MSI's SPATIUM M461 is a PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe 1.4 SSD in a bare 2.15 mm M.2 2280 module with a Phison E21T controller. The 2 TB version is rated up to 5,000 MB/s read and 4,200 MB/s write, lists 4.4 W maximum operating power and has a 5-year or 450 TB limited warranty.
Specifications checked 27 Sept 2026.
Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.
A 2 TB NVMe SSD rated up to 7,250 MB/s read and 6,300 MB/s write over PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2, with TLC V-NAND and a 1,200 TB write rating. It has no factory heatsink.
Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.
Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.
Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.
THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE
Visual facts
Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.
How to read this comparison
Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
“Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08
Interface and version
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
MSI SPATIUM M461PCIe 4.0 x4; NVMe 1.4
Manufacturer specification · MSI lists compatibility with PCIe Gen4, Gen3, Gen2 and Gen1 hosts; earlier generations limit speed.
Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB value (500 GB: 110; 1 TB: 250; 4 TB: 900); not a guaranteed failure point. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Samsung 990 EVO PlusAES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461
Manufacturer specification · Listed as 'Pyrite (Encryption, Data Security)'. Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.
Listed encryption support does not mean it is enabled. Check the exact host, software and configuration requirements; no security certification is inferred.
Manufacturer specification · Current feature block lists migration, drive health and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.
Check the software, operating-system and licence requirements. An available feature does not establish a measured speed improvement or support on every host.
MSI SPATIUM M461Up to 5000 MB/s sequential read; up to 4200 MB/s sequential write
Samsung 990 EVO PlusUp to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6300 MB/s cached sequential write
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on a 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900F / MSI MPG Z790 CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 22H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on a 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900F / MSI MPG Z790 CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 22H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Rated sequential write
MSI SPATIUM M4614200 MB/s
Samsung 990 EVO Plus6300 MB/s
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on a 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900F / MSI MPG Z790 CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 22H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Rated random 4K read
MSI SPATIUM M461680000 IOPS
Samsung 990 EVO Plus1000000 IOPS
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to 4 KB claim for 2 TB; queue depth not stated. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Rated random 4K write
MSI SPATIUM M461880000 IOPS
Samsung 990 EVO Plus1350000 IOPS
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to 4 KB claim for 2 TB; queue depth not stated. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Warranty terms and endurance if applicable
MSI SPATIUM M4615 years or 450 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Samsung 990 EVO Plus5 years or 1200 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Published power conditions
MSI SPATIUM M4614.4 W maximum operating; 50 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW L1.2
Samsung 990 EVO Plus4.6 W active read; 4.2 W active write; 60 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW PS4 sleep
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column for maximum power; idle and L1.2 values span all capacities; APST supported. Measured on MSI's stated test system; not a constant everyday load. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active IOmeter power test uses Ryzen 5 7600 / ASUS ProArt X670E-CREATOR WIFI STCOM / Windows 10 Pro; PDF states 32 GB DDR5-3200. This differs from the speed test. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.
A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.
Missing or non-comparable evidence (24)
DRAM cache present
MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461
MSI does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Unlike MSI's DRAM-equipped models, the M461 data sheet has no DRAM Cache row; absence of a row is not recorded as confirmed absence of DRAM.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
DRAM cache capacity
MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Included cloning software
MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusSamsung Magician data migration
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · The UK feature page advertises data migration through Samsung Magician. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Write-buffer technology
MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusIntelligent TurboWrite 2.0
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Device sleep support
MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusYes
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Modern Standby support
MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Thermal design
MSI SPATIUM M461Not verified
Samsung 990 EVO PlusNickel-coated controller
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M461
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 990 EVO Plus
Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes the nickel-coated controller. Samsung's 73% MB/s-per-watt figure is a marketing comparison, not a measured saving for this 2 TB drive.
Samsung specifies Host Memory Buffer caching and lists no onboard DRAM for this drive. Peak write speed relies on the TurboWrite cache, and Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed for this model.
Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes the nickel-coated controller. Samsung's 73% MB/s-per-watt figure is a marketing comparison, not a measured saving for this 2 TB drive.
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on a 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900F / MSI MPG Z790 CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 22H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Up to 5000 MB/s sequential read; up to 4200 MB/s sequential write
Up to 7250 MB/s sequential read; up to 6300 MB/s cached sequential write
Rated sequential readDifferentSources
MSI SPATIUM M461
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on a 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900F / MSI MPG Z790 CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 22H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on a 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900F / MSI MPG Z790 CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 22H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer up-to claims measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 7950X, ASRock X670E Taichi, 32 GB DDR5-4800 and Windows 11 Pro. Secondary drive in a fan-cooled desktop; writes use Intelligent TurboWrite within its buffer. Firmware, host and workload affect results; Samsung does not list a post-cache write speed.
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to 4 KB claim for 2 TB; queue depth not stated. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to 4 KB claim for 2 TB; queue depth not stated. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer write caching is active for peak claims. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed for this 2 TB model.
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB value (500 GB: 110; 1 TB: 250; 4 TB: 900); not a guaranteed failure point. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · Listed as 'Pyrite (Encryption, Data Security)'. Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.
Manufacturer specification · Current feature block lists migration, drive health and firmware updates. Check the current software version and its requirements.
Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.
Manufacturer specification · The UK feature page advertises data migration through Samsung Magician. Check software version, operating-system support and migration requirements.
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column for maximum power; idle and L1.2 values span all capacities; APST supported. Measured on MSI's stated test system; not a constant everyday load. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB column. Active IOmeter power test uses Ryzen 5 7600 / ASUS ProArt X670E-CREATOR WIFI STCOM / Windows 10 Pro; PDF states 32 GB DDR5-3200. This differs from the speed test. Idle requires APST and sleep is L1.2. These are not a constant everyday load.
Show unverified (5)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
DRAM cache presentSources
MSI SPATIUM M461
MSI does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Unlike MSI's DRAM-equipped models, the M461 data sheet has no DRAM Cache row; absence of a row is not recorded as confirmed absence of DRAM.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's tables specify HMB and do not state whether onboard DRAM is present. Host memory buffering is not onboard DRAM.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list an onboard DRAM capacity. Host-memory use and TurboWrite buffer are distinct.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not state Modern Standby support; device sleep is a separate feature.
Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.