, MU-MIMO, OFDMA
Not verified
Bluetooth
Sources
5.4
Not verified
Location
Sources
GPS (L1), GLONASS (G1), BDS (B1I), GALILEO (E1), QZSS (L1)
Not verified
NFC
Sources
Yes (excluding India)
Not verified
Glyph interface
Sources
Glyph BarRear light bar of 63 mini-LEDs for notifications and progress tracking. Brightness claim is relative to earlier models.
Not verified
Memory card support
Sources
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Yes
USB connection
Sources
Not verified
USB Type-C; USB 2.0
Wireless connectivity
Sources
Not verified
Wi-Fi 6 (2.4 and 5 GHz); Bluetooth 5.3Samsung lists Wi-Fi 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax 2.4GHz+5GHz, HE80, MIMO, 1024-QAM and Bluetooth v5.3.
Video Recording Resolution
Sources
Not verified
UHD 4K (3840 x 2160)@30fps
Slow Motion
Sources
Not verified
240fps @HD
Available Storage (GB)
Sources
Not verified
109.5
Number of SIM
Sources
Not verified
Dual-SIM
SIM size
Sources
Not verified
Nano-SIM (4FF), Embedded-SIM
SIM Slot Type
Sources
Not verified
SIM 1 + Hybrid (SIM or MicroSD) or Embedded SIM
Infra
Sources
Not verified
2G GSM, 3G WCDMA, 4G LTE FDD, 4G LTE TDD, 5G Sub6 FDD, 5G Sub6 TDD
2G GSM
Sources
Not verified
GSM850, GSM900, DCS1800, PCS1900
3G UMTS
Sources
Not verified
B1(2100), B2(1900), B4(AWS), B5(850), B8(900)
4G FDD LTE
Sources
Not verified
B1(2100), B2(1900), B3(1800), B4(AWS), B5(850), B7(2600), B8(900), B12(700), B17(700), B20(800), B25(1900), B26(850), B28(700), B32(1500), B66(AWS-3)
4G TDD LTE
Sources
Not verified
B38(2600), B40(2300), B41(2500)
5G FDD Sub6
Sources
Not verified
N1(2100), N3(1800), N5(850), N7(2600), N8(900), N20(800), N28(700), N66(AWS-3)
5G TDD Sub6
Sources
Not verified
N38(2600), N40(2300), N41(2500), N77(3700), N78(3500)
USB Interface
Sources
Not verified
USB Type-C
USB Version
Sources
Not verified
USB 2.0
Location Technology
Sources
Not verified
GPS, Glonass, Beidou, Galileo, QZSS
Earjack
Sources
Not verified
USB Type-C
MHL
Sources
Not verified
No
Wi-Fi
Sources
Not verified
802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax 2.4GHz+5GHz, HE80, MIMO, 1024-QAM
Wi-Fi Direct
Sources
Not verified
Yes
Bluetooth Version
Sources
Not verified
Bluetooth v5.3
NFC
Sources
Not verified
Yes
PC Sync.
Sources
Not verified
Smart Switch (PC version)
OS
Sources
Not verified
Android
Sensors
Sources
Not verified
Accelerometer, Fingerprint Sensor, Gyro Sensor, Geomagnetic Sensor, Hall Sensor, Light Sensor, Virtual Proximity Sensing
Internet Usage Time(LTE) (Hours)
Sources
Not verified
Up to 25
Internet Usage Time(Wi-Fi) (Hours)
Sources
Not verified
Up to 24
Removable
Sources
Not verified
No
Video Playing Resolution
Sources
Not verified
UHD 4K (3840 x 2160)@30fps
Mobile TV
Sources
Not verified
No
Cover glass
Sources
Phone (4a)No source recorded
Not verified
Corning Gorilla Glass Victus+Samsung says the A55 is built with Gorilla Glass Victus+ but does not say which sides. No drop-proof guarantee is claimed.
Show unverified (8)Not verified or conflicting for both phones. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Native telephoto reach
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Not verifiedVideo is listed up to 4K 30 fps; 8K recording is not mentioned.
Not verifiedSamsung lists UHD 4K (3840 x 2160)@30fps under Video Recording Resolution. It does not explicitly state an 8K capability exclusion; absence remains unknown. Video Playing Resolution describes playback, not camera capture.
Wireless charging
Sources
Not verifiedNot stated by the manufacturer.
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Claimed charge time to 50%
Sources
Not verifiedNo 0–50% time is published. The page claims only "a day's power in under 30 mins" with 50 W charging, which is not converted into a percentage time.
Not verified
Reverse wireless charging
Sources
Not verifiedReverse wired charging is a separate feature from reverse wireless charging.
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Optical-quality zoom
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
3.5 mm headphone jack
Sources
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Not verifiedSamsung lists USB Type-C under Earjack and does not say whether there is also a separate 3.5 mm jack.
Android OS upgrade commitment
Sources
Phone (4a)No source recorded
Not verified
Not verifiedSamsung's UK A55 page shows 'Built to last with 4x OS upgrades', but the sentence beside it names the Galaxy A35 5G, so the A55's own upgrade commitment is not clearly stated.
Exact variants · Manufacturer specificationsView sources
A LITTLE PERSPECTIVE. A BETTER DECISION.

Decision tools

NO LOGOS. JUST YOU.

Would you choose it blind?

Forget the brand for a moment. Which set of specs feels more like you?

Pick a phone. Then meet your match.

Manufacturer specifications verified for both phones. Your choice doesn’t change the comparison above.

Good comparisons start with good sources.4 cited sources for this pair. Every number has a story.See the evidence

No category can be scored for both phones, so no score is shown. Manufacturer battery claims can use different test conditions. Verified specifications remain visible even where a category cannot be scored.

How we calculate scores

Nothing Phone (4a)

128 GB · checked 28 Sept 2026

Specifications & verification
Weight205 gManufacturer claim · high confidenceNothing
Width77.5 mmManufacturer claim · high confidenceNothing
Thickness8.5 mmManufacturer claim · high confidenceNothing
Display size6.78 inchesManufacturer claim · high confidenceNothing
Peak brightness4,500 nitsManufacturer claim · high confidence

Manufacturer peak brightness; not sustained full-screen brightness or an independent measurement.

Nothing
Claimed video playbackNot verified

Not published

Claimed charging rateNot verified

Not published

Published total support6 yearsManufacturer claim · high confidence

Security-patch term from first availability. Android version-upgrade duration is stated separately.

Nothing
Wireless chargingNot verified

Not published

Nothing
Reverse wireless chargingNot verified

Not published

Nothing
Headphone jackNot verified

Not published

Expandable storageNot verified

Not published

eSIM onlyNoManufacturer claim · high confidenceNothing
IP ratingIP64Manufacturer claim · high confidenceNothing
RAM8 GBManufacturer claim · high confidenceNothing
Pixel density440 ppiManufacturer claim · high confidenceNothing
Maximum refresh rate120 HzManufacturer claim · high confidenceNothing
Native telephoto reachNot verified

Not published

Claimed optical-quality reachNot verified

Not published

Rear camera modules3Manufacturer claim · high confidenceNothing
8K recordingNot verified

Not published

Nothing
Manufacturer list price£379.00Reference only · not a live offer or current priceNothing
All sources1
  1. Nothing UK Phone (4a): selected configuration and complete specificationsNothing · accessed 10 Sept 2026

Samsung Galaxy A55 5G

128 GB · checked 28 Sept 2026

Specifications & verification
Weight213 gManufacturer claim · high confidenceSamsung
Width77.4 mmManufacturer claim · high confidenceSamsung
Thickness8.2 mmManufacturer claim · high confidenceSamsung
Display size6.6 inchesManufacturer claim · high confidence

Full-rectangle nominal diagonal; rounded corners reduce viewable area.

Samsung
Peak brightnessNot verified

Not published

Claimed video playback28 hoursManufacturer claim · high confidence

Video Playback Time (Hours, Wireless); manufacturer up-to claim. Protocols differ across brands.

Samsung
Claimed charging rateNot verified

Not published

Published total supportNot verified

Not published

Wireless chargingNot verified

Not published

Reverse wireless chargingNot verified

Not published

Headphone jackNot verified

Not published

Samsung
Expandable storageYesManufacturer claim · high confidenceSamsung
eSIM onlyNoManufacturer claim · high confidenceSamsung
IP ratingIP67Manufacturer claim · high confidence

Samsung states IPX4/IP67 under IEC 60529: spray test (IPX4) and submersion in up to 1 metre of fresh water for up to 30 minutes (IP67). Not advised for beach or pool use; resistance may diminish over time.

Samsung
RAM8 GBManufacturer claim · high confidenceSamsung
Pixel densityNot verified

Not published

Maximum refresh rate120 HzManufacturer claim · high confidenceSamsung
Native telephoto reachNot verified

Not published

Claimed optical-quality reachNot verified

Not published

Rear camera modules3Manufacturer claim · high confidenceSamsung
8K recordingNot verified

Not published

Samsung
Manufacturer list priceNot verified
All sources3
  1. Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G technical specifications — SM-A556BLBAEUBSamsung · accessed 10 Sept 2026
  2. Samsung UK Galaxy A55 5G product pageSamsung · accessed 10 Sept 2026
  3. Samsung UK current phone configurations and part numbersSamsung · accessed 10 Sept 2026
A CLEARER CHOICE

Share this comparison

The verified differences and their sources, in one link.