HomeSmartphonesComparisonUK & US shopping
YOUR PHONE FACE-OFF

iPhone 16 vs iPhone Air

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact variants · Checked 4 Sept 2026
Apple256 GB

iPhone 16

A familiar 6.1-inch upgrade reference.

iPhone 16 in Ultramarine, front and rear
64%Spec
match
Ultramarine
PricesCheck retailers

Search links open retailer results.

Price history · UKNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay UK daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Price history · USNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay US daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Affiliate links

We may earn a commission. Search results can include other models; check the exact variant and final price with the retailer.

THE CHOICE IS PERSONAL

Which one
is your one?

Two great phones.
Different things to love.

Display93
Camera8
64Battery73
Make it personal How are scores calculated?
Apple YOUR MATCH

iPhone Air

6.5″ · OLED · 120 Hz · Apple A19 Pro · 6 CPU cores · 5 GPU cores · 16-core Neural Engine

256 GB · Space Black · UK A3517 · dual eSIM · MG2L4QN/A
Apple iPhone Air in Space Black, official product view
73%Spec
match
Space Black
PricesCheck retailers

Search links open retailer results.

Price history · UKNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay UK daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Price history · USNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay US daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Affiliate links

We may earn a commission. Search results can include other models; check the exact variant and final price with the retailer.

EVERYDAY PRIORITIESiPhone Air takes the lead.

9.3 points ahead across your selected battery priorities.

Change what matters

Published-spec match · for your selected priorities. Scores compare published capabilities, not lab-tested quality. Camera image quality and independent performance tests are not rated. See scoring

Decision confidence: Clearer specification match · 9.3 points apart

The leading product stays the same when each available priority moves one step. This checks the published-spec model, not lab-tested quality.

Display, Camera scoring is unavailable for this pair. Known hardware specs still appear below; default scores use only shared, verified categories.

OVERVIEW

Compare the facts.

See each difference separately. Select a topic for its sources and conditions.

SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE6 topics

Bar length shows the stated amount. Use your priorities to decide which amount suits you.

SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 06

Pixel density

Pixels per inch describe display density. This is not an overall display-quality or colour-accuracy score.

Explore the full specifications
THE DIFFERENCES THAT MATTER

A quick read on the trade-offs.

Every specification
iPhone Air

5g lighter.

Published device weight, without a case.

iPhone 16
170g
iPhone Air
165g

Schematic balance · not a physical simulation

iPhone Air

0.4″ larger diagonal.

Bigger is a preference, not a quality score.

iPhone 16
6.1
iPhone Air
6.5

Relative diagonals · illustrative shape, not actual size

BOTH PHONES

Matching native reach.

Dedicated telephoto reach. No digital or crop zoom.

iPhone 16
No telephoto
iPhone Air
No telephoto

Lens illustration · not an image-quality test

MANUFACTURER CLAIMS

Playback on paper.

Up-to claims. Different test methods; no endurance winner.

iPhone 16
Up to 22h
iPhone Air
Up to 27h

Shared 40-hour scale · not mixed-use battery life

BEYOND THE TOTAL

Why choose each?

Different strengths. Your call.

Published facts, not hands-on recommendations. These preferences do not add extra points to the match score; no tested battery gains are inferred.

GO A LITTLE DEEPER

Where each phone shines.

Explore the numbers behind the match.

iPhone 16 iPhone Air
Display explainedNot enough evidence to score

iPhone 16: Apple publishes 460 ppi and a 2,000-nit outdoor peak, but the checked primary specifications do not give a numeric internal-display refresh rate. The v1 display score is withheld because that required input is unverified.

iPhone Air: Published brightness, pixel density and maximum refresh under the existing capability model. This is not a laboratory display rating.

Explore the sources
YOUR PHONE, YOUR RULES

What matters to you?

Make the comparison fit your life.

Any must-haves?

Your matchiPhone Air
64vs73
Unknown must-haves pause the recommendation.
COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

All specs40 specificationsiPhone 16iPhone Air
Screen size
6.1″
6.5″
Nominal diagonal; actual viewable area is smaller.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Published peak brightnessManufacturer peak claims use different test conditions.
2000 nits
3000 nits
Published outdoor peak · Outdoor peak claim.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Pixel density
460 ppi
Maximum refresh rate
Not verified
120HzAdaptive ProMotion.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Native telephoto reach
No dedicated lens
No dedicated lensDedicated telephoto reach · The 2× mode crops the main sensor; there is no dedicated telephoto module.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
8K video recording
NoApple lists rear recording up to 4K60 Dolby Vision, not 8K.
NoThe complete recording-mode list reaches 4K at 60 fps.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Claimed video playbackUp-to manufacturer claims. Playback protocols differ.
22 hours
27 hours
Claimed local video playback · Apple UK up-to claim, without an external battery; not mixed-use battery life.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Published support term
Not verified
Not verifiedUpdate policy
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Display specification
Not verified
6.5-inch OLED; 2736 × 1260; 460 ppi; adaptive refresh up to 120 Hz
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Chipset
Not verified
Apple A19 Pro · 6 CPU cores · 5 GPU cores · 16-core Neural Engine
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
RAM and storage configuration
Not verified
256 GB fixed storage; RAM capacity is not stated in the checked Apple specification.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air configurations
Camera system
Not verified
48 MP main, f/1.6; 12 MP 2× crop mode from the main sensor; 18 MP front camera. There is one rear camera module.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Battery and charging
Not verified
Apple claim: up to 27 h local video or 22 h streaming; up to 50% charge in 30 minutes with a separately sold 20W or higher USB-C adapter. MagSafe / Qi2 charging up to 20W. Battery capacity in mAh is not stated.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Dimensions
Not verified
156.2 × 74.7 × 5.64 mm (height × width × thickness)
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Regional SIM / network configuration
Not verified
UK A3517; eSIM only, with two active eSIMs; no physical SIM slot. 5G sub-6 GHz; carrier services need separate confirmation.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Storage
Not verified
RAM
Not verified
Not verifiedNot stated in the checked manufacturer specification; not treated as zero or absent.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Panel technology
Not verified
Display resolution
Not verified
Height
Not verified
Form factor
Not verified
Colour
Not verified
Claimed streamed video
Not verified
22 hoursApple UK up-to claim.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Time to 50% wired charge
Not verified
30 minutesApple claim using a separately sold 20W or higher USB-C adapter.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
MagSafe / Qi2 power
Not verified
20 WCompatible charger and adapter required.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
eSIM only
Not verified
Ingress protection
Not verified
IP68Apple laboratory condition: 6 m for 30 minutes. Resistance is not permanent.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Optical-quality crop reach
Not verified
2 ×Main-sensor crop mode, not a separate telephoto lens.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Front camera
Not verified
18 MP, f/1.9; autofocus; Center Stage
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Published professional camera workflows
Not verified
0The model counts RAW stills, professional codecs, log capture and external production tools. The checked capture formats list HEIF/JPEG and HEVC/H.264; none of these four workflows is listed.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
USB connection
Not verified
USB-C; USB 2 data up to 480 Mb/s
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Wireless connectivity
Not verified
Wi-Fi 7 · Bluetooth 6 · Thread · second-generation UWB
SourceApple UK iPhone Air technical specifications
Device unlock
Not verified
Listed operating system
Not verified
Apple UK reference price
Not verified
£1,099Exact 256 GB configuration price checked on 10 September 2026; not a current retailer quote.
SourceApple UK iPhone Air configurations
Exact variants · Manufacturer specificationsView sources
GO BEYOND THE SPECS

A little perspective. A better decision.

Make this comparison yours.
THE PRICE THAT CHANGES EVERYTHING

What price changes your mind?

A great phone. An even better deal. Find the point where the value flips.

iPhone Air matches value at£1,028.97
vs iPhone 16
£899.00 reference MSRP
MORE SCORE PER £
£350.00£975.00£1,600.00
iPhone AiriPhone 16 reference
£1,099.00
iPhone 16 offers more score per £ at this price.

A score-per-price simulation, not an objective buying verdict. Starts from reference MSRP; no live retailer offers.

NO LOGOS. JUST YOU.

Would you choose it blind?

Forget the brand for a moment. Which set of specs feels more like you?

Pick a phone. Then meet your match.

Manufacturer specifications. Your choice doesn’t change the comparison above.

Good comparisons start with good sources.7 cited sources for this pair. Every number has a story.See the evidence

Your selected categories: Battery. Scores reflect published capabilities, not hands-on testing. Manufacturer battery claims can use different test conditions. Verified specifications remain visible even where a category cannot be scored.

How we calculate scores

Apple iPhone 16

256 GB · checked 4 Sept 2026

Your weighted score64.2 / 100Selected categories: Battery.

(64.19 × 1) ÷ 1

DisplayNot scored

Apple publishes 460 ppi and a 2,000-nit outdoor peak, but the checked primary specifications do not give a numeric internal-display refresh rate. The v1 display score is withheld because that required input is unverified.

Not included in your current weighted score.

Missing: Verified maximum internal-display refresh rate.

CameraNot scored

Verified lens and video capabilities remain visible. A complete audit of the four pro-workflow inputs required by the v1 model is not included, so no camera score is inferred.

Not included in your current weighted score.

Missing: Complete verification of the four model-defined pro workflows.

Battery64.2 / 100

Uses Apple's up-to 22-hour local-video claim and up-to-50%-in-around-30-minutes charging claim. Cross-brand confidence is low because manufacturer test methods differ.

Selected weight: 1.

low confidence · 100% model coverage
Manufacturer-claimed local video playbackSource value: 22
62.86 × 65% = 40.86

Apple's up-to 22-hour local-video claim, not independently measured mixed-use endurance. Test methods differ across manufacturers.

Apple Support UKApple UK
Manufacturer-claimed charging rateSource value: 1.67
66.67 × 35% = 23.33

Derived from Apple's up-to-50%-in-around-30-minutes claim using a 20W-or-higher USB-C adapter. This is not a sustained charging measurement.

Apple Support UK

Category score = 40.86 + 23.33 = 64.19

PerformanceNot scored

No comparable independently measured CPU, GPU or sustained-performance results are included in this official-spec entry.

Not included in your current weighted score.

Missing: Comparable CPU, GPU and sustained-performance measurements.

LongevityNot scored

The checked Apple UK material does not publish a fixed model-specific duration of software support.

Not included in your current weighted score.

Missing: Published model-specific software-support duration.

Specifications & verification
Weight170 gmanufacturer · high confidenceApple Support UK
Width71.6 mmmanufacturer · high confidenceApple Support UK
Thickness7.8 mmmanufacturer · high confidenceApple Support UK
Display size6.1 inchesmanufacturer · high confidence

Nominal diagonal; 6.12 inches as a standard rectangle, with a smaller actual viewable area.

Apple Support UK
Peak brightness2000 nitsmanufacturer · medium confidence

Apple's outdoor peak claim, not an independent measurement.

Apple Support UK
Claimed video playback22 hoursmanufacturer · medium confidence

Apple's up-to 22-hour local-video claim, not independently measured mixed-use endurance. Test methods differ across manufacturers.

Apple Support UKApple UK
Claimed charging rate1.6666666666666667% per minutecalculated · low confidence

Derived from Apple's up-to-50%-in-around-30-minutes claim using a 20W-or-higher USB-C adapter. This is not a sustained charging measurement.

50 percent divided by approximately 30 minutes.

Apple Support UK
Published total supportNot verified

not published

Apple Support UKApple Newsroom UK
Wireless chargingYesmanufacturer · high confidence

MagSafe, Qi2 and Qi charging are listed.

Apple Support UK
Reverse wireless chargingNot verified

not published

Apple Support UK
Headphone jackNocalculated · high confidence

Apple's connector list specifies USB-C, with no 3.5mm jack.

Apple Support UK
Expandable storageNocalculated · medium confidence

Apple lists fixed internal storage options and no removable storage interface.

Apple Support UK
eSIM onlyNomanufacturer · high confidence

UK specification supports nano-SIM plus eSIM and dual eSIM.

Apple Support UK
IP ratingIP68manufacturer · high confidence

Controlled-lab claim: maximum depth of 6m for up to 30 minutes. Resistance is not permanent.

Apple Support UK
RAMNot verified

not published

Apple Support UK
Pixel density460 ppimanufacturer · high confidenceApple Support UK
Maximum refresh rateNot verified

not published

Apple Support UK
Native telephoto reachcalculated · high confidence

The rear modules are main and ultra-wide. The advertised 2x mode uses the main sensor; there is no separate native telephoto module.

Apple Support UK
Claimed optical-quality reachmanufacturer · high confidence

The 2x mode is enabled by the 48MP main sensor, not a separate native telephoto lens.

Apple Support UK
Rear camera modules2manufacturer · high confidenceApple Support UK
8K recordingNocalculated · high confidence

Apple lists rear recording up to 4K60 Dolby Vision, not 8K.

Apple Support UK
Reference MSRP£899.00Apple UK
All sources4
  1. iPhone 16 — Original Technical Specifications, including 256GBApple Support UK · accessed 2026-09-04
  2. iPhone 16 — Technical SpecificationsApple UK · accessed 2026-09-04
  3. Buy iPhone 16 — Retained 256GB £899 reference listing, not a live offerApple UK · accessed 2026-09-04
  4. Apple introduces iPhone 16 and iPhone 16 PlusApple Newsroom UK · accessed 2026-09-04

Apple iPhone Air

256 GB · checked 10 Sept 2026

Your weighted score73.5 / 100Selected categories: Battery.

(93.00 × 0 + 8.00 × 0 + 73.47 × 1) ÷ 1

Display93.0 / 100

Published brightness, pixel density and maximum refresh under the existing capability model. This is not a laboratory display rating.

Not included in your current weighted score.

medium confidence · 100% model coverage
Published peak brightnessSource value: 3000
100.00 × 40% = 40.00

Manufacturer-published peak figure; not an independent measurement.

Apple
Pixel densitySource value: 460
80.00 × 35% = 28.00

Published or explicitly calculated pixel density.

Apple
Maximum adaptive refresh rateSource value: 120
100.00 × 25% = 25.00Apple

Category score = 40.00 + 28.00 + 25.00 = 93.00

Camera8.0 / 100

The existing camera-capability model uses lens reach, modules and published recording workflows. It does not measure photo quality.

Not included in your current weighted score.

medium confidence · 100% model coverage
Native telephoto reachSource value: 0
0.00 × 25% = 0.00

Main-sensor crop mode, not a separate telephoto lens.

Apple
Published optical-quality reachSource value: 2
20.00 × 15% = 3.00

Main-sensor crop mode, not a separate telephoto lens.

Apple
Published pro workflowsSource value: 0
0.00 × 35% = 0.00

The model counts RAW stills, professional codecs, log capture and external production tools. The checked capture formats list HEIF/JPEG and HEVC/H.264; none of these four workflows is listed.

Apple
8K recording availableSource value: 0
0.00 × 5% = 0.00Apple
Native rear camera modulesSource value: 1
25.00 × 20% = 5.00Apple

Category score = 0.00 + 3.00 + 0.00 + 0.00 + 5.00 = 8.00

Battery73.5 / 100

Uses the listed playback mode and short charging claim. Manufacturer protocols differ; this is not measured endurance.

Selected weight: 1.

low confidence · 100% model coverage
Manufacturer-claimed local video playbackSource value: 27
77.14 × 65% = 50.14

Apple UK up-to claim, without an external battery; not mixed-use battery life.

Apple
Manufacturer-claimed charging rateSource value: 1.67
66.67 × 35% = 23.33

Apple claim using a separately sold 20W or higher USB-C adapter. 50 divided by 30 minutes; not a sustained charging rate.

Apple

Category score = 50.14 + 23.33 = 73.47

PerformanceNot scored

Comparable independent CPU, GPU and sustained-performance measurements are not available here.

Not included in your current weighted score.

Missing: Independent benchmarks.

LongevityNot scored

The published update policy is listed separately; remaining support is not converted into a quality score.

Not included in your current weighted score.

Missing: Comparable remaining-support scoring methodology.

Specifications & verification
Weight165 gmanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Width74.7 mmmanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Thickness5.64 mmmanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Display size6.5 inchesmanufacturer · high confidence

Nominal diagonal; actual viewable area is smaller.

Apple
Peak brightness3000 nitsmanufacturer · high confidence

Outdoor peak claim.

Apple
Claimed video playback27 hoursmanufacturer · high confidence

Apple UK up-to claim, without an external battery; not mixed-use battery life.

Apple
Claimed charging rate1.6666666666666667% per minutecalculated · low confidence

Apple claim using a separately sold 20W or higher USB-C adapter. 50 divided by 30 minutes; not a sustained charging rate.

Apple
Published total supportNot verified

not published

Wireless chargingYesmanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Reverse wireless chargingNot verified

not published

Headphone jackNot verified

not published

Expandable storageNot verified

not published

eSIM onlyYesmanufacturer · high confidenceApple
IP ratingIP68manufacturer · high confidence

Apple laboratory condition: 6 m for 30 minutes. Resistance is not permanent.

Apple
RAMNot verified

not published

Apple
Pixel density460 ppimanufacturer · high confidenceApple
Maximum refresh rate120 Hzmanufacturer · high confidence

Adaptive ProMotion.

Apple
Native telephoto reachmanufacturer · high confidence

The 2× mode crops the main sensor; there is no dedicated telephoto module.

Apple
Claimed optical-quality reachmanufacturer · high confidence

Main-sensor crop mode, not a separate telephoto lens.

Apple
Rear camera modules1manufacturer · high confidenceApple
8K recordingNomanufacturer · high confidence

The complete recording-mode list reaches 4K at 60 fps.

Apple
Reference MSRP£1,099.00Apple
All sources3
  1. Apple UK iPhone Air technical specificationsApple · accessed 2026-09-10
  2. Apple UK iPhone Air configurationsApple · accessed 2026-09-10
  3. iPhone Air exact UK configurationApple · accessed 2026-09-10
THE BEST PHONE IS PERSONAL.

Make your next choice a clear one.

Your priorities. The real differences. All in one place.