Skip to comparison
versus.deals
Menu
Browse versus.deals
YOUR PHONE FACE-OFF

Apple iPhone Air vs Google Pixel 9a

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact variants · Checked 26 Sept 2026
Apple256 GB

iPhone Air

6.5″ · OLED · 120 Hz · Apple A19 Pro · 6 CPU cores · 5 GPU cores · 16-core Neural Engine

256 GB · Space Black · UK A3517 · dual eSIM · MG2L4QN/AFull product profile
Apple iPhone Air in Space Black, official product viewSpace Black
PricesCheck retailers

Search links open retailer results.

UK list price from Apple, checked 10 Sept 2026 · not a live offer: £1,099.00Apple source — manufacturer reference price, opens in a new tab

UK: no verified listing yet · checked daily

US: no verified listing yet · checked daily

As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

Affiliate links

We may earn a commission. Search results can include other models; check the exact variant and final price with the retailer.

WHO EACH ONE SUITS

Choose the iPhone Air if…

Choose the Pixel 9a if…

Preferences from sourced specifications that differ, not a verdict.
See the 19 verified differences
Google256 GB

Pixel 9a

6.3″ · pOLED · 120 Hz · Google Tensor G4

256 GB · 8 GB RAM · Obsidian · UK specification GTF7PFull product profile
Google Pixel 9a in Obsidian, official rear product viewObsidian
PricesCheck retailers

Search links open retailer results.

UK list price from Google, checked 26 Sept 2026 · not a live offer: £499.00Google source — manufacturer reference price, opens in a new tab

UK: no verified listing yet · checked daily

US: no verified listing yet · checked daily

As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.

Affiliate links

We may earn a commission. Search results can include other models; check the exact variant and final price with the retailer.

THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE

Visual facts

Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.

How to read this comparison
How to read this comparison
  • Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
  • “Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
  • Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE6 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 06

Chipset

A different chip or core configuration is a hardware change, not a measured performance uplift.

iPhone AirApple A19 Pro · 6 CPU cores · 5 GPU cores · 16-core Neural Engine
Pixel 9aGoogle Tensor G4

Titan M2 security coprocessor.

Explore the full specifications
iPhone Air

0.2″ larger diagonal.

Bigger is a preference, not a quality score.

iPhone Air
6.5″
Pixel 9a
6.3″

Relative diagonals · illustrative shape, not actual size

BOTH PHONES

Matching native reach.

Dedicated telephoto reach. No digital or crop zoom.

iPhone Air
No telephoto
Pixel 9a
No telephoto

Lens illustration · not an image-quality test

DATA INCOMPLETE

Playback on paper.

Up-to claims. Different test methods; no endurance winner.

iPhone Air
Up to 27h
Pixel 9a
Not verified

Arcs on a shared 0–40 h scale · not mixed-use battery life

WHAT CHANGES BETWEEN THEM?

Key differences

Full specifications ↓

19 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 2 are also drawn in Visual facts above. 1 manufacturer description restating separately listed fields is grouped below. Missing information stays separate.

Camera system

iPhone AirMain: 48 MP (f/1.6, OIS), 2x crop mode; Front: 18 MP; Video: up to 4K 60 fps
Pixel 9aWide: 48 MP (f/1.7, OIS); Ultra-wide: 13 MP (f/2.2); Front: 13 MP (f/2.2); Video: up to 4K 60 fps
Sources
Pixel 9a

No dedicated telephoto: Google lists Super Res Zoom up to 8x (digital) and 'optical quality' at 0.5x and 1x. Wide 1/2" sensor, 82° field of view, Quad PD Dual Pixel; ultra-wide 1/3.1" sensor, 120°; selfie 96.1° field of view. Front video 4K 30 fps.

Google UK Pixel 9a technical specifications

Compare the camera hardware and recording modes. Matching megapixels or zoom do not mean identical cameras.

Display specification

iPhone Air6.5-inch OLED; 2736 × 1260; up to 120 Hz; 3000 nits peak (outdoor)
Pixel 9apOLED; 2424 × 1080; 60–120 Hz; 2,700 nits peak
Sources
iPhone Air

460 ppi; ProMotion adaptive refresh; 1,000 nits typical and 1,600 nits HDR peak.

Apple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Pixel 9a

Diagonal published as 160 mm on the UK page and 6.3 inches on the US page; 422.2 PPI; up to 1,800 nits (HDR); Corning Gorilla Glass 3; >1,000,000:1 contrast. Brightness figures are Google claims.

Google UK Pixel 9a technical specifications

Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.

Update policy

iPhone AirNo fixed update period published; ships with iOS 26
Pixel 9a7 years of OS, security and Pixel Drop updates
Sources
Pixel 9a

Google's page does not state the start date on this page; Google's policy for Pixel counts from the model's initial availability, so the remaining term is shorter for a model launched with Android 15.

Google UK Pixel 9a technical specifications

Distinguish Android upgrades from security coverage. A total term from launch is not the support remaining from today or from purchase.

Show 13 more verified differences

Battery and charging

iPhone AirUp to 27 h video; fast wired charging (20 W+ adapter), 20 W wireless
Pixel 9a5,100 mAh typical (5,000 mAh minimum); fast wired charging; Qi wireless charging
Sources
iPhone Air

Apple does not publish battery capacity in mAh. Up to 22 h streamed video; up to 50% in 30 minutes with a separately sold 20 W or higher USB-C adapter; MagSafe and Qi2 up to 20 W. Apple claims, not independent tests.

Apple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Pixel 9a

Google publishes no wired charging rate: its footnote says fast wired charging rates are based on the Google 45W USB-C Charger (adapters sold separately). Wireless charging is up to 7.5 W with Qi-certified EPP chargers. Battery-life claims (30+ hours; up to 100 hours with Extreme Battery Saver) are Google estimates, not independent tests.

Google UK Pixel 9a technical specifications

Manufacturer claims for the stated mode and equipment. Read each test condition; this is not measured everyday battery life.

Manufacturer wording of separate fields (1)

Combined manufacturer descriptions whose values are listed as separate differences. Kept here so every verified difference stays in one list.

Small physical differences (2)
Configuration & compatibility details (1)

Regional SIM / network configuration

iPhone AirUK model A3517; eSIM only
Pixel 9aUK model GTF7P; nano-SIM + eSIM
Sources
iPhone Air

Dual eSIM (two active eSIMs); no physical SIM slot; 5G (sub-6 GHz). Carrier eSIM support needs confirming with your network.

Apple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Pixel 9a

UK page lists model GTF7P with LTE bands 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/17/18/19/20/21/26/28/32/38/39/40/41/42/66/75. The US store page instead lists model GXQ96 with US carrier bands (e.g. LTE 13/14/25/29/30/48/71, 5G n70/n71), so the UK and US units are different hardware models. Check carrier support before using one region's model in the other.

Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsGoogle US Pixel 9a technical specifications (regional comparison)

These descriptions or measurements differ. Wording alone does not establish a different capability; check the exact configuration.

Missing or non-comparable evidence (30)

Rear 4K recording maximum

iPhone Air60 fps
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

Manufacturer recording-mode claim; not an independent quality or sustained-recording test.

Apple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Pixel 9a

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Front 4K recording maximum

iPhone Air60 fps
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

Front 18 MP Center Stage camera only.

Apple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Pixel 9a

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rear camera optical stabilisation

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9aYes
Sources
iPhone Air

No source recorded for this side.

Pixel 9a

Listed for the wide camera only; the ultra-wide lists none.

Google UK Pixel 9a technical specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Rear camera autofocus

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

No source recorded for this side.

Pixel 9a

The wide camera is listed as 'Quad PD Dual Pixel' but the page does not explicitly state autofocus for either rear camera; not converted into a capability claim.

Google UK Pixel 9a technical specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Front camera optical stabilisation

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

No source recorded for this side.

Pixel 9a

The manufacturer does not say whether the front camera has optical stabilisation.

Google UK Pixel 9a technical specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Claimed local video playback

iPhone Air27 hours
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

Apple UK up-to claim, without an external battery; not mixed-use battery life.

Apple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Pixel 9a

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Typical battery capacity

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9a5100 mAh
Sources
iPhone Air

No source recorded for this side.

Pixel 9a

Typical; minimum rated capacity 5,000 mAh.

Google UK Pixel 9a technical specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Wired charging power

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

No source recorded for this side.

Pixel 9a

Google lists only 'Fast charging' and publishes no wired charging rate or charge time; its footnote says fast wired charging rates are based on the Google 45W USB-C Charger (sold separately). The UK configuration page's charger label says this SKU supports USB PD chargers with power minimum 7.5 W and maximum 27 W (charger not included). That is charger compatibility, not a charging rate, so the value stays unknown.

Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsPixel 9a Obsidian 256 GB (unlocked) — Google UK Store configuration

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Time to 50% wired charge

iPhone Air30 minutes
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

Apple claim using a separately sold 20W or higher USB-C adapter.

Apple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Pixel 9a

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Expandable storage

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Pixel 9a

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published support term

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9a7 years
Sources
iPhone Air

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Pixel 9a

OS, security and Pixel Drop updates; counted by Google from initial availability, not from purchase.

Google UK Pixel 9a technical specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Cellular modem

iPhone AirApple C1X
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

Listed in the UK Mobile and Wireless section for model A3517.

Apple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Pixel 9a

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Cover glass

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9aCorning Gorilla Glass 3
Sources
iPhone Air

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Headphone jack

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Pixel 9a

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

In the box

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9aPixel 9a · 1 m USB-C to USB-C cable (USB 2.0) · SIM tool
Sources
iPhone Air

No source recorded for this side.

Pixel 9a

No charger is listed in the box.

Google UK Pixel 9a technical specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published network bands

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9a5G Sub-6 GHz (model GTF7P) · GSM/EDGE: quad-band (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz) · UMTS/HSPA+/HSDPA: bands 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 19 · LTE: bands 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/17/18/19/20/21/26/28/32/38/39/40/41/42/66/75 · 5G Sub-6: bands 1/2/3/5/7/8/12/20/26/28/38/40/41/66/75/77/78/79 · NB-IoT: bands 23/255/256
Sources
iPhone Air

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Optical-quality crop reach

iPhone Air2×
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

Main-sensor crop mode, not a separate telephoto lens.

Apple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Pixel 9a

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Published professional camera workflows

iPhone Air0
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

Versus counts four workflow types: RAW stills, professional codecs, log capture and external production tools. Apple lists HEIF/JPEG photos and HEVC/H.264 video, and none of the four workflows.

Apple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Pixel 9a

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Reverse wireless charging

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Pixel 9a

Not verified for this exact model.

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Satellite SOS

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

No source recorded for this side.

Pixel 9a

Satellite SOS is not listed in Google's UK Safety specification for this model, so check before relying on it.

Google UK Pixel 9a technical specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Sensors

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9aProximity · Ambient light · Accelerometer · Gyrometer · Magnetometer · Barometer
Sources
iPhone Air

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Claimed streamed video

iPhone Air22 hours
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

Apple UK up-to claim.

Apple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Pixel 9a

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Video recording

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9aRear: 4K at 30/60 FPS, 1080p at 30/60 FPS, digital zoom up to 5x; Front: 4K at 30 FPS; slo-mo up to 240 FPS; formats HEVC, AVC, AV1, VP9
Sources
iPhone Air

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

Wireless charging power

iPhone AirNot verified
Pixel 9a7.5 W
Sources
iPhone Air

No source recorded for this side.

Pixel 9a

Manufacturer 'up to' figure with Qi-certified EPP chargers (sold separately); Google says actual results may be slower. Not a measured rate.

Google UK Pixel 9a technical specifications

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

MagSafe / Qi2 power

iPhone Air20 W
Pixel 9aNot verified
Sources
iPhone Air

Compatible charger and adapter required.

Apple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Pixel 9a

No source recorded for this side.

Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.

7 shared fields have the same recorded value.

COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

All specs62 specificationsiPhone AirPixel 9a
156.2 × 74.7 × 5.64 mm (height × width × thickness)
154.7 × 73.3 × 8.9 mm (height × width × depth)
slab
slabSingle-screen bar phone per the published dimensions.
6.5″
Nominal diagonal; actual viewable area is smaller.
6.3″
US page states 6.3 inches; UK page states 160 mm. Not converted by us.
Published peak brightnessManufacturer peak claims use different test conditions.Differs
Sources
3000 nits
Published outdoor peak · Outdoor peak claim.
2700 nits
Claimed peak brightness · Manufacturer peak claim; HDR brightness is listed separately as up to 1,800 nits.
460 ppi
422.2 ppi
120Hz
Adaptive ProMotion.
120Hz
6.5-inch OLED; 2736 × 1260; up to 120 Hz; 3000 nits peak (outdoor)460 ppi; ProMotion adaptive refresh; 1,000 nits typical and 1,600 nits HDR peak.
pOLED; 2424 × 1080; 60–120 Hz; 2,700 nits peakDiagonal published as 160 mm on the UK page and 6.3 inches on the US page; 422.2 PPI; up to 1,800 nits (HDR); Corning Gorilla Glass 3; >1,000,000:1 contrast. Brightness figures are Google claims.
2736 × 1260
1080 × 2424
No dedicated lensDedicated telephoto reach · The 2× mode crops the main sensor; there is no dedicated telephoto module.
No dedicated lensDedicated telephoto reach · No telephoto camera is listed; Super Res Zoom up to 8x is digital/computational.
Main: 48 MP (f/1.6, OIS), 2x crop mode; Front: 18 MP; Video: up to 4K 60 fps
Wide: 48 MP (f/1.7, OIS); Ultra-wide: 13 MP (f/2.2); Front: 13 MP (f/2.2); Video: up to 4K 60 fpsNo dedicated telephoto: Google lists Super Res Zoom up to 8x (digital) and 'optical quality' at 0.5x and 1x. Wide 1/2" sensor, 82° field of view, Quad PD Dual Pixel; ultra-wide 1/3.1" sensor, 120°; selfie 96.1° field of view. Front video 4K 30 fps.
Optical-quality zoom
Sources
Pixel 9aNo source recorded
2×Main-sensor crop mode, not a separate telephoto lens.
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
18 MP Center Stage · f/1.9 · autofocus
13 MP selfie camera; f/2.2 aperture; 96.1° ultrawide field of view
Published professional camera workflows
Sources
Pixel 9aNo source recorded
0Versus counts four workflow types: RAW stills, professional codecs, log capture and external production tools. Apple lists HEIF/JPEG photos and HEVC/H.264 video, and none of the four workflows.
Not verified
Main camera optical stabilisation
Sources
YesSensor-shift OIS is stated for the 48 MP Fusion Main, the only rear camera.
Yes
Rear 4K recording maximum
Sources
Pixel 9aNo source recorded
60 fpsManufacturer recording-mode claim; not an independent quality or sustained-recording test.
Not verified
Front 4K recording maximum
Sources
Pixel 9aNo source recorded
60 fpsFront 18 MP Center Stage camera only.
Not verified
Yes
Not verifiedThe manufacturer does not say whether the front camera has autofocus.
Rear camera optical stabilisation
Sources
iPhone AirNo source recorded
Not verified
YesListed for the wide camera only; the ultra-wide lists none.
Claimed video playbackUp-to manufacturer claims. Playback protocols differ.
Sources
Pixel 9aNo source recorded
27 hoursClaimed local video playback · Apple UK up-to claim, without an external battery; not mixed-use battery life.
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Yes
YesQi certified. Google's UK specification footnote gives a wireless charging rate of up to 7.5 W with Qi-certified EPP chargers (sold separately) and says actual results may be slower.
Up to 27 h video; fast wired charging (20 W+ adapter), 20 W wirelessApple does not publish battery capacity in mAh. Up to 22 h streamed video; up to 50% in 30 minutes with a separately sold 20 W or higher USB-C adapter; MagSafe and Qi2 up to 20 W. Apple claims, not independent tests.
5,100 mAh typical (5,000 mAh minimum); fast wired charging; Qi wireless chargingGoogle publishes no wired charging rate: its footnote says fast wired charging rates are based on the Google 45W USB-C Charger (adapters sold separately). Wireless charging is up to 7.5 W with Qi-certified EPP chargers. Battery-life claims (30+ hours; up to 100 hours with Extreme Battery Saver) are Google estimates, not independent tests.
Claimed streamed video
Sources
Pixel 9aNo source recorded
22 hoursApple UK up-to claim.
Not verified
Time to 50% wired charge
Sources
Pixel 9aNo source recorded
30 minutesApple claim using a separately sold 20W or higher USB-C adapter.
Not verified
MagSafe / Qi2 power
Sources
Pixel 9aNo source recorded
20 WCompatible charger and adapter required.
Not verified
Typical battery capacity
Sources
iPhone AirNo source recorded
Not verified
5100 mAhTypical; minimum rated capacity 5,000 mAh.
Wireless charging power
Sources
iPhone AirNo source recorded
Not verified
7.5 WManufacturer 'up to' figure with Qi-certified EPP chargers (sold separately); Google says actual results may be slower. Not a measured rate.
Published support term
Sources
iPhone AirNo source recorded
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
7 yearsPublished update term · OS, security and Pixel Drop updates; counted by Google from initial availability, not from purchase.
No fixed update period published; ships with iOS 26
7 years of OS, security and Pixel Drop updatesGoogle's page does not state the start date on this page; Google's policy for Pixel counts from the model's initial availability, so the remaining term is shorter for a model launched with Android 15.
iOS 26
Launched with Android 15
Apple A19 Pro · 6 CPU cores · 5 GPU cores · 16-core Neural Engine
Google Tensor G4Titan M2 security coprocessor.
RAM and storage configurationDiffers
Sources
RAM not published; 256 GB storageApple does not publish RAM capacity.
8 GB RAM; 256 GB storage
UK model A3517; eSIM onlyDual eSIM (two active eSIMs); no physical SIM slot; 5G (sub-6 GHz). Carrier eSIM support needs confirming with your network.
UK model GTF7P; nano-SIM + eSIMUK page lists model GTF7P with LTE bands 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/17/18/19/20/21/26/28/32/38/39/40/41/42/66/75. The US store page instead lists model GXQ96 with US carrier bands (e.g. LTE 13/14/25/29/30/48/71, 5G n70/n71), so the UK and US units are different hardware models. Check carrier support before using one region's model in the other.
Not verifiedNot stated by the manufacturer.
8 GB
IP68Apple laboratory condition: 6 m for 30 minutes. Resistance is not permanent.
IP68
USB-C; USB 2 data up to 480 Mb/s
USB Type-C 3.2 · Power button · Volume controls
Wi-Fi 7 · Bluetooth 6 · Thread · second-generation UWB
Wi-Fi 6E (2.4/5/6 GHz, 2×2 MIMO) · Bluetooth 5.3 · NFC · Google Cast · Dual-band GNSS (GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou, QZSS, NavIC)
Face ID
Fingerprint Unlock · Face Unlock · Pattern, PIN, password
£1,099Apple UK price for the 256 GB model in September 2026; retailer prices may differ.
£499Google UK Store price for Pixel 9a Obsidian 256 GB (unlocked) on 26 September 2026, when it was the only in-stock UK Pixel 9a configuration (the 128 GB and other colours showed 'Out of stock'). Not a live offer; retailer prices may differ.
Cellular modem
Sources
Pixel 9aNo source recorded
Apple C1XListed in the UK Mobile and Wireless section for model A3517.
Not verified
Published network bands
Sources
iPhone AirNo source recorded
Not verified
5G Sub-6 GHz (model GTF7P) · GSM/EDGE: quad-band (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz) · UMTS/HSPA+/HSDPA: bands 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 19 · LTE: bands 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/17/18/19/20/21/26/28/32/38/39/40/41/42/66/75 · 5G Sub-6: bands 1/2/3/5/7/8/12/20/26/28/38/40/41/66/75/77/78/79 · NB-IoT: bands 23/255/256
Sensors
Sources
iPhone AirNo source recorded
Not verified
Proximity · Ambient light · Accelerometer · Gyrometer · Magnetometer · Barometer
In the box
Sources
iPhone AirNo source recorded
Not verified
Pixel 9a · 1 m USB-C to USB-C cable (USB 2.0) · SIM toolNo charger is listed in the box.
Cover glass
Sources
iPhone AirNo source recorded
Not verified
Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Video recording
Sources
iPhone AirNo source recorded
Not verified
Rear: 4K at 30/60 FPS, 1080p at 30/60 FPS, digital zoom up to 5x; Front: 4K at 30 FPS; slo-mo up to 240 FPS; formats HEVC, AVC, AV1, VP9
Exact Google UK store configuration
Sources
Not verified
_pixel_9a_obsidian_256gb_unlocked
Show unverified (8)Not verified or conflicting for both phones. Kept for completeness; never counted as a difference.
Not verified8K recording is not mentioned.
Not verifiedVideo is listed up to 4K; 8K recording is not mentioned.
Reverse wireless charging
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Headphone jack
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Expandable storage
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Not verifiedNot verified for this exact model.
Not verified
Not verifiedGoogle lists only 'Fast charging' and publishes no wired charging rate or charge time; its footnote says fast wired charging rates are based on the Google 45W USB-C Charger (sold separately). The UK configuration page's charger label says this SKU supports USB PD chargers with power minimum 7.5 W and maximum 27 W (charger not included). That is charger compatibility, not a charging rate, so the value stays unknown.
Rear camera autofocus
Sources
iPhone AirNo source recorded
Not verified
Not verifiedThe wide camera is listed as 'Quad PD Dual Pixel' but the page does not explicitly state autofocus for either rear camera; not converted into a capability claim.
Front camera optical stabilisation
Sources
iPhone AirNo source recorded
Not verified
Not verifiedThe manufacturer does not say whether the front camera has optical stabilisation.
Satellite SOS
Sources
iPhone AirNo source recorded
Not verified
Not verifiedSatellite SOS is not listed in Google's UK Safety specification for this model, so check before relying on it.
Exact variants · Manufacturer specificationsView sources
A LITTLE PERSPECTIVE. A BETTER DECISION.

Decision tools

NO LOGOS. JUST YOU.

Would you choose it blind?

Forget the brand for a moment. Which set of specs feels more like you?

Pick a phone. Then meet your match.

Manufacturer specifications verified for both phones. Your choice doesn’t change the comparison above.

Good comparisons start with good sources.6 cited sources for this pair. Every number has a story.See the evidence

Important verified differences fall outside the scoring model, so no score is shown. Manufacturer battery claims can use different test conditions. Verified specifications remain visible even where a category cannot be scored.

How we calculate scores

Apple iPhone Air

256 GB · checked 28 Sept 2026

Specifications & verification
Weight165 gManufacturer claim · high confidenceApple
Width74.7 mmManufacturer claim · high confidenceApple
Thickness5.64 mmManufacturer claim · high confidenceApple
Display size6.5 inchesManufacturer claim · high confidence

Nominal diagonal; actual viewable area is smaller.

Apple
Peak brightness3,000 nitsManufacturer claim · high confidence

Outdoor peak claim.

Apple
Claimed video playback27 hoursManufacturer claim · high confidence

Apple UK up-to claim, without an external battery; not mixed-use battery life.

Apple
Claimed charging rate1.67% per minuteCalculated from sources · low confidence

Apple claim using a separately sold 20W or higher USB-C adapter. 50 divided by 30 minutes; not a sustained charging rate.

Apple
Published total supportNot verified

Not published

Wireless chargingYesManufacturer claim · high confidenceApple
Reverse wireless chargingNot verified

Not published

Headphone jackNot verified

Not published

Expandable storageNot verified

Not published

eSIM onlyYesManufacturer claim · high confidenceApple
IP ratingIP68Manufacturer claim · high confidence

Apple laboratory condition: 6 m for 30 minutes. Resistance is not permanent.

Apple
RAMNot verified

Not published

Apple
Pixel density460 ppiManufacturer claim · high confidenceApple
Maximum refresh rate120 HzManufacturer claim · high confidence

Adaptive ProMotion.

Apple
Native telephoto reach0×Manufacturer claim · high confidence

The 2× mode crops the main sensor; there is no dedicated telephoto module.

Apple
Claimed optical-quality reach2×Manufacturer claim · high confidence

Main-sensor crop mode, not a separate telephoto lens.

Apple
Rear camera modules1Manufacturer claim · high confidenceApple
8K recordingNot verified

Not published

Apple
Manufacturer list price£1,099.00Reference only · not a live offer or current priceApple
All sources3
  1. Apple UK iPhone Air technical specificationsApple · accessed 10 Sept 2026
  2. Apple UK iPhone Air configurationsApple · accessed 10 Sept 2026
  3. iPhone Air exact UK configurationApple · accessed 10 Sept 2026

Google Pixel 9a

256 GB · checked 26 Sept 2026

Specifications & verification
Weight186 gManufacturer claim · high confidenceGoogle
Width73.3 mmManufacturer claim · high confidenceGoogle
Thickness8.9 mmManufacturer claim · high confidenceGoogle
Display size6.3 inchesManufacturer claim · high confidence

US page states 6.3 inches; UK page states 160 mm. Not converted by us.

GoogleGoogle
Peak brightness2,700 nitsManufacturer claim · high confidence

Manufacturer peak claim; HDR brightness is listed separately as up to 1,800 nits.

Google
Claimed video playbackNot verified

Not published

Claimed charging rateNot verified

Not published

Published total support7 yearsManufacturer claim · high confidence

OS, security and Pixel Drop updates; counted by Google from initial availability, not from purchase.

Google
Wireless chargingYesManufacturer claim · high confidence

Qi certified. Google's UK specification footnote gives a wireless charging rate of up to 7.5 W with Qi-certified EPP chargers (sold separately) and says actual results may be slower.

Google
Reverse wireless chargingNot verified

Not published

Headphone jackNot verified

Not published

Expandable storageNot verified

Not published

eSIM onlyNoManufacturer claim · high confidenceGoogle
IP ratingIP68Manufacturer claim · high confidenceGoogle
RAM8 GBManufacturer claim · high confidenceGoogle
Pixel density422.2 ppiManufacturer claim · high confidenceGoogle
Maximum refresh rate120 HzManufacturer claim · high confidenceGoogle
Native telephoto reach0×Manufacturer claim · high confidence

No telephoto camera is listed; Super Res Zoom up to 8x is digital/computational.

Google
Claimed optical-quality reachNot verified

Not published

Rear camera modules2Manufacturer claim · high confidenceGoogle
8K recordingNot verified

Not published

Google
Manufacturer list price£499.00Reference only · not a live offer or current priceGoogle
All sources3
  1. Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsGoogle · accessed 26 Sept 2026
  2. Pixel 9a Obsidian 256 GB (unlocked) — Google UK Store configurationGoogle · accessed 26 Sept 2026
  3. Google US Pixel 9a technical specifications (regional comparison)Google · accessed 26 Sept 2026
A CLEARER CHOICE

Share this comparison

The verified differences and their sources, in one link.