iPhone 17
120Hz. A lighter everyday iPhone.

120Hz. A lighter everyday iPhone.

Two great phones.
Different things to love.
Native 5x zoom. Built-in S Pen.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
1.6 points ahead across your selected display, battery priorities.
Scores compare published capabilities, not lab-tested quality. Camera image quality and independent performance tests are not rated. See scoring
Camera scoring is unavailable for this pair. Known hardware specs still appear below; default scores use only shared, verified categories.
Published device weight, without a case.
Schematic balance · not a physical simulation
Bigger is a preference, not a quality score.
Relative diagonals · illustrative shape, not actual size
Dedicated telephoto reach. No digital or crop zoom.
Lens illustration · not an image-quality test
Up-to claims. Different test methods; no endurance winner.
Shared 40-hour scale · not mixed-use battery life
Different strengths. Your call.
177 g vs 214 g, before a case. Also 6.6 mm narrower.
Preference, not included in the match score.5× native telephoto; the other phone has no separate telephoto module. Reach is not an image-quality verdict.
Verified hardware; Camera is not scored for this pair.6.9″ vs 6.3″ diagonally. Larger is a preference, not an automatic win.
Preference, not included in the match score.Published facts, not hands-on recommendations. These preferences do not add extra points to the match score; no tested battery gains are inferred.
Explore the numbers behind the match.
iPhone 17: Uses Apple's 3,000-nit outdoor peak, published 460 ppi and maximum adaptive 120Hz. This is a capability model, not a display-quality lab test.
Galaxy S26 Ultra: Scores Samsung-published 2,600-nit peak brightness and 120Hz, plus 498.01 ppi calculated from its published resolution and full-rectangle diagonal. Brightness is not independently measured.
Explore the sourcesMake the comparison fit your life.
A great phone. An even better deal. Find the point where the value flips.
A score-per-price simulation, not an objective buying verdict. Starts from reference MSRP; no live retailer offers.
Forget the brand for a moment. Which set of specs feels more like you?
Manufacturer specifications. Your choice doesn’t change the comparison above.
Your selected categories: Display, Battery. Scores reflect published capabilities, not hands-on testing. Manufacturer battery claims can use different test conditions. Verified specifications remain visible even where a category cannot be scored.
How we calculate scores256 GB · checked 4 Sept 2026
(93.00 × 1 + 90.71 × 1) ÷ 2
Uses Apple's 3,000-nit outdoor peak, published 460 ppi and maximum adaptive 120Hz. This is a capability model, not a display-quality lab test.
Selected weight: 1.
medium confidence · 100% model coverage100.00 × 40% = 40.00Manufacturer-published peak figure; not an independent measurement.
Apple UKCategory score = 40.00 + 28.00 + 25.00 = 93.00
Published camera facts are shown, but this catalogue has not completed verification of every pro-workflow input required by the v1 camera model. No camera-quality score is inferred from megapixels.
Not included in your current weighted score.
Missing: Complete verification of the four model-defined pro workflows.
Uses Apple's up-to 30-hour local-video claim and up-to-50%-in-20-minutes charging claim. Cross-brand confidence is low because test methods differ.
Selected weight: 1.
low confidence · 100% model coverage85.71 × 65% = 55.71Manufacturer up-to local-video claim, not independently measured mixed-use endurance. Apple's playback method differs from Samsung's.
Apple UKApple100.00 × 35% = 35.0050% divided by 20 minutes using Apple's 40W-or-higher adapter claim; not a sustained charging measurement.
Apple UKCategory score = 55.71 + 35.00 = 90.71
No comparable independent cross-platform benchmark is included in this official-spec catalogue.
Not included in your current weighted score.
Missing: Comparable CPU, GPU and sustained-performance measurements.
Apple's checked UK material does not state a model-specific fixed number of software-support years.
Not included in your current weighted score.
Missing: Published model-specific software-support duration.
Nominal diagonal; 6.27 inches as a standard rectangle, with a smaller actual viewable area.
Apple UKApple's outdoor peak claim; not an independent measurement.
Apple UKManufacturer up-to local-video claim, not independently measured mixed-use endurance. Apple's playback method differs from Samsung's.
Apple UKApple50% divided by 20 minutes using Apple's 40W-or-higher adapter claim; not a sustained charging measurement.
50 percent divided by 20 minutes.
Apple UKApple's connector list specifies USB-C, with no 3.5mm jack.
Apple UKFixed storage options and no removable storage interface in Apple's specification.
Apple UKUK specification: nano-SIM plus eSIM; dual eSIM also supported.
Apple UKApple's controlled-lab claim: up to 6m for 30 minutes. Resistance is not permanent.
Apple UKNo separate native telephoto module; the advertised 2x mode crops the main sensor.
Apple UKApple's optical-quality 2x mode uses the main sensor, not a separate lens.
Apple UK256 GB · checked 4 Sept 2026
(94.32 × 1 + 91.25 × 0 + 92.57 × 1 + 100.00 × 0) ÷ 2
Scores Samsung-published 2,600-nit peak brightness and 120Hz, plus 498.01 ppi calculated from its published resolution and full-rectangle diagonal. Brightness is not independently measured.
Selected weight: 1.
medium confidence · 100% model coverage86.67 × 40% = 34.67Manufacturer-published peak figure; not an independent measurement.
Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung UK99.01 × 35% = 34.65Samsung does not publish PPI. This value is calculated from its published 3120x1440 resolution and 6.9-inch full-rectangle diagonal.
Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung UK100.00 × 25% = 25.00Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung UKCategory score = 34.67 + 34.65 + 25.00 = 94.32
A published-capability score, not an image-quality verdict. It counts native 5x reach, Samsung's 10x optical-quality mode, four rear modules, 8K and three named pro workflows.
Not included in your current weighted score.
medium confidence · 100% model coverage100.00 × 25% = 25.00Samsung identifies 3x and 5x as optical zoom and 2x and 10x as Adaptive Pixel optical-quality zoom.
Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung DeveloperSamsung Support UK100.00 × 15% = 15.00Samsung identifies 3x and 5x as optical zoom and 2x and 10x as Adaptive Pixel optical-quality zoom.
Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung DeveloperSamsung Support UK75.00 × 35% = 26.25Counts Samsung Log, Expert RAW and recording to external USB storage. Samsung does not publish genlock support. This measures support, not output quality.
Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung DeveloperSamsung Support UK100.00 × 5% = 5.00Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung DeveloperSamsung Support UK100.00 × 20% = 20.00Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKSamsung Newsroom UKSamsung DeveloperSamsung Support UKCategory score = 25.00 + 15.00 + 26.25 + 5.00 + 20.00 = 91.25
Combines Samsung's up-to 31-hour local-720p-video estimate with its up-to-75%-in-around-30-minutes claim. Different manufacturer test methods make cross-brand confidence low.
Selected weight: 1.
low confidence · 100% model coverage88.57 × 65% = 57.57Samsung's up-to figure is an internal estimate using a locally stored 720p video on pre-release hardware; it is not mixed-use or web-browsing endurance.
Samsung UK100.00 × 35% = 35.00Derived from Samsung's up-to-75% in around 30 minutes claim with a 60W adapter; it is not a sustained charging rate.
Samsung Newsroom UKCategory score = 57.57 + 35.00 = 92.57
Samsung publishes chip identity and relative generation-over-generation claims, but no comparable cross-platform benchmark under this methodology.
Not included in your current weighted score.
Missing: Comparable independently measured CPU benchmark, Comparable independently measured GPU benchmark, Comparable sustained-performance test.
Samsung promises seven OS generations and seven years of security updates from global launch; this scores the published seven-year commitment at the model ceiling.
Not included in your current weighted score.
high confidence · 100% model coverage100.00 × 100% = 100.00Samsung promises seven OS generations and seven years of security updates from global launch; its UK business specification lists security support through 28 February 2033.
Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung Business UKCategory score = 100.00 = 100.00
Full-rectangle diagonal; Samsung states 6.7 inches accounting for rounded corners and that actual viewable area is smaller.
Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKManufacturer-published peak, not an independent measurement.
Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKManufacturer up-to claim; not mixed-use endurance.
Samsung internal estimate on pre-release hardware with a locally stored 720p video, Bluetooth earphones and default settings over LTE.
Samsung UKA normalized rate derived from an approximate manufacturer claim, not a sustained measurement. A 60W adapter is required and sold separately.
75 percent divided by approximately 30 minutes.
Samsung Newsroom UKSeven OS generations and seven years of security updates from global launch; UK security-support date is listed as 28 February 2033.
Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung Business UKSamsung lists WPC-compatible Super Fast Wireless Charging; its UK launch table does not state wattage.
Samsung Newsroom UKPublished as Wireless PowerShare, subject to Samsung's compatibility and battery-level limitations.
Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung lists the earjack as USB Type-C rather than a 3.5mm socket.
Samsung Business UKSamsung's UK comparison table marks Micro SD as N/A.
Samsung UKThe UK specification supports nano-SIM and eSIM combinations.
Samsung Business UKSamsung's lab claim is up to 1.5m of fresh water for 30 minutes; resistance is not permanent.
Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung's Adaptive Pixel optical-quality mode is not a separate native 10x lens.
Samsung Newsroom UKSamsung UKYour priorities. The real differences. All in one place.