The Acton III is the smallest speaker in Marshall's mains-powered home range: a single bass-reflex cabinet with one woofer on a 30 W Class D amplifier and two tweeters on 15 W Class D amplifiers. It connects over Bluetooth 5.2 or a 3.5 mm input and keeps analogue bass and treble knobs on the top panel.
Specifications checked 26 Sept 2026.
Amazon links open search results. Check the exact variant, current price and availability with the retailer.
Search links open retailer results, not a matched listing; eBay listings are checked daily. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As an eBay Partner, we may be compensated if you make a purchase.
THE DIFFERENCES, MADE VISIBLE
Visual facts
Differences first. Select a topic for its graphic, sources and conditions.
How to read this comparison
Manufacturer facts for the exact models shown. Not a quality rating or a test result.
“Different” means the known values differ, not that one is better.
Missing or conflicting evidence is marked and never counts as a difference. Source chips hold each fact’s sources and conditions.
SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE4 topics
SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 04
Included units / accessories
Check the exact configuration and source conditions for your use.
Marshall Acton IIIActon III speaker, mains lead, user manual and legal and safety information
Check the exact configuration. Manufacturer specifications describe the listed variant. Confirm compatibility and the seller’s exact model before buying; no overall winner is inferred from incomplete evidence.
Marshall Acton IIIBluetooth 5.2 (LE Audio-ready) and 3.5 mm wired input
Apple HomePod mini 2Apple Music iTunes music purchases iCloud Music Library with an Apple Music or iTunes Match subscription Third-party music services Apple Music Radio or episodes on demand Radio stations from TuneIn, Capital FM, LBC UK, Heart UK and Smooth UK Apple Podcasts News briefings AirPlay to share other content to HomePod mini from iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple TV 4K or Mac
Sources
Marshall Acton III
Manufacturer specification · No Wi-Fi, microphone or voice control. Codecs are not published on the product page.
Apple HomePod mini 2Line voltage: 100V to 240V for 20W power adapter Frequency: 50Hz to 60Hz Operating temperature: 0° to 35° C (32° to 95° F) Relative humidity: 5% to 90% non-condensing Operating altitude: tested up to 3,000 metres (10,000 feet)
Sources
Marshall Acton III
Manufacturer specification · No battery. UK and US are separate regional products (UK product ID 1006006, EAN 7340055385008; US product ID 1006008, EAN 7340055385060); the plug type of each region's mains lead is not stated on the pages.
Manufacturer specification · Adapter/input ratings are requirements, not measured consumption or audio output. The 20W power adapter supplies 9V/2.22A required by HomePod mini 2.
Manufacturer specification · Only the dimensions explicitly labelled by the manufacturer are listed; no missing axis is inferred. Size and weight vary by manufacturing process.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Channel configuration
Marshall Acton IIISingle mains-powered Bluetooth home speaker with stereo output (one woofer and two tweeters in one cabinet)
Apple HomePod mini 2Not verified
Sources
Marshall Acton III
Manufacturer specification · Marshall lists the unit as stereo with separate amplifiers for one woofer and two tweeters. Marshall's FAQ states the speaker is stand-alone and cannot be used in pairs or multiple groups.
Not listed by the manufacturer in the cited technical specifications. · Manufacturer specification · Driver layout and supported audio formats are listed separately; neither establishes a rated channel configuration for one unit.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Wireless connections
Marshall Acton IIINot verified
Apple HomePod mini 2Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax) Peer-to-peer discovery for easy guest access Bluetooth 6 Thread networking technology Ultra Wideband chip for device proximity
Sources
Marshall Acton III
No source recorded for this side.
Apple HomePod mini 2
Manufacturer specification · Bluetooth presence alone does not establish Bluetooth audio input; supported audio sources are listed separately. Wi‑Fi 6E available in countries and regions where supported. Peer-to-peer AirPlay requires a compatible Mac, iPhone or iPad with the latest operating system software. Compatible only with HomeKit- or Matter-enabled Thread accessories. Requires a U1‑equipped iPhone running the latest operating system software. Ultra Wideband availability varies by region.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Driver layout and audio processing
Marshall Acton IIINot verified
Apple HomePod mini 2Full-range driver and dual passive radiators for deep bass and crisp high frequencies Custom acoustic waveguide for a 360º sound field Acoustically transparent fabric Computational audio for real-time tuning Three-microphone design for far-field Siri Sound Recognition for smoke and carbon monoxide alarm sounds Multi-room audio with AirPlay Stereo pair capable Surround sound with Apple TV 4K
Sources
Marshall Acton III
No source recorded for this side.
Apple HomePod mini 2
Manufacturer specification · Sound Recognition may detect smoke and carbon monoxide alarm sounds and send you notifications when recognised. Sound Recognition should not be relied upon in circumstances where you may be harmed or injured, or in high‑risk or emergency situations. Sound Recognition requires the updated Home architecture, which is available as a separate update in the Home app. It requires all Apple devices that access the home to be using the latest software. Requires multiple HomePod or HomePod mini speakers with the latest operating system, or AirPlay‑compatible speakers with the latest version of AirPlay, and an iOS device with the latest operating system. Creating a HomePod stereo pair requires two of the same model and generation of HomePod speakers, such as two HomePod mini 2 or two HomePod (2nd generation). Home theatre surround sound requires four HomePod mini 2 or HomePod (2nd generation) speakers in matching pairs (front and rear) and paired with Apple TV 4K (4th generation) running the latest operating system software.
Not listed by the manufacturer in the cited technical specifications. · Manufacturer specification · The manufacturer does not list rated speaker output in watts. An adapter rating or AC input frequency is not audio output power.
Evidence is missing or conflicting on at least one side. This is not a verified difference.
Manufacturer-listed sensors
Marshall Acton IIINot verified
Apple HomePod mini 2Temperature and humidity
Sources
Marshall Acton III
No source recorded for this side.
Apple HomePod mini 2
Manufacturer specification · Temperature and humidity sensing is optimised for indoor, domestic settings, when ambient temperatures are around 15° C to 30° C and relative humidity is around 30% to 70%. Accuracy may decrease in some situations where audio is playing for an extended period of time at high volume levels. HomePod mini requires some time to calibrate the sensors immediately after starting up before results are displayed.
Source-backed specifications for Marshall Acton III and Apple HomePod mini 2
Specification
Marshall Acton III
Apple HomePod mini 2
Channel configurationSources
Marshall Acton III
Manufacturer specification · Marshall lists the unit as stereo with separate amplifiers for one woofer and two tweeters. Marshall's FAQ states the speaker is stand-alone and cannot be used in pairs or multiple groups.
Not listed by the manufacturer in the cited technical specifications. · Manufacturer specification · Driver layout and supported audio formats are listed separately; neither establishes a rated channel configuration for one unit.
Bluetooth 5.2 (LE Audio-ready) and 3.5 mm wired input
Apple Music iTunes music purchases iCloud Music Library with an Apple Music or iTunes Match subscription Third-party music services Apple Music Radio or episodes on demand Radio stations from TuneIn, Capital FM, LBC UK, Heart UK and Smooth UK Apple Podcasts News briefings AirPlay to share other content to HomePod mini from iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple TV 4K or Mac
Manufacturer specification · Bluetooth presence alone does not establish Bluetooth audio input; supported audio sources are listed separately. Wi‑Fi 6E available in countries and regions where supported. Peer-to-peer AirPlay requires a compatible Mac, iPhone or iPad with the latest operating system software. Compatible only with HomeKit- or Matter-enabled Thread accessories. Requires a U1‑equipped iPhone running the latest operating system software. Ultra Wideband availability varies by region.
Not listed by the manufacturer in the cited technical specifications. · Manufacturer specification · The manufacturer does not list rated speaker output in watts. An adapter rating or AC input frequency is not audio output power.
One 30 W Class D amplifier for the woofer and two 15 W Class D amplifiers for the tweeters
Not listed by the manufacturer
Power supplyDifferentSources
Marshall Acton III
Manufacturer specification · No battery. UK and US are separate regional products (UK product ID 1006006, EAN 7340055385008; US product ID 1006008, EAN 7340055385060); the plug type of each region's mains lead is not stated on the pages.
Manufacturer specification · Adapter/input ratings are requirements, not measured consumption or audio output. The 20W power adapter supplies 9V/2.22A required by HomePod mini 2.
Line voltage: 100V to 240V for 20W power adapter Frequency: 50Hz to 60Hz Operating temperature: 0° to 35° C (32° to 95° F) Relative humidity: 5% to 90% non-condensing Operating altitude: tested up to 3,000 metres (10,000 feet)
Marshall Bluetooth app (iOS & Android), with OTA software updates
Not provided
Driver layout and audio processingSources
Marshall Acton III
No source recorded.
Apple HomePod mini 2
Manufacturer specification · Sound Recognition may detect smoke and carbon monoxide alarm sounds and send you notifications when recognised. Sound Recognition should not be relied upon in circumstances where you may be harmed or injured, or in high‑risk or emergency situations. Sound Recognition requires the updated Home architecture, which is available as a separate update in the Home app. It requires all Apple devices that access the home to be using the latest software. Requires multiple HomePod or HomePod mini speakers with the latest operating system, or AirPlay‑compatible speakers with the latest version of AirPlay, and an iOS device with the latest operating system. Creating a HomePod stereo pair requires two of the same model and generation of HomePod speakers, such as two HomePod mini 2 or two HomePod (2nd generation). Home theatre surround sound requires four HomePod mini 2 or HomePod (2nd generation) speakers in matching pairs (front and rear) and paired with Apple TV 4K (4th generation) running the latest operating system software.
Full-range driver and dual passive radiators for deep bass and crisp high frequencies Custom acoustic waveguide for a 360º sound field Acoustically transparent fabric Computational audio for real-time tuning Three-microphone design for far-field Siri Sound Recognition for smoke and carbon monoxide alarm sounds Multi-room audio with AirPlay Stereo pair capable Surround sound with Apple TV 4K
iPhone or iPad with the latest iOS or iPadOS Wi-Fi Internet access
Manufacturer-listed sensorsSources
Marshall Acton III
No source recorded.
Apple HomePod mini 2
Manufacturer specification · Temperature and humidity sensing is optimised for indoor, domestic settings, when ambient temperatures are around 15° C to 30° C and relative humidity is around 30% to 70%. Accuracy may decrease in some situations where audio is playing for an extended period of time at high volume levels. HomePod mini requires some time to calibrate the sensors immediately after starting up before results are displayed.
Manufacturer specification · Only the dimensions explicitly labelled by the manufacturer are listed; no missing axis is inferred. Size and weight vary by manufacturing process.
Each record represents an explicitly checked model and configuration. Original import: 5 Sept 2026; this is not its verification date. This is not a list of current offers or a popularity ranking.