HomeSmartphonesComparisonUK & US shopping
YOUR PHONE FACE-OFF

iPhone 17e vs iPhone 18 Pro Max

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact variants · Checked 9 Sept 2026
Apple256 GB

iPhone 17e

6.1″ · OLED · Apple A19 · 6 CPU cores · 4 GPU cores · 16-core Neural Engine

256 GB · Black · UK A3634 · nano-SIM + eSIM · MHRV4QN/A
Apple iPhone 17e in Black, official product view
40%Spec
match
Black
PricesCheck retailers

Search links open retailer results.

Price history · UKNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay UK daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Price history · USNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay US daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Affiliate links

We may earn a commission. Search results can include other models; check the exact variant and final price with the retailer.

THE CHOICE IS PERSONAL

Which one
is your one?

Two great phones.
Different things to love.

Display93
8Camera82
72Battery100
Make it personal How are scores calculated?
Apple YOUR MATCH

iPhone 18 Pro Max

6.9″ · 120 Hz

256 GB · Burgundy · UK A3717 · nano-SIM + eSIM · MJXQ4QN/ARelease: 18 Sept 2026
iPhone 18 Pro Max in Burgundy, official Apple front and rear product views
91%Spec
match
Burgundy
PricesCheck retailers

Search links open retailer results.

Price history · UKNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay UK daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Price history · USNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay US daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Affiliate links

We may earn a commission. Search results can include other models; check the exact variant and final price with the retailer.

EVERYDAY PRIORITIESiPhone 18 Pro Max takes the lead.

51.2 points ahead across your selected camera, battery priorities.

Change what matters

Published-spec match · for your selected priorities. Scores compare published capabilities, not lab-tested quality. Camera image quality and independent performance tests are not rated. See scoring

Decision confidence: Clearer specification match · 51.2 points apart

The leading product stays the same when each available priority moves one step. This checks the published-spec model, not lab-tested quality.

Display scoring is unavailable for this pair. Known hardware specs still appear below; default scores use only shared, verified categories.

OVERVIEW

Compare the facts.

See each difference separately. Select a topic for its sources and conditions.

SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE6 topics

Bar length shows the stated amount. Use your priorities to decide which amount suits you.

SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 06

Pixel density

Pixels per inch describe display density. This is not an overall display-quality or colour-accuracy score.

Explore the full specifications
THE DIFFERENCES THAT MATTER

A quick read on the trade-offs.

Every specification
iPhone 17e

79g lighter.

Published device weight, without a case.

iPhone 17e
170g
iPhone 18 Pro Max
249g

Schematic balance · not a physical simulation

iPhone 18 Pro Max

0.8″ larger diagonal.

Bigger is a preference, not a quality score.

iPhone 17e
6.1
iPhone 18 Pro Max
6.9

Relative diagonals · illustrative shape, not actual size

iPhone 18 Pro Max

A different perspective.

Dedicated telephoto reach. No digital or crop zoom.

iPhone 17e
No telephoto
iPhone 18 Pro Max
4×

Lens illustration · not an image-quality test

MANUFACTURER CLAIMS

Playback on paper.

Up-to claims. Different test methods; no endurance winner.

iPhone 17e
Up to 26h
iPhone 18 Pro Max
Up to 43h

Shared 50-hour scale · not mixed-use battery life

BEYOND THE TOTAL

Why choose each?

Different strengths. Your call.

REASONS TO CONSIDER

iPhone 18 Pro Max

  • A dedicated telephoto camera

    4× native telephoto; the other phone has no separate telephoto module. Reach is not an image-quality verdict.

    Camera-model input; its weight follows your priorities.
  • More screen, if you want it

    6.9″ vs 6.1″ diagonally. Larger is a preference, not an automatic win.

    Preference, not included in the match score.
Sources behind these differences 2

Published facts, not hands-on recommendations. These preferences do not add extra points to the match score; no tested battery gains are inferred.

GO A LITTLE DEEPER

Where each phone shines.

Explore the numbers behind the match.

iPhone 17e iPhone 18 Pro Max
Display explainedNot enough evidence to score

iPhone 17e: Required display inputs are incomplete.

iPhone 18 Pro Max: Published brightness, pixel density and maximum refresh under the existing capability model. This is not a laboratory display rating.

Explore the sources
YOUR PHONE, YOUR RULES

What matters to you?

Make the comparison fit your life.

Any must-haves?

Your matchiPhone 18 Pro Max
40vs91
Unknown must-haves pause the recommendation.
COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

All specs44 specificationsiPhone 17eiPhone 18 Pro Max
Screen size
6.1″
Nominal diagonal; actual viewable area is smaller.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
6.9″
Nominal diagonal; actual viewable area is smaller.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Published peak brightnessManufacturer peak claims use different test conditions.
1200 nits
Published HDR peak · HDR peak claim; not an outdoor or full-screen measurement.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
3000 nits
Published outdoor peak · Manufacturer claim, not an independent measurement.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Maximum refresh rate
Not verifiedMaximum refresh is not stated in the checked Apple specification.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
120HzAdaptive ProMotion; refresh depends on content.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Native telephoto reach
No dedicated lensDedicated telephoto reach · The 2× mode crops the main sensor; there is no dedicated telephoto module.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
Dedicated 100 mm equivalent telephoto.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
8K video recording
NoThe complete recording-mode list reaches 4K at 60 fps.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
NoApple lists recording up to 4K at 120 fps; 8K is not included in the complete published recording specifications.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Claimed video playbackUp-to manufacturer claims. Playback protocols differ.
26 hours
Claimed local video playback · Apple UK up-to claim, without an external battery; not mixed-use battery life.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
43 hours
Apple UK local-video claim; not a mixed-use endurance test.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Published support term
Not verifiedUpdate policy
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
Not verifiedUpdate policy
SourceApple announces iPhone 18 Pro Max
Display specification
6.1-inch OLED; 2532 × 1170; 460 ppi; maximum refresh rate not stated in the checked specification
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
6.9-inch OLED · 2868 × 1320 · 460 ppi · adaptive refresh up to 120 Hz
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Chipset
Apple A19 · 6 CPU cores · 4 GPU cores · 16-core Neural Engine
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
Apple A20 Pro · 6 CPU cores · 7 GPU cores · dual 16-core Neural Engine
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
RAM and storage configuration
256 GB fixed storage; RAM capacity is not stated in the checked Apple specification.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e configurations
256 GB fixed storage; RAM capacity is not published in Apple’s specification
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max, 256 GB, Burgundy
Camera system
48 MP main, f/1.6; 12 MP 2× crop mode from the main sensor; 12 MP front camera. There is one rear camera module.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
48 MP main with f/1.48, f/1.8, f/2.8 and f/4 apertures; 48 MP ultrawide; 48 MP 4× telephoto; 8× optical-quality crop mode
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Battery and charging
Apple claim: up to 26 h local video or 21 h streaming; up to 50% charge in 30 minutes with a separately sold 20W or higher USB-C adapter. MagSafe / Qi2 charging up to 15W. Battery capacity in mAh is not stated.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
UK claim: up to 43 h local video; up to 50% in 15 minutes with a 60W-capable USB-C adapter supporting AVS; adapter sold separately. Battery capacity in mAh is not published.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Dimensions
146.7 × 71.5 × 7.8 mm (height × width × thickness)
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
163.4 × 78 × 8.75 mm (height × width × thickness)
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Regional SIM / network configuration
UK A3634; nano-SIM and eSIM; dual eSIM also supported. 5G sub-6 GHz; carrier services need separate confirmation.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
UK model A3717: nano-SIM + eSIM and dual-eSIM support; 5G sub-6 GHz. Carrier services need separate confirmation.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
RAM
Not verifiedNot stated in the checked manufacturer specification; not treated as zero or absent.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
Not verifiedNot published by Apple in the checked specification.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Panel technology
Not verified
Display resolution
Not verified
Claimed streamed video
21 hoursApple UK up-to claim.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
Time to 50% wired charge
30 minutesApple claim using a separately sold 20W or higher USB-C adapter.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
15 minutesApple claim with a separately sold 60W-capable adapter supporting AVS.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
MagSafe / Qi2 charging
15 WCompatible charger and adapter required.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
25 WCompatible charger and adapter required.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Ingress protection
IP68Apple laboratory condition: 6 m for 30 minutes. Resistance is not permanent.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
IP68Apple controlled test: 6 metres for 30 minutes; resistance is not permanent.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Optical-quality zoom
2 ×Main-sensor crop mode, not a separate telephoto lens.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
8 ×Manufacturer crop-mode claim; not a separate lens.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Front cameras
18 MP Center Stage · f/1.9 · autofocus
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Published professional camera workflows
0The model counts RAW stills, professional codecs, log capture and external production tools. The checked capture formats list HEIF/JPEG and HEVC/H.264; none of these four workflows is listed.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
4The existing capability model counts RAW stills, professional codecs, log capture and external production tools. Apple lists ProRAW, ProRes, Apple Log 2 and Genlock.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Connections
USB-C; USB 2 data up to 480 Mb/s
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
USB-C · DisplayPort · USB 3 up to 10 Gb/s
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Wireless connectivity
Wi-Fi 6 · Bluetooth 5.3 · NFC
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e technical specifications
Wi-Fi 7 · Bluetooth 6 · Thread
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Apple UK reference price
£699Exact 256 GB configuration price checked on 10 September 2026; not a current retailer quote.
SourceApple UK iPhone 17e configurations
£1,299Announced 256 GB configuration price; not a current retailer offer.
SourceApple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max, 256 GB, Burgundy
Announced
Not verified
Pre-orders open
Not verified
Announced availability
Not verified
US specification difference
Not verified
US model is eSIM-only; Apple lists 45 h local video and 40 h streamed video. Those figures are not substituted for this UK model.
SourceApple US iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications
Exact variants · Manufacturer specificationsView sources
GO BEYOND THE SPECS

A little perspective. A better decision.

Make this comparison yours.
THE PRICE THAT CHANGES EVERYTHING

What price changes your mind?

A great phone. An even better deal. Find the point where the value flips.

iPhone 18 Pro Max matches value at£1,597.81
vs iPhone 17e
£699.00 reference MSRP
MORE SCORE PER £
£275.00£1,087.50£1,900.00
iPhone 18 Pro MaxiPhone 17e reference
£1,299.00
iPhone 18 Pro Max offers more score per £ at this price.

A score-per-price simulation, not an objective buying verdict. Starts from reference MSRP; no live retailer offers.

NO LOGOS. JUST YOU.

Would you choose it blind?

Forget the brand for a moment. Which set of specs feels more like you?

Pick a phone. Then meet your match.

Manufacturer specifications. Your choice doesn’t change the comparison above.

Good comparisons start with good sources.7 cited sources for this pair. Every number has a story.See the evidence

Your selected categories: Camera, Battery. Scores reflect published capabilities, not hands-on testing. Manufacturer battery claims can use different test conditions. Verified specifications remain visible even where a category cannot be scored.

How we calculate scores

Apple iPhone 17e

256 GB · checked 10 Sept 2026

Your weighted score39.8 / 100Selected categories: Camera, Battery.

(8.00 × 1 + 71.62 × 1) ÷ 2

DisplayNot scored

Required display inputs are incomplete.

Not included in your current weighted score.

Missing: Comparable display specifications.

Camera8.0 / 100

The existing camera-capability model uses lens reach, modules and published recording workflows. It does not measure photo quality.

Selected weight: 1.

medium confidence · 100% model coverage
Native telephoto reachSource value: 0
0.00 × 25% = 0.00

Main-sensor crop mode, not a separate telephoto lens.

Apple
Published optical-quality reachSource value: 2
20.00 × 15% = 3.00

Main-sensor crop mode, not a separate telephoto lens.

Apple
Published pro workflowsSource value: 0
0.00 × 35% = 0.00

The model counts RAW stills, professional codecs, log capture and external production tools. The checked capture formats list HEIF/JPEG and HEVC/H.264; none of these four workflows is listed.

Apple
8K recording availableSource value: 0
0.00 × 5% = 0.00Apple
Native rear camera modulesSource value: 1
25.00 × 20% = 5.00Apple

Category score = 0.00 + 3.00 + 0.00 + 0.00 + 5.00 = 8.00

Battery71.6 / 100

Uses the listed playback mode and short charging claim. Manufacturer protocols differ; this is not measured endurance.

Selected weight: 1.

low confidence · 100% model coverage
Manufacturer-claimed local video playbackSource value: 26
74.29 × 65% = 48.29

Apple UK up-to claim, without an external battery; not mixed-use battery life.

Apple
Manufacturer-claimed charging rateSource value: 1.67
66.67 × 35% = 23.33

Apple claim using a separately sold 20W or higher USB-C adapter. 50 divided by 30 minutes; not a sustained charging rate.

Apple

Category score = 48.29 + 23.33 = 71.62

PerformanceNot scored

Comparable independent CPU, GPU and sustained-performance measurements are not available here.

Not included in your current weighted score.

Missing: Independent benchmarks.

LongevityNot scored

The published update policy is listed separately; remaining support is not converted into a quality score.

Not included in your current weighted score.

Missing: Comparable remaining-support scoring methodology.

Specifications & verification
Weight170 gmanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Width71.5 mmmanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Thickness7.8 mmmanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Display size6.1 inchesmanufacturer · high confidence

Nominal diagonal; actual viewable area is smaller.

Apple
Peak brightness1200 nitsmanufacturer · high confidence

HDR peak claim; not an outdoor or full-screen measurement.

Apple
Claimed video playback26 hoursmanufacturer · high confidence

Apple UK up-to claim, without an external battery; not mixed-use battery life.

Apple
Claimed charging rate1.6666666666666667% per minutecalculated · low confidence

Apple claim using a separately sold 20W or higher USB-C adapter. 50 divided by 30 minutes; not a sustained charging rate.

Apple
Published total supportNot verified

not published

Wireless chargingYesmanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Reverse wireless chargingNot verified

not published

Headphone jackNot verified

not published

Expandable storageNot verified

not published

eSIM onlyNomanufacturer · high confidenceApple
IP ratingIP68manufacturer · high confidence

Apple laboratory condition: 6 m for 30 minutes. Resistance is not permanent.

Apple
RAMNot verified

not published

Apple
Pixel density460 ppimanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Maximum refresh rateNot verified

not published

Apple
Native telephoto reachmanufacturer · high confidence

The 2× mode crops the main sensor; there is no dedicated telephoto module.

Apple
Claimed optical-quality reachmanufacturer · high confidence

Main-sensor crop mode, not a separate telephoto lens.

Apple
Rear camera modules1manufacturer · high confidenceApple
8K recordingNomanufacturer · high confidence

The complete recording-mode list reaches 4K at 60 fps.

Apple
Reference MSRP£699.00Apple
All sources3
  1. Apple UK iPhone 17e technical specificationsApple · accessed 2026-09-10
  2. Apple UK iPhone 17e configurationsApple · accessed 2026-09-10
  3. iPhone 17e exact UK configurationApple · accessed 2026-09-10

Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max

256 GB · checked 9 Sept 2026

Your weighted score91.0 / 100Selected categories: Camera, Battery.

(93.00 × 0 + 82.00 × 1 + 100.00 × 1) ÷ 2

Display93.0 / 100

Published brightness, pixel density and maximum refresh under the existing capability model. This is not a laboratory display rating.

Not included in your current weighted score.

medium confidence · 100% model coverage
Published peak brightnessSource value: 3000
100.00 × 40% = 40.00

Manufacturer-published peak figure; not an independent measurement.

Apple
Pixel densitySource value: 460
80.00 × 35% = 28.00

Published or explicitly calculated pixel density.

Apple
Maximum adaptive refresh rateSource value: 120
100.00 × 25% = 25.00Apple

Category score = 40.00 + 28.00 + 25.00 = 93.00

Camera82.0 / 100

The existing camera-capability model uses lens reach, modules and published recording workflows. It does not measure photo quality.

Selected weight: 1.

medium confidence · 100% model coverage
Native telephoto reachSource value: 4
80.00 × 25% = 20.00

Manufacturer crop-mode claim; not a separate lens.

Apple
Published optical-quality reachSource value: 8
80.00 × 15% = 12.00

Manufacturer crop-mode claim; not a separate lens.

Apple
Published pro workflowsSource value: 4
100.00 × 35% = 35.00

The existing capability model counts RAW stills, professional codecs, log capture and external production tools. Apple lists ProRAW, ProRes, Apple Log 2 and Genlock.

Apple
8K recording availableSource value: 0
0.00 × 5% = 0.00Apple
Native rear camera modulesSource value: 3
75.00 × 20% = 15.00Apple

Category score = 20.00 + 12.00 + 35.00 + 0.00 + 15.00 = 82.00

Battery100.0 / 100

Uses the listed playback mode and short charging claim. Manufacturer protocols differ; this is not measured endurance.

Selected weight: 1.

low confidence · 100% model coverage
Manufacturer-claimed local video playbackSource value: 43
100.00 × 65% = 65.00

Apple UK local-video claim; not a mixed-use endurance test.

Apple
Manufacturer-claimed charging rateSource value: 3.33
100.00 × 35% = 35.00

Apple claim with a separately sold 60W-capable adapter supporting AVS. 50 divided by 15 minutes; not a sustained charging rate.

Apple

Category score = 65.00 + 35.00 = 100.00

PerformanceNot scored

Comparable independent CPU, GPU and sustained-performance measurements are not available here.

Not included in your current weighted score.

Missing: Independent benchmarks.

LongevityNot scored

The published update policy is listed separately; remaining support is not converted into a quality score.

Not included in your current weighted score.

Missing: Comparable remaining-support scoring methodology.

Specifications & verification
Weight249 gmanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Width78 mmmanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Thickness8.75 mmmanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Display size6.9 inchesmanufacturer · high confidence

Nominal diagonal; actual viewable area is smaller.

Apple
Peak brightness3000 nitsmanufacturer · high confidence

Manufacturer claim, not an independent measurement.

Apple
Claimed video playback43 hoursmanufacturer · high confidence

Apple UK local-video claim; not a mixed-use endurance test.

Apple
Claimed charging rate3.3333333333333335% per minutecalculated · low confidence

Apple claim with a separately sold 60W-capable adapter supporting AVS. 50 divided by 15 minutes; not a sustained charging rate.

Apple
Published total supportNot verified

not published

Wireless chargingYesmanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Reverse wireless chargingNot verified

not published

Headphone jackNot verified

not published

Expandable storageNot verified

not published

eSIM onlyNomanufacturer · high confidenceApple
IP ratingIP68manufacturer · high confidence

Apple controlled test: 6 metres for 30 minutes; resistance is not permanent.

Apple
RAMNot verified

not published

Apple
Pixel density460 ppimanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Maximum refresh rate120 Hzmanufacturer · high confidence

Adaptive ProMotion; refresh depends on content.

Apple
Native telephoto reachmanufacturer · high confidence

Dedicated 100 mm equivalent telephoto.

Apple
Claimed optical-quality reachmanufacturer · high confidence

Manufacturer crop-mode claim; not a separate lens.

Apple
Rear camera modules3manufacturer · high confidenceApple
8K recordingNomanufacturer · high confidence

Apple lists recording up to 4K at 120 fps; 8K is not included in the complete published recording specifications.

Apple
Reference MSRP£1,299.00Apple
All sources4
  1. Apple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specificationsApple · accessed 2026-09-09
  2. Apple US iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specificationsApple · accessed 2026-09-09
  3. Apple UK iPhone 18 Pro Max, 256 GB, BurgundyApple · accessed 2026-09-09
  4. Apple announces iPhone 18 Pro MaxApple · accessed 2026-09-09
THE BEST PHONE IS PERSONAL.

Make your next choice a clear one.

Your priorities. The real differences. All in one place.