Skip to comparison
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
MOTHERBOARDS · YOUR NEXT FACE-OFF

MSI A520M-A PRO vs MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact models · UK & US buying links

Compared products

YOUR FIRST CHOICE

MSI A520M-A PRO

AM4 · Micro-ATX · DDR4 · board-only configuration · MSI global specification

MSI A520M-A PRO motherboard, top view of the exact global model; CPU and memory are not installed
Exact model & source notes

A compact Micro-ATX AM4 motherboard with AMD A520: two DDR4 slots (up to 64 GB, DDR4-4600+ OC), a PCIe 3.0 x16 graphics slot, one M.2 slot and Realtek 1 Gb Ethernet.

Specifications checked 21 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications
WHICH SUITS YOU?

Choose the A520M-A PRO for

  • A Micro-ATX board

Choose the MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI for

  • An ATX board
  • More stated DIMM slots: 4 vs 2
  • Higher stated maximum listed memory: 128 GB vs 64 GB
Built from verified specifications that differ. Not a rating or a recommendation.
See the 17 verified differences
THE CONTENDER

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

AM4 · ATX · DDR4 · board-only configuration · MSI global specification

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI motherboard, top view of the exact global model; CPU and memory are not installed
Exact model & source notes

An ATX AM4 motherboard with AMD B550: four DDR4 slots rated up to DDR4-5100+ (OC), a PCIe 4.0 x16 graphics slot, two M.2 slots (one PCIe 4.0 x4), Realtek 2.5 Gb Ethernet and AMD Wi-Fi 6E.

Specifications checked 21 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications

A520M-A PRO UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE

Visual facts

Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.

How to read this comparison
  • Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
  • “Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
  • Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE7 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 07

Chipset

Different hardware. A chip name or generation does not quantify real-world performance.

MSI A520M-A PROAMD A520

Manufacturer specification

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFIAMD B550

Manufacturer specification

Explore the full specifications

Plan the complete platform. Check the exact CPU-support list, required BIOS and memory validation before buying. PCIe generations and lane allocations can change with the processor. A socket match or slot count is not a guarantee that every component works together at its highest advertised setting.

WHAT CHANGES BETWEEN THEM?

Key differences

Full specifications ↓

17 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 7 are also drawn in Visual facts above. Missing information stays separate.

Form factor

In Visual facts
MSI A520M-A PROMicro-ATX; 236 × 200 mm
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFIATX; 305 × 244 mm
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Board dimensions, not retail packaging. Check case mounting positions, clearance and cable routing.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Board dimensions, not retail packaging. Check case mounting positions, clearance and cable routing.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Memory type, slots and limit

In Visual facts
MSI A520M-A PRO2 DDR4 DIMM slots; dual channel; up to 64 GB; up to DDR4-4600+ (OC); A-XMP; non-ECC unbuffered
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI4 DDR4 DIMM slots; dual channel; up to 128 GB; up to DDR4-5100+ (OC); A-XMP; non-ECC unbuffered
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

The overclocked speed is MSI's 1DPC 1R maximum; MSI lists 1DPC 2R up to 3866 MHz. JEDEC speeds run up to DDR4-3200. · Manufacturer specification · CPU, BIOS and validated DIMM population determine supported capacity and speeds. DDR4 and DDR5 are not interchangeable.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

The overclocked speed is MSI's 1DPC 1R maximum; MSI lists 1DPC 2R up to 3866, 2DPC 1R up to 4000 and 2DPC 2R up to 3600 MHz. JEDEC speeds run up to DDR4-3200. · Manufacturer specification · CPU, BIOS and validated DIMM population determine supported capacity and speeds. DDR4 and DDR5 are not interchangeable.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

DIMM slots

In Visual facts
MSI A520M-A PRO2
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI4
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Physical DDR4 module positions, not included modules. Consult the board manual for population order and compatible capacities.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Physical DDR4 module positions, not included modules. Consult the board manual for population order and compatible capacities.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Maximum listed memory

In Visual facts
MSI A520M-A PRO64 GB
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI128 GB
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capacity ceiling for this exact board, not included memory or a performance measurement. CPU, BIOS, DIMM population and the validated-module list determine support. DDR4 slots require DDR4 modules; DDR4 and DDR5 are not interchangeable.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capacity ceiling for this exact board, not included memory or a performance measurement. CPU, BIOS, DIMM population and the validated-module list determine support. DDR4 slots require DDR4 modules; DDR4 and DDR5 are not interchangeable.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Storage interfaces

In Visual facts
MSI A520M-A PRO1 × M.2 PCIe 3.0 x4; M.2 slot also supports SATA; 4 × SATA 6 Gb/s
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI1 × M.2 PCIe 4.0 x4; 1 × M.2 PCIe 3.0 x4; M2_1 also supports SATA; 6 × SATA 6 Gb/s
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

The M.2 slot connects to the CPU. · Manufacturer specification · With Athlon processors with Radeon Vega Graphics the M.2 slot works in SATA mode only. It accepts 2242/2260/2280 drives.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

M2_1 connects to the CPU; M2_2 connects to the B550 chipset. · Manufacturer specification · M2_1 runs at PCIe 4.0 or 3.0 depending on the installed processor. If M2_2, PCI_E2 and PCI_E3 are all populated, PCI_E3 is unavailable and M2_2 runs at x2.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Show 11 more verified differences

Onboard M.2 storage slots

In Visual facts
MSI A520M-A PRO1
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI2
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Onboard M.2 storage positions only. With Athlon processors with Radeon Vega Graphics, MSI lists SATA mode only for M.2. Supported M.2 lengths are 2242/2260/2280; verify the exact processor support list.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Onboard M.2 storage positions only. M.2 generation depends on the CPU. If M2_2, PCI_E2 and PCI_E3 are populated simultaneously, PCI_E3 is unavailable and M2_2 runs at x2.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Secondary expansion links

MSI A520M-A PRO1 PCIe 3.0 x1 slot
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI1 long PCIe 3.0 slot wired x4; 2 PCIe 3.0 x1 slots
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · With M2_2, PCI_E2 and PCI_E3 populated together, PCI_E3 is disabled and M2_2 runs x2.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Network interfaces

MSI A520M-A PRORealtek 8111H 1 Gb Ethernet
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFIRealtek 8125B 2.5 Gb Ethernet; AMD Wi-Fi 6E; Bluetooth 5.2
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Wired Ethernet only; MSI lists no Wi-Fi or Bluetooth hardware for this board.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · 6 GHz availability depends on country rules, operating system and drivers. Link capabilities are not measured throughput.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Onboard audio hardware

MSI A520M-A PRORealtek ALC892 or ALC897 codec; 7.1-channel
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFIRealtek ALC897 codec; 7.1-channel
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed onboard audio hardware, not a measured sound-quality result. Where alternatives are listed, no particular unseen controller revision is promised.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed onboard audio hardware, not a measured sound-quality result. Where alternatives are listed, no particular unseen controller revision is promised.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Fan and pump headers

MSI A520M-A PRO1 CPU; 1 system fan header
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI1 CPU; 1 pump; 6 system fan headers
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Counts do not establish connector current limits.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Board headers, not supplied fans or an assertion of current limits.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Processor-dependent display outputs

MSI A520M-A PROHDMI 2.1: up to 4096×2160 at 60 Hz; DVI-D: up to 1920×1200 at 60 Hz
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFIHDMI 2.1 and DisplayPort: up to 4096×2160 at 60 Hz
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Requires a processor with integrated graphics; supported modes depend on the CPU.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Requires integrated CPU graphics; supported modes depend on processor.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Memory population OC limits

MSI A520M-A PRO1DPC 1R: 4600 MHz; 1DPC 2R: 3866 MHz
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI1DPC 1R up to 5100; 1DPC 2R up to 3866; 2DPC 1R up to 4000; 2DPC 2R up to 3600
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

MSI labels these memory speeds in MHz (manufacturer notation); they are the rated data rates. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer A-XMP/OC limits, not guaranteed stability or measured performance. CPU, BIOS and memory-module compatibility apply.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

MSI labels these memory speeds in MHz (manufacturer notation); they are the rated data rates. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer OC configurations, not guaranteed kit speed or measured application performance. CPU, BIOS, memory rank and DIMMs per channel determine support.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Primary PCIe link

MSI A520M-A PROx16 slot: CPU PCIe 3.0 up to x16
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFIPCI_E1: PCIe 4.0 x16
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · x16 with Ryzen 5000/5000G/4000G/3000; x8 with Ryzen 3000G; x4 with Athlon with Radeon Graphics processors. Check the CPU support list for the exact processor.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · PCIe 4.0 or 3.0 depending on the installed processor; not a measured graphics performance result.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

SATA storage ports

MSI A520M-A PRO4
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI6
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · SATA 6 Gb/s connectors, not supplied drives or power cables. With Athlon processors with Radeon Vega Graphics, MSI lists SATA mode only for M.2. Supported M.2 lengths are 2242/2260/2280; verify the exact processor support list.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · SATA 6 Gb/s connectors, not supplied drives or power cables. M.2 generation depends on the CPU. If M2_2, PCI_E2 and PCI_E3 are populated simultaneously, PCI_E3 is unavailable and M2_2 runs at x2.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Front USB header capacity

MSI A520M-A PRO4 USB 2.0; 2 USB 5 Gb/s
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI4 USB 2.0; 2 USB 5 Gb/s Type-A; 1 USB 5 Gb/s Type-C
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Internal-header capacity; requires compatible case ports and wiring. Not rear-panel sockets.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Requires compatible case ports and cabling; not rear sockets.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Rear USB ports

MSI A520M-A PRO2 USB 2.0; 4 USB 5 Gb/s Type-A
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI2 USB 2.0; 2 USB 5 Gb/s Type-A; 1 USB 10 Gb/s Type-A; 1 USB 10 Gb/s Type-C
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · The detailed specification identifies the two rear USB 2.0 ports as Type-A.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Port inventory and interface ratings, not simultaneous measured throughput or charging power.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Configuration & compatibility details (1)

CPU support / BIOS source

MSI A520M-A PROAMD Ryzen 5000 / 5000 G-Series / 4000 G-Series / 3000 / 3000 G-Series
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFIAMD Ryzen 5000 / 5000 G-Series / 4000 G-Series / 3000 Series
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Check MSI's exact CPU support list and its required BIOS. Family support does not confirm the firmware installed on a retail board.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Check MSI's exact CPU support list and its required BIOS. Family support does not confirm the firmware installed on a retail board.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

These descriptions or measurements differ. Wording alone does not establish a different capability; check the exact configuration.

Missing or non-comparable evidence (5)

Rear Flash BIOS button

MSI A520M-A PRONot verified
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFIYes
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

MSI's rear-panel list for this board does not mention a Flash BIOS button; check the manual if you need BIOS flashback. · Manufacturer specification

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Button presence only. Recovery procedure and USB preparation require the exact manual.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Diagnostic indicators

MSI A520M-A PROEZ Debug LED
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFINot verified
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · MSI's datasheet lists EZ Debug LED without the LED count; it is not a numeric POST code display.

MSI A520M-A PRO — exact model datasheet
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

ECC memory operating mode

MSI A520M-A PROECC UDIMM accepted in non-ECC mode
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFINot verified
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · ECC modules run in non-ECC mode, so error correction is not active.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

MSI lists ECC UDIMM support for this board but does not say whether ECC modules run in ECC or non-ECC mode, so whether error correction is active is unknown. · Manufacturer specification

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Expansion/storage lane sharing

MSI A520M-A PRONot verified
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFIWith M2_2, PCI_E2 and PCI_E3 populated together, PCI_E3 is disabled and M2_2 runs x2.
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

No source recorded for this side.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Plan storage drives and expansion cards together; this restriction applies to this board's slot wiring.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

NVMe RAID modes

MSI A520M-A PRONot verified
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFIRAID 0/1
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

MSI lists RAID modes for SATA drives only; NVMe RAID support is not stated. · Manufacturer specification

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Requires compatible drives and array configuration; no data protection guarantee.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

2 shared fields have the same recorded value.

WHAT EACH CHOICE ASKS OF YOU

What it brings and what to check

MSI A520M-A PRO

What it brings

  • HDMI 2.1 (up to 4096 × 2160 at 60 Hz) and DVI-D outputs for processors with integrated graphics, plus four rear 5 Gb/s USB ports.
  • Memory rated up to DDR4-4600+ (OC) in a compact 236 × 200 mm board.

What to check

  • Only two DDR4 slots (64 GB), one M.2 slot at PCIe 3.0 x4 (SATA only with Athlon processors), 1 Gb Ethernet and no Wi-Fi.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

What it brings

  • Realtek 2.5 Gb Ethernet, AMD Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2, plus a rear 10 Gb/s USB-C port.
  • Memory rated up to DDR4-5100+ (OC), six SATA ports, six system fan headers and a rear Flash BIOS button.

What to check

  • The second M.2 slot is PCIe 3.0 x4, and populating M2_2, PCI_E2 and PCI_E3 together disables PCI_E3 and drops M2_2 to x2.
COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

How we verify
25 of 25 specifications Sources in each row
Source-backed specifications for MSI A520M-A PRO and MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI
SpecificationMSI A520M-A PROMSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI
CPU socket
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Match the exact CPU and required BIOS as well as the physical socket.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Match the exact CPU and required BIOS as well as the physical socket.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
AM4AM4
ChipsetDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
AMD A520AMD B550
Form factorDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Board dimensions, not retail packaging. Check case mounting positions, clearance and cable routing.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Board dimensions, not retail packaging. Check case mounting positions, clearance and cable routing.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
Micro-ATX; 236 × 200 mmATX; 305 × 244 mm
CPU support / BIOS sourceDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Check MSI's exact CPU support list and its required BIOS. Family support does not confirm the firmware installed on a retail board.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Check MSI's exact CPU support list and its required BIOS. Family support does not confirm the firmware installed on a retail board.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
AMD Ryzen 5000 / 5000 G-Series / 4000 G-Series / 3000 / 3000 G-SeriesAMD Ryzen 5000 / 5000 G-Series / 4000 G-Series / 3000 Series
Rear Flash BIOS button
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

MSI's rear-panel list for this board does not mention a Flash BIOS button; check the manual if you need BIOS flashback. · Manufacturer specification

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Button presence only. Recovery procedure and USB preparation require the exact manual.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
Not providedYes
Memory type, slots and limitDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

The overclocked speed is MSI's 1DPC 1R maximum; MSI lists 1DPC 2R up to 3866 MHz. JEDEC speeds run up to DDR4-3200. · Manufacturer specification · CPU, BIOS and validated DIMM population determine supported capacity and speeds. DDR4 and DDR5 are not interchangeable.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

The overclocked speed is MSI's 1DPC 1R maximum; MSI lists 1DPC 2R up to 3866, 2DPC 1R up to 4000 and 2DPC 2R up to 3600 MHz. JEDEC speeds run up to DDR4-3200. · Manufacturer specification · CPU, BIOS and validated DIMM population determine supported capacity and speeds. DDR4 and DDR5 are not interchangeable.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
2 DDR4 DIMM slots; dual channel; up to 64 GB; up to DDR4-4600+ (OC); A-XMP; non-ECC unbuffered4 DDR4 DIMM slots; dual channel; up to 128 GB; up to DDR4-5100+ (OC); A-XMP; non-ECC unbuffered
Maximum listed memoryDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capacity ceiling for this exact board, not included memory or a performance measurement. CPU, BIOS, DIMM population and the validated-module list determine support. DDR4 slots require DDR4 modules; DDR4 and DDR5 are not interchangeable.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer capacity ceiling for this exact board, not included memory or a performance measurement. CPU, BIOS, DIMM population and the validated-module list determine support. DDR4 slots require DDR4 modules; DDR4 and DDR5 are not interchangeable.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
64 GB128 GB
DIMM slotsDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Physical DDR4 module positions, not included modules. Consult the board manual for population order and compatible capacities.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Physical DDR4 module positions, not included modules. Consult the board manual for population order and compatible capacities.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
24
Memory population OC limitsDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

MSI labels these memory speeds in MHz (manufacturer notation); they are the rated data rates. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer A-XMP/OC limits, not guaranteed stability or measured performance. CPU, BIOS and memory-module compatibility apply.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

MSI labels these memory speeds in MHz (manufacturer notation); they are the rated data rates. · Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer OC configurations, not guaranteed kit speed or measured application performance. CPU, BIOS, memory rank and DIMMs per channel determine support.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
1DPC 1R: 4600 MHz; 1DPC 2R: 3866 MHz1DPC 1R up to 5100; 1DPC 2R up to 3866; 2DPC 1R up to 4000; 2DPC 2R up to 3600
ECC memory operating mode
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · ECC modules run in non-ECC mode, so error correction is not active.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

MSI lists ECC UDIMM support for this board but does not say whether ECC modules run in ECC or non-ECC mode, so whether error correction is active is unknown. · Manufacturer specification

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
ECC UDIMM accepted in non-ECC modeNot listed by the manufacturer
Storage interfacesDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

The M.2 slot connects to the CPU. · Manufacturer specification · With Athlon processors with Radeon Vega Graphics the M.2 slot works in SATA mode only. It accepts 2242/2260/2280 drives.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

M2_1 connects to the CPU; M2_2 connects to the B550 chipset. · Manufacturer specification · M2_1 runs at PCIe 4.0 or 3.0 depending on the installed processor. If M2_2, PCI_E2 and PCI_E3 are all populated, PCI_E3 is unavailable and M2_2 runs at x2.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
1 × M.2 PCIe 3.0 x4; M.2 slot also supports SATA; 4 × SATA 6 Gb/s1 × M.2 PCIe 4.0 x4; 1 × M.2 PCIe 3.0 x4; M2_1 also supports SATA; 6 × SATA 6 Gb/s
Onboard M.2 storage slotsDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Onboard M.2 storage positions only. With Athlon processors with Radeon Vega Graphics, MSI lists SATA mode only for M.2. Supported M.2 lengths are 2242/2260/2280; verify the exact processor support list.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Onboard M.2 storage positions only. M.2 generation depends on the CPU. If M2_2, PCI_E2 and PCI_E3 are populated simultaneously, PCI_E3 is unavailable and M2_2 runs at x2.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
12
SATA storage portsDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · SATA 6 Gb/s connectors, not supplied drives or power cables. With Athlon processors with Radeon Vega Graphics, MSI lists SATA mode only for M.2. Supported M.2 lengths are 2242/2260/2280; verify the exact processor support list.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · SATA 6 Gb/s connectors, not supplied drives or power cables. M.2 generation depends on the CPU. If M2_2, PCI_E2 and PCI_E3 are populated simultaneously, PCI_E3 is unavailable and M2_2 runs at x2.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
46
SATA RAID modes
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Requires compatible drives and array configuration; no data protection guarantee.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
RAID 0/1/10RAID 0/1/10
NVMe RAID modes
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

MSI lists RAID modes for SATA drives only; NVMe RAID support is not stated. · Manufacturer specification

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Requires compatible drives and array configuration; no data protection guarantee.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
Not providedRAID 0/1
Primary PCIe linkDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · x16 with Ryzen 5000/5000G/4000G/3000; x8 with Ryzen 3000G; x4 with Athlon with Radeon Graphics processors. Check the CPU support list for the exact processor.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · PCIe 4.0 or 3.0 depending on the installed processor; not a measured graphics performance result.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
x16 slot: CPU PCIe 3.0 up to x16PCI_E1: PCIe 4.0 x16
Secondary expansion linksDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · With M2_2, PCI_E2 and PCI_E3 populated together, PCI_E3 is disabled and M2_2 runs x2.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
1 PCIe 3.0 x1 slot1 long PCIe 3.0 slot wired x4; 2 PCIe 3.0 x1 slots
Expansion/storage lane sharing
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

No source recorded.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Plan storage drives and expansion cards together; this restriction applies to this board's slot wiring.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
Not providedWith M2_2, PCI_E2 and PCI_E3 populated together, PCI_E3 is disabled and M2_2 runs x2.
Onboard audio hardwareDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed onboard audio hardware, not a measured sound-quality result. Where alternatives are listed, no particular unseen controller revision is promised.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed onboard audio hardware, not a measured sound-quality result. Where alternatives are listed, no particular unseen controller revision is promised.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
Realtek ALC892 or ALC897 codec; 7.1-channelRealtek ALC897 codec; 7.1-channel
Processor-dependent display outputsDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Requires a processor with integrated graphics; supported modes depend on the CPU.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Requires integrated CPU graphics; supported modes depend on processor.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
HDMI 2.1: up to 4096×2160 at 60 Hz; DVI-D: up to 1920×1200 at 60 HzHDMI 2.1 and DisplayPort: up to 4096×2160 at 60 Hz
Rear USB portsDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · The detailed specification identifies the two rear USB 2.0 ports as Type-A.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Port inventory and interface ratings, not simultaneous measured throughput or charging power.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
2 USB 2.0; 4 USB 5 Gb/s Type-A2 USB 2.0; 2 USB 5 Gb/s Type-A; 1 USB 10 Gb/s Type-A; 1 USB 10 Gb/s Type-C
Front USB header capacityDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Internal-header capacity; requires compatible case ports and wiring. Not rear-panel sockets.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Requires compatible case ports and cabling; not rear sockets.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
4 USB 2.0; 2 USB 5 Gb/s4 USB 2.0; 2 USB 5 Gb/s Type-A; 1 USB 5 Gb/s Type-C
Network interfacesDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Wired Ethernet only; MSI lists no Wi-Fi or Bluetooth hardware for this board.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · 6 GHz availability depends on country rules, operating system and drivers. Link capabilities are not measured throughput.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
Realtek 8111H 1 Gb EthernetRealtek 8125B 2.5 Gb Ethernet; AMD Wi-Fi 6E; Bluetooth 5.2
Fan and pump headersDifferent
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · Counts do not establish connector current limits.

MSI A520M-A PRO — manufacturer specifications
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

Manufacturer specification · Board headers, not supplied fans or an assertion of current limits.

MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI — manufacturer specifications
1 CPU; 1 system fan header1 CPU; 1 pump; 6 system fan headers
Diagnostic indicators
Sources
MSI A520M-A PRO

Manufacturer specification · MSI's datasheet lists EZ Debug LED without the LED count; it is not a numeric POST code display.

MSI A520M-A PRO — exact model datasheet
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI

No source recorded.

EZ Debug LEDNot provided
FIND YOUR CONTENDERS

More products

Closest motherboards to this pair by shared key specifications. Not a popularity ranking.

See all 617 motherboards

Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.