MSI's SPATIUM M450 V1 is a PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe 1.4 SSD in a bare 2.15 mm M.2 2280 module with a Phison E19T controller. The 1 TB version is rated up to 3,400 MB/s read and 2,400 MB/s write, lists 3.7 W maximum operating power and has a 5-year or 350 TB limited warranty.
Specifications checked 27 Sept 2026.
Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.
A 1 TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSD rated at about 3,400–3,500 MB/s read and up to 2,500 MB/s write (1,200 MB/s after its cache), with TLC V-NAND, 1 GB LPDDR4 cache and a 600 TB write rating.
Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.
Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.
Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.
THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE
Visual facts
Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.
How to read this comparison
Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
“Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08
Interface and version
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1PCIe 4.0 x4; NVMe 1.4
Manufacturer specification · MSI lists compatibility with PCIe Gen4, Gen3, Gen2 and Gen1 hosts; earlier generations limit speed.
Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.
Manufacturer specification · 1 TB value (500 GB: 150; 2 TB: 700); not a guaranteed failure point. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · Listed as 'Pyrite (Encryption, Data Security)'. Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.
Listed encryption support does not mean it is enabled. Check the exact host, software and configuration requirements; no security certification is inferred.
Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes health monitoring and updates; current OS/version prerequisites require separate checking.
Check the software, operating-system and licence requirements. An available feature does not establish a measured speed improvement or support on every host.
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1Up to 3400 MB/s sequential read; up to 2400 MB/s sequential write
Samsung 970 EVOUp to 2500 MB/s cached sequential write; 1200 MB/s after TurboWrite
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on an 11th Gen Intel Core i7-11700KF / MSI MPG Z590 GAMING CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 21H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on an 11th Gen Intel Core i7-11700KF / MSI MPG Z590 GAMING CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 21H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Rated random 4K write
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1550000 IOPS
Samsung 970 EVO450000 IOPS
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to 4 KB claim for 1 TB; queue depth not stated. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Warranty terms and endurance if applicable
MSI SPATIUM M450 V15 years or 350 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Samsung 970 EVO5 years or 600 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Published power conditions
MSI SPATIUM M450 V13.7 W maximum operating; 35 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW L1.2
Samsung 970 EVO6 W active read; 6 W active write; 30 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleep
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1
Manufacturer specification · 1 TB column for maximum power; idle and L1.2 values span all capacities; APST supported. Measured on MSI's stated test system; not a constant everyday load. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.
A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.
Missing or non-comparable evidence (28)
DRAM cache present
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1Not verified
Samsung 970 EVOYes
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1
MSI does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Unlike MSI's DRAM-equipped models, the M450 V1 data sheet has no DRAM Cache row; absence of a row is not recorded as confirmed absence of DRAM.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer wording is 3-bit MLC, meaning three bits per cell (TLC), not two-bit MLC. Samsung does not give the layer count or hardware revision.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Included cloning software
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1Not verified
Samsung 970 EVOSamsung Data Migration
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 970 EVO
Manufacturer specification · The 2018 manufacturer datasheet lists Data Migration and its Custom Cloning capability. Check current download availability, operating-system support and migration requirements.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Rated sequential read
MSI SPATIUM M450 V13400 MB/s
Samsung 970 EVOConflicting evidence
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on an 11th Gen Intel Core i7-11700KF / MSI MPG Z590 GAMING CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 21H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Samsung's sources disagree: the Australian 1 TB page states up to 3500 MB/s; the Rev. 1.0 PDF 1 TB table states 3400 MB/s. Check the listing before relying on either figure. · Manufacturer specification
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Rated write after TurboWrite
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO1200 MB/s
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 970 EVO
Manufacturer specification · Samsung's PDF footnote and Australian page give 1200 MB/s for 1 TB after TurboWrite. Same manufacturer system limitations apply.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Device sleep support
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1Not verified
Samsung 970 EVOYes
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 970 EVO
Manufacturer specification · The regional page supports device sleep. Host support is required; the separately published L1.2 power state is not measured laptop battery life.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Published system-level power
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO6 W average; 10 W maximum in burst mode
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 970 EVO
Manufacturer specification · The regional page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.
It is limited to PCIe 3.0 x4, so it cannot use the extra bandwidth of a PCIe 4.0 or 5.0 M.2 slot, and writes drop from 2,500 MB/s to 1,200 MB/s once the TurboWrite cache fills.
Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on an 11th Gen Intel Core i7-11700KF / MSI MPG Z590 GAMING CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 21H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Up to 3400 MB/s sequential read; up to 2400 MB/s sequential write
Up to 2500 MB/s cached sequential write; 1200 MB/s after TurboWrite
Rated sequential readSources
MSI SPATIUM M450 V1
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on an 11th Gen Intel Core i7-11700KF / MSI MPG Z590 GAMING CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 21H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Samsung's sources disagree: the Australian 1 TB page states up to 3500 MB/s; the Rev. 1.0 PDF 1 TB table states 3400 MB/s. Check the listing before relying on either figure. · Manufacturer specification
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on an 11th Gen Intel Core i7-11700KF / MSI MPG Z590 GAMING CARBON WIFI / Windows 11 Pro 21H2 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to 4 KB claim for 1 TB; queue depth not stated. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to 4 KB claim for 1 TB; queue depth not stated. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · Samsung's PDF footnote and Australian page give 1200 MB/s for 1 TB after TurboWrite. Same manufacturer system limitations apply.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer wording is 3-bit MLC, meaning three bits per cell (TLC), not two-bit MLC. Samsung does not give the layer count or hardware revision.
MSI does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Unlike MSI's DRAM-equipped models, the M450 V1 data sheet has no DRAM Cache row; absence of a row is not recorded as confirmed absence of DRAM.
Manufacturer specification · 1 TB value (500 GB: 150; 2 TB: 700); not a guaranteed failure point. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · Listed as 'Pyrite (Encryption, Data Security)'. Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.
Manufacturer specification · Official feature block describes health monitoring and updates; current OS/version prerequisites require separate checking.
Manufacturer specification · The regional page supports device sleep. Host support is required; the separately published L1.2 power state is not measured laptop battery life.
Manufacturer specification · The 2018 manufacturer datasheet lists Data Migration and its Custom Cloning capability. Check current download availability, operating-system support and migration requirements.
Manufacturer specification · 1 TB column for maximum power; idle and L1.2 values span all capacities; APST supported. Measured on MSI's stated test system; not a constant everyday load. The data sheet lists 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.
Manufacturer specification · The regional page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.
Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.