Skip to comparison
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
STORAGE · YOUR NEXT FACE-OFF

MSI SPATIUM M390 vs Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact models · UK & US buying links

Compared products

YOUR FIRST CHOICE

MSI SPATIUM M390

1 TB · PCIe 3.0 NVMe M.2 2280 without heatsink

MSI SPATIUM M390 1 TB M.2 2280 SSD, front view of the labelled module
Exact model & source notes

MSI's SPATIUM M390 is a PCIe 3.0 x4 NVMe 1.4 SSD in a bare 2.15 mm M.2 2280 module with a Phison E15T controller. The 1 TB version is rated up to 3,300 MB/s read and 3,000 MB/s write, lists 4.0 W maximum operating power and has a 5-year or 400 TB limited warranty.

Specifications checked 27 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications
WHAT DIFFERS
Interface and versionPCIe 3.0 x4; NVMe 1.4PCIe 3.0 x4; NVMe
400 TBWarranty write threshold600 TB
Drive management softwareMSI CenterSamsung Magician
3 of 12 verified differences, in the order listed below. Not a rating.
See the 12 verified differences
THE CONTENDER

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

1 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V7S1T0BW

Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1 TB M.2 SSD; official image associated with MZ-V7S1T0BW
Exact model & source notes

A 1 TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSD rated up to 3,500 MB/s read and 3,300 MB/s write, with TLC V-NAND, 1 GB LPDDR4 cache and a 600 TB write rating.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications

MSI SPATIUM M390 UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Samsung 970 EVO Plus UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE

Visual facts

Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.

How to read this comparison
  • Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
  • “Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
  • Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08

Interface and version

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

MSI SPATIUM M390PCIe 3.0 x4; NVMe 1.4

Manufacturer specification · MSI lists compatibility with PCIe Gen3, Gen2 and Gen1 hosts.

Samsung 970 EVO PlusPCIe 3.0 x4; NVMe

Manufacturer specification · Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.

Explore the full specifications

Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.

WHAT CHANGES BETWEEN THEM?

Key differences

Full specifications ↓

12 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 7 are also drawn in Visual facts above. Missing information stays separate.

Interface and version

In Visual facts
MSI SPATIUM M390PCIe 3.0 x4; NVMe 1.4
Samsung 970 EVO PlusPCIe 3.0 x4; NVMe
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · MSI lists compatibility with PCIe Gen3, Gen2 and Gen1 hosts.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Warranty write threshold

In Visual facts
MSI SPATIUM M390400 TB
Samsung 970 EVO Plus600 TB
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB value (250 GB: 150; 500 GB: 200; 2 TB: 1200); not a guaranteed failure point. The data sheet lists 250GB, 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Capacity-specific warranty write threshold, not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Controller

In Visual facts
MSI SPATIUM M390Phison E15T
Samsung 970 EVO PlusSamsung in-house controller
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Current page and revision 3 PDF identify only an in-house controller. Revision history says the controller name was removed; no fixed commercial codename is assigned.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Compare the exact component configuration. A controller or NAND name is not a measured performance or reliability rating.

Hardware encryption support

In Visual facts
MSI SPATIUM M390TCG Pyrite
Samsung 970 EVO PlusAES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · Listed as 'Pyrite (Encryption, Data Security)'. Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capabilities, not encryption enabled by default or every-host support.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Listed encryption support does not mean it is enabled. Check the exact host, software and configuration requirements; no security certification is inferred.

Drive management software

In Visual facts
MSI SPATIUM M390MSI Center
Samsung 970 EVO PlusSamsung Magician
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · MSI: monitors SSD health status and key performance metrics in real time.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer feature block lists monitoring and software/firmware updates. OS/version support and feature prerequisites require separate checking.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Check the software, operating-system and licence requirements. An available feature does not establish a measured speed improvement or support on every host.

Rated performance and conditions

In Visual facts
MSI SPATIUM M390Up to 3300 MB/s sequential read; up to 3000 MB/s sequential write
Samsung 970 EVO PlusUp to 3500 MB/s sequential read; up to 3300 MB/s cached sequential write
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on an 11th Gen Intel Core i7-11700KF / MSI MPG Z590 GAMING CARBON WIFI / Windows 10 Pro 21H1 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 250GB, 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Show 6 more verified differences

Rated sequential read

In Visual facts
MSI SPATIUM M3903300 MB/s
Samsung 970 EVO Plus3500 MB/s
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on an 11th Gen Intel Core i7-11700KF / MSI MPG Z590 GAMING CARBON WIFI / Windows 10 Pro 21H1 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 250GB, 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated sequential write

MSI SPATIUM M3903000 MB/s
Samsung 970 EVO Plus3300 MB/s
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on an 11th Gen Intel Core i7-11700KF / MSI MPG Z590 GAMING CARBON WIFI / Windows 10 Pro 21H1 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 250GB, 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random 4K read

MSI SPATIUM M390420000 IOPS
Samsung 970 EVO Plus600000 IOPS
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to 4 KB claim for 1 TB; queue depth not stated. The data sheet lists 250GB, 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / four threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-7700K / ASUS Prime Z270-A, 32 GB DDR4, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes require TurboWrite.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Warranty terms and endurance if applicable

MSI SPATIUM M3905 years or 400 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Samsung 970 EVO Plus5 years or 600 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Published power conditions

MSI SPATIUM M3904.0 W maximum operating; 30 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW L1.2
Samsung 970 EVO Plus5.5 W active read; 6.0 W active write; 30 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleep
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB column for maximum power; idle and L1.2 values span all capacities; APST supported. Measured on MSI's stated test system; not a constant everyday load. The data sheet lists 250GB, 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB column, IOmeter 1.1.0 on i7-7700K, 16 GB DDR4-2133, Gigabyte GA-Z270X, Windows 10 Pro K x64. This differs from the 32 GB performance host. Idle requires autonomous power-state operation; not constant household-use loads.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Storage temperature

MSI SPATIUM M390−40–85 °C
Samsung 970 EVO Plus−45–85 °C
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating range, distinct from operation.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · PDF non-operating range; distinct from operation. Samsung lists −45 °C for this model, lower than the −40 °C of most Samsung drives.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Small physical differences (1)

Drive dimensions

MSI SPATIUM M39080 × 22 × 2.15 mm
Samsung 970 EVO Plus80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · Length × width × height of the bare module, all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.

Missing or non-comparable evidence (24)

DRAM cache present

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusYes
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

MSI does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Unlike MSI's DRAM-equipped models, the M390 data sheet has no DRAM Cache row; absence of a row is not recorded as confirmed absence of DRAM.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Capacity row lists onboard LPDDR4 DRAM. Having DRAM is not a measured performance result.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

DRAM cache capacity

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus1 GB
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Capacity LPDDR4 DRAM size; not the variable TurboWrite write-buffer capacity.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

NAND type

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusSamsung V-NAND TLC
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

MSI lists 3D NAND without stating the cell type · Manufacturer specification

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer calls this 3-bit MLC: three bits per cell, also called TLC. This is not two-bit MLC.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung NAND terminology: TLC stores three bits per cell

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Included cloning software

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random read, QD1

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus19000 IOPS
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread value for this capacity under the manufacturer performance test setup. Not measured application latency.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random write, QD1

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus60000 IOPS
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread result with Intelligent TurboWrite under the stated manufacturer setup. The 2 TB model's 62,000 IOPS figure does not apply to this 1 TB model.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Device sleep support

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusYes
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The regional page supports device sleep. Host support is required; the separately published L1.2 power state is not measured laptop battery life.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Error correction support

MSI SPATIUM M390LDPC ECC; end-to-end data path protection
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Garbage collection

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusYes
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Listed internal function.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Non-condensing humidity range

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus5–95%
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Installation kit included

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNo
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · No installation kit is included.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Manufacturer MTBF rating

MSI SPATIUM M390Up to 1,500,000 hours
Samsung 970 EVO Plus1,500,000 hours
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · Statistical manufacturer claim, not individual lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Statistical claim, not an individual lifespan or warranty.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

One source states less detail or a rounded figure. This is not a verified difference; check the exact configuration.

Published burst power

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus9 W
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK page maximum burst-mode claim; distinct from average active, idle or constant use.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Non-operating shock rating

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Allowable supply voltage

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus3.3 V ±5%
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK electrical requirement, not sufficient proof of host compatibility.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published system-level power

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus6 W average; 9 W maximum in burst mode
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The regional page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Thermal design

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNickel-coated controller; heat-spreader label; Dynamic Thermal Guard
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Official thermal features. Not a factory heatsink enclosure or measured temperature advantage.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Non-operating vibration rating

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer frequency/rating; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Manufacturer application scope

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusClient PCs
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Application class, not universal system/console compatibility.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

World Wide Name support

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNo
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN unsupported.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Maximum drive weight

MSI SPATIUM M390Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus8 g
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK capacity-specific maximum drive mass, not packaging.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

9 shared fields have the same recorded value.

WHAT EACH CHOICE ASKS OF YOU

What it brings and what to check

MSI SPATIUM M390

What it brings

  • Rated up to 3,300 MB/s sequential read, 3,000 MB/s write, 420,000 random read and 550,000 random write IOPS at 1 TB.
  • Works with PCIe Gen3, Gen2 and Gen1 M.2 NVMe hosts, and MSI lists LDPC ECC, end-to-end data path protection and TCG Pyrite support.

What to check

  • As a PCIe 3.0 x4 drive its rated speeds top out at 3,300 MB/s read, and the 1 TB warranty write limit is 400 TB.
  • The data sheet has no DRAM cache row and does not state the NAND cell type or a post-cache write speed.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

What it brings

  • Rated up to 3,500 MB/s sequential read and 3,300 MB/s sequential write, with up to 600,000 random read and 550,000 random write IOPS.

What to check

  • Limited to PCIe 3.0 x4, so it cannot use the extra bandwidth of newer PCIe 4.0 or 5.0 slots. Peak write speed relies on the TurboWrite cache, and there is no factory heatsink.
COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

How we verify
46 of 46 specifications Sources in each row
Source-backed specifications for MSI SPATIUM M390 and Samsung 970 EVO Plus
SpecificationMSI SPATIUM M390Samsung 970 EVO Plus
Capacity
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed 1 TB capacity; formatted usable space is lower.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatting and system use reduce available space.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
1000 GB1000 GB
SSD / HDD
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
SSDSSD
Interface and versionDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · MSI lists compatibility with PCIe Gen3, Gen2 and Gen1 hosts.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
PCIe 3.0 x4; NVMe 1.4PCIe 3.0 x4; NVMe
Form factor
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Match the physical format and electrical interface to the host.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
M.2 2280M.2 2280
Drive dimensionsDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · Length × width × height of the bare module, all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
80 × 22 × 2.15 mm80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
Factory heatsink
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · The data sheet lists a 2.15 mm-high bare module and no heatsink.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · This BW configuration has no factory heatsink; follow the host's cooling requirements.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
NoNo
Thermal design
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Official thermal features. Not a factory heatsink enclosure or measured temperature advantage.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNickel-coated controller; heat-spreader label; Dynamic Thermal Guard
Maximum drive weight
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK capacity-specific maximum drive mass, not packaging.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not provided8 g
Rated performance and conditionsDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on an 11th Gen Intel Core i7-11700KF / MSI MPG Z590 GAMING CARBON WIFI / Windows 10 Pro 21H1 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 250GB, 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Up to 3300 MB/s sequential read; up to 3000 MB/s sequential writeUp to 3500 MB/s sequential read; up to 3300 MB/s cached sequential write
Rated sequential readDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on an 11th Gen Intel Core i7-11700KF / MSI MPG Z590 GAMING CARBON WIFI / Windows 10 Pro 21H1 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 250GB, 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
3300 MB/s3500 MB/s
Rated sequential writeDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to claims measured as a secondary drive on an 11th Gen Intel Core i7-11700KF / MSI MPG Z590 GAMING CARBON WIFI / Windows 10 Pro 21H1 system, using CrystalDiskMark, ATTO Disk Benchmark and IOmeter. MSI does not list a post-cache write speed. The data sheet lists 250GB, 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
3000 MB/s3300 MB/s
Rated random 4K readDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to 4 KB claim for 1 TB; queue depth not stated. The data sheet lists 250GB, 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / four threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-7700K / ASUS Prime Z270-A, 32 GB DDR4, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes require TurboWrite.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
420000 IOPS600000 IOPS
Rated random 4K write
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · MSI up-to 4 KB claim for 1 TB; queue depth not stated. The data sheet lists 250GB, 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / four threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-7700K / ASUS Prime Z270-A, 32 GB DDR4, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes require TurboWrite.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
550000 IOPS550000 IOPS
Rated random read, QD1
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread value for this capacity under the manufacturer performance test setup. Not measured application latency.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided19000 IOPS
Rated random write, QD1
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread result with Intelligent TurboWrite under the stated manufacturer setup. The 2 TB model's 62,000 IOPS figure does not apply to this 1 TB model.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided60000 IOPS
ControllerDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Current page and revision 3 PDF identify only an in-house controller. Revision history says the controller name was removed; no fixed commercial codename is assigned.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Phison E15TSamsung in-house controller
NAND type
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

MSI lists 3D NAND without stating the cell type · Manufacturer specification

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer calls this 3-bit MLC: three bits per cell, also called TLC. This is not two-bit MLC.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung NAND terminology: TLC stores three bits per cell
Not listed by the manufacturerSamsung V-NAND TLC
DRAM cache present
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

MSI does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Unlike MSI's DRAM-equipped models, the M390 data sheet has no DRAM Cache row; absence of a row is not recorded as confirmed absence of DRAM.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Capacity row lists onboard LPDDR4 DRAM. Having DRAM is not a measured performance result.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not listed by the manufacturerYes
Cache arrangement
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer's stated DRAM cache capacity for this storage capacity.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided1 GB LPDDR4 DRAM
DRAM cache capacity
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Capacity LPDDR4 DRAM size; not the variable TurboWrite write-buffer capacity.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided1 GB
Write-buffer technology
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Peak write claims require the buffer. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedIntelligent TurboWrite
Warranty terms and endurance if applicableDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
5 years or 400 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply5 years or 600 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Limited warranty time
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not a lifespan prediction. Coverage also ends at the TBW threshold; eligibility and full terms apply.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not predicted lifespan; coverage also ends at the TBW threshold and is subject to full terms.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
5 years5 years
Warranty write thresholdDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB value (250 GB: 150; 500 GB: 200; 2 TB: 1200); not a guaranteed failure point. The data sheet lists 250GB, 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Capacity-specific warranty write threshold, not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
400 TB600 TB
Manufacturer MTBF rating
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · Statistical manufacturer claim, not individual lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Statistical claim, not an individual lifespan or warranty.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Up to 1,500,000 hours1,500,000 hours
Manufacturer application scope
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Application class, not universal system/console compatibility.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedClient PCs
Hardware encryption supportDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · Listed as 'Pyrite (Encryption, Data Security)'. Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capabilities, not encryption enabled by default or every-host support.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
TCG PyriteAES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
TRIM support
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer requires operating-system support.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Requires operating-system support as stated by manufacturer.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
YesYes
S.M.A.R.T. support
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer monitoring capability, not a remaining-lifespan guarantee.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Monitoring capability, not predicted remaining life.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
YesYes
Error correction support
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

No source recorded.

LDPC ECC; end-to-end data path protectionNot provided
Drive management softwareDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · MSI: monitors SSD health status and key performance metrics in real time.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer feature block lists monitoring and software/firmware updates. OS/version support and feature prerequisites require separate checking.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
MSI CenterSamsung Magician
Garbage collection
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Listed internal function.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedYes
Installation kit included
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · No installation kit is included.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNo
World Wide Name support
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN unsupported.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNo
Device sleep support
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The regional page supports device sleep. Host support is required; the separately published L1.2 power state is not measured laptop battery life.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedYes
Published power conditionsDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB column for maximum power; idle and L1.2 values span all capacities; APST supported. Measured on MSI's stated test system; not a constant everyday load. The data sheet lists 250GB, 500GB, 1TB and 2TB columns in that order; a single value spans all capacities.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB column, IOmeter 1.1.0 on i7-7700K, 16 GB DDR4-2133, Gigabyte GA-Z270X, Windows 10 Pro K x64. This differs from the 32 GB performance host. Idle requires autonomous power-state operation; not constant household-use loads.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
4.0 W maximum operating; 30 mW PS3 idle; 5 mW L1.25.5 W active read; 6.0 W active write; 30 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleep
Operating temperature
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating range; not a measured temperature under a particular workload.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Measured by the drive's S.M.A.R.T. temperature; Samsung recommends adequate airflow.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
0–70 °C0–70 °C
Storage temperatureDifferent
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating range, distinct from operation.

MSI SPATIUM M390 NVMe M.2 data sheet (global, 250 GB to 2 TB)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · PDF non-operating range; distinct from operation. Samsung lists −45 °C for this model, lower than the −40 °C of most Samsung drives.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
−40–85 °C−45–85 °C
Published burst power
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK page maximum burst-mode claim; distinct from average active, idle or constant use.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not provided9 W
Non-condensing humidity range
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided5–95%
Non-operating shock rating
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
Non-operating vibration rating
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer frequency/rating; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Allowable supply voltage
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK electrical requirement, not sufficient proof of host compatibility.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not provided3.3 V ±5%
Published system-level power
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The regional page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not provided6 W average; 9 W maximum in burst mode
NVMe interface protocol version
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Not provided1.3
Show unverified (1)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
Included cloning software
Sources
MSI SPATIUM M390

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNot provided
FIND YOUR CONTENDERS

More products

Closest storage to this pair by shared key specifications. Not a popularity ranking.

See all 199 storage

Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.