Skip to comparison
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
STORAGE · YOUR NEXT FACE-OFF

Kingston KC600 vs Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact models · UK & US buying links

Compared products

YOUR FIRST CHOICE

Kingston KC600

1024 GB · 2.5-inch SATA · SKC600/1024G

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch SATA SSD, front view
Exact model & source notes

Kingston's KC600 is a 2.5-inch SATA 6 Gb/s SSD. The 1024 GB version is rated up to 550 MB/s read and 520 MB/s write, uses 3D TLC NAND with an SM2259 controller and a DRAM cache, supports XTS-AES 256-bit self-encryption with TCG Opal 2.0 and eDrive, and has a 600 TB endurance rating.

Specifications checked 27 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications
WHICH SUITS YOU?

Choose the Kingston KC600 for

  • Higher stated capacity: 1,024 GB vs 1,000 GB
  • A 2.5-inch drive

Choose the Samsung 970 EVO Plus for

  • An M.2 2280 drive
  • Higher stated rated sequential read: 3,500 MB/s vs 550 MB/s
  • Higher stated rated sequential write: 3,300 MB/s vs 520 MB/s
Built from verified specifications that differ. Not a rating or a recommendation.
See the 20 verified differences
THE CONTENDER

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

1 TB · M.2 2280 without factory heatsink · MZ-V7S1T0BW

Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1 TB M.2 SSD; official image associated with MZ-V7S1T0BW
Exact model & source notes

A 1 TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSD rated up to 3,500 MB/s read and 3,300 MB/s write, with TLC V-NAND, 1 GB LPDDR4 cache and a 600 TB write rating.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications

Kingston KC600 UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Samsung 970 EVO Plus UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE

Visual facts

Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.

How to read this comparison
  • Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
  • “Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
  • Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08

Storage capacity

Decimal storage capacity: 1 TB = 1,000 GB. Formatting and system use reduce available space.

Kingston KC6001.02 TB

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed capacity; formatting and reserved functions reduce usable storage.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus1 TB

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatting and system use reduce available space.

Explore the full specifications

Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.

WHAT CHANGES BETWEEN THEM?

Key differences

Full specifications ↓

20 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 7 are also drawn in Visual facts above. Missing information stays separate.

Kingston KC6001024 GB
Samsung 970 EVO Plus1000 GB
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed capacity; formatting and reserved functions reduce usable storage.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatting and system use reduce available space.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Interface and version

In Visual facts
Kingston KC600SATA 6 Gb/s
Samsung 970 EVO PlusPCIe 3.0 x4; NVMe
Sources
Kingston KC600

Backward compatible with SATA 3 Gb/s; Kingston calls these SATA Rev. 3.0 (6 Gb/s) and SATA Rev. 2.0 (3 Gb/s). · Manufacturer specification · Requires compatible SATA data and power connections.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Form factor

In Visual facts
Kingston KC6002.5-inch
Samsung 970 EVO PlusM.2 2280
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Part configuration; the KC600 is also sold in mSATA (SKC600MS), which is a separate configuration.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Match the physical format and electrical interface to the host.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Controller

In Visual facts
Kingston KC600SM2259
Samsung 970 EVO PlusSamsung in-house controller
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Controller name as printed in the data sheet.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Current page and revision 3 PDF identify only an in-house controller. Revision history says the controller name was removed; no fixed commercial codename is assigned.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Compare the exact component configuration. A controller or NAND name is not a measured performance or reliability rating.

Kingston KC6003D TLC
Samsung 970 EVO PlusSamsung V-NAND TLC
Sources
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer calls this 3-bit MLC: three bits per cell, also called TLC. This is not two-bit MLC.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung NAND terminology: TLC stores three bits per cell

Compare the exact component configuration. A controller or NAND name is not a measured performance or reliability rating.

Hardware encryption support

In Visual facts
Kingston KC600XTS-AES 256-bit; TCG Opal 2.0; eDrive
Samsung 970 EVO PlusAES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host. Kingston notes the cryptographic functions are implemented in firmware and can only be changed during manufacturing.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capabilities, not encryption enabled by default or every-host support.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Listed encryption support does not mean it is enabled. Check the exact host, software and configuration requirements; no security certification is inferred.

Show 14 more verified differences

Drive management software

In Visual facts
Kingston KC600Kingston SSD Manager (SSD Life Remaining indicator)
Samsung 970 EVO PlusSamsung Magician
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · The data sheet names Kingston SSD Manager as the tool that shows SSD Life Remaining for the warranty.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer feature block lists monitoring and software/firmware updates. OS/version support and feature prerequisites require separate checking.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Check the software, operating-system and licence requirements. An available feature does not establish a measured speed improvement or support on every host.

Rated performance and conditions

Kingston KC600Up to 550 MB/s sequential read; up to 520 MB/s sequential write
Samsung 970 EVO PlusUp to 3500 MB/s sequential read; up to 3300 MB/s cached sequential write
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Kingston 'out-of-box performance' claim using a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard; speed may vary due to host hardware, software and usage. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated sequential read

Kingston KC600550 MB/s
Samsung 970 EVO Plus3500 MB/s
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Kingston 'out-of-box performance' claim using a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard; speed may vary due to host hardware, software and usage. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated sequential write

Kingston KC600520 MB/s
Samsung 970 EVO Plus3300 MB/s
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Kingston 'out-of-box performance' claim using a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard; speed may vary due to host hardware, software and usage. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random 4K read

Kingston KC60090000 IOPS
Samsung 970 EVO Plus600000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Kingston maximum 4K claim for the family (not split by capacity); IOMETER random 4K read/write based on an 8 GB partition, out-of-box on a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard. Queue depth not stated.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / four threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-7700K / ASUS Prime Z270-A, 32 GB DDR4, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes require TurboWrite.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated random 4K write

Kingston KC60080000 IOPS
Samsung 970 EVO Plus550000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Kingston maximum 4K claim for the family (not split by capacity); IOMETER random 4K read/write based on an 8 GB partition, out-of-box on a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard. Queue depth not stated.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / four threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-7700K / ASUS Prime Z270-A, 32 GB DDR4, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes require TurboWrite.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Warranty terms and endurance if applicable

Kingston KC6005-year limited warranty with free technical support, or until the SSD Life Remaining wear indicator in Kingston SSD Manager reaches its endurance limit, whichever occurs first
Samsung 970 EVO Plus5 years or 600 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Kingston: limited warranty based on 5 years or 'SSD Life Remaining' (new drive 100; drive at its program/erase endurance limit 1). Published TBW is a separate endurance rating. Full terms at Kingston.com/wa.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Manufacturer MTBF rating

Kingston KC6002,000,000 hours
Samsung 970 EVO Plus1,500,000 hours
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer statistical MTBF claim, not an individual drive lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Statistical claim, not an individual lifespan or warranty.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Published power conditions

Kingston KC6000.06 W idle; 0.2 W average; 1.3 W maximum read; 3.2 W maximum write
Samsung 970 EVO Plus5.5 W active read; 6.0 W active write; 30 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleep
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · 2.5-inch column; no capacity-specific test system or workload is supplied. Not a measured continuous consumption figure.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB column, IOmeter 1.1.0 on i7-7700K, 16 GB DDR4-2133, Gigabyte GA-Z270X, Windows 10 Pro K x64. This differs from the 32 GB performance host. Idle requires autonomous power-state operation; not constant household-use loads.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Storage temperature

Kingston KC600−40–85 °C
Samsung 970 EVO Plus−45–85 °C
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Published non-operating storage range, kept separate from the 0–70 °C operating range.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · PDF non-operating range; distinct from operation. Samsung lists −45 °C for this model, lower than the −40 °C of most Samsung drives.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Non-operating vibration rating

Kingston KC60020 G peak, 10–2000 Hz
Samsung 970 EVO Plus20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer vibration rating with its stated frequency range. Not a drop test; ratings from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer frequency/rating; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Manufacturer workload scope

Kingston KC600Desktop and notebook workloads; not intended for servers
Samsung 970 EVO PlusClient PCs
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Workload limitation in the datasheet. Not intended for enterprise or server use.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Application class, not universal system/console compatibility.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Drive dimensions

Kingston KC600100.1 × 69.85 × 7 mm
Samsung 970 EVO Plus80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
Sources
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.

Missing or non-comparable evidence (21)

DRAM cache capacity

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus1 GB
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Capacity LPDDR4 DRAM size; not the variable TurboWrite write-buffer capacity.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Included cloning software

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random read, QD1

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus19000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread value for this capacity under the manufacturer performance test setup. Not measured application latency.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random write, QD1

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus60000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread result with Intelligent TurboWrite under the stated manufacturer setup. The 2 TB model's 62,000 IOPS figure does not apply to this 1 TB model.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Device sleep support

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusYes
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The regional page supports device sleep. Host support is required; the separately published L1.2 power state is not measured laptop battery life.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Garbage collection

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusYes
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Listed internal function.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Non-condensing humidity range

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus5–95%
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Installation kit included

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNo
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · No installation kit is included.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published burst power

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus9 W
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK page maximum burst-mode claim; distinct from average active, idle or constant use.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Non-operating shock rating

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

S.M.A.R.T. support

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusYes
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Monitoring capability, not predicted remaining life.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Allowable supply voltage

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus3.3 V ±5%
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK electrical requirement, not sufficient proof of host compatibility.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published system-level power

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO Plus6 W average; 9 W maximum in burst mode
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The regional page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Thermal design

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNickel-coated controller; heat-spreader label; Dynamic Thermal Guard
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Official thermal features. Not a factory heatsink enclosure or measured temperature advantage.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

TRIM support

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusYes
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Requires operating-system support as stated by manufacturer.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Operating vibration rating

Kingston KC6002.17 G peak, 7–800 Hz
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNot verified
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating vibration rating. No independent drop, shock or reliability test is implied.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

World Wide Name support

Kingston KC600Not verified
Samsung 970 EVO PlusNo
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN unsupported.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

5 shared fields have the same recorded value.

WHAT EACH CHOICE ASKS OF YOU

What it brings and what to check

Kingston KC600

What it brings

What to check

  • As a SATA 6 Gb/s drive, its rated speeds top out at 550 MB/s read and 520 MB/s write.
  • Kingston designs it for desktop and notebook workloads and says it is not intended for servers; the 4K IOPS figures are family-wide claims on an 8 GB test partition.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

What it brings

  • Rated up to 3,500 MB/s sequential read and 3,300 MB/s sequential write, with up to 600,000 random read and 550,000 random write IOPS.

What to check

  • Limited to PCIe 3.0 x4, so it cannot use the extra bandwidth of newer PCIe 4.0 or 5.0 slots. Peak write speed relies on the TurboWrite cache, and there is no factory heatsink.
COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

How we verify
46 of 46 specifications Sources in each row
Source-backed specifications for Kingston KC600 and Samsung 970 EVO Plus
SpecificationKingston KC600Samsung 970 EVO Plus
CapacityDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed capacity; formatting and reserved functions reduce usable storage.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatting and system use reduce available space.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
1024 GB1000 GB
SSDSSD
Interface and versionDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Backward compatible with SATA 3 Gb/s; Kingston calls these SATA Rev. 3.0 (6 Gb/s) and SATA Rev. 2.0 (3 Gb/s). · Manufacturer specification · Requires compatible SATA data and power connections.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Host support and available lanes determine operation; interface generation is not an application-performance result.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
SATA 6 Gb/sPCIe 3.0 x4; NVMe
Form factorDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Part configuration; the KC600 is also sold in mSATA (SKC600MS), which is a separate configuration.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Match the physical format and electrical interface to the host.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
2.5-inchM.2 2280
Drive dimensionsDifferent
Sources
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Samsung lists these as maximum dimensions. This version has no factory heatsink. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
100.1 × 69.85 × 7 mm80.15 × 22.15 × 2.38 mm
Drive weightDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · 2.5-inch column; Kingston does not split weight by capacity.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK capacity-specific maximum drive mass, not packaging.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
40 g8 g
Factory heatsink
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · This BW configuration has no factory heatsink; follow the host's cooling requirements.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedNo
Thermal design
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Official thermal features. Not a factory heatsink enclosure or measured temperature advantage.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNickel-coated controller; heat-spreader label; Dynamic Thermal Guard
Rated performance and conditionsDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Kingston 'out-of-box performance' claim using a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard; speed may vary due to host hardware, software and usage. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Up to 550 MB/s sequential read; up to 520 MB/s sequential writeUp to 3500 MB/s sequential read; up to 3300 MB/s cached sequential write
Rated sequential readDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Kingston 'out-of-box performance' claim using a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard; speed may vary due to host hardware, software and usage. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
550 MB/s3500 MB/s
Rated sequential writeDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Kingston 'out-of-box performance' claim using a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard; speed may vary due to host hardware, software and usage. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Samsung IOmeter 1.1.0 claims: Core i7-7700K, 32 GB DDR4, ASUS Prime Z270-A, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
520 MB/s3300 MB/s
Rated random 4K readDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Kingston maximum 4K claim for the family (not split by capacity); IOMETER random 4K read/write based on an 8 GB partition, out-of-box on a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard. Queue depth not stated.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / four threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-7700K / ASUS Prime Z270-A, 32 GB DDR4, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes require TurboWrite.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
90000 IOPS600000 IOPS
Rated random 4K writeDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Kingston maximum 4K claim for the family (not split by capacity); IOMETER random 4K read/write based on an 8 GB partition, out-of-box on a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard. Queue depth not stated.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up to, 4 KB QD32 / four threads; IOmeter 1.1.0, Core i7-7700K / ASUS Prime Z270-A, 32 GB DDR4, Windows 10 build 10240. Writes require TurboWrite.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
80000 IOPS550000 IOPS
Rated random read, QD1
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread value for this capacity under the manufacturer performance test setup. Not measured application latency.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided19000 IOPS
Rated random write, QD1
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Up-to QD1 / one-thread result with Intelligent TurboWrite under the stated manufacturer setup. The 2 TB model's 62,000 IOPS figure does not apply to this 1 TB model.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided60000 IOPS
3D TLCSamsung V-NAND TLC
ControllerDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Controller name as printed in the data sheet.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Current page and revision 3 PDF identify only an in-house controller. Revision history says the controller name was removed; no fixed commercial codename is assigned.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
SM2259Samsung in-house controller
DRAM cache present
Sources
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Capacity row lists onboard LPDDR4 DRAM. Having DRAM is not a measured performance result.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
YesYes
Cache arrangement
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer's stated DRAM cache capacity for this storage capacity.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided1 GB LPDDR4 DRAM
DRAM cache capacity
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Capacity LPDDR4 DRAM size; not the variable TurboWrite write-buffer capacity.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided1 GB
Write-buffer technology
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Peak write claims require the buffer. Samsung does not list the buffer capacity or post-cache write speed.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedIntelligent TurboWrite
Warranty terms and endurance if applicableDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Kingston: limited warranty based on 5 years or 'SSD Life Remaining' (new drive 100; drive at its program/erase endurance limit 1). Published TBW is a separate endurance rating. Full terms at Kingston.com/wa.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
5-year limited warranty with free technical support, or until the SSD Life Remaining wear indicator in Kingston SSD Manager reaches its endurance limit, whichever occurs first5 years or 600 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Limited warranty time
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Maximum time term; coverage can end earlier when the SSD Life Remaining wear indicator reaches its endurance limit. Eligibility and full terms apply.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not predicted lifespan; coverage also ends at the TBW threshold and is subject to full terms.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
5 years5 years
Published endurance rating (TBW)
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Published endurance rating for the 1024 GB capacity, derived from the JEDEC Client Workload (JESD219A). Not a guaranteed service life.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (US, Kingston Technology Corporation)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Capacity-specific warranty write threshold, not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
600 TB600 TB
Manufacturer MTBF ratingDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer statistical MTBF claim, not an individual drive lifespan or guaranteed operating time.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Statistical claim, not an individual lifespan or warranty.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
2,000,000 hours1,500,000 hours
Manufacturer workload scopeDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Workload limitation in the datasheet. Not intended for enterprise or server use.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Application class, not universal system/console compatibility.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Desktop and notebook workloads; not intended for serversClient PCs
Hardware encryption supportDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Listed security capabilities do not mean encryption is enabled or supported by every host. Kingston notes the cryptographic functions are implemented in firmware and can only be changed during manufacturing.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capabilities, not encryption enabled by default or every-host support.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
XTS-AES 256-bit; TCG Opal 2.0; eDriveAES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
Drive management softwareDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · The data sheet names Kingston SSD Manager as the tool that shows SSD Life Remaining for the warranty.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer feature block lists monitoring and software/firmware updates. OS/version support and feature prerequisites require separate checking.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Kingston SSD Manager (SSD Life Remaining indicator)Samsung Magician
TRIM support
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Requires operating-system support as stated by manufacturer.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedYes
S.M.A.R.T. support
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Monitoring capability, not predicted remaining life.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedYes
Garbage collection
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Listed internal function.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedYes
Installation kit included
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · No installation kit is included.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNo
World Wide Name support
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Product page states WWN unsupported.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNo
Device sleep support
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The regional page supports device sleep. Host support is required; the separately published L1.2 power state is not measured laptop battery life.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedYes
Operating temperature
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating range; not a measured temperature under a particular workload.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Measured by the drive's S.M.A.R.T. temperature; Samsung recommends adequate airflow.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
0–70 °C0–70 °C
Storage temperatureDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Published non-operating storage range, kept separate from the 0–70 °C operating range.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · PDF non-operating range; distinct from operation. Samsung lists −45 °C for this model, lower than the −40 °C of most Samsung drives.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
−40–85 °C−45–85 °C
Published power conditionsDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · 2.5-inch column; no capacity-specific test system or workload is supplied. Not a measured continuous consumption figure.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB column, IOmeter 1.1.0 on i7-7700K, 16 GB DDR4-2133, Gigabyte GA-Z270X, Windows 10 Pro K x64. This differs from the 32 GB performance host. Idle requires autonomous power-state operation; not constant household-use loads.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
0.06 W idle; 0.2 W average; 1.3 W maximum read; 3.2 W maximum write5.5 W active read; 6.0 W active write; 30 mW idle; 5 mW L1.2 sleep
Operating vibration rating
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating vibration rating. No independent drop, shock or reliability test is implied.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

No source recorded.

2.17 G peak, 7–800 HzNot provided
Non-operating vibration ratingDifferent
Sources
Kingston KC600

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer vibration rating with its stated frequency range. Not a drop test; ratings from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Kingston KC600 2.5-inch and mSATA SSD data sheet (English, Kingston Technology Europe)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer frequency/rating; results from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
20 G peak, 10–2000 Hz20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Published burst power
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK page maximum burst-mode claim; distinct from average active, idle or constant use.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not provided9 W
Non-condensing humidity range
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided5–95%
Non-operating shock rating
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating claim, not a device drop test.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
Allowable supply voltage
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · UK electrical requirement, not sufficient proof of host compatibility.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not provided3.3 V ±5%
Published system-level power
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Manufacturer specification · The regional page labels a system-level average and a burst maximum. Hardware/configuration affect consumption. These are distinct from active read/write and idle/sleep states and are not a constant everyday load.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not provided6 W average; 9 W maximum in burst mode
NVMe interface protocol version
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Not provided1.3
Show unverified (1)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
Included cloning software
Sources
Kingston KC600

No source recorded.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not list a bundled cloning tool for this model. Magician monitoring and firmware updates alone do not confirm migration support.

Samsung 970 EVO Plus — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNot provided
FIND YOUR CONTENDERS

More products

Closest storage to this pair by shared key specifications. Not a popularity ranking.

See all 199 storage

Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.