A 1 TB (1000 GB) PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe SSD rated up to 6,000 MB/s read and 4,000 MB/s write, in a single-sided M.2 2280 module with a 320 TB endurance rating.
Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.
Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.
A 2 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD rated up to 7,000 MB/s read and 5,100 MB/s write, with TLC V-NAND, 2 GB LPDDR4 cache and a 1,200 TB write rating. It has no factory heatsink.
Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.
Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.
Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.
THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE
Visual facts
Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.
How to read this comparison
Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
“Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08
Storage capacity
Decimal storage capacity: 1 TB = 1,000 GB. Formatting and system use reduce available space.
Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.
Manufacturer specification · Published endurance rating derived from the JEDEC Client Workload (JESD219A). Warranty ends on the stated time or wear conditions. This is not a guaranteed service life.
Kingston NV3Up to 6000 MB/s sequential read; up to 4000 MB/s sequential write
Samsung 980 PROUp to 7000 MB/s sequential read; up to 5100 MB/s cached sequential write
Sources
Kingston NV3
Manufacturer specification · Kingston fresh/out-of-box manufacturer claim on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.
Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Manufacturer specification · Kingston fresh/out-of-box manufacturer claim on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.
Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Manufacturer specification · Kingston fresh/out-of-box manufacturer claim on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.
Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.
Kingston NV35-year conditional limited warranty, or NVMe Percentage Used reaching or exceeding 100 in Kingston SSD Manager, whichever occurs first
Samsung 980 PRO5 years or 1200 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Sources
Kingston NV3
Manufacturer specification · Subject to original-purchase eligibility and full manufacturer terms. Published TBW is a separate endurance rating from the wear-indicator warranty limit.
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Non-operating vibration rating
Kingston NV320 G, 10–1000 Hz
Samsung 980 PRO20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Sources
Kingston NV3
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer vibration rating with its stated frequency range. Not a drop test; ratings from different test protocols are not directly comparable.
Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.
Named Elpis on Samsung's UK technical page; the current PDF revision describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller. · Manufacturer specification · UK technical page names Elpis. The current PDF revision (2.1) describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Included cloning software
Kingston NV3Acronis True Image for Kingston
Samsung 980 PRONot verified
Sources
Kingston NV3
Manufacturer specification · The part page includes cloning software. Current Kingston instructions require an installed Kingston internal SSD, Windows 11/10/8.1, administrator rights, internet download through Kingston SSD Manager and licence acceptance. This software does not support macOS or Linux; that does not declare the drive itself incompatible.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician health monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Drive management software
Kingston NV3Not verified
Samsung 980 PROSamsung Magician
Sources
Kingston NV3
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 980 PRO
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer feature block lists monitoring and software/firmware updates. OS/version support and feature prerequisites require separate checking.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Rated random read
Kingston NV3Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO1000000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston NV3
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 980 PRO
Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Rated random write
Kingston NV3Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO1000000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston NV3
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 980 PRO
Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Rated random read, QD1
Kingston NV3Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO22000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston NV3
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 980 PRO
Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread value for this capacity under the manufacturer performance test setup. Not measured application latency.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Rated random write, QD1
Kingston NV3Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO60000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston NV3
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 980 PRO
Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread 60000 IOPS for this 2 TB capacity with Intelligent TurboWrite under the stated modified Ryzen/ASUS test setup. Not application latency.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Device sleep support
Kingston NV3Not verified
Samsung 980 PROYes
Sources
Kingston NV3
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 980 PRO
Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
NVMe interface protocol version
Kingston NV3Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO1.3c
Sources
Kingston NV3
The complete reviewed exact manufacturer technical source identifies NVMe but does not state its protocol version. Omission does not establish a different revision or missing NVMe support. · Manufacturer specification
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Rated performance on PCIe 3.0
Kingston NV3Not verified
Samsung 980 PROUp to 3500/3470 MB/s sequential read/write; 680000/630000 IOPS random read/write
Sources
Kingston NV3
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 980 PRO
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB backward-compatible mode in PDF footnote 2. Not the PCIe 4.0 peak figures or the 1 TB/250 GB values. Same manufacturer TurboWrite/test qualifications; actual host may differ.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Published power conditions
Kingston NV3Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO6.1 W active read; 5.6 W active write; 35 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleep
Sources
Kingston NV3
Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Kingston describes low power use but gives no power figures for this model. No estimate is invented.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Published system-level power
Kingston NV3Not verified
Samsung 980 PRO6.1 W average; 7.2 W maximum in burst mode
Sources
Kingston NV3
No source recorded for this side.
Samsung 980 PRO
Manufacturer specification · The UK page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from datasheet active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
6 shared fields have the same recorded value.
WHAT EACH CHOICE ASKS OF YOU
What it brings and what to check
Kingston NV3
What it brings
Rated up to 6,000 MB/s sequential read and 4,000 MB/s sequential write over PCIe 4.0 x4, in a thin 2.3 mm single-sided module suited to laptops as well as desktops.
Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.
Manufacturer specification · Kingston fresh/out-of-box manufacturer claim on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.
Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
Up to 6000 MB/s sequential read; up to 4000 MB/s sequential write
Up to 7000 MB/s sequential read; up to 5100 MB/s cached sequential write
Rated sequential readDifferentSources
Kingston NV3
Manufacturer specification · Kingston fresh/out-of-box manufacturer claim on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.
Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
Manufacturer specification · Kingston fresh/out-of-box manufacturer claim on a PCIe 4.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.
Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Ryzen 9 3900X, ASUS X570 ROG Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro; secondary drive. The datasheet lists additional BIOS, memory and CPU settings used for the test. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.
Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.
Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / 16 threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Ryzen 9 3900X / ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Formula, Windows 10 Pro, secondary drive. PDF lists altered BIOS, memory and CPU settings; writes require TurboWrite. Not directly comparable to a four-thread Intel test.
Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread value for this capacity under the manufacturer performance test setup. Not measured application latency.
Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread 60000 IOPS for this 2 TB capacity with Intelligent TurboWrite under the stated modified Ryzen/ASUS test setup. Not application latency.
Manufacturer specification · 2 TB backward-compatible mode in PDF footnote 2. Not the PCIe 4.0 peak figures or the 1 TB/250 GB values. Same manufacturer TurboWrite/test qualifications; actual host may differ.
Named Elpis on Samsung's UK technical page; the current PDF revision describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller. · Manufacturer specification · UK technical page names Elpis. The current PDF revision (2.1) describes it only as a Samsung in-house controller.
Warranty terms and endurance if applicableDifferentSources
Kingston NV3
Manufacturer specification · Subject to original-purchase eligibility and full manufacturer terms. Published TBW is a separate endurance rating from the wear-indicator warranty limit.
5-year conditional limited warranty, or NVMe Percentage Used reaching or exceeding 100 in Kingston SSD Manager, whichever occurs first
5 years or 1200 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Limited warranty timeSources
Kingston NV3
Manufacturer specification · Maximum time term; coverage can end earlier at NVMe Percentage Used reaching or exceeding 100 in Kingston SSD Manager. Eligibility and full terms apply.
Manufacturer specification · Published endurance rating derived from the JEDEC Client Workload (JESD219A). Warranty ends on the stated time or wear conditions. This is not a guaranteed service life.
Manufacturer specification · The part page includes cloning software. Current Kingston instructions require an installed Kingston internal SSD, Windows 11/10/8.1, administrator rights, internet download through Kingston SSD Manager and licence acceptance. This software does not support macOS or Linux; that does not declare the drive itself incompatible.
Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician health monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer feature block lists monitoring and software/firmware updates. OS/version support and feature prerequisites require separate checking.
Manufacturer specification · The UK page supports device sleep. Host support is required; device sleep is not the same as Modern Standby and gives no battery-life figure.
Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Kingston describes low power use but gives no power figures for this model. No estimate is invented.
6.1 W active read; 5.6 W active write; 35 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleep
Non-operating vibration ratingDifferentSources
Kingston NV3
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer vibration rating with its stated frequency range. Not a drop test; ratings from different test protocols are not directly comparable.
Manufacturer specification · The UK page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from datasheet active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.
The complete reviewed exact manufacturer technical source identifies NVMe but does not state its protocol version. Omission does not establish a different revision or missing NVMe support. · Manufacturer specification
Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.