iPhone 17 Pro Max
More screen. Up to 37 hours of video.
256 GB · Deep Blue · UK A3526 · nano-SIM + eSIMFull product profile
Deep BlueMore screen. Up to 37 hours of video.
256 GB · Deep Blue · UK A3526 · nano-SIM + eSIMFull product profile
Deep BlueWHO EACH ONE SUITS
Choose the iPhone 17 Pro Max if…
Choose the Pixel 9a if…
6.3″ · pOLED · 120 Hz · Google Tensor G4
256 GB · 8 GB RAM · Obsidian · UK specification GTF7PFull product profile
ObsidianAs an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.
A different chip or core configuration is a hardware change, not a measured performance uplift.
Bigger is a preference, not a quality score.
Relative diagonals · illustrative shape, not actual size
Up-to claims. Different test methods; no endurance winner.
Arcs on a shared 0–40 h scale · not mixed-use battery life
14 verified differences, most decision-relevant first. 3 are also drawn in Visual facts above. Missing information stays separate.
Different hardware. A chip name or generation does not quantify real-world performance.
No dedicated telephoto: Google lists Super Res Zoom up to 8x (digital) and 'optical quality' at 0.5x and 1x. Wide 1/2" sensor, 82° field of view, Quad PD Dual Pixel; ultra-wide 1/3.1" sensor, 120°; selfie 96.1° field of view. Front video 4K 30 fps.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsCompare the camera hardware and recording modes. Matching megapixels or zoom do not mean identical cameras.
UWB is Apple's second-generation Ultra Wideband chip. The exact UK source explicitly lists these capabilities. Wi-Fi 7 and Ultra Wideband remain subject to regional availability; compatible equipment, provider and service conditions apply. This is not measured throughput or a new-generation-only advantage.
iPhone 17 Pro Max UK technical specifications — wireless connectivityCheck the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
A USB 3 cable rated for 10 Gb/s is required; the connector shape alone does not establish this bandwidth.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportCheck the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Compare the camera hardware and recording modes. Matching megapixels or zoom do not mean identical cameras.
No telephoto camera is listed; Super Res Zoom up to 8x is digital/computational.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsCheck the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Apple-published outdoor peak, not an independent measurement; HDR peak is 1,600 nits and typical maximum is 1,000 nits.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportManufacturer peak claim; HDR brightness is listed separately as up to 1,800 nits.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsCheck the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Apple publishes 460 ppi directly for this model; no rounded-diagonal calculation is substituted.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportCheck the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Apple's model-identification page explicitly lists three rear cameras: Fusion Main, Fusion Ultra Wide and Fusion Telephoto. The 2× and 8× crop modes are not extra modules.
Identify your iPhone model — regional model numbersCompare the camera hardware and recording modes. Matching megapixels or zoom do not mean identical cameras.
Nominal diagonal. Apple UK sources disagree on the standard-rectangle measurement (6.86 versus 6.85 inches); actual viewable area is smaller. See the separate rectangular-diagonal evidence.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportUS page states 6.3 inches; UK page states 160 mm. Not converted by us.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsGoogle US Pixel 9a technical specifications (regional comparison)Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Manufacturer dimensions; not a preference or quality score.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportA size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.
Exact UK specification. Weight can differ by configuration; no relative US weight is inferred here.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportA size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.
A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.
A size or weight trade-off; it does not establish the better product.
The comparison retains the UK configuration when the retailer market changes. A model specification does not establish stock or support from a particular network.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportIdentify your iPhone model — regional model numbersUK page lists model GTF7P with LTE bands 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/17/18/19/20/21/26/28/32/38/39/40/41/42/66/75. The US store page instead lists model GXQ96 with US carrier bands (e.g. LTE 13/14/25/29/30/48/71, 5G n70/n71), so the UK and US units are different hardware models. Check carrier support before using one region's model in the other.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsGoogle US Pixel 9a technical specifications (regional comparison)These descriptions or measurements differ. Wording alone does not establish a different capability; check the exact configuration.
Main camera only; the telephoto and ultrawide have different apertures.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
100/120 fps use the Fusion Main camera; this is distinct from Cinematic mode and does not establish recording quality.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Center Stage front camera. Rear Fusion Main and front Cinematic mode have separate limits.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Listed for the wide camera only; the ultra-wide lists none.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsEvidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
The wide camera is listed as 'Quad PD Dual Pixel' but the page does not explicitly state autofocus for either rear camera; not converted into a capability claim.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsEvidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
The manufacturer does not say whether the front camera has autofocus.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsEvidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
The manufacturer does not say whether the front camera has optical stabilisation.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsEvidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Rear-camera Cinematic mode. Ordinary 4K and front-camera recording are separate modes.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Manufacturer up-to local-video claim, not independently measured mixed-use endurance. Apple's playback method differs from Samsung's.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportiPhone - Battery Test InformationNot verified for this exact model.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Google lists only 'Fast charging' and publishes no wired charging rate or charge time; its footnote says fast wired charging rates are based on the Google 45W USB-C Charger (sold separately). The UK configuration page's charger label says this SKU supports USB PD chargers with power minimum 7.5 W and maximum 27 W (charger not included). That is charger compatibility, not a charging rate, so the value stays unknown.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsPixel 9a Obsidian 256 GB (unlocked) — Google UK Store configurationEvidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Apple claim with a separately sold 40W-capable adapter or higher; not a sustained charging rate.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
The checked specification lists Camera Control exposure, depth, zoom, cameras, styles and tone; it does not establish the full aperture/shutter/white-balance/histogram workflow listed for iPhone 18 Pro.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Digital video zoom; not optical lens reach or a claim about image quality.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Diagonal published as 160 mm on the UK page and 6.3 inches on the US page; 422.2 PPI; up to 1,800 nits (HDR); Corning Gorilla Glass 3; >1,000,000:1 contrast. Brightness figures are Google claims.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsEvidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No built-in memory-card slot is listed. External USB-C storage for supported recording workflows is a separate capability.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNot verified for this exact model.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Google's page does not state the start date on this page; Google's policy for Pixel counts from the model's initial availability, so the remaining term is shorter for a model launched with Android 15.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsEvidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Not verified for this exact model.
Apple unveils iPhone 17 Pro and iPhone 17 Pro MaxiOS 27 Preview and CompatibilityOS, security and Pixel Drop updates; counted by Google from initial availability, not from purchase.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsEvidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Checked 13 September 2026: Apple lists iOS 27 for release on 14 September. Siri AI starts in English beta on supported devices, with regional restrictions and daily limits for some server features. It is not an iPhone 18-exclusive capability or a promise of every feature in every language.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportiOS 27 — compatibility, release and Apple Intelligence requirementsNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Named in the rear and front recording specifications. The checked material does not establish the newer music-isolation feature or a measured audio-quality result.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Google publishes no wired charging rate: its footnote says fast wired charging rates are based on the Google 45W USB-C Charger (adapters sold separately). Wireless charging is up to 7.5 W with Qi-certified EPP chargers. Battery-life claims (30+ hours; up to 100 hours with Extreme Battery Saver) are Google estimates, not independent tests.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsEvidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
The checked specification does not identify the cellular modem. The Apple N1 wireless networking chip is a separate component.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
The checked A19 Pro specification and launch article do not state the process node. A specification for another A19 variant is not substituted.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
The checked specification lists Cinematic recording but does not establish the newer ordinary-video conversion feature. Editing footage already recorded in Cinematic mode is a separate capability.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Materials and coating names do not establish comparative drop or scratch resistance.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Simultaneous front and rear capture. This is separate from ordinary single-camera 4K recording.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
The checked specification names Dynamic Island without a maximum count of simultaneous activities. No absence of an activity feature is inferred.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Single-screen bar phone per the published dimensions.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsEvidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Published capabilities, not independent performance measurements.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Derived from Apple's exhaustive connector specification, which lists USB-C and no 3.5mm connector.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNot verified for this exact model.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
MagSafe charging, magnet array and alignment magnet are expressly listed. Generic Qi charging on another product does not by itself prove MagSafe support there.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Apple's sensor-derived optical-quality mode is not a separate native 8x lens.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNot verified for this exact model.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Apple's specification does not identify the Styles 3 feature set listed for iPhone 18 Pro. No exclusive software feature is inferred.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Four defined classes: RAW stills (ProRAW), professional video codecs (ProRes/ProRes RAW), log capture (Apple Log 2), and external timing (Genlock). Compatible apps and third-party hardware/software may be required. This calculated inventory is not a camera-quality result.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Requires external recording; not a claim that every lens or the front camera supports this rate.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
The exact UK specification separately lists Qi2 wireless charging up to 25 W. This is a protocol-specific published maximum with compatible equipment, not a measured or sustained charging rate.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Apple UK support and model identification state 6.86 inches; the UK launch article states 6.85 inches. The nominal 6.9-inch size remains separate. This unresolved difference is excluded from numeric comparisons.
Apple unveils iPhone 17 Pro and iPhone 17 Pro MaxiPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportIdentify your iPhone model — regional model numbersNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
This named feature is not established by the checked iPhone 17 Pro recording specification. Its absence from that page is not proof that all reference-image workflows are impossible.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Not verified for this exact model.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNot verified for this exact model.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Satellite SOS is not listed in Google's UK Safety specification for this model, so check before relying on it.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsEvidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Not named in the checked iPhone 17 Pro specification. This does not establish that all subject tracking is absent.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Apple UK claim; not a mixed-use endurance measurement.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Apple's published construction. The cited sustained-performance claim is not an independent measurement and does not establish superiority over another cooling design.
Apple unveils iPhone 17 Pro and iPhone 17 Pro MaxNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
The checked recording list does not state a time-lapse resolution. Ordinary 4K recording does not prove 4K time-lapse.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
The checked UK specification publishes local and streamed video playback, not a comparable mixed-use hours claim.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
A different regional model. US weight and battery claims are not substituted into the UK comparison; domestic US listing availability remains a retailer check.
Identify your iPhone model — regional model numbersNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Not verified for this exact model.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportVideo is listed up to 4K; 8K recording is not mentioned.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsEvidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Manufacturer 'up to' figure with Qi-certified EPP chargers (sold separately); Google says actual results may be slower. Not a measured rate.
Google UK Pixel 9a technical specificationsEvidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Networking chip identity; not the cellular modem or a measured throughput result.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
MagSafe and Qi2 maximum with compatible charging equipment. Apple's MagSafe test requires a 30W adapter or higher; this is not measured charging speed.
iPhone 17 Pro Max technical specifications — Apple UK supportNo source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
No source recorded for this side.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
5 shared fields have the same recorded value.
Forget the brand for a moment. Which set of specs feels more like you?
Manufacturer specifications verified for both phones. Your choice doesn’t change the comparison above.
Important verified differences fall outside the scoring model, so no score is shown. Manufacturer battery claims can use different test conditions. Verified specifications remain visible even where a category cannot be scored.
How we calculate scores256 GB · checked 4 Sept 2026
Exact UK specification. Weight can differ by configuration; no relative US weight is inferred here.
AppleNominal diagonal. Apple UK sources disagree on the standard-rectangle measurement (6.86 versus 6.85 inches); actual viewable area is smaller. See the separate rectangular-diagonal evidence.
AppleApple-published outdoor peak, not an independent measurement; HDR peak is 1,600 nits and typical maximum is 1,000 nits.
AppleManufacturer up-to local-video claim, not independently measured mixed-use endurance. Apple's playback method differs from Samsung's.
AppleAppleA normalized rate derived from a manufacturer up-to claim, not a sustained charging measurement. Apple requires a 40W-or-higher adapter.
50 percent divided by 20 minutes.
AppleApple lists MagSafe and Qi2 wireless charging up to 25W.
AppleDerived from Apple's exhaustive connector specification, which lists USB-C and no 3.5mm connector.
AppleNo built-in memory-card slot is listed. External USB-C storage for supported recording workflows is a separate capability.
AppleThe UK specification lists nano-SIM plus eSIM and dual-eSIM support.
AppleApple's controlled-lab claim is up to 6m for 30 minutes under IEC 60529; resistance is not permanent.
AppleApple publishes 460 ppi directly for this model; no rounded-diagonal calculation is substituted.
AppleMaximum adaptive ProMotion refresh rate; not a constant rate or measured motion-quality result.
AppleApple's sensor-derived optical-quality mode is not a separate native 8x lens.
AppleApple's model-identification page explicitly lists three rear cameras: Fusion Main, Fusion Ultra Wide and Fusion Telephoto. The 2× and 8× crop modes are not extra modules.
Apple256 GB · checked 26 Sept 2026
US page states 6.3 inches; UK page states 160 mm. Not converted by us.
GoogleGoogleManufacturer peak claim; HDR brightness is listed separately as up to 1,800 nits.
GoogleNot published
Not published
OS, security and Pixel Drop updates; counted by Google from initial availability, not from purchase.
GoogleQi certified. Google's UK specification footnote gives a wireless charging rate of up to 7.5 W with Qi-certified EPP chargers (sold separately) and says actual results may be slower.
GoogleNot published
Not published
Not published
No telephoto camera is listed; Super Res Zoom up to 8x is digital/computational.
GoogleNot published
The verified differences and their sources, in one link.