HomeSmartphonesComparisonUK & US shopping
YOUR PHONE FACE-OFF

Galaxy A17 vs Galaxy S25

Real specs. Clear sources.Exact variants · Checked 4 Sept 2026
Samsung128 GB

Galaxy A17

6.7″ · Super AMOLED

128 GB · Black · UK SM-A175FZKBEUB
Samsung Galaxy A17 in Black, official product view
Spec
match
Black
PricesCheck retailers

Search links open retailer results.

Price history · UKNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay UK daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Price history · USNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay US daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Affiliate links

We may earn a commission. Search results can include other models; check the exact variant and final price with the retailer.

THE CHOICE IS PERSONAL

Which one
is your one?

Two great phones.
Different things to love.

Display80
Camera
Battery77
Make it personal How are scores calculated?
Samsung256 GB

Galaxy S25

6.2 inches. Just 162 grams.

Galaxy S25 in Navy, front and rear
Spec
match
Navy
PricesCheck retailers

Search links open retailer results.

Price history · UKNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay UK daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Price history · USNo prices recorded yet

We check eBay US daily for this exact model. The chart starts with the first verified listing price and builds as more daily prices are recorded.

Affiliate links

We may earn a commission. Search results can include other models; check the exact variant and final price with the retailer.

SPECIFICATIONS-ONLY COMPARISONThe facts are here. A score isn’t—yet.

There isn’t enough shared evidence for a weighted recommendation. Explore the verified differences below.

Change what matters

Published-spec match · for your selected priorities. Scores compare published capabilities, not lab-tested quality. Camera image quality and independent performance tests are not rated. See scoring

Display, Camera, Battery scoring is unavailable for this pair. Known hardware specs still appear below. We do not fill missing inputs with estimates.

OVERVIEW

Compare the facts.

See each difference separately. Select a topic for its sources and conditions.

SPECIFICATIONS SIDE BY SIDE6 topics

Bar length shows the stated amount. Use your priorities to decide which amount suits you.

SELECTED TOPIC
01 / 06

Pixel density

Pixels per inch describe display density. This is not an overall display-quality or colour-accuracy score.

Galaxy A17Not verified
Galaxy S25415.68 ppi

Calculated pixel density, not a separate manufacturer measurement.

Explore the full specifications
THE DIFFERENCES THAT MATTER

A quick read on the trade-offs.

Every specification
Galaxy S25

28g lighter.

Published device weight, without a case.

Galaxy A17
190g
Galaxy S25
162g

Schematic balance · not a physical simulation

Galaxy A17

0.5″ larger diagonal.

Bigger is a preference, not a quality score.

Galaxy A17
6.7
Galaxy S25
6.2

Relative diagonals · illustrative shape, not actual size

DATA INCOMPLETE

Camera details matter.

Dedicated telephoto reach. No digital or crop zoom.

Galaxy A17
Not verified
Galaxy S25
3×

Lens illustration · not an image-quality test

MANUFACTURER CLAIMS

Playback on paper.

Up-to claims. Different test methods; no endurance winner.

Galaxy A17
Up to 18h
Galaxy S25
Up to 29h

Shared 40-hour scale · not mixed-use battery life

BEYOND THE TOTAL

Why choose each?

Different strengths. Your call.

REASONS TO CONSIDER

Galaxy S25

  • 28 g lighter

    162 g vs 190 g, before a case. Also 7.4 mm narrower.

    Preference, not included in the match score.
  • An 8K recording option

    8K recording is verified on this phone and absent on the other. Resolution alone does not establish video quality.

    Verified hardware; Camera is not scored for this pair.
Sources behind these differences 3

Published facts, not hands-on recommendations. These preferences do not add extra points to the match score; no tested battery gains are inferred.

GO A LITTLE DEEPER

Where each phone shines.

Explore the numbers behind the match.

Galaxy A17 Galaxy S25
Display explainedNot enough evidence to score

Galaxy A17: Required display inputs are incomplete.

Galaxy S25: Uses Samsung's 2,600-nit peak claim, pixel density calculated from 2340×1080 over 6.2 inches and maximum adaptive 120Hz. This models published capabilities, not independently tested display quality.

Explore the sources
YOUR PHONE, YOUR RULES

What matters to you?

Make the comparison fit your life.

Any must-haves?

Your comparisonMore information needed
vs
Unknown must-haves pause the recommendation.
COMPARE THE DETAILS

Full specifications

All specs80 specificationsGalaxy A17Galaxy S25
Screen size
6.7″
Full-rectangle nominal diagonal; rounded corners reduce viewable area.
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUB
6.2″
Published peak brightnessManufacturer peak claims use different test conditions.
Not verified
2600 nits
Pixel density
Not verified
415.68 ppi
Maximum refresh rate
Not verifiedNot stated in the checked manufacturer specification; not treated as zero or absent.
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUB
120HzSamsung publishes a 1–120Hz adaptive range.
Native telephoto reach
Not verified
8K video recording
YesSamsung publishes UHD 8K recording at 30fps.
Claimed video playbackUp-to manufacturer claims. Playback protocols differ.
18 hours
Video Playback Time (Hours, Wireless); manufacturer up-to claim. Protocols differ across brands.
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUB
29 hours
Wireless charging
Not verified
Yes
Published support term
7 years
Display specification
169.1mm (6.7" full rectangle) / 164.5mm (6.5" rounded corners); Super AMOLED; 1080 x 2340 (FHD+)
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUB
Not verified
Chipset / published CPU
Octa-Core; published CPU clock groups: 2.2GHz, 2GHz. Chipset trade name is not stated in this specification.
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUB
Not verified
RAM and storage configuration
Not verified
Camera system
Rear: 50.0 MP + 5.0 MP + 2.0 MP; front: 13.0 MP; recording: FHD (1920 x 1080)@30fps
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUB
Not verified
Battery and charging
5000 mAh typical capacity; manufacturer video claim up to 18 h. Capacity and playback claims do not establish independently measured endurance.
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUB
Not verified
Dimensions
164.4 x 77.9 x 7.5 mm (height × width × depth)
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUB
Not verified
Regional SIM / network configuration
UK SM-A175FZKBEUB; Dual-SIM; Nano-SIM (4FF); SIM 1 + Hybrid (SIM or MicroSD); 2G GSM, 3G WCDMA, 4G LTE FDD, 4G LTE TDD. Carrier services and US availability need separate confirmation.
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUB
Not verified
Panel technology
Not verified
Main display resolution
Not verified
Typical battery capacity
5000 mAhManufacturer capacity; not an endurance test.
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUB
Not verified
USB connection
Not verified
Wireless connectivity
802.11a/b/g/n/ac 2.4GHz+5GHz, VHT80; Bluetooth v5.3
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUB
Not verified
Manufacturer UK reference price
£209Listed manufacturer price checked on 10 September 2026; not a current eBay offer.
SourceSamsung UK current phone configurations and part numbers
Not verified
Colour Depth (Main Display)
Not verified
Rear Camera - Resolution (Multiple)
Not verified
Rear Camera - F Number (Multiple)
Not verified
Rear Camera - Auto Focus
Not verified
Rear Camera Zoom
Not verified
Front Camera - Resolution
Not verified
Front Camera - F Number
Not verified
Front Camera - Auto Focus
Not verified
Video Recording Resolution
Not verified
Available Storage (GB)
Not verified
External Storage Support
Not verified
SIM Slot Type
Not verified
Infra
2G GSM, 3G WCDMA, 4G LTE FDD, 4G LTE TDD
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUB
Not verified
2G GSM
Not verified
3G UMTS
Not verified
4G FDD LTE
B1(2100), B3(1800), B5(850), B7(2600), B8(900), B20(800), B28(700)
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUB
Not verified
4G TDD LTE
Not verified
Location Technology
Not verified
Wi-Fi
Not verified
Bluetooth Version
Not verified
PC Sync.
Not verified
Form Factor
Not verified
Sensors
Accelerometer, Fingerprint Sensor, Gyro Sensor, Geomagnetic Sensor, Light Sensor, Virtual Proximity Sensing
SourceSamsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUB
Not verified
Minimum Battery Endurance in Cycles
Not verified
Video Playing Resolution
Not verified
Exact variants · Manufacturer specificationsView sources
GO BEYOND THE SPECS

A little perspective. A better decision.

Make this comparison yours.
THE PRICE THAT CHANGES EVERYTHING

What price changes your mind?

A great phone. An even better deal. Find the point where the value flips.

Let’s check the fit first

Comparable, positive scores are needed in your selected categories before we can calculate a price threshold.

Review your priorities
NO LOGOS. JUST YOU.

Would you choose it blind?

Forget the brand for a moment. Which set of specs feels more like you?

Pick a phone. Then meet your match.

Manufacturer specifications. Your choice doesn’t change the comparison above.

Good comparisons start with good sources.6 cited sources for this pair. Every number has a story.See the evidence

Your selected categories: none. Scores reflect published capabilities, not hands-on testing. Manufacturer battery claims can use different test conditions. Verified specifications remain visible even where a category cannot be scored.

How we calculate scores

Samsung Galaxy A17

128 GB · checked 10 Sept 2026

Your weighted scoreNot availableSelected categories: None.

Comparable evidence is missing in one or more selected categories.

DisplayNot scored

Required display inputs are incomplete.

Selected weight: 1.

Missing: Comparable display specifications.

CameraNot scored

Camera hardware is listed, but all inputs for the camera-capability model have not been verified.

Selected weight: 1.

Missing: Complete model-defined camera workflow evidence.

BatteryNot scored

Comparable battery claim inputs are missing.

Selected weight: 1.

Missing: Playback and charging conditions.

PerformanceNot scored

Comparable independent CPU, GPU and sustained-performance measurements are not available here.

Selected weight: 1.

Missing: Independent benchmarks.

LongevityNot scored

The published update policy is listed separately; remaining support is not converted into a quality score.

Selected weight: 1.

Missing: Comparable remaining-support scoring methodology.

Specifications & verification
Weight190 gmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
Width77.9 mmmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
Thickness7.5 mmmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
Display size6.7 inchesmanufacturer · high confidence

Full-rectangle nominal diagonal; rounded corners reduce viewable area.

Samsung
Peak brightnessNot verified

not published

Claimed video playback18 hoursmanufacturer · high confidence

Video Playback Time (Hours, Wireless); manufacturer up-to claim. Protocols differ across brands.

Samsung
Claimed charging rateNot verified

not published

Published total supportNot verified

not published

Wireless chargingNot verified

not published

Reverse wireless chargingNot verified

not published

Headphone jackNomanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
Expandable storageYesmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
eSIM onlyNomanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
IP ratingNot verified

not published

RAM4 GBmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
Pixel densityNot verified

not published

Maximum refresh rateNot verified

not published

Samsung
Native telephoto reachNot verified

not published

Claimed optical-quality reachNot verified

not published

Rear camera modules3manufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
8K recordingNomanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung
Reference MSRP£209.00Samsung
All sources3
  1. Samsung UK Galaxy A17 technical specifications — SM-A175FZKBEUBSamsung · accessed 2026-09-10
  2. Samsung UK Galaxy A17 product pageSamsung · accessed 2026-09-10
  3. Samsung UK current phone configurations and part numbersSamsung · accessed 2026-09-10

Samsung Galaxy S25

256 GB · checked 4 Sept 2026

Your weighted scoreNot availableSelected categories: None.

Comparable evidence is missing in one or more selected categories.

Display79.9 / 100

Uses Samsung's 2,600-nit peak claim, pixel density calculated from 2340×1080 over 6.2 inches and maximum adaptive 120Hz. This models published capabilities, not independently tested display quality.

Selected weight: 1.

medium confidence · 100% model coverage
Published peak brightnessSource value: 2600
86.67 × 40% = 34.67

Manufacturer-published peak figure; not an independent measurement.

Samsung Business UKSamsung UKSamsung Newsroom UK
Pixel densitySource value: 415.68
57.84 × 35% = 20.24

Calculated from published full-rectangle diagonal and resolution; not a separately measured specification.

Samsung Business UKSamsung UKSamsung Newsroom UK
Maximum adaptive refresh rateSource value: 120
100.00 × 25% = 25.00Samsung Business UKSamsung UKSamsung Newsroom UK

Category score = 34.67 + 20.24 + 25.00 = 79.91

CameraNot scored

Verified lens and video capabilities remain visible. A complete model-specific audit of the v1 pro-workflow inputs is missing, so unknown capabilities are not treated as absent.

Selected weight: 1.

Missing: Complete verification of the four model-defined pro workflows.

Battery77.2 / 100

Uses Samsung's up-to 29-hour local-video claim and up-to-50%-in-around-30-minutes charging claim. These are not independent endurance results, and manufacturer methods differ.

Selected weight: 1.

low confidence · 100% model coverage
Manufacturer-claimed local video playbackSource value: 29
82.86 × 65% = 53.86

Samsung's up-to 29-hour estimate uses pre-release devices, locally stored 720p video, Bluetooth earphones, default settings and LTE. This is not independently measured mixed-use endurance.

Samsung Business UK
Manufacturer-claimed charging rateSource value: 1.67
66.67 × 35% = 23.33

Derived from Samsung's up-to-50%-in-around-30-minutes claim using a 25W adapter and 3A USB-C cable. This is not a sustained charging measurement.

Samsung Newsroom UK

Category score = 53.86 + 23.33 = 77.19

PerformanceNot scored

No comparable independently measured CPU, GPU or sustained-performance results are included in this official-spec entry.

Selected weight: 1.

Missing: Comparable CPU, GPU and sustained-performance measurements.

Longevity100.0 / 100

Samsung's seven-year security-update commitment reaches the v1 total-duration ceiling. This is support from launch, not support remaining today.

Selected weight: 1.

high confidence · 100% model coverage
Published software-support durationSource value: 7
100.00 × 100% = 100.00

Seven years from global launch; not an estimate of physical lifespan.

Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung Business UK

Category score = 100.00 = 100.00

Specifications & verification
Weight162 gmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung Business UKSamsung Newsroom UK
Width70.5 mmmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung Business UKSamsung Newsroom UK
Thickness7.2 mmmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung Business UKSamsung Newsroom UK
Display size6.2 inchesmanufacturer · high confidence

Full-rectangle diagonal; 6.0 inches accounting for rounded corners. Actual viewable area is smaller.

Samsung Business UK
Peak brightness2600 nitsmanufacturer · medium confidence

Samsung's S25-series FAQ states 2,600 nits; this is a manufacturer peak claim, not an independent measurement.

Samsung UK
Claimed video playback29 hoursmanufacturer · medium confidence

Samsung's up-to 29-hour estimate uses pre-release devices, locally stored 720p video, Bluetooth earphones, default settings and LTE. This is not independently measured mixed-use endurance.

Samsung Business UK
Claimed charging rate1.6666666666666667% per minutecalculated · low confidence

Derived from Samsung's up-to-50%-in-around-30-minutes claim using a 25W adapter and 3A USB-C cable. This is not a sustained charging measurement.

50 percent divided by approximately 30 minutes.

Samsung Newsroom UK
Published total support7 yearsmanufacturer · high confidence

Seven years of security updates from global launch, not seven years remaining today. The model-specific support date is 31 January 2032.

Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung Business UK
Wireless chargingYesmanufacturer · high confidence

Samsung publishes Fast Wireless Charging 2.0.

Samsung Newsroom UK
Reverse wireless chargingYesmanufacturer · high confidence

Published as Wireless PowerShare; compatibility and battery-level restrictions apply.

Samsung Newsroom UK
Headphone jackNomanufacturer · high confidence

The earjack specification is USB Type-C, not a 3.5mm socket.

Samsung Business UK
Expandable storageNot verified

not verified

Samsung Business UK
eSIM onlyNomanufacturer · high confidence

The UK model supports nano-SIM and eSIM combinations.

Samsung Business UK
IP ratingIP68manufacturer · high confidence

Controlled-lab fresh-water claim: up to 1.5m for 30 minutes. Resistance is not permanent.

Samsung Newsroom UK
RAM12 GBmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung Business UK
Pixel density415.67867603060375 ppicalculated · high confidence

Calculated pixel density, not a separate manufacturer measurement.

sqrt(2340² + 1080²) divided by the published 6.2-inch full-rectangle diagonal.

Samsung Business UK
Maximum refresh rate120 Hzmanufacturer · high confidence

Samsung publishes a 1–120Hz adaptive range.

Samsung Business UKSamsung Newsroom UK
Native telephoto reachmanufacturer · high confidenceSamsung Business UKSamsung Newsroom UK
Claimed optical-quality reachmanufacturer · high confidence

Samsung's named 2x optical-quality Adaptive Pixel mode. A separate native telephoto lens reaches 3x; this crop-mode figure is not maximum optical reach.

Samsung Business UK
Rear camera modules3manufacturer · high confidenceSamsung Business UKSamsung Newsroom UK
8K recordingYesmanufacturer · high confidence

Samsung publishes UHD 8K recording at 30fps.

Samsung Business UK
Reference MSRP£859.00Samsung Newsroom UK
All sources3
  1. Galaxy S25 256GB — Specifications and Software SupportSamsung Business UK · accessed 2026-09-04
  2. Compare Galaxy S25 Series — Display CapabilitiesSamsung UK · accessed 2026-09-04
  3. Samsung Galaxy S25 Series Sets the Standard of AI Phone as a True AI CompanionSamsung Newsroom UK · accessed 2026-09-04
THE BEST PHONE IS PERSONAL.

Make your next choice a clear one.

Your priorities. The real differences. All in one place.