Skip to comparison
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
STORAGE · YOUR NEXT FACE-OFF

Kingston A400 vs Samsung 860 EVO

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact models · UK & US buying links

Compared products

YOUR FIRST CHOICE

Kingston A400

240 GB · 2.5-inch standalone SATA · SA400S37/240G

Kingston A400 240 GB 2.5-inch SATA SSD; official appearance associated with SA400S37/240G
Exact model & source notes

A 240 GB 2.5-inch SATA SSD rated up to 500 MB/s read and 350 MB/s write, with an 80 TB endurance rating and a three-year warranty.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications
WHAT DIFFERS
240 GBCapacity1,000 GB
80 TBPublished endurance rating (TBW)600 TB
3 yearsLimited warranty time5 years
The first 3 of 12 verified differences, in the order listed below. Not a rating.
See the 12 verified differences
THE CONTENDER

Samsung 860 EVO

1 TB · 2.5-inch SATA · MZ-76E1T0BW

Samsung 860 EVO 1 TB 2.5-inch SATA SSD; official image associated with MZ-76E1T0BW
Exact model & source notes

A 1 TB 2.5-inch SATA SSD rated up to 550 MB/s read and 520 MB/s write, with TLC V-NAND, 1 GB LPDDR4 cache and a 600 TB write rating.

Specifications checked 11 Sept 2026.

Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.

Manufacturer specifications

Kingston A400 UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Samsung 860 EVO UK & US retailers

UK & US price history: no verified listing yet

Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE

Visual facts

Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.

How to read this comparison
  • Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
  • “Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
  • Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE7 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 07

Storage capacity

Decimal storage capacity: 1 TB = 1,000 GB. Formatting and system use reduce available space.

Kingston A4000.24 TB

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed capacity; formatting and reserved functions reduce usable storage.

Samsung 860 EVO1 TB

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatting and system use reduce available space.

Explore the full specifications

Check the connection before the capacity. M.2 NVMe modules and 2.5-inch SATA drives are not interchangeable. Check the host’s protocol, slot or bay, power connection and clearance. Rated speeds use different test systems; we do not turn them into a speed score or overall winner.

WHAT CHANGES BETWEEN THEM?

Key differences

Full specifications ↓

12 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 7 are also drawn in Visual facts above. Missing information stays separate.

Kingston A400240 GB
Samsung 860 EVO1000 GB
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed capacity; formatting and reserved functions reduce usable storage.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatting and system use reduce available space.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Published endurance rating (TBW)

In Visual facts
Kingston A40080 TB
Samsung 860 EVO600 TB
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Published endurance rating derived from the JEDEC Client Workload (JESD219A). Warranty ends on the stated time or wear conditions. This is not a guaranteed service life.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheetKingston limited warranty — SSD family and wear-indicator conditions
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity-specific warranty write threshold, not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Limited warranty time

In Visual facts
Kingston A4003 years
Samsung 860 EVO5 years
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Maximum time term; coverage can end earlier at SATA SMART attribute 231 (SSD Wear Indicator) reaching a normalized value of 1 in Kingston SSD Manager. Eligibility and full terms apply.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston limited warranty — SSD family and wear-indicator conditions
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not predicted lifespan; coverage also ends at the TBW threshold and is subject to full terms.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Rated performance and conditions

In Visual facts
Kingston A400Up to 500 MB/s sequential read; up to 350 MB/s sequential write
Samsung 860 EVOUp to 550 MB/s sequential read; up to 520 MB/s cached sequential write; 500 MB/s after TurboWrite
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Kingston ATTO data-transfer claims, fresh/out-of-box on a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung CrystalDiskMark 5.0.2 sequential claims: Core i5-3550, 4 GB DDR3-1333, ASUS P8H77-V, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated sequential read

In Visual facts
Kingston A400500 MB/s
Samsung 860 EVO550 MB/s
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Kingston ATTO data-transfer claims, fresh/out-of-box on a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung CrystalDiskMark 5.0.2 sequential claims: Core i5-3550, 4 GB DDR3-1333, ASUS P8H77-V, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Rated sequential write

In Visual facts
Kingston A400350 MB/s
Samsung 860 EVO520 MB/s
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Kingston ATTO data-transfer claims, fresh/out-of-box on a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung CrystalDiskMark 5.0.2 sequential claims: Core i5-3550, 4 GB DDR3-1333, ASUS P8H77-V, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Manufacturer peak claims depend on cache state, host and workload. Queue depth and test systems must match before performance can be compared; these figures do not establish a faster everyday drive.

Show 6 more verified differences

Warranty terms and endurance if applicable

In Visual facts
Kingston A4003-year conditional limited warranty, or SATA SMART attribute 231 (SSD Wear Indicator) reaching a normalized value of 1 in Kingston SSD Manager, whichever occurs first
Samsung 860 EVO5 years or 600 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Subject to original-purchase eligibility and full manufacturer terms. Published TBW is a separate endurance rating from the wear-indicator warranty limit.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston limited warranty — SSD family and wear-indicator conditions
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Published power conditions

Kingston A4000.195 W idle; 0.279 W average; 0.642 W maximum read; 1.535 W maximum write
Samsung 860 EVO3.0 W average read/write; 50 mW DIPM idle; 2.6 mW device sleep
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer family-sheet states; no capacity-specific test system or average workload is supplied. Not a measured continuous consumption figure.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB PDF figures measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, i7-7700K / 16 GB DDR4 / Gigabyte GA-Z270X / Windows 10 PRO K 64. Different host from speed testing. Idle requires DIPM; not a constant load.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Non-operating vibration rating

Kingston A40020 G peak, 10–2000 Hz
Samsung 860 EVO20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer vibration rating with its stated frequency range. Not a drop test; ratings from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Test envelope.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Manufacturer workload scope

Kingston A400Desktop and notebook workloads; not intended for servers
Samsung 860 EVOClient PCs
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Workload limitation in the datasheet. Not intended for enterprise or server use.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Requires correct SATA connections, host and clearance; no universal NAS compatibility.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Drive weight

Kingston A40041 g
Samsung 860 EVO51 g
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer drive weight for this capacity, excluding packaging.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB Australian page specifies maximum 51.0 g, not average weight.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.

Small physical differences (1)

Drive dimensions

Kingston A400100 × 69.9 × 7 mm
Samsung 860 EVO100 × 69.85 × 6.8 mm
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Standalone SATA enclosure. Dimensions apply to this capacity/configuration; allow installation clearance.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.

Missing or non-comparable evidence (33)

DRAM cache present

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVOYes
Sources
Kingston A400

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Kingston does not say whether it has onboard DRAM.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Onboard DRAM listed; not host memory or the TurboWrite region.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

DRAM cache capacity

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVO1 GB
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 1 GB LPDDR4 in 1 TB column.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Controller

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVOSamsung MJX
Sources
Kingston A400

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Kingston does not name the controller for this capacity.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB MJX identified; no stepping or clock assumed.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

NAND type

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVOSamsung V-NAND TLC
Sources
Kingston A400

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Kingston does not state the NAND type, generation or supplier for the 240 GB model.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer calls this three-bit MLC; Samsung glossary identifies three bits per cell as TLC. Samsung does not give the layer count.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung glossary — three-bit NAND is TLC

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Hardware encryption support

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVOAES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Supported capability, not automatically enabled security or universal host compatibility.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Manufacturer-listed DirectStorage support

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVONot verified
Sources
Kingston A400

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Kingston does not list DirectStorage support for this model.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Included cloning software

Kingston A400Acronis True Image for Kingston
Samsung 860 EVONot verified
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · The part page includes cloning software. Current Kingston instructions require an installed Kingston internal SSD, Windows 11/10/8.1, administrator rights, internet download through Kingston SSD Manager and licence acceptance. This software does not support macOS or Linux; that does not declare the drive itself incompatible.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston Acronis True Image — inclusion requirements and host limits
Samsung 860 EVO

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Drive management software

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVOSamsung Magician
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer lists Magician and Data Migration. Check the current software version and its requirements. No latest-version claim.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Write-buffer technology

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVOIntelligent TurboWrite
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Variable write region, separate from onboard DRAM; Samsung's Australian footnote gives 42 GB for the 1 TB model.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published write-buffer capacity

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVO42 GB
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · AU capacity footnote gives 42 GB for 1 TB; dynamically allocated availability depends on workload and free space, not a permanent DRAM allocation.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated write after TurboWrite

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVO500 MB/s
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB post-cache claim is 500 MB/s under CDM5/i5-3550/P8H77-V/4 GB/Windows 7 conditions; the 250/500 GB models are rated 300 MB/s.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random read

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVO98000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer IOmeter 1.1.0, 4 KB QD32, i5-3550 / 4 GB DDR3-1333 / ASUS P8H77-V / Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. TurboWrite and firmware/host limitations apply.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random write

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVO90000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer IOmeter 1.1.0, 4 KB QD32, i5-3550 / 4 GB DDR3-1333 / ASUS P8H77-V / Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. TurboWrite and firmware/host limitations apply.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random read, QD1

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVO10000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 4 KB QD1 manufacturer claim under the stated IOmeter host conditions; not observed application latency.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rated random write, QD1

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVO42000 IOPS
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity 4 KB QD1 manufacturer claim under the stated IOmeter/TurboWrite conditions.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Device sleep support

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVOYes
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · The regional product page supports device sleep. Host and operating-system support are required; the separately specified sleep-power claim is not measured laptop battery life.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Error correction support

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVOYes
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung describes a refined ECC algorithm. Samsung does not state its correction strength.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Garbage collection

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVOYes
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Internal feature, not a quantified application benefit.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Non-condensing humidity range

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVO5–95%
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Manufacturer MTBF rating

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVO1,500,000 hours
Sources
Kingston A400

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Kingston's 2022 datasheet lists one million hours; the current product page does not confirm a rating.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Statistical manufacturer rating, not lifetime of an individual drive.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published burst power

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVO4 W
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Regional product page maximum burst claim; not average or a constant operating load.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

PSID crypto erase

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVONot verified
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 860 EVO sources do not describe a PSID revert procedure.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Queued TRIM capability

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVOYes
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifically advertises improved queued TRIM and Linux compatibility. This is not certification for every Linux kernel, controller or firmware.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

RAPID host-memory caching

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVONot verified
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 860 EVO page and PDF do not state RAPID mode support in current software.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Non-operating shock rating

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVO1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating test, not a system drop guarantee.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

S.M.A.R.T. support

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVOYes
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Monitoring support, not a remaining-life guarantee.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Allowable supply voltage

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVONot verified
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 1 TB page and PDF do not state a supply-voltage tolerance.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Thermal protection

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVONot verified
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not name a thermal-protection feature for the 860 EVO.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

TRIM support

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVOYes
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer requires OS support.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Operating vibration rating

Kingston A4002.17 G peak, 7–800 Hz
Samsung 860 EVONot verified
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating vibration rating. No independent drop, shock or reliability test is implied.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

World Wide Name support

Kingston A400Not verified
Samsung 860 EVOYes
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded for this side.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Regional page lists WWN support.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

4 shared fields have the same recorded value.

WHAT EACH CHOICE ASKS OF YOU

What it brings and what to check

Kingston A400

What it brings

  • Rated up to 500 MB/s sequential read and 350 MB/s sequential write over SATA 6 Gb/s, in a standard 7 mm-high 2.5-inch drive with a published average power draw of 0.279 W.

What to check

  • Modest 80 TB endurance and a three-year warranty. Kingston does not state the NAND type, controller or whether it has a DRAM cache, and it needs SATA data and power connections.

Samsung 860 EVO

What it brings

  • Rated up to 550 MB/s sequential read and 520 MB/s sequential write, holding 500 MB/s writes after the TurboWrite cache fills.

What to check

  • Its SATA 6 Gb/s interface keeps rated speeds to 550 MB/s read. It needs a 2.5-inch bay with SATA data and power connections, and no cables or mounting kit are included.
COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

How we verify
50 of 50 specifications Sources in each row
Source-backed specifications for Kingston A400 and Samsung 860 EVO
SpecificationKingston A400Samsung 860 EVO
CapacityDifferent
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer-listed capacity; formatting and reserved functions reduce usable storage.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Decimal capacity; formatting and system use reduce available space.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
240 GB1000 GB
SSD / HDD
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specifications
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications
SSDSSD
Interface and version
Sources
Kingston A400

Backward compatible with SATA 3 Gb/s; Kingston calls these SATA Rev. 3.0 (6 Gb/s) and SATA Rev. 2.0 (3 Gb/s). Kingston does not mention 1.5 Gb/s. · Manufacturer specification · Requires compatible SATA data and power connections.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Backward compatible with SATA 3 Gb/s and 1.5 Gb/s. · Manufacturer specification · Requires compatible SATA data and power connections; link rate is not an application-performance result.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
SATA 6 Gb/sSATA 6 Gb/s
Form factor
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Part configuration; physical and electrical compatibility both matter.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Match the physical format and electrical interface to the host.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
2.5-inch2.5-inch
Drive dimensionsDifferent
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Standalone SATA enclosure. Dimensions apply to this capacity/configuration; allow installation clearance.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer dimensions; confirm installation clearance.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
100 × 69.9 × 7 mm100 × 69.85 × 6.8 mm
Drive weightDifferent
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer drive weight for this capacity, excluding packaging.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB Australian page specifies maximum 51.0 g, not average weight.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
41 g51 g
Rated performance and conditionsDifferent
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Kingston ATTO data-transfer claims, fresh/out-of-box on a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung CrystalDiskMark 5.0.2 sequential claims: Core i5-3550, 4 GB DDR3-1333, ASUS P8H77-V, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Up to 500 MB/s sequential read; up to 350 MB/s sequential writeUp to 550 MB/s sequential read; up to 520 MB/s cached sequential write; 500 MB/s after TurboWrite
Rated sequential readDifferent
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Kingston ATTO data-transfer claims, fresh/out-of-box on a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung CrystalDiskMark 5.0.2 sequential claims: Core i5-3550, 4 GB DDR3-1333, ASUS P8H77-V, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
500 MB/s550 MB/s
Rated sequential writeDifferent
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Kingston ATTO data-transfer claims, fresh/out-of-box on a SATA Rev. 3.0 motherboard. Host hardware, software and usage affect results. Kingston does not list a sustained post-cache speed.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung CrystalDiskMark 5.0.2 sequential claims: Core i5-3550, 4 GB DDR3-1333, ASUS P8H77-V, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. Writes use Intelligent TurboWrite; peak rates depend on firmware, host, workload and cache state.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
350 MB/s520 MB/s
Rated write after TurboWrite
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB post-cache claim is 500 MB/s under CDM5/i5-3550/P8H77-V/4 GB/Windows 7 conditions; the 250/500 GB models are rated 300 MB/s.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided500 MB/s
Rated random read
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer IOmeter 1.1.0, 4 KB QD32, i5-3550 / 4 GB DDR3-1333 / ASUS P8H77-V / Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. TurboWrite and firmware/host limitations apply.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided98000 IOPS
Rated random write
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer IOmeter 1.1.0, 4 KB QD32, i5-3550 / 4 GB DDR3-1333 / ASUS P8H77-V / Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. TurboWrite and firmware/host limitations apply.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided90000 IOPS
Rated random read, QD1
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 4 KB QD1 manufacturer claim under the stated IOmeter host conditions; not observed application latency.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided10000 IOPS
Rated random write, QD1
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity 4 KB QD1 manufacturer claim under the stated IOmeter/TurboWrite conditions.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided42000 IOPS
DRAM cache present
Sources
Kingston A400

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Kingston does not say whether it has onboard DRAM.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Onboard DRAM listed; not host memory or the TurboWrite region.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not listed by the manufacturerYes
Controller
Sources
Kingston A400

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Kingston does not name the controller for this capacity.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB MJX identified; no stepping or clock assumed.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not listed by the manufacturerSamsung MJX
NAND type
Sources
Kingston A400

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Kingston does not state the NAND type, generation or supplier for the 240 GB model.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer calls this three-bit MLC; Samsung glossary identifies three bits per cell as TLC. Samsung does not give the layer count.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung glossary — three-bit NAND is TLC
Not listed by the manufacturerSamsung V-NAND TLC
Cache arrangement
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer's stated DRAM cache capacity for this storage capacity.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided1 GB LPDDR4 DRAM
DRAM cache capacity
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 1 GB LPDDR4 in 1 TB column.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided1 GB
Write-buffer technology
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Variable write region, separate from onboard DRAM; Samsung's Australian footnote gives 42 GB for the 1 TB model.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedIntelligent TurboWrite
Published write-buffer capacity
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · AU capacity footnote gives 42 GB for 1 TB; dynamically allocated availability depends on workload and free space, not a permanent DRAM allocation.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided42 GB
Warranty terms and endurance if applicableDifferent
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Subject to original-purchase eligibility and full manufacturer terms. Published TBW is a separate endurance rating from the wear-indicator warranty limit.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston limited warranty — SSD family and wear-indicator conditions
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer coverage is subject to purchase eligibility and applicable terms. A used drive may have less coverage left.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
3-year conditional limited warranty, or SATA SMART attribute 231 (SSD Wear Indicator) reaching a normalized value of 1 in Kingston SSD Manager, whichever occurs first5 years or 600 TB written, whichever comes first; limited-warranty terms apply
Limited warranty timeDifferent
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Maximum time term; coverage can end earlier at SATA SMART attribute 231 (SSD Wear Indicator) reaching a normalized value of 1 in Kingston SSD Manager. Eligibility and full terms apply.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston limited warranty — SSD family and wear-indicator conditions
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Time limit, not predicted lifespan; coverage also ends at the TBW threshold and is subject to full terms.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
3 years5 years
Published endurance rating (TBW)Different
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Published endurance rating derived from the JEDEC Client Workload (JESD219A). Warranty ends on the stated time or wear conditions. This is not a guaranteed service life.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheetKingston limited warranty — SSD family and wear-indicator conditions
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Capacity-specific warranty write threshold, not a guaranteed failure point.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheetSamsung consumer SSD limited warranty — model, capacity and first limit
80 TB600 TB
Manufacturer workload scopeDifferent
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Workload limitation in the datasheet. Not intended for enterprise or server use.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Requires correct SATA connections, host and clearance; no universal NAS compatibility.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Desktop and notebook workloads; not intended for serversClient PCs
Manufacturer MTBF rating
Sources
Kingston A400

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Kingston's 2022 datasheet lists one million hours; the current product page does not confirm a rating.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Statistical manufacturer rating, not lifetime of an individual drive.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not listed by the manufacturer1,500,000 hours
Included cloning software
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · The part page includes cloning software. Current Kingston instructions require an installed Kingston internal SSD, Windows 11/10/8.1, administrator rights, internet download through Kingston SSD Manager and licence acceptance. This software does not support macOS or Linux; that does not declare the drive itself incompatible.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston Acronis True Image — inclusion requirements and host limits
Samsung 860 EVO

No source recorded.

Acronis True Image for KingstonNot provided
Hardware encryption support
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Supported capability, not automatically enabled security or universal host compatibility.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedAES-256; TCG Opal 2.0; IEEE 1667
TRIM support
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer requires OS support.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedYes
S.M.A.R.T. support
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Monitoring support, not a remaining-life guarantee.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedYes
Garbage collection
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Internal feature, not a quantified application benefit.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedYes
Queued TRIM capability
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifically advertises improved queued TRIM and Linux compatibility. This is not certification for every Linux kernel, controller or firmware.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Not providedYes
Drive management software
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer lists Magician and Data Migration. Check the current software version and its requirements. No latest-version claim.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedSamsung Magician
Installation kit included
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Regional product page says no installation kit. Listed box contents do not mention SATA cables or mounting hardware.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedNo
World Wide Name support
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Regional page lists WWN support.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Not providedYes
Device sleep support
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · The regional product page supports device sleep. Host and operating-system support are required; the separately specified sleep-power claim is not measured laptop battery life.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Not providedYes
Error correction support
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Samsung describes a refined ECC algorithm. Samsung does not state its correction strength.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Not providedYes
Operating temperature
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating range; not a measured temperature under a particular workload.

Kingston A400 — manufacturer specificationsKingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating range; not a measured load temperature.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
0–70 °C0–70 °C
Storage temperatureDifferent
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Published non-operating storage range, kept separate from the 0–70 °C operating range.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating envelope.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
−40–85 °C−45–85 °C
Published power conditionsDifferent
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer family-sheet states; no capacity-specific test system or average workload is supplied. Not a measured continuous consumption figure.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · 1 TB PDF figures measured with IOmeter 1.1.0, i7-7700K / 16 GB DDR4 / Gigabyte GA-Z270X / Windows 10 PRO K 64. Different host from speed testing. Idle requires DIPM; not a constant load.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
0.195 W idle; 0.279 W average; 0.642 W maximum read; 1.535 W maximum write3.0 W average read/write; 50 mW DIPM idle; 2.6 mW device sleep
Non-operating vibration ratingDifferent
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer vibration rating with its stated frequency range. Not a drop test; ratings from different test protocols are not directly comparable.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Test envelope.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
20 G peak, 10–2000 Hz20 G; 20–2000 Hz
Operating vibration rating
Sources
Kingston A400

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer operating vibration rating. No independent drop, shock or reliability test is implied.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

No source recorded.

2.17 G peak, 7–800 HzNot provided
Published burst power
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Regional product page maximum burst claim; not average or a constant operating load.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Not provided4 W
Non-condensing humidity range
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer specifies non-condensing conditions. This environmental range is not waterproofing or an IP rating.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided5–95%
Non-operating shock rating
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Manufacturer specification · Manufacturer non-operating test, not a system drop guarantee.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not provided1500 G; 0.5 ms; three axes
Show unverified (5)Not verified, not provided or conflicting for both products. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Specifications without verified values for either product
Manufacturer-listed DirectStorage support
Sources
Kingston A400

Kingston does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Kingston does not list DirectStorage support for this model.

Kingston A400 — exact-capacity technical datasheet
Samsung 860 EVO

No source recorded.

Not listed by the manufacturerNot provided
RAPID host-memory caching
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 860 EVO page and PDF do not state RAPID mode support in current software.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNot listed by the manufacturer
PSID crypto erase
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 860 EVO sources do not describe a PSID revert procedure.

Samsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedNot listed by the manufacturer
Thermal protection
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung does not name a thermal-protection feature for the 860 EVO.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specifications
Not providedNot listed by the manufacturer
Allowable supply voltage
Sources
Kingston A400

No source recorded.

Samsung 860 EVO

Samsung does not state this for this model. · Manufacturer specification · Samsung's 1 TB page and PDF do not state a supply-voltage tolerance.

Samsung 860 EVO — manufacturer specificationsSamsung 860 EVO — capacity-specific datasheet
Not providedNot listed by the manufacturer
FIND YOUR CONTENDERS

More products

Closest storage to this pair by shared key specifications. Not a popularity ranking.

See all 199 storage

Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.