An ATX AM5 motherboard with AMD B850: four DDR5 slots rated up to DDR5-8000+ (OC), a PCIe 5.0 x16 graphics slot plus three chipset slots, three M.2 slots (one PCIe 5.0 x4), Realtek 2.5 Gb Ethernet and Wi-Fi 6E.
Specifications checked 27 Sept 2026.
Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.
An ATX AM5 motherboard with AMD B850: four DDR5 slots rated up to DDR5-8400+ (OC), a PCIe 5.0 x16 graphics slot, four M.2 slots (two PCIe 5.0 x4), Realtek 5 Gb Ethernet and Wi-Fi 7.
Specifications checked 21 Sept 2026.
Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.
Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.
THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE
Visual facts
Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.
How to read this comparison
Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
“Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE8 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 08
Memory type, slots and limit
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI4 DDR5 DIMM slots; dual channel; up to 256 GB; up to DDR5-8000+ (OC); AMD EXPO; ECC and non-ECC unbuffered
ASUS lists up to 8000+ MT/s (OC) with Ryzen 9000, 8000 and 7000 processors and AEMP. · Manufacturer specification · Supported capacity, module population and profile speeds depend on the exact CPU, installed BIOS and validated memory kit. Profile support does not guarantee an overclock.
MSI MAG B850 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI4 DDR5 DIMM slots; dual channel; up to 256 GB; up to DDR5-8400+ (OC); AMD EXPO; non-ECC unbuffered; CUDIMM support
The overclocked speed is MSI's 1DPC 1R maximum with Ryzen 9000; MSI lists 1DPC 2R, 2DPC 1R and 2DPC 2R up to 6400+ MT/s. JEDEC speeds are 4800–5600 MT/s. CUDIMMs run in clock-driver bypass mode only. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capacity ceiling for this exact board, not included memory or a performance measurement. CPU, BIOS, DIMM population and the validated-module list determine support. DDR5 slots require DDR5 modules; DDR4 and DDR5 are not interchangeable. CUDIMM support is bypass mode only; compatibility depends on CPU and BIOS, and some combinations may not boot. Check the exact memory support list.
Plan the complete platform. Check the exact CPU-support list, required BIOS and memory validation before buying. PCIe generations and lane allocations can change with the processor. A socket match or slot count is not a guarantee that every component works together at its highest advertised setting.
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI4 DDR5 DIMM slots; dual channel; up to 256 GB; up to DDR5-8000+ (OC); AMD EXPO; ECC and non-ECC unbuffered
MSI MAG B850 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI4 DDR5 DIMM slots; dual channel; up to 256 GB; up to DDR5-8400+ (OC); AMD EXPO; non-ECC unbuffered; CUDIMM support
Sources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
ASUS lists up to 8000+ MT/s (OC) with Ryzen 9000, 8000 and 7000 processors and AEMP. · Manufacturer specification · Supported capacity, module population and profile speeds depend on the exact CPU, installed BIOS and validated memory kit. Profile support does not guarantee an overclock.
The overclocked speed is MSI's 1DPC 1R maximum with Ryzen 9000; MSI lists 1DPC 2R, 2DPC 1R and 2DPC 2R up to 6400+ MT/s. JEDEC speeds are 4800–5600 MT/s. CUDIMMs run in clock-driver bypass mode only. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capacity ceiling for this exact board, not included memory or a performance measurement. CPU, BIOS, DIMM population and the validated-module list determine support. DDR5 slots require DDR5 modules; DDR4 and DDR5 are not interchangeable. CUDIMM support is bypass mode only; compatibility depends on CPU and BIOS, and some combinations may not boot. Check the exact memory support list.
M.2_1 (PCIe 5.0 x4) and M.2_2 (PCIe 4.0 x4) are listed under the Ryzen processor and accept 2280 drives; M.2_3 (PCIe 4.0 x2) is listed under the B850 chipset and accepts 2242/2260/2280/22110. · Manufacturer specification · SATA6G_1/2 are disabled when either PCIe 3.0 x1-mode slot is in use. With Ryzen 8000, M.2_1 runs PCIe 4.0 x4 and M.2_2 PCIe 4.0 x4/x2.
M2_1 and M2_2 connect to the CPU (PCIe 5.0 x4); M2_3 (PCIe 4.0 x2) and M2_4 (PCIe 4.0 x4) connect to the chipset. M2_1 accepts drives up to 22110; the others up to 2280. · Manufacturer specification · With Ryzen 8000, M2_1 runs at PCIe 4.0 x4. M2_2 runs at PCIe 4.0 x2 with Ryzen 8500/8300, or PCIe 4.0 x4 with other Ryzen 8000 CPUs. PCI_E3 runs at x2 when M2_3 is used; selecting PCI_E3 x4 in BIOS disables M2_3.
Manufacturer specification · Onboard M.2 storage positions only. With Ryzen 8000, M2_1 runs at PCIe 4.0 x4. M2_2 runs at PCIe 4.0 x2 with Ryzen 8500/8300, or PCIe 4.0 x4 with other Ryzen 8000 CPUs. PCI_E3 runs at x2 when M2_3 is used; selecting PCI_E3 x4 in BIOS disables M2_3.
The PCIe 5.0 x16 slot is listed under the Ryzen processor; the other three under the B850 chipset. · Manufacturer specification · With Ryzen 8000 the first slot runs PCIe 4.0 x8/x4. Using either PCIe 3.0 slot disables SATA6G_1/2. See ASUS's PCIe bifurcation table.
All three slots are x16 length. PCI_E1 (PCIe 5.0 x16) uses CPU lanes; PCI_E2 (PCIe 3.0 x1) and PCI_E3 (PCIe 4.0 x4) use chipset lanes. · Manufacturer specification · PCI_E3 drops to x2 with M2_3 populated; selecting PCI_E3 x4 in BIOS disables M2_3. PCI_E1 runs at PCIe 4.0 x8 with Ryzen 8700/8600/8400 and PCIe 4.0 x4 with Ryzen 8500/8300.
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFIRealtek 2.5 Gb Ethernet; Wi-Fi 6E; Bluetooth 5.3
MSI MAG B850 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFIRealtek 8126VB 5 Gb Ethernet; Wi-Fi 7; Bluetooth 5.4
Sources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
Manufacturer specification · ASUS says the Wi-Fi 6E 6 GHz band is supported only in Windows 11 or later and depends on local regulations; Bluetooth versions may vary by module.
Manufacturer specification · Wi-Fi 7 requires supported Windows 11, drivers and access point; MSI specifies Windows 11 24H2 for full Wi-Fi 7 operation. 6 GHz availability depends on country rules. Bluetooth version depends on module vendor and drivers; no measured throughput is claimed.
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFIRealtek 7.1-channel HD audio codec (model not stated); up to 24-bit/192 kHz playback
MSI MAG B850 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFIRealtek ALC4080 codec; 7.1-channel
Sources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
Manufacturer specification · ASUS says 7.1 output needs a chassis HD audio front-panel module. A codec description is not an independent sound-quality measurement.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed onboard audio hardware, not a measured sound-quality result. Where alternatives are listed, no particular unseen controller revision is promised.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Rear Clear CMOS button
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFINot verified
MSI MAG B850 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFINot verified
Sources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
ASUS's complete back-panel list has no Clear CMOS button; it lists an internal Clear CMOS header instead. Omission is recorded as unconfirmed rather than a sourced absence. · Manufacturer specification
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Wired Ethernet
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFIRealtek 2.5 Gb Ethernet
MSI MAG B850 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFINot verified
Sources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
Manufacturer specification · Link-rate capability; real throughput depends on the connected network, cabling and workload. ASUS also lists ASUS LANGuard.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Listed memory overclocking profiles
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFIRyzen 9000, 8000, 7000: up to 8000+ MT/s (OC)
MSI MAG B850 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFINot verified
Sources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
Manufacturer specification · These are manufacturer-listed overclocking configurations, not guaranteed stock transfer rates or tested performance. CPU family and DIMM layout remain material.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
NVMe RAID modes
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFINot verified
MSI MAG B850 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFIRAID 0/1/10
Sources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
ASUS lists AMD RAIDXpert2 levels per CPU family (Ryzen 9000: 0/1/5/10; 8000: 0/1; 7000: 0/1/10) without stating which apply to NVMe versus SATA devices. · Manufacturer specification
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Listed operating systems
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFIWindows 11; Windows 10 64-bit
MSI MAG B850 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFINot verified
Sources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
Manufacturer specification · Individual features and drivers can have newer operating-system requirements; ASUS limits Wi-Fi 6E 6 GHz operation to Windows 11 or later.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Advertised voltage regulation
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI8 + 2 + 1 phase digital power design (DIGI+ VRM)
MSI MAG B850 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFINot verified
Sources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
Manufacturer specification · ASUS does not publish per-stage current ratings for this board on the checked pages. Not a measured VRM temperature or overclocking result.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Specification market
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFIASUS US documentation
MSI MAG B850 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFINot verified
Sources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
Manufacturer specification · The ASUS UK product page lists the same model; its UK specification page returned no specification text to a plain request on 27 September 2026. UK and US buying links are searches, not proof of stock, identical regional wireless modules, bundles or warranty.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
SATA RAID modes
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFINot verified
MSI MAG B850 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFINot verified
Sources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
ASUS lists AMD RAIDXpert2 levels per CPU family (Ryzen 9000: 0/1/5/10; 8000: 0/1; 7000: 0/1/10) without stating which apply to SATA versus NVMe devices. · Manufacturer specification
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Rear USB4 support
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFINo
MSI MAG B850 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFINot verified
Sources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
Manufacturer specification · ASUS's complete rear USB list (8 ports) has no USB4 port. The board has a Thunderbolt (USB4) header for a compatible add-in card.
Accepts ECC as well as non-ECC unbuffered DDR5 up to 8000+ MT/s (OC), supports CPUs up to 170 W, and ASUS lists Windows 10 64-bit as well as Windows 11.
Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.3 rather than Wi-Fi 7, eight rear USB ports with no USB4, a back-panel list with no Clear CMOS button (ASUS lists an internal Clear CMOS header), and an unnamed Realtek audio codec.
Manufacturer specification · ASUS lists support for CPUs up to 170 W. Check ASUS's exact CPU support list and its required BIOS; family support does not confirm the firmware installed on a retail board.
Manufacturer specification · Check MSI's exact CPU support list and its required BIOS. Family support does not confirm the firmware installed on a retail board.
Manufacturer specification · Individual features and drivers can have newer operating-system requirements; ASUS limits Wi-Fi 6E 6 GHz operation to Windows 11 or later.
Manufacturer specification · ASUS does not publish per-stage current ratings for this board on the checked pages. Not a measured VRM temperature or overclocking result.
ASUS lists up to 8000+ MT/s (OC) with Ryzen 9000, 8000 and 7000 processors and AEMP. · Manufacturer specification · Supported capacity, module population and profile speeds depend on the exact CPU, installed BIOS and validated memory kit. Profile support does not guarantee an overclock.
The overclocked speed is MSI's 1DPC 1R maximum with Ryzen 9000; MSI lists 1DPC 2R, 2DPC 1R and 2DPC 2R up to 6400+ MT/s. JEDEC speeds are 4800–5600 MT/s. CUDIMMs run in clock-driver bypass mode only. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capacity ceiling for this exact board, not included memory or a performance measurement. CPU, BIOS, DIMM population and the validated-module list determine support. DDR5 slots require DDR5 modules; DDR4 and DDR5 are not interchangeable. CUDIMM support is bypass mode only; compatibility depends on CPU and BIOS, and some combinations may not boot. Check the exact memory support list.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capacity ceiling for this exact board, not included memory or a performance measurement. CPU, BIOS, DIMM population and the validated-module list determine support. DDR5 slots require DDR5 modules; DDR4 and DDR5 are not interchangeable. CUDIMM support is bypass mode only; compatibility depends on CPU and BIOS, and some combinations may not boot. Check the exact memory support list.
Manufacturer specification · Physical DDR5 module positions, not included modules. Consult the board manual for population order and compatible capacities.
Manufacturer specification · These are manufacturer-listed overclocking configurations, not guaranteed stock transfer rates or tested performance. CPU family and DIMM layout remain material.
M.2_1 (PCIe 5.0 x4) and M.2_2 (PCIe 4.0 x4) are listed under the Ryzen processor and accept 2280 drives; M.2_3 (PCIe 4.0 x2) is listed under the B850 chipset and accepts 2242/2260/2280/22110. · Manufacturer specification · SATA6G_1/2 are disabled when either PCIe 3.0 x1-mode slot is in use. With Ryzen 8000, M.2_1 runs PCIe 4.0 x4 and M.2_2 PCIe 4.0 x4/x2.
M2_1 and M2_2 connect to the CPU (PCIe 5.0 x4); M2_3 (PCIe 4.0 x2) and M2_4 (PCIe 4.0 x4) connect to the chipset. M2_1 accepts drives up to 22110; the others up to 2280. · Manufacturer specification · With Ryzen 8000, M2_1 runs at PCIe 4.0 x4. M2_2 runs at PCIe 4.0 x2 with Ryzen 8500/8300, or PCIe 4.0 x4 with other Ryzen 8000 CPUs. PCI_E3 runs at x2 when M2_3 is used; selecting PCI_E3 x4 in BIOS disables M2_3.
Manufacturer specification · Onboard M.2 storage positions only. With Ryzen 8000, M2_1 runs at PCIe 4.0 x4. M2_2 runs at PCIe 4.0 x2 with Ryzen 8500/8300, or PCIe 4.0 x4 with other Ryzen 8000 CPUs. PCI_E3 runs at x2 when M2_3 is used; selecting PCI_E3 x4 in BIOS disables M2_3.
Manufacturer specification · SATA 6 Gb/s connectors, not supplied drives or power cables. With Ryzen 8000, M2_1 runs at PCIe 4.0 x4. M2_2 runs at PCIe 4.0 x2 with Ryzen 8500/8300, or PCIe 4.0 x4 with other Ryzen 8000 CPUs. PCI_E3 runs at x2 when M2_3 is used; selecting PCI_E3 x4 in BIOS disables M2_3.
ASUS lists AMD RAIDXpert2 levels per CPU family (Ryzen 9000: 0/1/5/10; 8000: 0/1; 7000: 0/1/10) without stating which apply to NVMe versus SATA devices. · Manufacturer specification
Expansion slots and electrical linksDifferentSources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
The PCIe 5.0 x16 slot is listed under the Ryzen processor; the other three under the B850 chipset. · Manufacturer specification · With Ryzen 8000 the first slot runs PCIe 4.0 x8/x4. Using either PCIe 3.0 slot disables SATA6G_1/2. See ASUS's PCIe bifurcation table.
All three slots are x16 length. PCI_E1 (PCIe 5.0 x16) uses CPU lanes; PCI_E2 (PCIe 3.0 x1) and PCI_E3 (PCIe 4.0 x4) use chipset lanes. · Manufacturer specification · PCI_E3 drops to x2 with M2_3 populated; selecting PCI_E3 x4 in BIOS disables M2_3. PCI_E1 runs at PCIe 4.0 x8 with Ryzen 8700/8600/8400 and PCIe 4.0 x4 with Ryzen 8500/8300.
DisplayPort 1.4: up to 8K 30 Hz; HDMI 2.1: 4K 60 Hz
Not provided
Audio hardwareDifferentSources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
Manufacturer specification · ASUS says 7.1 output needs a chassis HD audio front-panel module. A codec description is not an independent sound-quality measurement.
Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed onboard audio hardware, not a measured sound-quality result. Where alternatives are listed, no particular unseen controller revision is promised.
Realtek 7.1-channel HD audio codec (model not stated); up to 24-bit/192 kHz playback
Realtek ALC4080 codec; 7.1-channel
Rear USB4 supportSources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
Manufacturer specification · ASUS's complete rear USB list (8 ports) has no USB4 port. The board has a Thunderbolt (USB4) header for a compatible add-in card.
4 USB 2.0; 4 USB 5 Gb/s Type-A; 1 USB 20 Gb/s Type-C
Network interfacesDifferentSources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
Manufacturer specification · ASUS says the Wi-Fi 6E 6 GHz band is supported only in Windows 11 or later and depends on local regulations; Bluetooth versions may vary by module.
Manufacturer specification · Wi-Fi 7 requires supported Windows 11, drivers and access point; MSI specifies Windows 11 24H2 for full Wi-Fi 7 operation. 6 GHz availability depends on country rules. Bluetooth version depends on module vendor and drivers; no measured throughput is claimed.
Realtek 8126VB 5 Gb Ethernet; Wi-Fi 7; Bluetooth 5.4
Wired EthernetSources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
Manufacturer specification · Link-rate capability; real throughput depends on the connected network, cabling and workload. ASUS also lists ASUS LANGuard.
Manufacturer specification · The ASUS UK product page lists the same model; its UK specification page returned no specification text to a plain request on 27 September 2026. UK and US buying links are searches, not proof of stock, identical regional wireless modules, bundles or warranty.
Show unverified (2)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
SATA RAID modesSources
ASUS PRIME B850-PLUS WIFI
ASUS lists AMD RAIDXpert2 levels per CPU family (Ryzen 9000: 0/1/5/10; 8000: 0/1; 7000: 0/1/10) without stating which apply to SATA versus NVMe devices. · Manufacturer specification
ASUS's complete back-panel list has no Clear CMOS button; it lists an internal Clear CMOS header instead. Omission is recorded as unconfirmed rather than a sourced absence. · Manufacturer specification
Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.