Skip to comparison
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
STORAGE · YOUR NEXT FACE-OFF

Kingston XS1000 vs Samsung Portable SSD T9

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact models · UK & US buying links

Compared products

YOUR FIRST CHOICE

Kingston XS1000

2 TB · Black · SXS1000/2000G

Kingston XS1000 portable SSD in black, front view
Exact model & source notes

Kingston's XS1000 is a pocket-sized USB 3.2 Gen 2 portable SSD, rated up to 1,050 MB/s read and 1,000 MB/s write. The 2 TB black version weighs 28.7 g in a metal and plastic case and has a 5-year limited warranty tied to Kingston's SSD Life Remaining indicator.

Specifications checked 28 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications
WHAT DIFFERS
1,050 MB/sRated sequential read2,000 MB/s
Operating temperature0–40 °C0–60 °C
Storage temperature−20–85 °C−40–85 °C
3 of 10 verified differences, in the order listed below. Not a rating.
See the 10 verified differences
THE CONTENDER

Samsung Portable SSD T9

2 TB · Black · MU-PG2T0B/EU

Samsung Portable SSD T9 in black, front view
Exact model & source notes

The T9 is Samsung's 20 Gbps USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 portable SSD. The 2 TB model is rated up to 2,000 MB/s for reads. Samsung's own pages disagree on its write speed (1,950 vs 2,000 MB/s). It has a dotted, non-slip finish, Dynamic Thermal Guard heat management, a 3 m drop claim, Samsung Magician software support and a 5-year limited warranty.

Specifications checked 26 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications

Kingston XS1000 UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Samsung Portable SSD T9 UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE

Visual facts

Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.

How to read this comparison
  • Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
  • “Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
  • Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08

Interface and version

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Kingston XS1000USB 3.2 Gen 2; USB Type-C on the drive

Manufacturer specification · Kingston lists USB 3.2 Gen 2; the included cable is USB Type-C at the drive end and USB Type-A at the host end, with a USB Type-A to USB Type-C adapter. Kingston does not state a link rate in Gbps on the data sheet.

Samsung Portable SSD T9USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (20 Gbps); USB-C

Manufacturer specification · Samsung states USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (20 Gbps) using the NVMe protocol; the drive-side USB-C connector is shown by the bundled USB-C to C and USB-C to A cables. Backward compatible with USB 3.2, 3.1, 3.0 and 2.0.

Explore the full specifications

Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.

WHAT CHANGES BETWEEN THEM?

Key differences

Full specifications ↓

10 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 7 are also drawn in Visual facts above. Missing information stays separate.

Interface and version

In Visual facts
Kingston XS1000USB 3.2 Gen 2; USB Type-C on the drive
Samsung Portable SSD T9USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (20 Gbps); USB-C
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston lists USB 3.2 Gen 2; the included cable is USB Type-C at the drive end and USB Type-A at the host end, with a USB Type-A to USB Type-C adapter. Kingston does not state a link rate in Gbps on the data sheet.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · Samsung states USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (20 Gbps) using the NVMe protocol; the drive-side USB-C connector is shown by the bundled USB-C to C and USB-C to A cables. Backward compatible with USB 3.2, 3.1, 3.0 and 2.0.

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Drive management software

In Visual facts
Kingston XS1000Kingston SSD Manager (SSD Life Remaining indicator)
Samsung Portable SSD T9Samsung Magician Software; Samsung Portable SSD Software 1.0
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · The data sheet names Kingston SSD Manager as the tool that shows SSD Life Remaining for the warranty; check current software support for external drives.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · UK specification table 'Management SW'. Feature copy: Magician protects data, monitors drive health and provides firmware updates; available for Windows 7 and higher, macOS High Sierra (10.13.6) and higher, or Android 5.1 and higher; firmware update requires an internet connection.

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)

Check the software, operating-system and licence requirements. An available feature does not establish a measured speed improvement or support on every host.

Rated performance and conditions

In Visual facts
Kingston XS1000Up to 1,050 MB/s read; up to 1,000 MB/s write
Samsung Portable SSD T9Up to 2,000 MB/s sequential read; sequential write stated as up to 1,950 MB/s in the UK 2 TB specification table but up to 2,000 MB/s in UK feature copy and the US 2 TB page headline
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston: based on internal testing; speed may vary due to host hardware, software and usage. A USB 3.2 Gen 2 host device is required for optimal speeds. No sustained-write figure is published.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · Samsung: performance may vary with host configuration; maximum speeds require a host and cables supporting USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 with UASP mode enabled. Samsung's cited test system: ASUS ROG STRIX Z590-E GAMING WIFI, Intel i9-10900K, DDR4 8GB, Windows 11 Pro.

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/AM product page (US)

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated sequential read

In Visual facts
Kingston XS10001050 MB/s
Samsung Portable SSD T92000 MB/s
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston: based on internal testing; speed may vary due to host hardware, software and usage. A USB 3.2 Gen 2 host device is required for optimal speeds. No sustained-write figure is published.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 host and cable with UASP enabled

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/AM product page (US)

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Warranty terms and endurance if applicable

In Visual facts
Kingston XS10005-year limited warranty with free technical support, or until the SSD Life Remaining wear indicator in Kingston SSD Manager reaches its endurance limit; no TBW figure stated
Samsung Portable SSD T95-year limited warranty; no TBW endurance figure stated; full terms in Samsung's warranty statement
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston: limited warranty based on 5 years or 'SSD Life Remaining' (a new drive shows 100; a drive at its program/erase endurance limit shows 1). Full terms at Kingston.com/wa.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Included cables

In Visual facts
Kingston XS1000USB Type-C (drive) to USB Type-A (host) cable, 12 in; USB Type-A to USB Type-C adapter
Samsung Portable SSD T9USB-C to C and USB-C to A
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston's 'Includes' list. For Android/iOS/iPadOS devices an additional OTG cable, not supplied by Kingston, may be required.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Show 4 more verified differences

Enclosure dimensions

Kingston XS100069.54 × 32.58 × 13.5 mm
Samsung Portable SSD T988 × 60 × 14 mm
Sources
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · UK product page order (W × H × D); Samsung notes actual size may vary by capacity and measurement method

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)

A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.

Weight

Kingston XS100028.7 g
Samsung Portable SSD T9122 g
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer weight; Kingston does not say whether it varies by capacity.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · Samsung notes weight may vary by capacity and measurement method

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)

A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.

Configuration & compatibility details (1)

Compatibility

Kingston XS1000Windows 11 and 10, macOS 10.15.x or later, Linux 4.4.x or later, ChromeOS, Android and iOS/iPadOS 13 or later
Samsung Portable SSD T9PCs, laptops, Android phones and tablets, game consoles, smart TVs and cameras; Windows, macOS and Android; some systems may require reformatting
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston: compatibility may vary and largely depends on the host software and hardware. The UK product page also says it is compatible with the latest iOS devices, Android platforms and gaming consoles, under the same compatibility footnote.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston XS1000 external SSD — official UK product page (Black and 2TB selected; colour selector maps part numbers)

These descriptions or measurements differ. Wording alone does not establish a different capability; check the exact configuration.

Missing or non-comparable evidence (8)

NAND type

Kingston XS1000Not verified
Samsung Portable SSD T9Not verified
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Kingston lists 3D NAND without stating the cell type · Manufacturer specification

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Encryption

Kingston XS1000Not verified
Samsung Portable SSD T9AES 256-bit hardware encryption; password protection
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · The XS1000 data sheet lists no hardware encryption or password protection.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated sequential write

Kingston XS10001000 MB/s
Samsung Portable SSD T9Conflicting evidence
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston: based on internal testing; speed may vary due to host hardware, software and usage. A USB 3.2 Gen 2 host device is required for optimal speeds. No sustained-write figure is published.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

UK 2 TB specification table: up to 1,950 MB/s. UK feature copy (family-level) and US MU-PG2T0B/AM page headline: up to 2,000 MB/s. The US headline string is identical on the 1 TB SKU, so it may be family-level; the capacity-specific table favours 1,950 MB/s but the conflict is kept explicit pending a Samsung datasheet. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/AM product page (US)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published endurance rating (TBW)

Kingston XS1000Not verified
Samsung Portable SSD T9Not verified
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · The data sheet ties the warranty to the SSD Life Remaining wear indicator and publishes no TBW figure.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Drop resistance

Kingston XS1000Not verified
Samsung Portable SSD T9Up to 3 m
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · The XS1000 data sheet publishes no drop, water or dust rating.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · Samsung internal free-fall shock test under controlled conditions

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Earlier USB support

Kingston XS1000USB 3.2 Gen 1
Samsung Portable SSD T9Not verified
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston advertises backwards compatibility to USB 3.2 Gen 1; its rated speeds need a USB 3.2 Gen 2 host device ('USB 3.2 Gen 2 host device required for optimal speeds').

Kingston XS1000 external SSD — official UK product page (Black and 2TB selected; colour selector maps part numbers)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Advertised thermal design

Kingston XS1000Not verified
Samsung Portable SSD T9Dynamic Thermal Guard; designed in compliance with IEC 62368-1
Sources
Kingston XS1000

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · Samsung: Dynamic Thermal Guard minimises potential performance drop from overheating; T9 keeps skin temperature below 60 °C at all times in controlled conditions (internal quality test for heat management and safety), in compliance with IEC 62368-1. The US 2 TB page headline also names Dynamic Thermal Guard. No sustained-speed figures are published.

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/AM product page (US)

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

4 shared fields have the same recorded value.

WHAT EACH CHOICE ASKS OF YOU

What it brings and what to check

Kingston XS1000

What it brings

  • At 69.54 × 32.58 × 13.5 mm and 28.7 g, it is small and light for a 2 TB portable drive.
  • Kingston lists support for Windows 11 and 10, macOS 10.15.x or later, Linux 4.4.x or later, ChromeOS, Android and iOS/iPadOS 13 or later, and includes a USB-C to USB-A cable plus a USB-A to USB-C adapter.
  • The limited warranty runs 5 years with free technical support, ending earlier only if the SSD Life Remaining wear indicator reaches its endurance limit.

What to check

  • Rated speeds need a USB 3.2 Gen 2 host, and Kingston publishes no sustained-write figure.
  • The data sheet lists no hardware encryption, password protection, drop rating or water/dust rating, and gives no TBW figure.
  • The operating range is 0–40 °C, and Android, iOS or iPadOS devices may need an extra OTG cable that Kingston does not supply.

Samsung Portable SSD T9

What it brings

  • Uses a 20 Gbps USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 link, which Samsung pairs with its up to 2,000 MB/s read rating.
  • Samsung states a 5-year limited warranty for this model.
  • Samsung publishes an operating range of 0–60 °C, a 3 m drop claim and AES 256-bit hardware encryption.

What to check

COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

How we verify
23 of 23 specifications Sources in each row
Source-backed specifications for Kingston XS1000 and Samsung Portable SSD T9
SpecificationKingston XS1000Samsung Portable SSD T9
Capacity
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Listed capacity; Kingston notes some of it is used for formatting and other functions and is not available for data storage.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · Samsung defines 1 TB as 1,000,000,000,000 bytes

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)
2000 GB2000 GB
SSDSSD
Interface and versionDifferent
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston lists USB 3.2 Gen 2; the included cable is USB Type-C at the drive end and USB Type-A at the host end, with a USB Type-A to USB Type-C adapter. Kingston does not state a link rate in Gbps on the data sheet.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · Samsung states USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (20 Gbps) using the NVMe protocol; the drive-side USB-C connector is shown by the bundled USB-C to C and USB-C to A cables. Backward compatible with USB 3.2, 3.1, 3.0 and 2.0.

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)
USB 3.2 Gen 2; USB Type-C on the driveUSB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (20 Gbps); USB-C
Earlier USB support
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston advertises backwards compatibility to USB 3.2 Gen 1; its rated speeds need a USB 3.2 Gen 2 host device ('USB 3.2 Gen 2 host device required for optimal speeds').

Kingston XS1000 external SSD — official UK product page (Black and 2TB selected; colour selector maps part numbers)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

No source recorded.

USB 3.2 Gen 1Not provided
Form factor
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · External USB portable SSD in a pocket-sized enclosure.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · External USB portable SSD

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)
PortablePortable
Enclosure dimensionsDifferent
Sources
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · UK product page order (W × H × D); Samsung notes actual size may vary by capacity and measurement method

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)
69.54 × 32.58 × 13.5 mm88 × 60 × 14 mm
WeightDifferent
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer weight; Kingston does not say whether it varies by capacity.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · Samsung notes weight may vary by capacity and measurement method

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)
28.7 g122 g
Advertised thermal design
Sources
Kingston XS1000

No source recorded.

Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · Samsung: Dynamic Thermal Guard minimises potential performance drop from overheating; T9 keeps skin temperature below 60 °C at all times in controlled conditions (internal quality test for heat management and safety), in compliance with IEC 62368-1. The US 2 TB page headline also names Dynamic Thermal Guard. No sustained-speed figures are published.

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/AM product page (US)
Not providedDynamic Thermal Guard; designed in compliance with IEC 62368-1
Rated performance and conditionsDifferent
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston: based on internal testing; speed may vary due to host hardware, software and usage. A USB 3.2 Gen 2 host device is required for optimal speeds. No sustained-write figure is published.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · Samsung: performance may vary with host configuration; maximum speeds require a host and cables supporting USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 with UASP mode enabled. Samsung's cited test system: ASUS ROG STRIX Z590-E GAMING WIFI, Intel i9-10900K, DDR4 8GB, Windows 11 Pro.

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/AM product page (US)
Up to 1,050 MB/s read; up to 1,000 MB/s writeUp to 2,000 MB/s sequential read; sequential write stated as up to 1,950 MB/s in the UK 2 TB specification table but up to 2,000 MB/s in UK feature copy and the US 2 TB page headline
Rated sequential readDifferent
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston: based on internal testing; speed may vary due to host hardware, software and usage. A USB 3.2 Gen 2 host device is required for optimal speeds. No sustained-write figure is published.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 host and cable with UASP enabled

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/AM product page (US)
1050 MB/s2000 MB/s
Rated sequential write
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston: based on internal testing; speed may vary due to host hardware, software and usage. A USB 3.2 Gen 2 host device is required for optimal speeds. No sustained-write figure is published.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

UK 2 TB specification table: up to 1,950 MB/s. UK feature copy (family-level) and US MU-PG2T0B/AM page headline: up to 2,000 MB/s. The US headline string is identical on the 1 TB SKU, so it may be family-level; the capacity-specific table favours 1,950 MB/s but the conflict is kept explicit pending a Samsung datasheet. · Manufacturer specification

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/AM product page (US)
1000 MB/sConflicting sources
Warranty terms and endurance if applicableDifferent
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston: limited warranty based on 5 years or 'SSD Life Remaining' (a new drive shows 100; a drive at its program/erase endurance limit shows 1). Full terms at Kingston.com/wa.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)
5-year limited warranty with free technical support, or until the SSD Life Remaining wear indicator in Kingston SSD Manager reaches its endurance limit; no TBW figure stated5-year limited warranty; no TBW endurance figure stated; full terms in Samsung's warranty statement
Limited warranty time
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Maximum time term; coverage can end earlier when the SSD Life Remaining wear indicator reaches its endurance limit. Eligibility and full terms apply.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
5 years5 years
Drive management softwareDifferent
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · The data sheet names Kingston SSD Manager as the tool that shows SSD Life Remaining for the warranty; check current software support for external drives.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · UK specification table 'Management SW'. Feature copy: Magician protects data, monitors drive health and provides firmware updates; available for Windows 7 and higher, macOS High Sierra (10.13.6) and higher, or Android 5.1 and higher; firmware update requires an internet connection.

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)
Kingston SSD Manager (SSD Life Remaining indicator)Samsung Magician Software; Samsung Portable SSD Software 1.0
Encryption
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · The XS1000 data sheet lists no hardware encryption or password protection.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Not listed by the manufacturerAES 256-bit hardware encryption; password protection
Operating temperatureDifferent
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating range; not a measured temperature under a particular workload.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
0–40 °C0–60 °C
Storage temperatureDifferent
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Non-operating range, distinct from operation.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
−20–85 °C−40–85 °C
Casing material
Sources
Metal and plasticNot provided
Included cablesDifferent
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston's 'Includes' list. For Android/iOS/iPadOS devices an additional OTG cable, not supplied by Kingston, may be required.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
USB Type-C (drive) to USB Type-A (host) cable, 12 in; USB Type-A to USB Type-C adapterUSB-C to C and USB-C to A
CompatibilityDifferent
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Manufacturer specification · Kingston: compatibility may vary and largely depends on the host software and hardware. The UK product page also says it is compatible with the latest iOS devices, Android platforms and gaming consoles, under the same compatibility footnote.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston XS1000 external SSD — official UK product page (Black and 2TB selected; colour selector maps part numbers)
Windows 11 and 10, macOS 10.15.x or later, Linux 4.4.x or later, ChromeOS, Android and iOS/iPadOS 13 or laterPCs, laptops, Android phones and tablets, game consoles, smart TVs and cameras; Windows, macOS and Android; some systems may require reformatting
Drop resistance
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · The XS1000 data sheet publishes no drop, water or dust rating.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

Manufacturer specification · Samsung internal free-fall shock test under controlled conditions

Samsung Portable SSD T9 — exact 2 TB Black MU-PG2T0B/EU product page (UK)
Not listed by the manufacturerUp to 3 m
Show unverified (2)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
Published endurance rating (TBW)
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · The data sheet ties the warranty to the SSD Life Remaining wear indicator and publishes no TBW figure.

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

No source recorded.

Not listed by the manufacturerNot provided
NAND type
Sources
Kingston XS1000

Kingston lists 3D NAND without stating the cell type · Manufacturer specification

Kingston XS1000 external SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung Portable SSD T9

No source recorded.

Not listed by the manufacturerNot provided
FIND YOUR CONTENDERS

More products

Closest storage to this pair by shared key specifications. Not a popularity ranking.

See all 199 storage
Kingston Dual Portable SSD 2 TB in a red casing with its USB Type-A and USB Type-C connectors exposed

Kingston Dual Portable SSD

Storage capacity
2 TB
Warranty term
5 years
Capacity
2000 GB
Prices & product profile
ASUS TUF Gaming AS1000 PLUS portable SSD in black, angled front view

ASUS TUF Gaming AS1000 PLUS

Storage capacity
1 TB
Warranty term
5 years
Capacity
1000 GB
Prices & product profile
Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD, front view showing the touch-screen PIN pad

Kingston IronKey Vault Privacy 80 External SSD

Storage capacity
1.92 TB
Warranty term
3 years
Capacity
1920 GB
Prices & product profile

Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.